(2008/11) November 2008

CC

Ya, Im looking at one that is easy to manage and lightweight. deciding btw combi or capella. But recently heard mclaren is good. headache dont know which one to get...

Hi mummies!!

TGIF yeah!

Gin78, I trsf money liao for the toy spree. :p Thks for collecting 1st.
PS: OK lah you are not that 'heavy looking' hee..I also feel heavy but nobody offer seats to me so far leh!

Sherline
Can't really advise..but i guess like what other mummies have said, most impt is which method is the safest for our baby, so don't worry 2 much k!

cc: Me shld be workign till delivery, but taking like a couple of days off 1 week before EDD in case 'pop' early!

alibaba-haha yeah hor I forgot abt baby man yue, that one more cham, cfm look big. keke.

hui-me2.. 1 baby and 1 toddler, don't think can handle alone, must have HB around. hee.

joyce-I heard abt that too, our kid will be clingy to us automatically when we preg. my boy all along clingy to my MIL and me, so I don't know also ler.. but I believe its true, heard those kid who wasn't clingy to mummy at all started very clingy after the mummy got preg.

joyce-Yeah I hope I can succeed in breastfeeding this time round.

snnowy-18mths.
how abt ur gal??

lala-I haven't lost all and I got preg again. haiz.

jo yeo, phew! but its like an elephant's legs now hahahaha.cos i quite pettie.. maybe should reduce water intake at night..

Oops.. i think i m one of the guilty ones.. hahaha.. decided to work from home.. and slpt till noon.. so nice to slp leh.. I am also like Alibaba, very light slper.. turn myself also wake up. haizzz...

Hui, could u be allergic to the pantyliner?

Vel, i got a bit of water retention.. but nv hear that it is associated with popping early leh.. i tot it just meant ur circulation not gd.

Lilian, thanks! I will try and collect it aft work.. or wkends cos i have no idea where u stay.

Mosh, take care.. are u gg to talk to ur gynae abt the discharge? I got a Maclaren cos it is more stable. can hang diaper bags and the stroller won't topple so it really depends on u.

Breech birth
I heard a lot of stories abt breech birth and I am actually a breech baby myself.. notti hor.. anyway the actual percentage of bb in breech position at term is abt 3-4%. At 32 wks, abt 25% of the bbs are at breech position. Currently my bb is lying across my tummy so i dunno if he is gg to be stubborn like me. C-sec is a better alternative to deliver breech babies as it decreases the risks to the baby but increases the risk slightly to the mum. Like wat Alibaba said, just follow ur gynae's advice when the day comes. if u need to do a c-sec, go ahead. U are still one brave lady to go under the knife ya?

If breastfeeding doesn't work and we need to make formula milk for baby. What brand is good? and do they have one for newborn and above? cause similac starts from 6 months and above leh. Can somebody advise?

Bear,
thanks, seeing gynae tomorrow.
which model of Maclaren u bought? I heard Maclaren not for new born, maybe for 3mths onwards .

Breech birth
I have a fren who gave birth in Jan this yr and her bb is very stubborn, refuse to turn down, in the end she has to go for C sec.

Bear-You are here!!

Blessed_Mum-That time my boy was on similac as supplement but realized its kinda heaty so I changed to Enfa after 6mths. Yes they got infant milk formula for 0-6mths but the companies don't give free samples coz now government encouraging breastfeeding, so u nid to purchase and standby, which is good depends which is suitable for ur baby.

Blessedmum, i tot there were many different brands of infant formula? like Frisco, Nan etc? if u worried then just go to the supermarket and take a look. i m sure u can find some.. but hor, i feel that if u have a tin of milk at home, u will tend to give up breastfeeding faster cos at the back of ur mind, the thought of it is always lurking there. Get wat i mean? But hor this is only just my opinion.. if i have a screaming bb i might just buy the damn milk and feed it to the bb!

Mosh, Maclaren only has 2 strollers for infants, i.e. able to recline all the way. Its the Techno XT and one other more expensive model. i got the XT, with is the basic model. Currently retailing at abt $569 but i think cheong choon sells at $480.

Enne, ya lor.. i just woke up.. wahahah.. gg to buy lunch liao.. i feel so tired leh.. i think i can slp 12 hrs a day now.

Bear-haha so funny when u say if i have a screaming bb i might just buy the damn milk and feed it to the bb!

You know hor, my boy got a bit of jaundice not serious la but a bit, then pple say if u on total BM right, jaundice takes longer to heal, so in the end my MIL suggested giving FM as supplement so jaundice healed faster... which is true la.. and I don't wish to upset my MIL coz she doing confinement for me.. so I think must see cirumstances, although I wish to total BF, but if the jaundice don't go away faster also not good for bb? but I hope this time round really can try total BF.

Hui & Enne,
thanks for sharing.. Really hope that afte we pop, they wont be clingy, otherwise dunno how..

Blessed mum,
actually all the formula are good.. it all depends on your preference. Some have this ingredients, others no.. so u must check it out.

Enne,
ya.. 2 months older than Jovial :D
u goin BF? i also.. hope tis time can success..Jovial's time i fail in 2 weeks and got myself in deep shit ( on my breast )

talking about milk feed>
my col wife jus give birth. for the 1st week she got so little supply.. bb jus cries ev half an hr! fainted.. i asked if they do subsitute with FM. my col said yes. else really cannot tahan ev half hr... really need to keep latching til the supply come...

hui-that time I BF till abt 3mths.. then went back work.. pumped till badly cracked nipples, become 'strawberry' milk then throw away, so sad.. then pump also pain, don't pump engorged.. don't know how to handle then stopped lo.. coz nobody to consult. haiz.. this time let us give moral support to each other and BF k!!! hee.

Hui & Enne,
If u encounter any breasfeeding difficulty, can always come in here and we will share tips.. I manage to total breastfeed my 1st boy for 8mths, so shd be able to give some useful advise bah, hehe

enne> the cracked Nipple v scary wor.. u tat time nv apply any cream or milk over ur nipple? my sil tat time got cracked nipple oso bleed.. & end up infection gotta take antibiotics....

alibaba, for 1st time mummy during the first few days when bf, most likely will encounter sore/crack nipple.. Me too, feel so scared when wanna latch on. But luckily it heals fast and with proper latch on, no more crack nipple for me liao.

Joyce,
oh.. keep apply the lotion can help to prevent sore / crack nipple? i v KS. i aready get nipple shield, nipple cream liao. lolz.

alibaba,
actually if with proper latch on, there won't have any sore/crack nipple lei.. But of cos 1st time mummy no experience in bf, tat's y.. But dun worry, the hospital nurse will guide u to proper latch on, dun just let your bb suck on the nipple only, must include the whole areola.
So when there is any sign of sore/crack nipple, then u faster apply nipple cream OR your own breastmilk and AIR DRY.. it helps..

re : weight
think our buttock also will be bigger ho coz already expanded ho..

cc
ya lo stay home very xian ho, somemore very ho ho unless on the aircon and it wll a waste of $ to on the whole day ho...

vel
not sure if the water intake is causing us this ley. but read that we should drink more water and urinate more ley. water retention is not coz of the water take ley but the amount of salt of intake. say we should try to sleep on our left. and that now that it has comes, it wont go until we delivery, sad rite.... but ok la...<2mths>>>>>

re : stroller
heavy and light got its pro and cons. heavy ones is more sturdy and you can bring it fr jogging and can hang more things. light is more convenient if u r taking public transport. even with car, a times hubby may complain too coz its have to carry up and down the boot too. and if your house have steps, you need to carry down b4 you stroll to the car too.

combi is korea, mc is europ, aprica is japan. see you want your bb to sit in made-in-xx car haha

understad mc more troublesome to open and close whereas combi (not all designt) and aprica is only a 1-step thing.

and also need to take note of the comfy level lo, the cushion as well as the fabric. Some with swivelling wheel some not, some handles can turn both ways, some not. depeding on your liking

glad> me too i feel like working till birth to maximise my time..and feel less bored at home..HB keep nagging to stay home from next week onwards...cannot tahan. He doesnt understand the boredom.

Mosh> Yes, then capella (korean) or combi would be more suitable...mclaren wheels and all quite heavy i personally tall but i find handling bit tough for me..combi lightweight and easy to manuevuere...i tried moving abt in capella but I found it bit stiff...maybe u can go down n try..i somehow prefer Combi 'technology'.

cc
read in other forum (think theres a forum for formula milk)...mummies said it all depends on individual bb whether they like or reject. so u have to ti gam 1 and let bb try. so far in the market, similac is the most ex and heard that the nutrient level is high e.g. 1 spoon mayb equivalent to 2 or 3 spoon of other. but heard that its sweet. some bb will find it heaty, some wont..think its the same for all other brands, so really got to depend on bb lo...so i just grab 2 smalll tin of similac la...small tin coz worry it will "run air" coz seems like no metal cover 1 ley, only got those rubber cover

Enne,
mine is block ducts till the right breast got 2 pimples kind of thing come out the slowly got the green "nong" till nd to go breast clinic to extract the "nong" then use knife to cut off the two dead flesh on my right breast.. Now my right breast got 2 hard lump inside..

<font color="119911">CC</font>
ML can only start 4 weeks before EDD. So the earliest date to start is at week 36. So unless you still have Annual leave, then you can start in week 35.

Me also afraid to start ML too early, very bored at home. Rather spend more time with the baby after it's born. But sometimes feel it'll be nice to sleep in (especially like today raining weather) or enjoy some shopping, tea time like a taitai before the baby is born.

Breast Feeding

I'm aiming for totally breast feeding. my sister BF totally, and until now, still BF (11 months) with other food added (since 6 months).

I went to few talks, they all say, most important point for BF is: be patient, and don't give up!

I found below info on BF very detailed &amp; useful. of course, I haven't put theory into practice yet >.<

too large to attach it, you can download it from the link below:

http://www.nuk.de/bibliothek/nuk_library.html?lang=en

Fifi, Minky Bear and Glad,

the russ toys we ordered are here, except Minky bear's toy rattle which they missed out. I will be delivered on mon FOC. So she mention if you gals wanna order somemore, let her know n it will be delivered on mon.

Glad, u can collect over the wkn night if u wan. Just call me.

<font color="119911">Formula milk</font>
While we are still in the hospital, isn't the nurse will give the baby some FM if our breast milk is not in yet?
I don't plan to standby any FM, until i know the brand the nurse is feeding the baby, cause at least i know the baby will not reject it. Or is it up to me to tell the nurse what brand to feed the baby with?

Greengrape,
yup, hospital will provide formula if your bm is not enough or havent come in. They will ask you what brand u wanna give, so u also have to decide on the brand.

Enne,true wat.. esp first time mummies.. having a screaming bb is my worst nightmare cos hb and I are those who like a quiet env... even my doggie dunno how to bark until we taught him how to.

Joyce, thank u for ur offer! i think i will def need ur help.. no matter wat must bf... actually is there any meds, other than fenugreek that can increase supply ah?

Alibaba, ya lor so nice to zzzzzz.. i m still waiting for u to resume our conversation last night! *wink*

Jo_yeo, i find Maclaren ok leh.. agree there is one additional step of getting the stroller to open up, but i dun have a prob with it. it is def heavier than Combi! but i think it depends on the lifestyle. we lead a pretty active lifestyle so want something stable. As for wheels, MC's wheels seem to move more fluidly than combi but it could be just me.

<font color="ff0000">Joyce</font>

<font color="119911">Formula milk</font>
Thought the nurse will give the baby whatever brand they have received as samples from the suppliers.

And i was hopeful the nurse will try from their wide range of samples to narrow the brand that my baby will not reject.
Saving me the trouble (and money) to test and trial with my baby.

re:breastfeeding
its never easy, let us try hard together, can ask for advice from those pro BF experts here.

Bear-Yeah lo.. that time I took shifts with my MIL although I still wake up when my baby cries, its a PANDA life.. I ended up with terrible eye bags.

GreenGrape-They will give u a list of the FM they have ask u to choose, then when you discharged, they will give a some bottles of the FM too.

Re : breastfeed

Hey mummies. BF is what you eat, your bb will eat right? So whats your view if you are a mummy who eat junk food, fast food etc...Will you still want to bf for so long a period?

bear
ya. thats why think diff mummies wil have diff preference on the stroller Until you find out more about their features and your needs, then will know which is more suitable lo ho

greengrape
for GE, you will have to tell the nurse what brand u 1 2 give to bb. thats what my clinic nurse told me. so have to decide too. anyway, its not too late to buy then, after u know whether bb will reject or not lo..mayb my hubby jus KS la...and also can ask for some to be brought home with youwhen u discharge.

Confinement

Mummies, any advice? Do you think sleeping with baby and CL is good during confinement? Coz thought since 1 2 bf and need to wake up often, might as well sleep with them then i also know whats the CL is doing. Some say we need a lot of rest during confinement so bettter not. BUt some say rest means lying down, so its ok to sleep together coz anyway need to wake up to bf too.

Any mummies intending to bf during the day and at night either on formula or use the fridge-stored supply (if supply is good la) in order to have a good rest during the confinement period? (confinement think its 40 days, not 28 days ley)

BreastFeed

some of my frens bf till now (toddler already 16 months old).. envy..

Breastmilk

i dun intend to froze my BM leh.. coz thaw the BM they got one smell wan.. like ice melt smell..

I have a BN newborn rocker seat (those you put on the floor for the baby to sit in de) to give away. I want to buy a high chair with the same function cause of my dogs at home, so no use for this one. Wasted to keep it at home. Bought it for $30+ at kiddy palace. Not going to sell, see if anyone wants can come and collect from me in Yew Tee. Colour of the cushion is Yellow, so its unisex de. Pls let me know if any of you want.

ladies, thanks for your advice on stroller.

Yap agree that it really depends on individual needs. Think its better for me to go for lightweight and 1 hand fold stroller cos most of the time will be taking public transport

Am considering lightweight Combi, any model to recommend?