(2008/08) Aug 2008

YLN,
Some maid need to be scold some cannot so I think I better take the safer one which is just told them off using a firm tone letting her know that I am angry yet just correct her and want her to improve. Like for my case I sometime need to leave my girl with the maid alone so i cannot take the risk. Alot of maid (most I heard from my friend experience), after alway get scold, they will tend to be revengeful which we may not know what they will do one day. But if you are a SAHM where the baby wont be left alone with the baby then it wont be a concern i think.

missysz,
haha maybe too many ppls ard she dun dare to keep? Or maybe she know everytime I will spot check her stuff so she wont dare. At home, my $$ is everywhere so far dont think she take it but hard to say lah, maybe she take i also dunno. Anywhere I nothing very exp for her to steal also haha

Fisher Price Laugh and Learn Baby grand Piano
anyone has that toy? good ? thinking of buying during Iseten private sale...

2010575.jpg

Safety First Recline and grow 5 stage feeding seat
how about this? is this good?? Do we actually need to buy a chair/high chair to feed bbs??
my hubby said just to put bb in the exersaucer and feed..can meh??
2010576.jpg

YNL,

I got the combi recline. It is good cos my girl can sleep in it and use it for feeding too and it height is not too high that we will scare the baby climb and fall out of it. somemore can adjust the high too.

NiNi
*congrats* on Braiden being able to flip!! Gd Christmas pressie yah?

A few weeks ago we stopped Ashley from wearing the mittens, but we may resume doing so at night. Sometimes she wld wake up at night & scratch her scalp
Doesn't help tt she has a bit of cradle cap & ends up scratching till the flakes come off like dandruff *haiz*

YLN
High chair wld be gd in the long run.. Can teach bb fr young tt eating is done at the dining table, so tt when the reach toddler stage, they get the idea too. Am thinking feeding at the exersaucer may send bb wrong msg tt can eat & play at the same time

catherine
*ouch* Gd to hear Bernice is okie oredi..

Hi mummies !

Merry Christmas to all in advance ! So the posts about maids have actually put me off getting a maid... hopefully my parents can take care of Adel for a long time...

Hve a great day ladies ! By the way, are you gals still keen on the gathering at my place ? Haven seen any response for a long time liao ...

shint : why your FB can not be added ah? my email: [email protected]. Pls add me okie?
your Quan is such a good brother. u must be proud of him.

Shay: How are you ? hope you are getting better. i can imagine must be really not easy to be unwell while u have 2 kids (plus hubby) to take care of. I am very afraid of getting sick.. I told my self I can not get sick.. hahaha
Ryo will be 3 next year feb. Sometimes I feel guilty because he can get all the attention that he used to have before Misaki was born. I also tell him must sayang your one and only sister. sometimes he kisses her and say he loves misaki. Maybe our children need more time to get used to new sibling.

Vern: I think I still have the contact no of neck float organizer.. I'll look for it first and get back you. but its not mambo brand tho. its the other one.

Nini: congrats on Braiden flipping

Catherine: just now rYO saw Bernice pic and he asked me: is that misaki? I said (smiling) no its not misaki. then he asked me: who is that beautiful baby? hahahaha.... It's baby bernice, ryo. then he smailed hahaha .
so little can see pretty girls already tsk tsk tsk...
Hope Bernice ok now. I understand your feeling last time Ryo fell down soo many times. But the 1st fall made me feel super guilty and sad. (like u).But I find that when you are calm , she will becme calm faster. altho you are scared or sad when u see her fall, try not to show her. (just sharing my experience

missysz: thank you

Regarding maid: I am the kind that will say / comment/ on the spot when my maid makes mistake. reason:
1. I might forget if I dont correct her right away, and she also can say she didnt do it.
2. Dont want to just keep quiet and keep it until I blow up one day or can not sleep. So I'd rather tell her off and that's it. wont need to be angry with her anymore.

Krex: Maybe it's a good idea to confiscate her Hp. But she wont be happy about it for sure.
I always think maid keeping Hp will only create problems. Afterall they come here to earn money. so their duties have to come first.

I wanna share my friend experience:
She scolded the maid often, the maid unhappy but it didnt show at first.
Whenever the maid bathed her #1, she will hear her #1 crying. she'll complain pain (pointing at her private part)..
The maid is very sweet and kind looking. But from the 1st time I saw her I could tell that something is not right with this person.. true enough ..this maid even dare to comment (to my friend): Maam, your frind's hubby (aka MY HUBBY) is very handsome ah.... then bla bla bla commenting on my hubby.and she said it IN front of my face.... till I dont know what to say..

anyway.:
Wanna wish you all merry Christmas , hope you have a wonderful time with your family.

YLN: I have something like the Safety First Recline and grow 5 stage feeding seat ,different brand. but I didnt use it for feeding. only for Ryo (last time) and misaki now ,to sit/ nap. but soon I guess she'll be to big to nap in it. and once baby can flip have to be careful.
As a feeding chair, I'll still prefer those normal feeding chair. (I got the cheap one from kiddy palace and 1 ikea feeding chair).
Exersaucer as feeding chair: I know experts and books say never feed and play at the same time. I used to want to do that to my #1, but I find it very hard to make him sit nicely and eat hahahaha... so at the end I tell myself nevermind la he plays and eat at the same time as long as he EAT hahahaha ..
But this thing maybe applied to my son's case only. Of coz the best is they can sit properly during meal time at their feeding chair.

catherine
yes sometimes if bb cry the whole day we feel very worn out oso uh ?? told hb I really really need a break :p
eh but bernice look very cute leh in the exersaucer.. is it ok to put bb to sit n stand in there ? I'm thinking to get one but hesitate abt this thing..

Nini
Congrats... finally :p I did put the mitten on my gal's hand til she's abt 3 mo I think... Took it off nowadays so she can learn to grab things n c her finger but yes.. she scratch her face, ear, forehead
all over mannn.... Am trying to consider shall I put her back on the mitten ? :p
I cut her nail short short still very SHARP
then they grow very fast and she wont sit still to let me cut it properly..

Shint
Wahh.. really heavy boy uh ? :p how to pacify him ? hehehe I mean how long can u carry him ? wah ur arm muscle must have been very good cos this exercise leh :p

Maid : wah .. If I were u, that maid will really really got it from u.. I'm bit short temper if reg bb espc if bb cry n scream then everybody which is very slow will sure got it from me hehehe

Krex
COnfiscate her HP leh.. if u caught her using it again while working, just take it lho.... :p

Vern
I got mine at Hwa Xia.. was going 4 travel that time so faster just buy there.. not cheap though
but ok least she got one now.. Then we only use it once oso so far hehe

Yuuri
Yup bit small... still learning to resize mahh :p
Here another one. that time we 'made' her flipped.
She couldnt do it properly that time cos hand always got stuck.. so this is the nicer since she smile here after we help her.. the rest of these pics series r all her struggle pics hehehe

dont forget to let me know what's ur hb say :p curious mannn...

Nandini is wishing all aunties n frens here a very merry xmas n a prosperous new year ahead...

2010789.jpg

valnsw,
i dun noe d expiry dates coz i hvn't ordered yet. bt i dun tink tat they wld give me those which r gg 2 expire soon coz i m ordering direct fr d distributor. okie, u let me noe on fri again. yes, d teething biscuits aso gt 15% off.

ruixuan,
i can do 1 collection on sun oni at my mum's plc at jurong east st 13. is it okie wif u?

YLN,
Thanks for the info!

Re: Weaning
yesterday i started with 1 tablespoon plus 30ml hot FM cos mum and mil say if don't mix with hot fluid, not good for baby's tummy. But baby pooed mega poo thrice after tt! Wonder if it got to do with the cereal?? Anyone experience tt before?

Catherine,
oh dear! Glad tt Bernice is ok afte rthe fall. If I were u, i oso dun adre to say.. if not sure kena left right centre! :p

Nini,
Congrats on Braiden's flipping!
I let bb wear mittens at night cos he tend to scratch his head at night.. esp if the weather is warm and if i haven't trim his nails. Day time with supervision we remove so tt he can grab things.

Re: Merry Xmas
Merry Xmas to all! Aiyah hubby took leave and planned to go zoo today! BUT it's RAINING!!!! Sob sob... think maybe go Tangs get uliek blender heheee... wat a way to spend xmas eve. BTW, any mummies here have any idea where to bring bb to celebrate xmas? Place where got santa claus? Wan bb to have a memorable 1st xmas. hehee.. tho' he wun remember it lah except from the photos when he grows up! ;)

Re: maid
Aiyoh.. looks like having maid really not easy. My aunt has a new maid recently, but cos aunt was very strict with her, she went on strike on the 3rd day! Just say she dun wanna work there and sat in her room staring at the wall. Nowadays maid machiam like boss like tt.

Happy_mummy,
hehe hi-5! Im also hoping tt mil can take care of bb alone... dun really like tt idea of a maid. But MIL kept hinting tt she might not handle housework.. hmm.. so thinking of getting part-time Ah Sum to come on weekends to do ironing and basic housework. But cost is another consideration cos part-time maid not cheap oso.

Im interested in the gathering at ur place. Can put my name down tentatively? Cos not sure how things will be next year since going back to work liao.

Ling ling can remember how much is the neck float? The website dun have the price lei.

Hashisan Thanks! Loved your Phuket fotos leh! You have a very beautiful family

happy_mummy,

i m interested.

CNY gathering 2009 !

Date : 17 Jan 2009 (Saturday)
Time : From 1 pm onwards
Place : Happy_mummy's place at Bishan St 24
Attendance pre-requisite : For fun-loving and pretty mothers, super daddies and very very very cute kids ! All are welcome =D

1) Happy mummy (Kat), Hubby (Faroek) and baby (Adel) - 2 adults
2) snow74 (may), hb (bw), toddler (nynn), bb (zynn) - 2 adults
3) celynlee (celyn) and baby (yu ze) - 1 adult
4) cocomo (Joey), hb (Steven), toddler (Jayden) and baby (Shervalle) - 2 adults
5) apriltan (April) and baby (Denzel) - 1 adult
6) M2B, toddler and baby - 1 adult
7) Essie, maid, toddler and baby - 2 adults
8) shay (Shila), toddler (Ayden), baby (Ashton) and helper - 2 adults
9) vern (Laverne), baby (Izzy) - 1 adult
10) nini (Winnie) , baby (Braiden) - 1 adult
11) Shint, baby (Kai), toddler (Quan) - 1 adult
12) vone, toddler & bb - 1 adult

total - 16 adults, 7 toddlers, 12 bbs

i scrolled thru d archives 2 chk d attendance. if i left any1 out, paiseh abt it.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Hi Vern (oven),

Pls look up the topic: 0-12 mth swimming. Somebody will let go the swimming class / neck float there...

Vern
For hwa Xia member it's about $28 for the round shape.. for the flower one another additional $2

Happy_mummy
I cant make it on that day.. will b out of country
mayb we all can meet again near or after CNY

Yuuri
Hooorreeeyyy.... So now u can tease ur hb day n nite looo :p

Catherine
Hugz hugz for bernice... We r so shocked rite ? arms n legs strength feel gone .. but lucky she's ok.. Mine oso just fell down but I told hb lah cos I'm very sad.. He said it's ok dont b sad.. it's happen to everybody..
Cant imagine if he scold me, I will scold back lehh hehehe

Healthy times
Thinking shall I join this ? Saving when I need to start bb on solid.. any recommendation what to get ?

Merry X'mas!!

it's a wet n cold X'mas morning!!

Tks to Vone, I cant find the list for CNY.

CNY gathering 2009 !

Attendance pre-requisite : For fun-loving and pretty mothers, super daddies and very very very cute kids ! All are welcome =D

13) Sylvia, HB ( Edward) & Baby ( Meredith) - 2 adults & 1 baby

total - 18 adults, 7 toddlers, 13 bbs

re: Maid
Really not easy to handle maid. For me too will immediately correct her on the spot and raise it up again during the appraisal telling her whether she improve it. But definitely wont be scolding her loudly or in front of other ppls, but just in a very firm tone unless the mistake that she do is to the harm of my kids then I will scold them. She knows my temper well, when I angry i dont care who that person is cause she saw me scolding and almost wanna fight with a person be it women or men, and I can really be very crazy. She quite scare of me lah but I told her I wont scold her cause I treat her as an adult who knows what to do is correct and will and got to learn from lesson. Cause they are also human wont want to embrass them cos I respect them as a human also. That is why I alway wanna vomit blood cos I am very hot temper and short temper too, but die in the hand of maid cause really we wont know what the maid is thinking, maybe later we scold them and igitated them and they do something to the kid it will be too late to stop them also. Faint!

CNY gathering 2009 !

13) Sylvia, HB ( Edward) & Baby ( Meredith) - 2 adults & 1 baby
14) Aurora, Baby (Reagan) - 1 adult, 1 child

total - 19 adults, 7 toddlers, 14 bbs

Maids:

Either give them a specific time to call using their own hp which you keep. Or give a condition that when things are done and within a time set, they can talk on phone. All the bills to be paid by them. IF let them use house phone, most will abuse the kindness as time goes by.......

Since the house n the babies n kids are not their own, so most wont have the responsibilities to do more than they are asked to do.

Anyway, kids n babies do not follow schedule set, so maybe preparation of other duties might be one of their ways to do. If the baby is crying, but she has to do those preparation and it might be urgent.. then she also struck rite?

Having a maid is like playing yoyo....... quite difficult though coz not family member.......

YLN,

grand piano.

My frd has it. Her boy playing happily. But this is for bigger... I think 9-14mths.

There's another 2 piano for baby cot from Fisher Price. U might wanna take a look.

ling ling,
nandini is so sweet love her sparkling eyes

catherine,
bernice fell? my #1 fell from bed when she is 4th mth. I gave my ex-maid a big scold.

vern,
she can sit abt 30mins.

msapple,
my maid ever forget to bring bernice milk once too. i nvr say anything cos i know i can bf her outside but my hb was very angry abt it cos he says such things cannot be compromised. he told her cannot assume mum be here to bf and what if we go sentosa, then realize forgot bring milk pwdr, all plans have to cancel cos of u.

missysz,
my maid also nvr say sorry one.

YLN,
me also thinking of getting the baby grand piano from isetan sale on fri.. but dono if i wana go or not. so crowded.
I got the combi recline too .. hehehe

hashisan,
ryo so cute.. must thank him for finding bernice pretty
my maid was super panic when bernice fell, she came running into the room and fussing, i told her it's ok go do your work. Then I just carry her and told her mummy is sorry, i love her and its ok.. after awhile she stopped.

I also read it's not good to let them eat and watch tv same time.

lingling,
ya i thnk it's ok to put bb in there .. anyway it wont be the entire day. hahhaa... thou we wish. haha

aurora,
ya dont dare to tell my mom or hb.. sure kena :p but glad she is alrite

remember few weeks back I was saying that bernice eye swollen .. today i brought her back to the PD to check cos even thou the swelling went off, there is still like a "pimple" lump on the eye lid.. The PD said it's a cyst, thou nothing serious but he referring her to see an eye specialist this Sat ... abit worried cos he said sometimes if the cyst cannot dry by itself then they need an incision to let out the water, but cos hers is on the eyelids and she is so young, so could be tricky ... now waiting to see this sat what the eye specialist says .. but my PD said not to worry cos she not fussing or anything so nothing serious .. but .. still worried.

Merry X'mas to all the mummies!

vone,
I prob will sms u abt my order, might want to get the teething biscuits.

Re: maid
Haiz.. hear so many stories feeling that hving a maid is really sian. I'm thinking of doing without one after bb turns 18mths old then put her in childcare.
Cos sometimes wondering if all this stress / trouble w maid is worth it or not.

Now my maid still not yet over her 6mth loan, so she lan lan have to guai guai. This morning my mum told her off abt smthing so I guess she wasn't in the best of moods.

Also, remember I told u ladies abt her hubby calling her? Just recently, my mum subscribed to caller-ID and on 2 ocasions found out a number starting with "85XXXXXXX" called. It's not local and there are 9 digits altogether.

Hashishan,
Wld u knw if Indonesian numbers start with "85"?? Have to agree w u, that cannot trust maids 100%. No matter how gd they are or seem to be, u never knw what they are thinking.

krex,
I think u shd confiscate her hp, only allow her to use on wkends when she's more free and when u're at home, so that u can take over looking after Jonah while she calls. Also limit her talk to 15min or 20min.
Have to take a firm stand that u're the employer else she will continue yakking like nobody's business.

msapple,
Agree with u that we as the employer v tough to be. Too harsh on them, u scared they may ill-treat our children. But then if they make a mistake must tell them off too, otherwise will continue.
Haiz... same here lo, I also tell her off in a firm manner.
I think my maid abit scared of me for now, cos she ever saw me v angry and scolding/screamming at the previous maid (under my mum) during my confinement. Now she guai guai, cos she needs to pay off her loan, but then after that, she may come out certain patterns liao.

aurora,
Same here, I also duno where to bring bb to go celebrate X'mas. Also wana take photos for bb ;)

Catherine,
Bernice fell ah? Sayang her... Hope she's ok now!

Catherine,

The cyst thing sounds like what I have on and off. It's the eyelid got swollen and I think the "dirty" things cannot be excreted out, hence the swelling.

Ya, if dry off then need to do some minor surgery to remove the dried up part.

Keep your fingers crossed for Bernice! BTW, so Dr Cheng will recommend a specialist then?

Catherine, its good that the cyst could be detected early so dr can do something about it. Dont worry too much ok. see what the specialist say this sat.hugsss

ling ling
Nadini has such mesmerising eyes!!

aurora
part-time Ah Sum ah.. Going by hourly rate?
I think not too bad an idea coz it might be better than having a maid whom u need to face day-in-day-out

Am thinking abt engaging one when i return to work, but still thinking abt it

catherine
Do hope all goes well and Bernice wld not require the incision

Lingling: the phuket pics are in my Facebook
Nandini is so pretty

valnsw:I'm not sure about indo hp no. I havent gone back home for quite sometime. I'll check with my maid and get back to you.
what would you like to know?

Btw: If you need a specific and details house rules in bahasa indonesia, I can pass you mine. I'll just need to make copy .
It covers rules and regulations about cleanliness, attitude , duties, etc.

I asked my maid she doesnt know also. But then Its your house phone rite? If no one in the family used it then it should be her ?.

when you receive the phone bill it will show the country together with the number.

hashishan,

that number appeared as one of the incoming calls to my parents' house phone.

So I don't think that will appear in the bill, since it's incoming right? I was thinking Singtel prob also won't charge for overseas incoming calls?

maid prob:
tks for the suggestions. i will prob confiscate her hp after x'mas...at most by year end. will let her use on weekends only, but will try out 1 hour first. if her performance don't improve, reduce to half hour or 15 mins, or better still, no use at all! i dunno why, but i find it difficult to scold. maybe must practise already. next time also need to scold son and be firm, so cannot just keep quiet and politely say, pls dun do it again! gosh, i think i'm really too nice to my maid!

thanks mummies for the info on feeding chair and the grand piano..think i will buy the grand piano cuz i read the reviews like quite good..

as for the feeding chair..may get from ikea..think that one cheaper..:p...or maybe buy a second hand one forum here..

me will be going for isetan..first thing in the morning!..chiong the sale...

Merry Xmas to all.

The grand piano is nice i gotten it at the martel sale at the beginning of the yr b4 Jacinta is born haha kiasu.

btw here is the recent pic of Jacinta. she now will spout her lips haha

2011961.jpg
2011962.jpg

M2B,
i felt so much better today....thanks.
all the pearls are slowly disappearing and drying up. planned to go shopping next wk

yea, chicken pox can be scary especially for the kids. i oso jab my #1 and will give it to ashton too when he turns 1 yr. do u know that there's a new recommendation to take another booster jab at 4-6yrs? my gp told me when i went to consult him on sunday.

vone,
how much is the HT cereal in SGD? i'm giving my #1 since he was 6 mth old so will use back the same brand for ashton too.

catherine,
Hope Bernice will be alright!

Hisstory,
yah lor.. Ah Sum going by sessions. Abt 3-4 hrs once a week.. found a company and they charging abt $50 for 3hrs. Good thing abt going to cleaning co instead of finding those freelance one is tt if dun like the ah sum, can request for a change. Will seriously consider this option if MIL cannot cope.. which i think v high possibility lah..

Rat,
wow, ur gal can sit up without support! So fast and steady!

Merry Xmas to All!!!

hashisan,
yea i also pity my #1 for the division of attention from the mummy especially cos we need to spend sometime to bf #2. anyway, they will gradually learn to accept and love them....high 5! btw, ur hubby, ryo & u look jap. misaki is too young to tell yet. u r not jap rite? u look gorgeous, young and slim for a mother of 2

re: maid
these few days i oso realised that my maid take short cut in doing her chores too!! yesterday i saw a small piece of biscuit left under the tv cabinet and i purposely keep mum to test her if she cleans underneath the tv cabinet but later forgot to check. this morning while i was sitting on the couch opp the cabinet, i was surprise to see that pc of biscuit is still there!! i asked her y she never sweeps and mop inside and she said she DID! i said if u DID clean how come that pc of biscuit is still there at the same place since yest????? she was mumbling away trying to say that it's a new pc or something but i shut her mouth by saying IT'S AT THE SAME PLACE my dear!! i didn't raise my voice at all but give her an eye ball corner lol....she knew i was pissed. this is my 2nd maid. when i had my first maid and when i buay tahan her pattern, i will go very pek chek and asked myself 'when can i stop having maid'? 1st one i already buay tahan dunno how to tong for more to come. i know i gotta depend on maid till the kiddos can be independent enuff to take care of themselves
and thinking of the dependency make me feel very useless.

catherine,
bernice can still smile after 5 mins haha....so adorable. better be careful next time ya....
my #1 also fell b4...guess it's very common for babbies at this age to roll off the bed so mummies gotta learn their lesson hehe...

MERRY X'MAS to all pretty MUMMIES!

rata
hehe..jacinta so cute...know how to pout her mouth!..

bb sitting up
kaer can also sit up but with my support..then she can do 'sit and reach' very well le...touch her toes all the way while sitting..not very zhai still but can sit on her own for several mins..

valnsw
i want to buy the thermal container thing from isetan..and the grand piano lor..thinking of buying the blender too..but i saw many cheaper ones at Sheng shiong just now..just that its like some ulu brand..so ..still delibrating if i shld buy the blender...
also will go mpohsis lor..cuz got 30% disc..usually i will buy a few pieces from there..maybe will buy a pair of crocs for myself too..heehee...ohhh..also going to CD, Coach and Loewe....fendi..see got anything not so expensive to buy..:p..so thats y must go early..