(2008/08) Aug 2008

Wa... all the babies look so cute!

Calling all <font color="ff0000">Similac</font> mummies!

I have a flyer from Abbott w vouchers for Similac. One is $2 off 1 tin of 900g Similac, valid til 28 Feb 2009. And another voucher for Buy 2 get 1 free, valid til 31 Mar 2009.
Do PM me if you want and give me your mailing address.

I also hv similar vouchers for Similac Mum, Gain IQ and Gain IQ Kid for those whose #1 are using these FM.
All these vouchers can be used at NTUC

mousse,

Where are u living? I don't mind getting the Enfapro 400g but I dun hv Nestle NAN to exchange w u.

BTW, why u dun wana use Enfapro? Got any prob w it?

Sam/celynlee/val: Ya the bbs all very cute!
Actually got one more bb but the mommy left quite early so didnt manage to take any picture.

How about make this a monthly gathering?

So other working mommies can join in too!

Val,
I've no problem with Enfapro, just that i've started my baby on Nestle Nan Pro 2 cos Nestle was quicker in sending me their sample.
Is Chevelle drinking Enfapro A+? If so, can you call up Nestle for the free Nan Pro 2, then we exchange?

Celyn,
U still using the Wella serum? Do you get pimples near the hairline or on the forehead if u use?
Cos I noticed that the day after I apply the serum, pimples will appear

Mousse,
I've not started her on Enfapro yet, will be intending to. Cos I still hv abt 2 tins of Enfalac to finish up.

How to go about getting the Nan Pro 2?

I'm going to search the Nestle website.

hisstory,
i'm going 7D hokkaido. not sure if be extending in tokyo yet. still waiting to cnfm trip first.

megan,
when u moving to east coast ? you be nearer for MJ sessions.. haha. but i know what you mean about having no space.. terrible la the amt of things we have. b4 baby we already go so many things, now with baby it's worse. we're also thinking of moving to a bigger place. Maybe landed better.. sigh .. my mom today joke say buy 2 units side by side, 1 just to store things and another to live in. hahaha. But in time we hope to move to a bigger hse, or more like a hse with more rooms and place to put a piano for bernice

huichin,
my hb dont like the neck float cos he say not good for neck. so we got the coconut tree float.

snow,
you or ur hb from hk ah ?

babyemma,
ya my maid also full of creative lies. never once admit she is wrong and will always put the blame onto others. that day i told her that her fav phrase is "sir say" cos she everything also blame my hb.

Val,
think it's this => Call Nestlé Consumer Services 6836 7200 (Mon-Fri 9am -5pm)

Shint,
Haha! Many Kai-s around... Mine also a Kai-something.

<font color="#CD6889">NiNi</font>
So sad Trudy chope Ethan oredi.. Nvm, handsome Braiden can find another GF when mummy NiNi arranges another 'match-making' session for him

<font color="#CD6889">Catherine</font>
Ah.. U might be able to see the spring blossoms if u do extend

Sheesh, Tokyo accomm so exp.. Argh!!

Breastfeeding Support Group Survey (Ongoing):
1. Jen - TBF, baby led
2. Rona - TBF >1yr
3. Krex - TBF/PBF?; >1yr
4. mummygiraffe - TBF; >1yr
5. celynlee - PBF (1FM); >1 yr
6. Rata - TBF; 1yr

wendy, i use hot water to do my cereal i dun use warm up bm coz i dunno if is not enough to dissolve the cereal properly.

Hisstory,
it's oni S$7+..now metro got 20% leh..can buy..
It comes wif a lid so it's good for bringing out!

Valnsw,
Are you jus getting the 400g can? or vouchers as well?

Hey, I just realised my boy oso Kai-something. We seldom call him his chinese name, and Cantonese spells it as Hoi... :p

sam,

wah, what u do at telco ah? i also want to join u. so stressed at work now

jen,

u still have that list? i was so touched when i saw that! *sobs* i never thought i could persevere that long. would have given up at 6 mths if not for all you wonderful mommies

wendy,

how come u can't eat seafood and peanut butter? bb allergic or not supposed to eat as a precaution? i know my CL told me to avoid prawns and i read that nuts are best avoided when BF but i've been eating both anw :p i'm only avoiding sashimi and raw food.

feeding is pretty neat for me. from the beginning, jonah learnt to put his hands down and is too eager to eat his food to try anything funny
i'm quite lucky! but if your bb is a messy eater, u might want to consider getting the ikea high chair and those 3d bibs which are easy to clean. else use disposables lor (i only use those outside). will clean bb's face using wet towel or cotton pads after feed.

my updated resolution:

Breastfeeding Support Group Survey (Ongoing):
1. Jen - TBF, baby led
2. Rona - TBF >1yr
3. Krex - PBF (1FM); 1yr
4. mummygiraffe - TBF; >1yr
5. celynlee - PBF (1FM); >1 yr
6. Rata - TBF; 1yr

<font color="#CD6889">ReiRei</font>
Oooh.. Sounds like gd!! Can post a pix here or sthg like tt? Scarly I blurblur cannot find the right thing

<font color="#CD6889">krex</font>
Amazing right, unknowingly we've BF for at least 6mths oredi *pats* for all your perseverance inspite all the 'setbacks'

Tmrw wld be the 1st day we start Ashley on cereal.. Hope she wld be as guai &amp; eager like Jonah

wendy.
cold storage sells sliced pumpkins. 1 small slice bernice can eat 4 times. an entire pumpkin .. i think u need to find recipes to cook and eat eg kong bak + pumpkin.. yummy..

re: messy feeding
bernice is not very messy (thank goodness). But i still do end up with a pile of tissue and wet wipes. usu after few spoonfuls and if the mouth area is messy, i will use a tissue/wet wipe/hanky to wipe. but mostly it's to wipe her hands cos soemtimes she will put in her mouth or touch the spoon. my hb is more neat with feeding.

nini,
the baby pics are all so cute

cat,

wear those loose n with buttons innerwear, loose for winter wear. is like outside ones u pull up, inside ones u pull down.

Hee hee!!

I did my research, but din get to go...

hisstory, there are cheap n good accomodation in tokyo, when u need it, can pm me. :p

Just a quick one before I hit the sack. All the babies look so cute...so kissable. ^^

Update on feeding Mabel:
She doesn't like the yoghurt
She loves the avocado

Ok...shall read through the postings tomorrow. Goodnight!

krex,

nuts cant eat while bf ar?

for sashimi n raw stuff, is ok as long as u eat with wasabi leh. I have been eating raw ones since bb 2nd mth.

My jap frd told me her frd ate sashimi even the day before she delivered. Is supposed to be good for bf leh......

aug bash

I found a restaurant in the going to open Jurong Safra. Venue near the pool. They are happy if they can serve us.

Budget for food will depend on how much we give them, they will open the venue for us n arrange necessary arrangement. Staff are pro-baby friendly, so is a plus point to us.

Just that Jurong Safra... will all the mummies go?

Peanuts I ate is likely what caused my boy's 1st eczema attack. After that I don't dare to eat so much anymore.

Yuuri,
You're cantonese too?

Messy eater
I dunno my boy is messy or me. Cos I'm the one feeding right? Hahah, see this pix...

2173133.jpg

hisstory,

gd luck with your first attempt! always so exciting! when i first fed jonah cereal, he went "uh uh"...and wanted more! 1 tbsp like not enough so made him another tbsp, haha. he wanted to feed himself then, but subsequently was happy to just keep his hands by the side and let mommy feed. he's always so excited about food...thankfully! so far never reject solids unless he's very sleepy, then he will start to cry with every mouthful.

cat,

the easiest way to deal with leftover pumpkin is bake it in the oven and have a western meal...yummy!

celyn,

really ah? peanuts bad for BF? die! i've been helping myself to them coz' my ILs everytime go restaurant to eat and we have late meals, so can't help but snack on the peanuts there to fill my hungry stomach. have also been eating peanut butter and jam sandwich for brekkie sometimes. but so far bb ok leh. just wondering if the after effects will occur when he's much older... :p

sylvia,

my gynae told me no sashimi when preggie so i guess it's quite controversial. but i avoid anyway since raw stuff very prone to being contaminated, esp since singapore sashimi is never as fresh as japan ones. but i still eat yu sheng with sashimi during CNY. even though i pick out the sashimi, it's already been mixed with the vege, so just close one eye and eat lor. as for nuts, i read that gd to avoid when preggie as allergies are quite common in US. but not so in asia, so i just ate anyway and so far nothing has happened.

brie,

haha so cute! why dun u use a giant plastic bib so u dun have to wash the romper everytime? i'm quite fortunate. everytime i do feeds, i have someone beside me to hold bb down (if he gets too excited) and also feed water in between. now we give him water using spoon...doesn't seem to like to take it from the bottle anymore.

morning mummies

briebaby,
hahah.... my yu ze is also like that for his first few feed by me. slowly, it become better as in the 'facial' part is in smaller area now.

krex78,
i avoid peanuts cos yu ze got g6pd. so he can't take 1 kind of nuts. i'm going to teach and tell him, he can't take nuts too. only when he is old enough to recognise the nuts, then he can take them.

sashimi, i take during pregnancy too cos gynae say ok.

briebaby
:p I am not Cantonese...my hb is!

Nuts
Oh dear, didn't know cannot take. I eat Macadamia like free like that! haha

Hi mummies hope you had a pleasant rainbow day with all the colours! Made this thread so interesting to read.

I've been so exhausted this week. Never had so many sleepless nights for a long long time that it's quite a shock to the system. Wonder when all this teething discomfort will stop??? But apart from teething pains, we're having fun trying new solids in 'weird' combinations.
Think I'll have to introduce lumpy food sooner than I thought. The blender started 'smoking' when I was pureeing peas and potato last Sat. Seems like the blender ate some of my puree!

Yeah advisable not too take peanuts while bf but somehow can't stop myself. I did stop for a week when Dominic had eczema but the doc said the cause of his eczema wasn't a food allergy but a washing powder allergy.

krex are you getting a new pump? I've upgraded my Avent Isis Uno to an Ameda dual last month. Didn't have any intention of getting a new pump until my BIL told my hubby he thought that it was unhealthy that I spent so much time pumping. Which was quite true used to take me 2 hours per session with the Uno. So my hubby told me to look for a faster pump. Since getting the new pump it has given me the incentive to carry on bf longer. Hee! Hee! Must make spending the extra money worthwhile.
Btw I used to find the suction of the Isis rather weak too.

Cat can just wear a front opening sweater and winter jacket over a normal nursing top.

Time to stock up on Petpet!!

NTUC selling Petpet 3 packs at $34.95.

Til valid til 4 Mar or isit 26 Feb. Saw in today's Straits Times advert.

Good Morning Mommies!

Snow &amp; Hisstory,
Must destress mah...heehee...I bought some Gap rompers, personalized bag (#1), cap, toy holder, stroller harness etc =P

reirei,
I'm looking to get the 400g tin of Enfapro to try 1st.

For the voucher, I alrdy got that from Celyn.

Celyn,
Thks for sending me the voucher. Got it!

Mousse,
WHereabouts u live? Cos if not v convenient, it's ok, I can get the 400g off the shelf. I just wana let bb try before I buy the big tins.

Nini,
That link on the BB fair, only saw the star buys.
They nvr list all the booths there. Was hoping to see if hv any diaper booths... hehe

Morning moms!

Nini..
Well taken shots! All the babies so adorable! Where do you live? I agree with you that it's always fun to have visitors. I love it too when my friends come over to visit with their babies
Makes time pass by faster, actually!

Hisstory..
The steamer not that big lah.. Hee.. I think it's quite a good size. And yes.. I do steam my lunch with it almost every day!! Easy peasy and healthy too

Rata..
Oh I see! So your cereal will be plain and w/o BM unless you add a puree? Hmm.. I must go and check the packaging again to see if it specifically says to add HOT liquids!! Haha.. for all I know, I've been feeding my boy undercooked cereal!!

Krex..
My boy has sensitive skin so my PD told me to avoid seafood (including fish!! Can only eat IKAN KURAU), nuts, alcohol and very spicy foods. All of the above are like my favourites.. so it's really a huge sacrifice for me to BF the boy.. haha.. so I think one year is enough already. I really really miss my PB and jam sandwiches.. crabs.. wine and sambal belachan!!

MESSY EATING
My hi-chair now comes with the fabric seating so the stains would be quite bad plus cleaning it up will be quite tedious. Spent like $179 on it.. and now we sort of realised that the IKEA one might actually be more appropriate!! Haha.. well, I guess either I train him to sit still during feeding (not sure if it'd work now) or I just tahan the mess for now.

Cat..
Must go all the way to Cold Storage ah.. there isn't one near my place. Hmm.. really think I either have to puree and freeze the pumpkin or eat them myself like what Krex suggested.. by baking them! Good thing I quite like eating pumpkin!! Then again.. there isn't a lot of foods that I don't like!! Haha..

Sylvia..
Wah.. Jurong very far for me.. I live in Tampines! Haha.. but if most mothers are ok with venue, can be arranged with the hb driving!

Brie..
Hee.. your pic of your boy is very cute. How do you deal with the stains on his romper? Soak in detergent?

RE: SLEEPING
Great news.. my boy has started sleeping through the night liow.. from 7.30-8pm till 6am! He sometimes fusses during the night. We ignore and he goes back to zzz...
Happiness.

RE: BABY POO
Can I check with moms who have already started babies on semi-solids. The baby's poo.. is it like super thick and sticky? I call my boy's poo STICKY CHEWY CHOCOLATE!

re: diapers

Can give ProKids (I think the name is correct) a try. Its white base with butterfly &amp; cute designs. Rather cheap &amp; the quality is good... Forogt the price le, but I bought the M size de, comes in 72 pcs I think. So far, only bought fm Sheng Shiong... saw ppl saying got sell in Guardian &amp; CK...

<font color="0000ff">BBs 1st Bday Bash</font>

Macd got back to me on their party
Indoor party
Conducted at selected McDonald's restaurants
- $9 per child
- with party host &amp; top cat (assistant)
- For adults, ala carte. Food has to be ordered through top cat 5 minutes before party
starts

Outdoor party
A variety of venue choices to hold your McDonald's party.
- can be held only @ Function room in Condo, childcare centre, CC,
HDB void deck (must get a permission from Town Council.
- $10 per child
- 2-way transport charges to be borne by customer ( Staff will provide Taxi receipt )
- with party host &amp; top cat
- For adults, ala carte. Food order upon booking