(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">ruffles: ai yoh, u are welcome.

JJMom: shake hands hor. For the past 1 week, it takes me 1.5 hours where in the past, most of the time, it takes 30 mins. I really dunno what's wrong with her. She wants to play, wants to sing and wants to chat; just dun wanna sleep. I am also running out of steam. But more importantly, I am worried because sleeping less than 8 hours at night is very bad! Sigh...

Oh, for mee sua, yes, once it is cooked and soft, we use our spoons to "cut" it</font>

jelly,
don't worry. just a few more hours. rianne is knocked out now after walking and picking books at mph. i swear. if i just had more hands i would have bought a lot of books for her.

jelly,
me too. i have a lot of books. but stopped buying when i stopped working. and hubby is already complaining that i have so much books.

jjmom - yeah i use the combi scissors to cut the noodles, meat, carrots.

Sleep - Vicky tosses ard for about 1/2hr most days. But some days she can bbq herself for nearly 45min-1hr. If very tired, 15min is all she needs.

But honestly, I find our babies wanting to do everything but zz now!!

Joanne - Rianne reminds me of my darling too .. esp when she cuddles up to you.

These days Vicky is darn cute. She will pat pat her tummy when I ask her where is di-di. LOL. SHould be MY tummy right??!!

elch,
I will cook the porridge the night before in the slow cooker then in the morning put everything in the Tiger flask. Will be hot enough to last till dinner for Regina.

jjmom,
It's so tough to coax Regina to sleep also. So usually I have to turn off all the lights and pretend to sleep. She will still jump on me, lift up my shirt to blow at my tummy, make funny sounds, roll all over the bed, etc. You name it. Like buffy, I can be in bed with her from 9pm till 11pm. So nowadays, I tire her out in the day. Give her only one nap in the day so she knocks out latest by 10pm. Usually by 9 plus it's freedom for me. Phew! Heehee!

ruffles,
hehe.. it shows how clingy she is to me. but i love it too. especially when she hugs and kisses me. makes everything worthwhile.

jelly,
yup. definitely. i think mostly girls are sweet. with the exception of my brother's baby. she'll be turning 2 this feb and she's like a tomboy. she doesn't like to kiss and hug and she likes to kick and scratch and hit people.

sleeping - ya hor..suddenly they dont want to sleep! Usually i sleep first then my son sees me not reacting to him will fall asleep..but i am not sure when that will be cos i am exhausted.

now he has bad habit.. does not want to sleep in his cot..must sleep next to me ..

<font color="ff6000">mint,
yah loh, we r trying to coax them to sleep while they try to charm us into playing with them. Sometime i have to force myself not to LOL at her antics or join in the fun =P</font>

sleeping,
rianne's the same. unless she is very tired, she will want to play first. even though i turn all the lights off.sometimes i try to coax her to sleep at 10 but she will only sleep by 12.

I agree...the tod's sleep patterns are getting confusing! I keep changing his schedule because he can't sleep unless he has a bottle of milk.
If I'm lucky, he will fall asleep sucking on the bottle. If not...man it can take up to 1 and a half hours of tossing and turning...and on my bed. no way he will fall asleep in his cot!

Marcus normally sleeps at 11ish and wakes up at 9ish. Then he'll nap for 45min in the afternoon. This is less than the recommended 12-14 hours. Sigh.

anyone wants a purseket? I have three to give away. 1 small and 2 large. Check out purseket.com. I just don't like purse organizers that much.

bigflamingo,
she sleeps around 12-1am. if i'm lucky she will sleep at 11pm. but she wakes up late too. around 9 or 10am. i'm trying to tire her out in the afternoons so that she'll sleep early. so far i was only lucky yesterday.

oohh.. i got a funny story.. when i was at mph earlier, there was a kid who kept saying mummy, mummy. cause her mum was not around. then rianne followed her. said mummy too! hehe..

elch,

Julian gave up his afternoon nap at 13 months. So we tried to push that morning nap later to 12 noon.
But it was so hard for him to stay awake, and he got grumpy. So we made the morning nap early like 9am and he has an afternoon nap at 2pm now, and is happier.

Joanne,
Dunno if this will help you, but according to the baby books, you can shift her bedtime earlier by waking her up 15 min earlier than usual, to tire her out. Then you can shift her bedtime 15 min earlier. and slowly slowly adjust by 15 min every day until the desired time...

bigflamingo,
really? thanks! cause her timing now is out of whack. need to adjust it. but looks like today cannot cause she is still sleeping.

JJmom,
I have to be by Dylan's side for him to fall asleep. No more sleeping on his own which I enjoyed for a few weeks few months back! I miss the privilege! Mostly, it takes him 30mins to go to sleep but these days he's being real hyper and takes a longer time to fall asleep! He'll just keeps on walking around his playyard, talking, playing 'silly' games like covering his face, shaking the playard, hitting or kicking the playyard or me! I just ignore him throughout and use my iPhone by camouflaging it with a blanket or whatever!

Mint,
It's ok to cook the porridge overnight? What else is placed in the pot overnight besides porridge? My slow cooker only has a 'Cook' and 'Warm' function so if I'm to do it I wonder if it's ok to 'Cook' till morning?

bigflamingo,
Most days Dylan naps around 1pm...there are also days when he dozes off while having his lunch! He's tired by late morning but refuse to nap till around noon time always!

Oh yeah Joanne.
Or for a faster fix, wake her up at say, 7am. She will probably be grumpy from lack of sleep. Then put her to bed at 9pm (or whatever time you want). Most likely she will be so tired she will conk out. But do not let her sleep in till late the next morning. Wake her up again at 7am. after a week or so she will be used to the new pattern.

Julian's nap times are erratic, but most days he will wake at 6.30am and sleep at 8.30pm

Sleep:
Mine sometimes oso can take up to half hr or so to nap...if she's sleepy or wan me to cuddle, she will crawl to me and lie on my chest, patting her to sleep... On good days, aft latching she will sleep.

For noon naps, if she nap longer in her 1st nap say 2hrs then prolly will skip her 2nd nap lor. else she will be grumpy if she misses her nap leh.

Joanne, same as Rianne...Kaelyn oso will nap ard 11ish and sometimes even 12ish!! Phew.... tiring!! So does Rianne takes her breakfast/lunch late then since she wakes up late??
Think most bubs taking early lunch at 11am plus, mine just took breakfast only!! ;p So meaning her lunch will be a late one oso, aft she wakes up from her nap. Headache lah..
Think wanna slowly adjust her sleeping pattern oso.

Long time din login. cant really surf net at new workplc, many eyes watching...sianz..

Bryan is very SLOW in his speech...he only utters mama/papa few mths back..now all he do is scream..ARGH He got this really bad temper that once we take something away frm him, he'll cry/scream/roll-on-the floor and there's nothing that we can pacify him
tried the hard way: scold/beat useless..soft approach also dont work!! Really dunno how
scared he'll end up like a brat kid who'll roll-on-the-floor at shoppping malls and screaming at the top of his voice! sigh~

Was wondering if I could join this thread. I have an October 2008 baby too but never got round to posting. My toddler's name is Ian and I thought it would be nice if he could have some friends around the same age as him when we go back to Singapore.

A little about us. We live overseas and I'm a SAHM to 2 little boys, a 4 year old and a 15 month old.

My baby is very picky about food. He loves to eat but he likes variety so I can't cook him porridge everyday or he'll refuse to eat. I use the pigeon porridge pot to cook his food along with our rice. He also gets to eat whatever meat we're eating and I'll cut up bit sized portions for him to feed himself.

welcome Koalababy!!

Let me guess, you're in Australia?

Toddler Tantrums
Everafter, so what approach did you use? I think our toddlers are now filled with emotions and they have no way of expressing their anger in words so they expressed it through screaming. Makes sense, eh? When we're angry, we raise our voices too? How do we pacify an angry adult? Guess we can apply the same to our kiddos? Will have to teach them how to control anger but for now, we just have to learn to handle their anger in a different way. Another way I try is to remove all the tantrum-inducing situations, though I know it's impossible at times.

Jo hardly screams when she's with me, but she's always screaming during playtime when she's with my father or nephew. She's not unhappy. On the contrary instead. Excited?

morn mommies

everafter
my rebby screams alot too. she screams most of the time bcos she wants something. she shouts when she's excited. am not v angry w her but i will try and teach her that when in public dun sream too much.

koala
welcome.

Karen/Jelly,
It's really hard to teach him or mayb he's too young to understd nw? my hb is getting very frustrated with his behaviour..i told him kids are like that, its a growing up phase, but he insisted that it's me who spoilt bryan..But i did not. I will also beat his hand when he do wrong things. For his tantrum, i simply ignore him if he refuse to listen..but he'll continue to cry and roll-on-the floor for the next 15mins or so! sigh~ headache!! I am very scared how will life be when he starts going to cc.

Hello everafter! Nice to see you back
How's your new job? Hope you are settling in nicely.

Tantrums - Agree with Karen. You need to remove him from these situations. For instance, when he starts yelling, grab him and put him in another place or distract him with something he likes ie. food, snacks, tv etc. They are trying to assert themselves and test boundaries now so you need to be firm. Of course, some days you will have to give in - depending on situations.

In fact when he does go CC, it might improve cos there will not be sufficient teachers to shower him attention all the time. Plus he will learn from the kiddos and if he sees no ones stamps his foot ard, he will likely stop. When are you sending him to CC?

Welcome Koala bear!!! Must be trying for you to be all alone in a foreign land coping w 2 babies
Kudos!!

Ruffles,
Thanks..new job is great! How's your #2?

I did try to remove him frm that situation but it's not helping at all. I knw he's jus trying to get attn, so we'll try to ignore him but he'll wail louder -_-" Snacks doesnt help at all when he gets angry! There's really absolutely NOTHING can pacify him. He'll stop when he wants to! SIGH!! But then sometimes he's behaving when we're outside cos there's once he was screamin away then a SA talked to him and he stared at her blankly and kept quiet

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,

I am getting Fitflop from Victoria Secret website. $250 off $75 = abt 30% discount.

Anyone interested? Pls PM me..

Thanks for welcoming me.
I'm actually living in the US right now.

It's actually not that bad looking after 2 kids on my own. My big one is at preschool 5 days a week and my 15 month old just follows me or plays while I work on chores. It just gets a little tough trying to engage him when I send his big brother for his ke1 wai4 huo2 dong4. I literally have to chase after him while his brother has gymnastics class. I also have alot of help from my husband so it's not so bad.

About tantrums and screaming - Ian screams when he's excited too so I have to differentiate that from his angry scream. I usually try to remove him from the situation and avoid situations which could potentially trigger a tantrum.

<font color="0000ff">Morning All,

Welcome Koala!

Everafter,

Haven seen you ard for quite some time, good to have you back, how are you settling down in your new job?

welcome koalababy!

everafter,
regina also does have her tantrum moments. What i'll do is i'll say sternly stop it, tell me what's wrong. So far it has worked for me. She'll stop and point or sign to me what she wants. Somtimes if it's still a no go she'll start again and that's when i ignore her. She'll just cry for a few mins and knowing that it's not working, she'll find something else to distract herself. But if she's still crying then i distract her with something.

<font color="ff6000">Morning mommies

Welcome Koala
which part of US r u at? Coming back soon?

Think Nat has finally start to call me, heehee...so happy

Lilbluey,
Settling gd in new job..

Mint,
When distracting doesnt work, then what to do? So gek sim that he inherit my stubborness and bad temper

Hi Mummies!!

Tantrums and screaming... Should Minibee throw a fit, I will normally give a firm NO and then remove her from situation. Like mentioned by some of the mummies, they are at a stage where they are also learning to handle new experiences and their emotions. Personally, I feel the need to set boundaries from a young age so that the child is aware there are rules and they do not lord over others and the world. Whenever minibee gets too loud(screaming for fun) i will tell her shhh! With finger to lip. Now she will follow me to do shh! with her finger to her lip. Then i reinforce with thats correct and cheer her on. But if she squeels in delight from excitement, I will cheer her on cos I feel its great that she is having a good time (of course in the correct setting, if we are at the library or nice restaurant, I will tell her this is not a place we can be too loud and do the Shhh! again. Plus in Playnest at JG they go Shhh! before storytime, so I think with the repetition she gets the drift.

Everafter, glad your new job is great. Don't worry too much about Bryan, just try persevering. Give him a firm NO (change you tone) and then take him out of the situation. As a family you need to be consistent. Otherwise such boundaries are difficult to implement. I know Grandparents and sometimes Daddy spoil market. But remember they learn from repetition so dun give up!!

Koalababy, welcome!! Hat's off to you to be able to manage your chores and 2 young kiddos. I applaud u!!!
Wow you are in Shopping Paradise USA!! Do attend the next gathering when you are back and we get to know you and Ian. (older kids do come along sometimes, so by all means bring along Ian's gorgor)

Mummies, just read that the doctor from Britain who wrote the medical journal abt MMR and Autism is now retracting the journal that caused the uproar about the link between MMR shots and autism. Apparently his sample group was taken from the attendees of his son's birthday party and the whole study was not conducted well. So no need to worry sooo much, guess its not of much basis at all.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20100203/tts-health-disease-vaccination-autism-c1b2fc3.html

bb tantrums - my son underestand the word "scold"..if he is naughty or demanding or diffcult i will say "mummy scold".. he hear the word scold, would play his hands and pat on his tummy - i think he is trying to say scared. If i scold he will cry or if my tone is stern and fierce he will stop what he is doing and have watery eyes, mouth turned to a frown. By then i will say "ok ok, u good boy dont do this" and hug him or sayang him.

But i am into spanking. If he is really v disobedient and dangerous situation i will spank.

and he can b distracted rather easily..so it helps. like mint, i will try to understand what he wants if he whines.. actually i think he whines alot for a boy haha..

Busybee,
No one is spoiling him, in fact my mum tried to discipline him when he throw tantrums also..but it doesnt work. tried both hard and soft approach..failed as well! Yup, we tried giving him his fav. food/water or bringin him elsewhere but it doesnt help. He'll jus con't to scream and protest by doing the throw-himself-backwards!
Am really at wits end..dunno how to teach him

yippee, on leave today =) Ash having his nap..some ME time now..hee

Welcome Koalamummy !!

Jelly/Dimple/Ruffles/joanne : sorry nt able to join for lunch yest.. glad you gals had fun catching up.. i soo miss Rainne too..and yesh, dimple, you are rite that no one gets bored listening to every lil stories of our buds..hee

Tantrums : Ash is also starting to throw tantrums. and he realli screams at time till his face is all flushed up..and almost 'hyberventilating'. Gosh ! like the rest, will try distraction as well as keeping a stern face. There are times it doesn't work, and a cuddle/kiss will work to calm him down abit.
There are really no fixed way to handle this, but i rem attending a parenting workshop and they taught us to minimise the usage of "NO". I know it's not easy, but we have to try to expand our vocab.
Instead of "NO", we can say (depending on the situation) " HOT, OUCH, BE Careful, etc..try to only use NO in the most extreme situation..else the kid will think that everything they do..mummy will say NO when once they can express themselves..we will find them saying "NO" to us all the time..so jus something to keep in mind =)

In addition, we need to set firm limit to make our child feel safe and secure.

Jus read the papers, and one article kinda strike me. We as parents also need to control our emotion. Many a times when our kids throw tantrums, they may jus throw us in the ‘pek chek’ mood and we end up feeling angry and ‘transferring the anger/insecurity’ back to them. It’s a vicious cycle. So perhaps, we should take a DEEP breathe, calm ourselves down, before handling them so that kinda make the situation less tense and hopefully gives our child the sense of security and hence calm them down.

I know it’s not easy….at least keep it in mind and try..you never know.it may work for you =)

<font color="0077aa">morning all.

Hey mummies, FYI, I just realised that Guardian Pharmacy is carrying the BB cream from Beauty Credit and there is a 20% promotion. FYI.

Can I digress a bit to ask abt Vitamins? How many mummies here are taking Vit C and Multi Vits to boost up your immunity? Ever since I gave birth and had chicken pox a month after my confinement, my health has been so bad! Immunity system is all time low. GP told me that usually after Chicken Pox it will be the case and advised me to pump up my Vitamin intake.

So, on a daily average, I take 1000mg of Vit C and 2 tabs of the Multi Vit. But I still find that I get the sniffles quite regularly. E.g. my team leader just came back from her maternity and her bub is only 4 months old and is in infant care. So, he catches virus there, she falls sick looking after him and now, my throat is a tad sore, etc. Can we take more Vit C?</font>