(2008/08) Aug 2008

catherine
yeah...it's a journey that all parents with children with special needs need to go thru. hopefully, with time, patience and support, your godson will be able to achieve his potential.

hisstory,
yah, my babysitter's (she is my colleague's elder sis) family really loves and dote on him. he is like part of their family.

during the 4 days cny break, she is so worried that i don't know how to cook for yu ze. she got my colleague to call me to ask about him.

2 weeks ago, she wants to bring him to her family dinner cos they are celebrating her father's birthday. i didn't let him go cos hubby work late so i thought i will bring yu ze home to be with me. the next day, my colleague told me, everyone at the dinner is asking for yu ze. both children and adults ask where is baby? how come he never go? make me so paiseh. at the same time happy that all of them loves him and i'm sure he is in good hands.

NiNi
*HUGS* U must stay strong for Braiden k? Parenting is tough & with a new baby, there sure is a steep learning curve..

Have a gd talk with ur hb k?? Let him know of ur efforts/steps u've tried recently yah? Let him know tt you may not have done a gd job, but u're trying.. *HUGS*

celyn
Wah, Yu Ze is really like part of the family.. So nice!! He is def in veryvery gd hands
Must remind Yu Ze to visit ur bbsitter when he grows up ah

nini,
'sayang sayang' your hubby is so insensitive. if he thinks being a full time mummy is so easy, ask him to stay at home and be a full time daddy.

if my hubby did that to me, i would have walk off immediately. if he don't give me face in front of his family, i don't have to give him face too.

hisstory: thanks..i told him i am already trying v v hard to rectify the situation, letting braiden have the 'CIO' method but when braiden cries, my hubby becomes pek chek n point finger n the blame game starts again... *sigh* Sometimes i can't tell my problems to my family coz they'll be worried...so i can only rant about it n then get over it n sleep n forget abt it.. Be positive i always tell myself!!!!!

wah...thread has been moving very fast..spend 2 days then finally read all post...

Happymummy, I received the swim pants le..thank u..

giraffe & sam, i used to stay in JW st 65 too...giraffe, i next block to u onli..me blk 659d..when did u move out? aiyo, last time JP so small n boring..now i shifted liao become so big and so interesting...NTUC 24hrs somemore...wah lau

NiNi
oh no...i can imagine how traumatic it is for you! i tink if training ur bb to sleep helps your situation, then i tink you shld do it. a well rested family is a happy one.

i can be there on time tmr! yay! but will need to borrow a room to feed ethan and is it ok for me to bring my stroller? cos i've got to nap him @ abt 3pm.

celynlee: he always challenge me by saying why not i go to work n he stay at home? he is very mcp kind of guy... i v upset cos when he bullies me, nobody...not even mil stand up for me. All his brothers n their wife/gf also kept quiet.. Morever, the next table is my friend n their family...i dont even dare to go over n say hi cos i am already so embarrased.
Later got home then quarrel with hubby... he only apologised when i kept crying non-stop...sigh. Y do i get such a hubby............

nini,
*hugz* men are usually very insensitive. why dont u take braiden and sleep in another room instead of "disturbing" your hb's sleep and at the same time sleep train braiden.

nini,
'hugs' i know what you mean. when yu ze is younger, hubby also can't tahan yu ze cry. the moment yu ze cry, he will be pek chek too.

come in and talk to us whenever you need.

nini..ur hubby is really insensitive..how can he throw his temper on u...if he's so good tell him to show u how to discipine a 6mth old bb...i salute SAHM, men don't know how its so tiring to be one..if u think that going back to work is better perhaps u might wanna try find a nanny?

Btw, i sidetrack a bit..u last time got post in flowerpod/ccot rite? Diorsnow was ur nick?

Nini,
I feel so sad that your hubby is doing this to you ! but please dun suffer in silence cause i believe the more you keep quiet, the more it happens. Sometimes tolerance also got limit...

cool,
Great you received the pants. How? Was the swimming fun?

Aug bash:
who else interested ?
1) Catherine's Bernice. 28/07
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8
3) Sylvia's Meredith 28/8
4) Happy mummy's Adel 25/8

By the way, where will the august bash be?

Nini,

jiayou!!!

Maybe u want another dad to chat with him? Let the men have their men's talk?

if u need help or something, must tell us here hor!!

hugz!!!

timmin,

tks! u're my walking dictionary. i was planning to give jonah broccoli early next month but i think i'll stay away from greens for awhile. still got many other veges and fruits to intro. strangely, the bk i read "what to expect: the first year" suggested greens before root veges because they are more bland, so bb won't get a sweet tooth. actually jonah didn't mind the taste of spinach, just that his digestive system cldn't take it so he poo everything out. so now we're playing it safe by giving carrots and pumpkin. think i'll try sweet potato next. oh, what abt fruits? so far gave apple, pear and honeydew. citrus fruits not advisable yah? thinking of papaya, then maybe banana once his cough gets better.

milk intake:

mommies who have started your bbs on cereal, do u maintain their milk intake or gradually reduce it? i have been feeding jonah based on the formula given by PD: 120ml x weight in kg. so for the longest time, i've been giving him about 800ml a day. dunno whether to change this amt or not. read somewhere that min milk intake when bb eats solids is abt 500-600ml. mine is definitely more than that. just wondering now whether to give more milk or more solids instead.

Nini
*hugz*
maybe ur hubby just being direct or dunno what he is taking about. (it could be lack of sleep that lead both of u distress). dun let baby strain both ur relationship..

why dun u let somone else look after ur bb and go out with ur hubby for a date. u will definitely feel much better without baby around.

krex78,
yu ze's milk intake did decrease. he used to take 170ml X 5 feed + 200ml x 1 feed = 1050ml. now he drinks 660ml - 780ml.

Rata,
I tried reducing his milk feed, then an hour later feed cereal but he just take a few bites then don't want. End up he cry for his milk in 3hrs instead of 4 hours! I think he just really hates the cereal!

Nini,
Your hb seems quite MCP ley...frm your pre-Braiden description...maybe before you start your sleep training. Explain to your hb what you plan to do, what's gonna happen and that it's gonna be a tough few nights, etc....

Nini
not sure whether this will help...

From Mother & Baby Magazine, Feb 2009, page 53

Top tips to keep ur relationship strong

1. Talk abt your feeling - dun keep thing bottled up, ur husband might even feel the same way, too. Book a time for "the chat" and stick to it.
2. Listen - try to see thing from his poiint of view and don't compete over who's the most tired or has had the worst day.
3. Be kind - don't blame or criticise each other. sleep deprivation leaves you physically and emotionally drained, and it can be easy to lash out.
4. Manage your expectations - don't expect to take up your pre-baby sex life where you left off- being a new parent is tough, and striving for perfection is a recipe for disappointment.

another thing: i know that u r holding a gathering at ur place. is it still okie to ur place ?

me and hubby are very stress when baby return home from babysitter's place last time.. cos he will cried in the middle of the night...

we will take turn to coax him to sleep.. we did take turn to stuff the pacifer into SL's mouth. then we decided to speak to babysitter about the problem and babysitter help us to train baby to sleep.

these few days, we just give SL his favourite beansprout pillow, either SL use the pillow to cover himself to sleep or he suck one corner of the pillow to sleep. me and hubby not going to bother whether SL had suck on a dirty pillow or can breath when he cover himself. what we are aiming is that SL can sleep by himself.. dun expect too much.

Need to get some expert tips. I need to start Mabel on part FB soon as my supply is dropping very fast. Don't know why also. I have a tin of Nan1 at home. Though of trying it out on her first. Can advise me on how to start? I give FB and EBM seperately is it? Which one to give first? How to proportion it?

I've been giving her cereal for about a month liao. Just gave her broccolli and carrots in HT Oatmeal today. She ok with it. Can only give when she's 7 months meh? But all the infor I read say can leh. She did have a major poo in the evening but then, she didn't poo yesterday, so don't know if it's accumulated one. Btw, I find HT Barley very thick. Don't think Mabel likes it very much either. But she loves the Brown Rice and is ok with the Oatmeal

Nini

Don't quarrel with hubby. If you are unhappy, baby will also be unhappy, will be even more grouchy. Tell your husband what you are doing and that he will have to put up with baby's crying for awhile until you train him. But it's good to have a sleep routine for baby- they sleep better. Mabel is in bed by about 8+ and normally falls asleep by about 9pm.

Our VD was spent at the swimming pool with her. hehe! Not very romantic but all 3 of us were happy.

2165922.jpg

krmeow
check the expiry of the FM (maybe u had keep it too long)keke.

u can do it this way. e.g. bb is taking 180ml.

scenerio 1.
u can give partially FM and EBM if u dun have enough EBM for one feed. e.g u got only 100ml of EBM. then i feed the warmed up EBM first, follow by FM. dun mix EBM with FM. MIx FM according to what the tin say and the required amount.

scenerio 2.
if i had enough EBm for the day. i can give EBm in the day time and FM at night. (to minimise feeding baby on FM as who know that u do not need to feed during the night.)

thing u may anticipate when feeding baby with formula milk for the first time,
1) bb will not like the taste of the formula
2) may throw up after feeding
3) may even throw out 2 hour postfeeding. (reason: formula is not easily digest compare to breastmilk due to casein)

Nini,
*hugs*
Does your hb loves braiden?
have a good talk with your hb and work this out. quarelling doesn't help to solve the problem. If its better that you work, then try to get a nanny to help you if you cannot get your parents or your parents-in-law to help you. Or, you may also ask if Braiden can sleep over on a weekend so at least you and hb has a good sleep at nite? its not easy to look after a baby leh, and at 6mths old, how to get them to be obedient? I think its also healthy to let Braiden sleep in another room in a cot so you don;t disturb anyone's sleep.
Good luck!!! Braiden, be a good boy now and be nice to mummy! Mummy loves you very much!

jia you!!!

Aug bash:
who else interested ?
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8
5) celynlee's yu ze 6/8

krmeow,
i know ruixuan said not to mix EBM and FM, but i've been doing this since my no 1... and still doing this with my excess EBM now for the elder ones.

What i do is i first warm up EBM (say 60ml) in a bottle. then using the feeding bottle (say i use Avent to feed baby by), i make some FM (say 30ml) according to the instructions on tin. then after that, i just pour the warm-up EBM into the FM and feed the baby. i did check with my pd, a pte lactation consultant and USA medela lactation consultant on the mixing of EBM and FM. All say ok to give and the method i describe is ok too.

The good thing about this is you can adjust the amount of FM - give lesser first to let the bb get use to the taste and smell so bb won't reject the FM, then you can slowly increase the FM amount when your bb is used to the taste. Its also gentler on the stomach too, since you are using lesser FM... won't throw up so much as you are gradually introducing bb on FM...

Rona
actually i dun want the breast milk to go waste.
but that is a good method too. still letting the baby to taste EBM while swallowing both together,

ruixuan,
your methods are good too. i've also heard from other people not to mix both EBM and FM together, saying that the nutrients will cancel out each other or something like that... not too sure about it lah. then i got worried and checked around and then i thought, aiyah, if won't die then ok lor. then i found that the kids are ok and growing well and developing well. so ok lah!

Rona
That sounds like a good idea. At least if I mix, she may reject it less.

Ruixuan
Alamak, I just checked. It expire liao.

Ok mummies, do all the milk companies give out samples to try huh?I can only remember Similac, Enfalac and Nestle. What other brands huh? Must call quick, quick coz want to try out this week liao.

hisstory,
you look so cool with your bb in the carrier! bb looks comfy...

I also have a silk bayB sling that i don't use at all... waste money... i don't know how to use. i think its easier to use the indonesian's simple sarong then the sling... see my maid use the sarong, so easy!

Aug bash:
who else interested ?
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8
5) celynlee's yu ze 6/8
6) rona's jerold 24/8

mummies latching on - I dono if its cos teething or sore nipples my right nipples very painful when bernice latch on. Left side ok. Dono how long more can tahan.

hair tonic
I am using the one celyn recommended. Wella - System Professional. It's good.
Think baby hair are growing faster ... before i use oredi got some baby hair and it seems to have grown longer quite fast. Hubby oso checked and found some at the back .. which i dunno is it normal to grow baby hair or due to the tonic.
Hubby oso switching to use mine liaoz, he got hair drop problem not due to delivery ... haha.

Using the nite one , SP Energy Elixir .. and it's cheaper than salon .. bought it from Venus at AMK ... $36.90(Salon price 60+) and the day one which celyn is using, SP Energy Serum is selling at $36.90 also (Salon price $40+).
I bought the nite one cos so much cheaper ma. heehe. Hope this helps and hopefully we're on the road to more hair. Hurray! Still dropping hair la but lesser .... but growing baby hair so it's some kind of consolation.

cocomo,
It's not a shampoo, it's a hair tonic. Still gotta use hair loss shampoo ... me might wan to get their shampoo oso since this one i think quite effective.

The real test is whether hubby grows baby hair .. if yes, then means really working. For us, it might be due to the 6 months is reaching ... so hair loss reducing and new hair growing.

I do think it has improved.

FM & BM
I dun mix them cos i oso read that mixing them reduces the nutrients.

Normally i give BM first, then FM cos i dun wan him to waste my precious BM ma.

Kai takes 180ml.
I tried giving him 30ml (Enfalac) + 120ml BM = and he throws up.
Gave him 60ml FM + 100ml BM = throws up before
max i can give him is 90ml of FM now.

I oso read that if we give 2 types at 1 feed, some babies cannot take it as it "clashes" with each other .... so gotta give them at separate feeding.

Latest i have tried is SImilac .. and i give lesser BM together with the 60ml of FM. So far he does not throw up ...

Final stage i am doing now is that if I really need to give FM, i give only 90ml and after drinking, he is ok and even can regurgitate some milk .... means he full liao, no more fussing. So i leave it as that until he cries for next feed, which can lasts up to 2-3 hours, which is his normal feeding span.

So i think, FM he drinks only 90ml then full liao. BM , he takes 180ml .... hmm, my BM so think ah?

anyway, this method works for me.

u gotta see what formula is suitable for him and also i learnt that u cannot replace the same amt of FM with what the baby is drinking now .. gotta give lesser and also slowly increase the intake.

Kai is such a good BM drinker but poor FM drinker... good la, save $$.

Today, hubby on leave to look after Kai and he actually stretched Kai's drinking timing to 4 hourly .... cos i came home and see so much breastmilk left .... he says when Kai eh eh eh, dun rush to warm the milk to feed him .... and Kai will be ok ....

Perhaps i had been overfeeding Kai?? hehhe. but well, more BM better for them rite? more antibodies ma.

ok ok , i better stop. oredi "spamming" the forum .... gotta wake up at 6+ to pump again.
Today i went back to work and i am vv happy! hehe. next week i am back to taking care of Kai until maid is back.

can't sleep due to Braiden keep 'eh eh eh' i scare he distub hubby's sleep again so i hav to keep pushing the pacificer to him...so too much of 'stimulation' for me can't sleep already. But so far he whine at 2am, 3am.. used to be i latch him on now i jus give him pacificer.

Thanks to all the mommies who PM me for the tips and advice.. very 'gan dong' wor..*sobz* It is really, really not easy to be a SAHM esp when i am not the type.. but hubby dont trust bbsitter nor infant care. he scare bb will not be taken good care of..like he fall down or what they wont say..*sigh* He only agree i go bk to work when bb is 18mths old n go to playgrp. I'll just see if i can do any online business or freelance biz so that i can keep my mind sane..

Hubby apologized to me just now...ok la forget it already.. talk abt it also pointless. I must keep myself busy, if not anyhow think, then affects braiden also.. Btw not possible to ask anyone to help cos Braiden refuses bottle n 100% latch-on. But i guess after he starts solid is better..A helper can spoon-fed him

Thank u mommies for all the support n encouragement. It feels better to just rant it out here, n complain n cry. hahaha.. Then jus forgotten abt it n tomorrow will be a better day

Nini,
I teach Kai to hold his pacifier .. now he can hold it and sometimes take it and put to his mouth. Sometimes cannot put properly then i have to help lor.

For my #1, i trained him to look for the paci .... so that i dun have to keep waking up to push the paci into his mouth at nite. At that time, I was thinking, oh my, i have to wake up every moment he cries for a paci and i dun wan to trade my beauty sleep so have to think of a way out.

First, i take his hands to move ard the cot until he finds the paci .... next, let him hold the paci and then guide it to his mouth ..... once he can hold the paci, and can find it, you can look forward to a good nite sleep ... hhahha.
This is call training them to be independent.

Now Kai can hold and can put in and pull out .... but when he wants to sleep, he oso play with the paci .. then he cry cos no paci in his mouth. I have to use 2 pacis ... one for him to hold , the other i help to press onto his mouth. Then realised that better not cos i may have to bring 2 pacifiers each time he wants to sleep then jialat. So i snatch the paci from him(and he will cry) and tell him "Dun pull you paci" then press it to his mouth and hold his other hand so he cannot snatch it back and pull out.

I so terrible rite? hahah.
What to do .... paci struggle ... i win.

Btw, Kai is quite good boy cos he is not dependent on paci ... he will pui it out once he is sleepy, no need fully asleep. My #1 will bite on to the paci and suck whole nite, which is not good.

Recommendation : To pull out the paci slowly and gently once the kid is seemingly asleep so it's easier to get rid of it when they are bigger.

My #1 took 3 days of no paci then it's gone! hopefully kai is as easy. Paci is a wonderful invention manz.

milk intake with 2 solid meal:
wat i did was i gave 180x3 + 200x1 = 740ml (last night feed) of BM & 2 solid feed every 3hrly. Jac refused to sawllow her solid she keep her mouth open with the food in her mouth & she keep throwing out after her last feed. Then PD mention for aby 7-9mths, milk intake should b 600-700ml which i exceed + 2-3 solid feed.

Since last sun I change to 200x3 + 60x1 = 660ml with 2 solid feed (every 4hrly). now Jac will open her mouth for solid.

ruixuan,

wow, your bb sitter is gd! wish i cld do that with my ILs. request them to sleep train bb, let him practice his motor skills more, etc. guess that's the diff btn bb sitter and ILs!

krmeow,

where did u get the float from? looks fun! thinking of letting my bb try. he doesn't seem that interested in swimming nowdays. dunno if it's becoz he's xian of the neck float.

nini,

u shld let your hb know that it was both of u who made the decision for you to be SAHM. i'm sure he wouldn't have an easy time if he were the one at home instead. if bb's crying interrupts his sleep, ask him go sleep in the living room lor :p the only reason why i'm happy to pump in the study is becoz my hb will take care of bb when he cries
at least i dun have to wake up in the middle of the night to settle this coz' i'm already very tired from waking up early to pump, plus i'm a heavy sleeper...most of the time can't hear bb cry one.

a lot mummies so slim here leh.....sigh I have 6kg more to loose to get back my pre-preg weight...gosh and I'm not even slim to begin with..had been on diet even since I stopped bf but then weight lost is still so slow..any1 got lobang to loose weight leh

hisstory, ashley looks so comfortable in the scootababy....btw, her eyes really big..such a pretty gal...aiya..really tempt me to go buy leh..any1 has any idea when the 15% discount will end?? I'm using BB Bjorn but then it's really straining to use now as BB are getting heavier as most weight actually falls on shoulder...I'm considering ergo or scootababy..any1 got feedbacks?

Happymummy, ya brought my gal swimming last wk, quite ok..swim for ard 20mins...last time swimming in Hua Xia she kick a lot now only like to laze ard legs will lesiurely kick kick abit..bbs ar..changes so fast

morning mummies.

i have manage to video yu ze sitting up from lying position. will upload to fb.

nini,
at least he had apologise.

shint,
i think i must also teach yu ze to find the pacifier himself. but how to teach?

morning ladies. =)

nini
just saw ur post, think u are really very womenly type of women ya?
think for me i'll just walk off and look for lawyer liao, save his f**k for another women...hee hee..
but 1 gd thing is that ur hb really love braiden, maybe he just kena sc**wed at work so more frustrated bah.
yes, ming tian hui gen hao!

Aug bb bday bash:
suggest mid aug (15th or 16th) instead, so that its nearer to most bb's bday.
else if early aug, its abit too far to celebrate for those late aug bb ya?

who else interested ?
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8
5) celynlee's yu ze 6/8
6) snow74's zynn 8/8