(2008/10) Oct 2008

everafter,

How about cutting the sharp part or scotch tape the edge? Usually for us, we will let her play with the bubble tea straw cause she enjoys poking the cup with the straw.

Nagging discipline is very effective in my household cause I LISTEN to everything that my mum want me to do cause I super scared of her NAGGING. Now the same pattern seem to be happening to me n Kai Tong. No wonder they have a saying tat if u want to marry a woman, look at her mother 1st. Cause that will be wat a woman will be in 20 yrs time. Haha...

This has come in just time for our discussion today about handling our tods.

http://www.nmsg-singapore.com/monthlytalks.htm

February Talk - 8th February 2010
Time: 10am
Venue: Function Room - level 9
Camden Medical Centre
One Orchard Boulevard
Cost: $10

Topic: Tips for taming toddlers

Speaker: Shona Sanosi, Early Years Advisor and Director of the Blue House Nursery. Shona has lived in Singapore for approximately eight years. She is NNEB qualified with nearly 20 years experience of working with children of all ages in all settings. She is also mother to three year old twins.

Between 15 months and three years of age your baby is blossoming into a curious and enquiring child with a mind of their own. They face many obstacles during their journey, both physical and emotional and this can bring about frustration and lead to the infamous temper tantrums.

Shona will provide tips for encouraging good behaviour, how to avoid or curtail a tantrum and how to help bring out the best in your toddler. With her advice you can guide your toddler through this normal stage of their development and both be smiling at the end!

Sounds interesting indeed!

Morning Mummies....

Buffy, thanks for the info on the Invisible grills. Will try to sell idea to hubs again! hahaha

JJmom, I love the 3d socks. I may get a pair for her to wear in class!

Mint, very interesting. I was just thinking about joining the NMSG. (tho we are not that new mothers anymore!!) You going for the talk? I dun mind.... Abt Huggies Ultra, yup its a good deal!

Mint
yah tHe talk sounds really interesting. Are you all going for it?

ypg
ha ha. You exasperated tong tong la. But you win. Each time she gives up first.

Everafter
hmm but so far Bryan never hurt himself? in any case why not just stop drinking the bubble tea.

busybee,
the talk is open to public so non members can attend and pay 10 bucks. But i will be joining as member too.

<font color="119911">mint, busybee,
rem to come back &amp; share with us after the talk yah?

Mint,
haha..but the thing is my hb loves drinking the bubbletea :p mayb i'll buy some safer straws so that i can "exchange" with bryan!

Ygp,
haha..nv tot of cutting the sharp edge but anyway i think he wont let me touch HIS straw either lor

JJmom!! Of course we will!

Everafter, you know i went daiso to buy a pack of mini straws for minibee for drinks when we are out. But we use it as one of our distraction tools. U might want to pop into daiso?

<font color="0077aa">morning all... i am feeling loads better today after like 3 litres of water + Ha Gu Chou (cantonese drink) that my mummy made. Took some Anti Bacterial Lozenges as well as a dosage of LemSip ytr in the afternoon. All symptoms down by 70%. I hope to kill the darn virus man... Cannot get sick, cannot cannot...

Re tantrums. C is the drama queen lor. When she wants something, she wants it. No negotiation. So, will have to distract her, etc. She will of course cry, flay her arms, scream and sometimes "fling" herself across the floor like she is in deeeeeep agony. Dunno where she learnt that from. I just let her cry it out and distract her with other things. She is v loud and v demanding but I think it is a stage that all tots go thru so I am not that worried about it. I will of course scold her if she does anything wrong and let her face a wall as "time out". So, soemtimes, before she does something funny, I will go "Ccaaaaate" and she will immediately know from the tone of my voice and she will stop and mimick me by saying "no no". And she'd walk away. Sometimes she will try her luck by trying again. So, she is really at a stage where she is trying to test the boundaries and assert her own independence.

I like YPG's nagging approach though. Hahahahahahahaaha</font>

Everafter, minibee uses them like drumsticks and attempts to make music! sometimes she tries to chew them but I will stop her of course...

<font color="119911">busybee, everafter,
i always ask for extra set of bowl, spoon, straws when dining out with Nat, to let her entertain herself =P</font>

<font color="119911">ypg,
hmmm...interesting nagging discipline u have...wahahaha

but me &amp; hubby really hate nagging ourselves so don't think we will try this if we can do without...wahahaha</font>

everafter

i think this age they have this great love for straws. Kate loves straws too - yakult straw, macdonald's straw, any straw, you name it, she'll chomp on it. initially had concerns over sharp edge (eg she'll cut her tongue or cheek on it and get ulcers) but seems ok so far. so just let her gnaw lor.

maybe they find it fascinating that stuff comes up magically thru them when they suck.

on overall discipline, I find these points helpful....

<font color="ff6000">When you correct your child, do not raise your voice. ... Consistency with gentleness, a quiet manner and voice, and firmness, rather than anger with a loud, high-pitched voice, will convince a child of our sincerity and purpose.

Reasonable praise is an important part of the way in which parents should be expressing love for their children. Tragically, I have met parents who never praise their children. Rather, they constantly find fault and criticize. I know other parents who praise generously, but do it the wrong way or at the wrong time. Some are so worried about building self-esteem that they praise excessively, creating pride and false confidence instead. So let's consider for a moment, some of the right ways and wrong ways to praise a child.

Be free with your praise without lavishing your child with undeserved flattery. Avoid offering praise for things he had nothing to do with, such as physical attributes, looks, or in-born intelligence. Don't encourage your child to take praise for granted by offering it for every trifle.

Be generous with sincere and modest praise when it is warranted. Be particularly
attentive to extending it for overcoming a temptation, making a good effort, or
for "going the extra mile" in doing what is right.

Encourage your child to be of godly character and consistently give him your warm approval when he demonstrates such – that is the best kind of praise. </font>

JJMom, Dimpletot,
ya agree they really loves biting the straws..i do give him when we're outside..but din tot of keepin some at hm then when daddy comes hm happily siping his bubbletea, bryan will scream with eagerness

<font color="0077aa">share something funny.
C likes The Beatles and especially the song "let it be". I usually play the MTV for her on YouTube from my phone and she'd chime in during the chorus by going "beeeeeee...". But yesterday tops it. She actually kissed Paul McCartney when he came on screen!!!! *faint*</font>

Hiya Buffy

Is Bebelove the supplier you usually go to purchase those lovely Oobi clothes for Cate?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3598910.html?1265289546

Not sure if cheaper than the shop in OUB. I wanna get some stuff there.

Nagging as a way of discipline – Errhmm, very interesting. But nagging doesn't exist in my household cos we hate it. Haha. Good for you that it works though ypg.

Dimpletot – Good read! I esp like the bit on not excessive praising 

<font color="0077aa">oh yes yes ruffles, it is. the seller's name is Jody. she is v nice.
I only bought once but like 3 - 4 sets if I am not wrong. But 'cos they were bigger sizes so there are like 2 sets that C has not started on yet.

Jelly - yea I know but 've been going by that OUB shop to beo &amp; beo for the longest ever.

vanilla - cant rem the name but it's next to the authentic HK shop. They also have boy stuff. V nice too. More girl stuff though

50+ words
remember we were talking about this? Hmm in an ang mo forum, a mummy said her toddie could say 90+ words at 14.5 months! Wow!

let me share what one fren told my hb when he was so shocked to see that fren's niece speaking at 1yr...she said her fren has 1 son which at 1yr was reciting tang poem, but in the end also go normal academic stream.

my sis boy can speak whole sentences when he was 1yr. but in the end also end up in normal school cause he is too lazy to study. only interested in playing and music. he can memorize a song after hearing it once.

actually, my nice, now 4 can speak v impressive english cos her mom's ang mo. by 2, she can strings words to become sentences...i am sometimes amazed by her...

<font color="0077aa">bigflamingo/dimpletot: hahahahahahahaa... it was really a very funny moment, seeing her crane her neck and bend forward to kiss him. she is a beatles groupie!!!

Joanne: ya, heard many of these stories before too. One of my buddies'son is one of those kids that you see on YBCR youtube videos? He could read before one and I mean read many words - show him the word "clap" and he would clap his hands, etc. He is still a fairly intelligent boy academically but parental involvement and support is v important. My GF was v good in directing and continuing to motivate his interest in reading, science, etc., so he is v intrinsically motivated and is still doing well in school and works hard.

As for being able to recite things, my personal feel is that after the kids are being exposed to us repeating things over and over again, they usually can remember and will be able to regurgitate out. And remember, Einstein did not speak till he was much older (was it 4 or 5 years old?) so i am taking it easy ... but thats just me lah. i just do my best to engage her and just have fun together.

buffy,
me too. i just let her learn at her own pace and just engage her as much as i can.

guess what? rianne is afraid of geckos.. she saw one last night and she stared at it for so long then she cried so hard. then i'm such a bad mummy. i used the gecko to stop her from throwing her food on the floor. hehe.. i told her that if she threw her food on the floor, the gecko would come. and instead of throwing her food she gave it to me.

yes we must enjoy our kids! Before we know it, their childhood is over!

More inspiring stuff from the same source:

<font color="ff6000">Keep your children with you. Hug, kiss, sing, laugh and play with them. Include them in the things you are doing.

Smile at them when they come to you to show you something. Welcome their attention. Answer their questions.

Invite them into your lap for a cuddle. Let them crawl into your bed and snuggle up to you now and then. When they ask to help you, say, "Sure."

Joke and laugh with them. Share with them your sense of humor. Be interested in the things they are interested in and be excited about their accomplishments as you tutor them in all of God’s ways.

Get to know them and let them get to know you.

So especially when you are first starting out, set aside what tasks you can, and address your child’s needs for both discipline and love, whenever they arise.</font>

Supposed to have a meeting @ 3pm but cancelled cos Jo's with fever. I hate these fevers. So irritating. Come w/o warning.

I'm also a come-what-may mummy, or how to explain my delaying of a year at nursery for Jo.

With so much love for Jo, I'm just worried there comes a day when I need to shout and scold her every day, like how some mummies are. How does it turn out this way? I'm sure by then I will think back wistfully to these toddler years.

<font color="0077aa">i also have been thinking of delaying enrolling C for a year for some time but hmmmm... i was just wondering if she would enjoy being in a playgroup more. so, i thought to try out for a little while and see how it goes. and of course, at the back of my mind, there is not one day where i do not long to be at home with my drama queen and homeschooling her instead. sigh...

i miss being at home with her, hugging her and playing with her. was doing some craft work with her on frogs and turned it into a game by showing her how frogs hop. she tried it and fell face down in the play yard on the bumper mat but we both had a good laugh. such moments are precious, thats why i am focused on the bonding part then the "results" part. am smiling as i am recalling the incident.

dimple
They left their main door open, that's why. Now they just closed it. Much better but can still hear her screaming at times.

Hey bout the topic of delaying school for a year, have any of you read Malcolm Gladwell's book the outliers? About how the way the best football players are selected is wrong, because when talent scouts come to see say, primary one kids play football, the ones born early in the year will be considered the better players, and be selected and groomed to be star players.

In actual fact, they are only better because they are older! And the ones born late in the year will feel a bit inadequate as a result. A lot of talent remain undiscovered because of this system...