(2008/08) Aug 2008

celyn
that 1 is not really a game but a technique/concept to learn chinese. =)
maybe now better for their eye to avoid staring at pc, at least not for the 1st 3 yrs.
but when they goto school, school will need them to have some basic concept in operating pc leh.
cos some of their school work will be loaded in school website.
so if by K2 they still not introduce to computer, u might need some time to guide them while the rest already started using it liao.

snow74,
i'm leaving it to cc to teach. cos his cc got lesson where they use pc to do something one. i know they have something like that but not sure at which level.

but that one still need to work with some gadgets right?

Shint/Cat, I found the link, thanks... but I see the Chinese website, I want to faint leow... dunno how to navigate... :p Price in yen? Then how to calculate $100 (<- SGD?)? Haven't joined books spree in a long time... appreciate advice... thanks!

rcv this via email

5 Ways to Protect Your Baby from Mosquitoes

It’s 2a.m. and I’ve finally soothed fussy 3-month old Vee back to sleep. Then a mosquito parks itself comfortably onto his forehead. I panick, grab a piece of tissue paper and catch it. Oh no, the mosquito’s gone but the baby’s eyes open wide and I’ve got to soothe him all over again! Aren’t mosquitoes plain irritating?

For several years, our house has been INFESTED with mosquitoes. Dengue fever is common in the region and we live in fear of getting it. Finally, we’ve controlled the mozzie problem and on lucky days, we get away with no bite at all. Here are 5 tried and tested ways to protect your baby from mosquitoes:

1. Wear Light-Coloured Clothings

I learnt this the hard way by wearing a black T-shirt at home and becoming a mosquitoes magnet all day long. Then my mother-in-law (MIL) advised me to wear light-coloured clothes, which helped a lot. So for baby, put light-coloured clothes on him, even if that particular dark blue top looks uber-cool.

2. Mosquito Netting

This is a simple, low cost method. Many play-pens come packaged with mosquito nets, that can be used on a small cot too. Otherwise, you can buy a mosquito net to wrap over the cot when baby is asleep. The downside is reduced air circulation which means baby might feel warmer. Not recommended on a hot day. And an older baby won’t like the netting.

3. Mosquito Repellent

Nature Mozz

Many commercial mosquito repellents are for adults and unsuitable for baby’s delicate skin and body. So you’d need to select a baby-safe repellent and read its list of ingredients carefully.

When Vee was younger, we tried Buds Mozzie Clear Lotion, which worked rather well. (Read the full review here.)

Then recently, we were given the opportunity to test out TGP Nature Mozz Mosquito Repellent Stick. We used it when visiting the Singapore Zoo and survived the trip with no bites. Over the months, we’ve been applying the repellent religiously before sleep every night. Vee loves the repellent, so after it ran out, we grabbed a new stick at Mothercare (KL). His very-sensitive skin is fine when using this repellent. I only wished a tube lasts longer since three of us are using it.

4. Solar Mosquito Repeller

And about 2 years back, my MIL gave us a Solar Mosquito Repeller*. It’s solar-powered to give off a high-frequency sound and repel blood-sucking female mosquitoes. You can hear the “eeeee” sound by bringing the repeller close to your ears. For more mosquito-repelling action, we hook it by the window grille so that it gets powered up every day and drive the mozzies away.
5. Electric Mosquito Trap

Advante Blackhole

When all the above methods fail and your house is still infested with mosquitoes (like ours 3 years ago), here comes the mosquitoes’ biggest enemy — Advante Blackhole. After comparing several mosquito traps at Home-Fix, we decided to get the Blackhole, which is like the BMW of mosquito traps.

It uses UV-light and heat to create carbon dioxide and moisture, mimicking the human body to lure mosquitoes into the trap. In the first week we placed the trap outside our room, the entire white sticker sheet was FILLED with mosquitoes, maybe a hundred of them. (If you look closely at the picture above, the black dots on the circular white sheet are mosquitoes stuck in the trap.)

When the sticker runs out of space to “stick” mosquitoes, simply replace it with a new piece. The people at Home-Fix helps with maintaining the Blackhole. So far, we’ve only had to change a spare part once.

By using the above methods, we’ve finally managed to keep the mosquitoes at bay.

Get Your Own (with Discount!)

To get your own TGP Nature Mozz Mosquito Repellent Stick and a wide range of products for Mummy and baby, visit thegreenpocket.biz and baby-mel.com.

* Special Treat: 15% discount on mosquito repellent stick
* Discount Code: LZEF37T09BQ6Y
* Validity Period: Until 31 March 2011

Rata,
I think Jac wld have most enjoyed herself with the space to run &amp; then you get to see her in action! heehee..

Ashley's playgroup not so on for parents to join in the activities.. Cannot even go in for bday party. Literally pass cake + camera at gate. Super sad

M2B,
hahahha.. Nono, not yet. I will announce de

Dunno why leh, i think getting older liao. Sleep at 12 wake at 6 but more tired than in the past.

Sylvia,
I see! Was tempted to go down.. Like tt I can save some money le
Is the Mothercare sale still on?

snow
ya i saw the playchinese too.. looks interesting.. now promo price very cheap. i'm tempted to buy and keep. hahaha. but problem is must go all the way to jurong to get tomorrow. still considering.

shint
ya i saw her bp but i wondering why she cheaper than ordering direct from dangdang.

Hisstory, Jac sch encourage parents invlovment. Think later part of the yr will invite parents to attend their handi craft session with them. I like her current sch but no choice ve to switch her next yr
Hope the next sch is just as good too *finger cross*

hisstory

nt a prob. if it's the original ones, think we go sharing happily.

Hope they hv again this yr.

Rata,
that's very gd sch.
Hope the next one is good too.

Cat,
maybe as spree, they share the shipping, so became cheaper. Plus dangdang is more on biz while spree is more on personal level?

Snow
playchinese seems interesting. when bbm saw the boy kicking, she sprout her lip n tell me NONO. I taught her nt to kick ppl unless they bully her. :p

eh... this one is download to iphone?

The POPULAR Sale
Admission: Public Free Admission
Venue: Hall 5A

Organiser: POPULAR Book Co (Pte) Ltd

Time:
18 March: 10am to 3pm POPULAR Card Members Closed Door Sale
18 March: 3pm to 10pm Open to Public
19 - 20 March: 10am to 10pm

Contact Details:
Tel: 6462 9555
email: [email protected]
web: www.popular.com.sg
End your March school holiday on a high note at The POPULAR SALE! March down to EXPO Hall 5A for…

Crocs.
Recently. my ex colleague's daughter's crocs got caught in the escalator n lost her toe nail. juat be careful when they are wearing it.
Sharing this cos alot of pple seems to be going for crocs.

Go hospital lo. Lost toe nail n prob traumatized. I am getting new shoes for the kids n throw away that type of shoes.

Actually i dont understand why parents still let their kids wear crocs onto the escalator after so many accidents. i never let bernice wear crocs even thou she hasnt learnt to stand on the escalator yet. Cos I feel the cros head so big always makes it easy to fall down. also i dont like the in between sizes thing cos it's always 2 sizes together. it's quite amazing that some schools for the convenience of their teachers actually request for the kids to come to school in crocs cos easy to wear and take out.

Cat,
U mean the schools actually requested?

I am not sure but frens say crocs is light n soft hence easy to be sucked in.
If wan to wear then have to be very careful when the kid is on escalator. Just a reminder cos after a while no accident happens human tend to be more careless.

morning mummies

catherine,
i didn't know that school will request. if they ever do to me, this mummy sure won't follow. original crocs are so ex and so ugly looking. though yu ze got a pair cos my boss bought for him as present. i 'scold' her and take the receipt and change the crocs to crocs slipper for yu ze. he is going to outgrow his current pair liao. no more crocs for him. i also inform my boss not to buy anymore crocs for my children.

bernice didn't stand on escalator cos you don't allow or she is afraid?

Good news for those who gave birth before 17 Aug 08 and did not get to enjoy the revised Baby Bonus then!

SINGAPORE: Parliament has passed a Bill allowing all Singapore citizens aged six and below to open a Child Development Account.

The Children Development Co—Savings (Amendment) Bill is an administrative step to facilitate the disbursement of Child Development Credits announced by the Finance Minister in his Budget speech in February.

Under the "Grow and Share" package, all citizens born between 1 January 2005 and 31 December 2011 will receive credits of either S$300 or S$400, depending on the annual value of their home.

The accounts were introduced as part of the government’s Marriage and Parenthood Package but not all children are eligible for them.

They include those born between 1 January 2005 and 16 August 2008, and who are either the first—born child or a child of the fifth or higher order in the family.

The new Bill removes this criterion.

It also makes it possible for children of single parents and unwed mothers to open accounts and receive the credits.

Parents do not need to make any contributions to the accounts in order to receive the credits.

The new Bill also spells a name change for the Act. It will now be known as the Child Development Co—Savings Act.

— CNA/ir

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4701894

Re: Crocs
U mean there are schools tt request for kids to wear crocs? Tats crazy. I realised that Velle seems to be less stable when she is wearing those Crocs wif a bigger head. Mary janes are fine though. Think at the end of the day, it depends largely on how the parents watches over the kids, especially at the escalators as it is dangerous with or without wearing crocs.

Good Morning Mommies!

Rata,
Yes, PTC is parents-teachers’ conference…sounds big ya? Haha

Medusa,

Celyn,
I know abt Upin and Ipin when I was preparing for a show &amp; tell for #1 on Hari Raya Puasa bazaar hahaha

Snow,
Looks interesting leh…how much is that?

Nana,
We had a great day at #1’s Sports Meet but coz her house lost and some gals started crying and she cried too…end up, I have to console her and her classmates hahaha Gals!!!

Hisstory,
We are waiting for your good news ya!

Shint &amp; Cat,
That’s scary…so far my gals are ok with Crocs although hb disliked =P But we are extra careful when they are on the escalator, no matter what shoes they wearing

cat:

crocs is easy to slip on and off and matches almost every casual outfit. that said, i'm very weary abt letting J go onto the escalator when wearing crocs. we always carry him when taking escalator...he's not even allowed to stand on it.

escalator:
hmmm.... so mummies don't allow kids to stand on escalator at all? mine had been standing on it since he started walking leh. now, he will walk in and out of travellator himself. escalator, i will hold his hand at getting in and out.

m2b,
ok ok. so i'm not the odd one out. yu ze had been doing that since he started to walk. my friend had been scolding me say its so dangerous loh, i just ignore her.

mae still hold your hand. yu ze don't even want to hold our hand, he want to try to walk into the steps on his own like us. if there is no one behind us, i will let him try and stand there to catch him in case of anything. if too crowded, i will grab his arm and guide him up.

shint/mummynana/celyn
ya actually my friend say NYK requested for the kids to wear crocs when they started in Jan. Requested but not a compulsary. As what krex said it's easy to wear themselves or even for the teachers so makes their job easier mah...

I actually still have 2 pairs of the elmo and cookie monster polliwalks shoes, the head is even bigger than crocs. now dono how. maybe when go beach then wear..

celyn/krex
we try not to let bernice go onto the escalator so most of the time we still carry her. but I've tried maybe 2-3 times to let her experience the escalator holding her hand. she's ok, just we rather not let her stand as yet.

I dont let bernice wear mainly cos of the big head of the crocs, ya i know got nice maryjanes too but so far i havent decided to get them for her. She has a few pairs last time bought at the crocs T3 sale, which we only let her wear when she goes onto the ourdoor balcony area in the afternoons when it's hot, just to prevent the heat on the feet. heehee.

celyn
I read before that it's not good to let kids wear slippers so young. Even exposed sandals. bernice has a taiwanese classmate which parents refuse to let him wear sandals, so he's always in shoes and socks. he say the PD do not encoiurage kids to wear exposed shoes so young.

catherine,
oh. yu ze had been wearing those slippers not long after he started walking loh. he can wear them and run around too. thought the crocs had those band to hook at the back, he will turn them to the front and leave behind free leh.

m2b, i see think my pt session will b next mth if not wrong.

celyn, Jac is going up &amp; down escalator wif us holding on to her hands.

i always found escalators dangerous and injury prone, so dun think we'll let J stand on his own yet...until he's more steady.

Rata,

I also bought mary jane during sales as got 2 straps. but chg brand as the big head on too big n v loose.

Celyn,

BBM also get in n out of escalator/travellator herself, just that i will make sure she place her feet away from the front plate and hold onto her instead. sometimes when we are close to the end, she wld put one of her feet the moving down plate and step on it, so both feet are away from the edge.

Always check and hold her while near end or going out though she might complain.

expose feet nt allowed? but last time, they barefooted ran everywhere? so wrong?

Promotion : MPH Anniversary Sale 2011
Location : MPH Raffles City, Novena Square, Parco Millenia &amp; Robinson Road Afro-Asia Bldg
Date : 10 – 13 Mar 2011

Other than IT show

there's

Event Details

Event : The Creative Warehouse Sale 2011
Location : Creative Headquarters, 31 International Business Park S(609921)
Date : 11 – 20 Mar 2011
Time : 12Noon – 9.00PM

Hi hi, me here too.
Just came back after sending #1 to class.
As for that play Chinese thing, it will be cheaper if u getting it during warehouse sales which ending on the 20th.
It's just a new way/technique to help kids learn chn in a way that they also din realise that they improved liao.
Package bundled with ziio tablet and some play cards, and some other accessories.
What I'm more interested in is the ziibook thingy, 2yrs free access to a million books.
That's all I noe now, who else need to noe anything more I can help ask on Mon lor. ;)

As for crocs, hb dun like also..so only 2 pairs at home, they are gifts. :p

celyn

at punggol. newly opened.

heard very beutiful park n got water features pah.

i also havent go yet

snow

oooooooo

interesting. the zilbook is a software?

Sylvia
It's a db of books online, got both chn and English books.
When u 'flipped' that book, the UI made it feel like u are flipping a physical book.
They have this messenger that allow 2 users to share and discuss on the book they are reading.
Interesting hor?

Yln
Let me noe what u wanna noe, I see if I can find the ans inside that booklet.

As far as price wise, less than $200 can get a ziio tablet + 4 color stylus pens think its more than worth liao.
Let alone now still got bundle a few more things lor..but think that price only valid during warehouse sale.

snow
ya i saw the playchinese. very interested but i dont think bernice can use until another 2 years so by then i hope got new things out. but the price is very attractive. $199 for alot of things.

Cat
Ya, think our rat at least next yr then can use.
But like what u said lor, that price is attractive so might not be the same even if new product is launched.
Can ask them if next time newer ver rel, will they have discount for 'upgrader' anot ya?
Hee hee..

morning mummies

shint,
you so busy still coordinate sprees. why not get your colleague to help you?

yu ze is down with cough and fever yesterday.