(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">am on conference call, gimme a moment ah ladies... let me go look for the contact</font>

Thanks Buffy, from Internet search seems like only 1 company has this product. Legate.

Karen, have your seen the actual product?

yes got a quote from them and its expensive. It is very good but the thought of having to clean up by putting hands through the small gap is not a very good idea.

<font color="119911">purple,

thanks for the heads up

<font color="119911">busybee,
i always think cleaning the windows is a tough job so if this invisible window grills is gng to make it any harder then it's really a turn-off for me =P although it does looks real nice.

btw it is really safe enough?</font>

jjmom
I've never left Jo to cry before. When she cried in protest, I would usually think of ways to distract her, and mostly removing her from the situation.

Like, she loves to play with the dogs' water. Initially, I always said No and then take away the bowl. She would start to cry in protest and I would quickly give her something else to play. After several times, she knew that's no boundary and never attempted to play with it again. But she's back to it recently. I'm applying the same rules. This time, whenever I take the water away, she knows that's the protocol and there's not even a whimper of protest. She knows she shouldn't do it. And quickly she moves on to something else.

So I really think you're the best judge to determine which method works best. For eating, again, I'm in the minority, if she doesn't want her food, I won't force it on Jo. My theory is if she's hungry, she will eat.

Karen and JJmom, I also only read abt it but have not seen actual thing. So guess we have to wait for Buffy to tell us more.

Chat later mummies... taking Minibee to trim her hair.

Bye!

<font color="119911">Karen,
yes, tat do sounds like a reasonable theory - 'u r not allow to play with A, y don't u play with B instead?'

we still do use this method at times but sometimes Nat will push/throw the item B tat we offer her (-_-)'' &amp; get another 'No' from me...

we use this method on our dog too, he is not allow to bite shoe so we tell him tat &amp; give him a biting toy instead

I always think training dogs is rather similar to handling lots of things in our life too

will give this a try, thanks

for eating, i m the same too, don't really force feed, sigh...it's my mil who is doing it

everafter,
if it's just the packet drink then like what karen said can let him play with it but remove the straw. Dun just take it away from him. Ask for his permission to take away. I think we still need to respect our bubs in this aspect and it's also teaching them to ask for things nicely.

If all else fails, carry him and give him a hug to calm him down. Then explain nicely to him what went wrong for the both of you.

<font color="119911">mint,
i totally agree with u on respecting our kiddos &amp; i also think they have the right to qns us on y we don't let them have their way or beat them.

it's really not an easy task, disciplining our kiddos (-_-)'' &amp; checking back on ourselves tat we don't use too many -ve stuff like 'NO', don't raise our voice at them, have moral behaviour etc...stress...</font>

jjmom
i cant agree w u more that the job of a disciplinarian is v tough... that is why some parents left the discipline to teachers

<font color="119911">jelly,
tat's a sure fail plan, leaving the disciplining job to the teachers...it's totally crazy &amp; irreasponsible to entrust such matters to any1 else &amp; then blames them for any wrong doing of the kid!

i strongly believes everything starts at home.</font>

My sore throat is back!
Went to the same GP. Scolded him. This is my 4th visit to him within a month! He changed teh anitibiotics. If this time round still don't work, i'm gonna get the records of the meds prescribed and change doctor.

Amazing Marcus. I'm plagued with this for almost a month, yet, he's strong as a bull still. Amazing how tough our babies are.

<font color="0000ff">XY,

Hv u been snacking on those CNY goodies?? hahaha ;p~
Drink more water and go take starfruits + dash of salt, will help

Else honey + lemon drink or coke + lemon (warm it up)
Use salt water to gargle mouth as well.
Get Well soon!
Take Care!!

hmm.... the invisible grilles somehow remind me of electric fence.... in those sci fi movies haaha.

wonder what material they are made of.

XY,

how abt trying some honey lemon.

CNY coming. think u better avoid bak kua &amp; pineapple tarts. these 2 will cause sore throats to get worst.

<font color="0077aa">hi girls, am back...

k, invisible grill. u girls know how steel cables look like right? this is exactly it except it has a PVC cover over the cable. Steel cables are known to be exceptionally strong so thats a plus point. My parents' place actually use it for the balcony where the end points are drilled into the ceiling and on the parapet.

It is not sharp but because it is fixed, you will have probs cleaning windows. Hence, in my humble opinion, it would be good for non window areas. And if you really do intend to use if for areas with glass, then you would prob have some probs...

Cost wise, my parents paid $750 for the balcony area which is about 4 door glass panel long...</font>

me in boring meeting... wanna die...

buffy
the grills lool v pretty but i dun think i will ever get use to it... i may forget that it is invisible and knock myself against the grill... keke

everafter,
I am thinking can you carry bryan with the empty package and ask him to throw it into dustbin himself? Praise him if he do well. Just a suggestion, not sure it works for u? Sometime I will ask Isaac to help out in simple chores, he loves to kapo lo! Hee....he will give me a big smile or clap after getting compliments from me.

lilbluey,
I had encountered those kind of parents before. Haha! They can tell me my son is an angel and I don't believe that he did xxxx. In my 2nd year of teaching, a parent complained to my HOD about me scolding her boy (P3). He was rude so I rebuked him. And she actually said he's a very polite boy come from good background blah blah. Then when he was in P5, he said the f word to his mum. She came crying to the school counsellor saying that she has lost control of her son. The counsellor came to tell me and my reaction was obi good. Haha!

everafter,
but if he's using the straw correctly, meaning it's not a danger to him then let him have it. Any reason you want to take it away? Or ask him for permission first before taking it away?

hi phtanus - hee hee same here! E has learnt to throw his dirty clothes to his pail for dirty laundry...he can walk there and put his clothes on the pile of his clothes and wld give a v "satisfied" smile when i say good job... haha

hi Mint.. so horrid right. I relief teach when i was in uni and i handle this sec 1 class (normal academic)...this boy is so horrible, he throw the desk at his friend. When i asked him does his parents discipline or punish him, he has the cheek to tell me - i am the king at home, my parents say so.

wah man! win already lor!

everafter,
adopt one or two methods and persevere through it. First time it will not have any reaction but continue at it and Bryan will get the msg.

p.s. I just gave a time out to Regina just now cos she was crying non-stop and refused to tell me what she wanted. After the time out she was ok liao.

vanilla,
Yes, it's horrid esp sec sch kids. I was just telling my friend 2 days ago that some of the sec sch kids these days like vampires. Suck the blood out of teachers! Haha!

mint
i see why so many of my teacher frens quit teaching, besides work, there is the srudent and their parents to deal with at times!

jellypurin,
If have those principals who worship the grounds that the parents walk on, then pity the teachers even more. One complain is all it takes for them to be in hot soup. haiz!

<font color="aa00aa">Hello, mummies!!!

Am down with high fever and bad flu with cough. Never in my life has my temp shoot up to 39.3 degrees. Wenmin is down with fever too
.</font>

dimple
but there really is such a thing as electric fence. Used for dogs mostly.

everafter
agree with mint lor. Why can't he have the straw? Actually they're pretty nimble and except for knives, Jo hasn't hurt herself playing with straws/chopsticks/forks. Oh not that I've let her play with knives.

Hello, long time no "see". Been super busy recently. Working hours is 7 to 7pm, not mentioning marking time after work. But strange, I still enjoying this kind of life. Guess I really like to torture myself.

Now the topic on discipline? Actually for me (crossing fingers), Kai Tong was never someone who throw temper, all she did is to pretend crying but her acting is very bad cause her cry look as though she is laughing. Haha...

But when she wants something n I dun allow, I will look at her straight into the eyes and say the reason why I dun allow her to have it (苦口婆心地劝她). In another way, I NAG. Haha... I will go on n on. Until she buay tahan, abandon her mission n went on to play something else. My mum call me siao cause she think my gal wun understand me. I dun care, I just go on n on.

I will say things like if u did this, u may blah blah blah. N if u blah blah blah, mummy will be very upset, so u dun want mummy to be upset right. Then u dun do this, ok? (no response from her) ok? (no response from her) ok? (she will run away n I take it that silence mean consent) Hehe

Vanilla,Jolly,
Thanks for sharing wat u read frm book/website, i hope Bryan will starts to behave!!

phtanus,
Gd idea! i'll give it a try. thanks

Mint,Karen,
hahaa..so much ?? abt the harmless straw :p it's not those norm pkt drink straw..its those big ones that u use to drink bubble tea. he's holding it the other way round, the pt part always faces him and we're scared he might poke his eyes! tried to correct him, but he jus wont let anyone touch his straw!

Ygp,
hahaa..i like your nagging discipline! But wont work on bryan, he'll probably slap me in my face!!