(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex,
mine also got something like metallic smell. So far i not yet give to my #2 cos suplly is more than demand. Erm abit funny I dont thing anything to do with weather ba since is in the freezer not store in the room. Freezer should be very cold will not be affected by weather right?

Valnsw,
ok

X'mas Babies bash

Venue: Boon Tiong Road (near Tiong Bahru Plaza/MRT)
Date: 13/14/20/21 Dec 08 (Date to be confirm soon)
Time: 1.30pm

Event include
- Temperature measuring, maybe check for HFMD (to be safe for the babies hee!)
- Name tag will be given to the babies and Parent (Can provide the name just like what I did for mine below. So I can prepare the tag. Thanks!)
- Catering Neogarden ?? / Potluck?? / Just snack??
- mingling
- Phototaking of the babies
- X'mas Gift exchange for the toddler and babies (budget how much huh?? $10/$20? )

1) msapple(E-Ling) + 1 toddler(Amabel) + 1 baby (Aisleyne)
2) ruixuan + 1 baby
3) balugu + 1 bb
4) celynlee + 1 baby
5) vone + 1 toddler + 1 bb
6) M2B + 1 toddler + 1 bb (nt available on 21st coz #1 got concert)
7) aurora + 1 bb
8) missysz + 1 baby (Jonas)

sorry the date put wrongly. Should be 13/14/22/23 Dec 08. Most mommies here prefer Satursday? If then we set at one of the Satursday?

krex78,
i just check with my babysitter. yu ze is drinking fbm that i store 2nd week of oct (date should be around 6-10 oct). she say no fishy smell leh. if the colour is a bit off, she will taste a bit before giving to yu ze. so far, all still ok. i store ebm in glass bottle and not milk bag so i don't know. is your freezer very cold? i think my freezer is very cold cos i can see 'white ice' on the exterior of all the glass bottles of ebm.

X'mas Babies bash

Event include
- Name tag will be given to the babies and Parent (Can provide the name just like what I did for mine below. So I can prepare the tag. Thanks!)
- mingling
- X'mas Gift exchange for the toddler and babies (budget how much huh?? $10/$20? )

2) ruixuan + 1 baby
3) balugu + 1 bb
4) celynlee (celyn) + 1 baby (yu ze)
7) aurora + 1 bb

amabel's mummy
Oh i thot the BP wld also have 1oz, coz the website the organiser posted showed it leh..

btw, my mum says somewhere when bb's 4mths old, we can start introducing solids.. Is tt right? Introduce cereal mixed in BM or FM for part of a feed & then slowly let this mixture replace 1 feed?

hisstory,
Yep, the website sells 1 oz one but it's not discounted - selling at $15 i saw. The 2 oz ones are $16 but now discounted to $12.

Previously, 4 months can start solids but there is this new practice, the hospital nurses told me ... they recommend to start only at 6 months. On some health reasons ba .... can go check it out .... not sure what's the reason but it's now recommended to introduce at 6 months.

thanks for concern. I am glad to be able to pump back my normal volume after work. During lunchtime, i managed to pump 3/5 of my normal amount as i was rushing to get it done.
In fact my milk dip after the fever ...it was less than half the amount and i got quite worried but now it's back to normal. Breast is still a little little hard at certain part cos i think i hurt the veins, milk duct - can feel it when i press it. Guess the other day outside I was rushing to get the milk out too and pressed too hard - perhaps that indirectly caused the engorgement and fever. Must be gentle with the berast manz.

amabel's mummy & shint
I see I see.. thinking whether to get anot. Maybe an issue coz my mum's freezer space is quite small

shint
Thx for the info on solids.. Actually quite eager to see how Ashley takes to solids

X'mas Babies bash

Event include
- mingling

2) ruixuan + 1 baby
3) balugu + 1 bb
7) aurora + 1 bb
9) Roiv + 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier)

Thanks for organising..

I saw this BP for mini eclairs.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1873911.html?1226498379

Anybody interested then we can consolidate orders to get one carton of 12 trays? Will be cheaper per tray.
I think this should be the BP organiser whom Mulberry bought from for the east gathering before we gave birth.
I don't mind going to collect the carton, but guess u gotta collect your trays from me then. I live around Tanah Merah area.
Prob will stop at one carton, else I cannot carry so many cartons wor...

Okie, I start the ball rolling:

Orders for mini eclairs
1. valnsw - 1 tray strawberry, 1 tray chocolate, 1 tray banana

krex
fishy smell should be ok as long as not sourish smell/taste. maybe you can taste a bit of fbm to see if the taste is acceptable. did ur bb reject them? if bb continue to take them then it is ok. but try not to store for too long as it is like depriving bb of fresher milk. but if say u have a lot of fbm, then think can dun give bb those oldest ones. since if we always try to clear the oldest stock, we will nvr clear the stock of fbm. for my no. 1, i throw away many packs of fbm as some packs more than 1 mth old has strange taste n my bb rejected them. so now my fbm dun last more than 1 mth. after the terrible experience of throwing away fbm, this time i dun really want to freeze much.

Annabel's mommy,
I think not bad.

Maybe faeriekim, huichin, cindy, vone, catherine, earnestmum, reirei, megan can comment?

They went to the gathering at Mulberry's place last time too.
Hope I didn't miss anybody out.

aurora,
i taking nordic naturals DHA supplements. i still have many dozens of chix essence. wonder when i will finish them...

celyn,
hee.. ur boy is lucky he got nice mummy to clean up for him despite him not minding the mess.
1l of milk? wow... nowadays i so wary of diary pdts tat i juz steer away fm milk as well. so now drinking oni 1 glass a day.
yar, i'd like to take 1 tube fm u. but wat's ur selling px?

snow,
thx on the update of the items! i'm sure u must have been chasing them like seow. presidential election? mebbe leh.
how's the interviews today? best of luck to u wrt outcome

huichin,
congrats on falisha flipping! can't wait for my SY's next milestone.

nini,
ur Braiden soo adorable ;)

celyn, krex,
me oso never changed any of the parts so far leh. oways wondering why the ameda/medela mommies oways buying spare parts?

krex,
tot frozen EBM can store for 2 mos? oh no, i got lots of stored packs tat are past 1 mos. fishy smell or fishy taste? cos they sometimes smell like tat, but still taste awrite leh.

val,
thx for the sms on desitin. i cfm wif u soonest ok?

MOMMIES WIF BOYS
any of mommies wif boys have any new pieces of clothing to sell? shint, i shld have bought fm u the other time. i actually buying for my twin nephews presents. so, best if u have 2 similar looking pieces. hee..

msapple,
Thanks for the schedule!

Re: weaning
i think the trend now is to start after 6 months cos WHO reccomends bf for at least 6 months. But i read that it is ok to start from 17 weeks onwards as long as ur baby shows signs of wanting to 'eat'. Think can ask ur PD for advice. I'm gonna check with my PD too and see what she says. I was thinking to start weaning next month before i go back to work, if not start work liao dunno how to manage the transition. Some articles to read:

http://www.tinytums.co.uk/content/baby_4_to_6_months/real_life_stories/knowing_when_to_wean.aspx

http://www.netmums.com/h/n/FOOD/weaning/ALL/429//

Hisstory,
hehee.. im also v excited abt weaning... giving baby his first spoon of food myself. :p

X'mas Babies bash

Event include
- mingling

2) ruixuan + 1 baby
3) balugu + 1 bb
7) aurora + 1 bb (Reagan)

faeriekim, msapple,
I still hv a box of fish oil from gynae during pregnancy. Didn't know can continue to take. Hahaa.. shd start taking it since it's good for bb... and maybe can also help improve my memory? Kekee..

faeriekim, slowly take one bottle everyday sure can finish.. if not can sell away.

valnsw,
the eclairs look delicious! Maybe we can order that for our xmas bash? U going???

faeriekim,
actually, i can't remember how much i bought it for leh. i got it the last time with dongle's sprees. pm me your address so that i can send it to you first.

dongle,
sorry, do you still happen to know how much is the desitin from the sprees your organise.

Dongle,

not sure if it is too late for the inuovi order.. I want Chrome eyeshadow & the round silver compact cover for the powder.

Hisstory,
I may sound very silly, but what are the baby cubes that everyone is ordering ??

Anyone here just purely express milk to feed baby? i heard it will be lesser if we do not latch on. Am going back to work this Sat liao, how to cope with work and expressing? Care to share some tips?

YLN,
I will be going to united sq this weekend as my workplace is near there.

Krex, timminbuz, Mspple
i check with my colleague who breastfeed her 2 gals still they are 3 yrs old. she say that will have fishy smell and also what u can label as metallic smell when the frozen milk is thawed. she say it is okie, as long as u warm the milk properly the fishy smell will not be there before u feed. she say fresh EBM will not have any fishy smell. Thawed forzen EBM may appear powderly on the bottle. another different for frozen ebm and fresh ebm: fresh Ebm when warmed up, u will not notice any layer of fat and for those frozen ebm when u warmed them up, u can see the layer of yellow fat. my collague say baby will slowly enjoyed those frozen EBM..

Actually my son is now drinking my 9 Sept EBM..

Msapple
if the gathering is on the 13th DEC, i like to give it a miss as my company having D&D.

Faeriekim,
1876342.jpg

not sure whether the Red Winnie Pooh Sleepsuit/ Longsuit suit u? i think the red one is for 9 mth to 1 yr onward. the blue one is for comparison of the size. i only have these 2 which are brand new and also the same

happy mummy
the cube is used to store soup based stock in preparaton for u to cook some porridge or soup..etc. one of the market seller say that i can used the small oz cube to stock the minced pork so that will not overfeed the baby with too much meat.

Working and pumping
i already start work for 2 weeks and so far, i manage to pump twice to thrice at work. i kept my flanges (sealed in ziplock bag) inside the fridge after i used so that i still can use it for the next round of pumping.

Ruixuan,
the flanges must sterilise after use rite? Or can wash then use hot water to wash it? office only have vv hot water .... can i use it to rinse over the pump and keep it inside the fridge?
i am planning to get a mini fridge for the office. Now i am using the Fridge to go Pigeon one .... it manage to keep the milk cool n once i go home i put it in the fridge - means i cannot go out after work.

So investing in a fridge. My colleague oso expecting and she wans to chip into the fridge too.

Now i think whether i need a steriliser?
Since ordering extra flanges .. i plan to keep one set in office and only bring the pump body n hands free strape to and fro. The rest can leave in office to sterilise.

happy mummy,
I had been pumping exlusively since after first 2-3 weeks i think. So far ok, my supply is between 240ml-300ml per pump. It has not dropped so far except few days ago when I had high fever due to engorgement. It has since returned.

I always think that dun latch on will yield lesser bm but now i am a believer of pumping ... kekekeke.

just started work on ... eh, yesterday? cos now 12.56am liaoz.
managed to pump at work once, supply dropped quite a bit but by dinner time, supply returned and in fact i pumped more.

Please PM me your email add once again cos i have deleted the emails .... then i can send u the high res copy and u can check if there's any error.

Msapple, Megan,
Please PM me your baby's name/nick. thanks.

valnsw
u mean for the eclairs.. buy ler can keep in fridge..dun need to eat immedately? can eat like 2-3 weeks later? i tried to click on the blog..but cannot click leh..im quite interested if the eclairs can be kept for a while

happy_mummy
im going to United sq too this fri with bb..

ruixuan
oh.u work in TTSH ar?

shint
u buying mini fridge ar? i also using one ..really quite good lor..can keep the milk cold the whole day (for as long as u on the switch)...

morning mummies.

yln,
what mini fridge are you using? is it those for 6 can of can drinks? i have one akira in office but dare not put ebm inside, scare not cold but office fridge is a bit dirty. so now i put ebm in lock & lock container before i put in office fridge

shint,
pm u liao. thanks for doing up the collage.

Shint
u can use hot or cold method to keep ur flanges clean and preventit from contaminated. i use cold method so thAT i minimise handling the flanges. hot also can but i just scare of scalding myself.

u buy extra flange to keep in the office.. i think u should buy extra valve and bellow too.

Good Morning Mommies!

Hisstory,
Heehee, must try mah, you will be surprised that actually you yourself can handle Ashley alone with stroller well.

Medusa, Huichin & Valsnw,
I let Mae tried on the CNY dress that I bought for her yday and it looks ok so I’m thinking by Jan shd be just right liao. =P

Amabel,
Thanks for coordinating!

X'mas Babies bash

Event include
- mingling

2) ruixuan + 1 baby
3) balugu + 1 bb
6) M2B (Lillian) + 1 toddler (Lorraine) + 1 bb (Maegan) (nt available on 21st coz #1 got concert)
7) aurora + 1 bb (Reagan)

shint...my boy's called titus

what fridge are u going to buy? Am thinking of buying the LG fridge now going for 176 at carrefour and its very energy saving..

Oh YLN...u mean mini those cooler fridge can keep the milk cool whole day ah?

ruixuan...do u mean once u finish pumping, u wash then put back into the zip lock and keep in fridge ah?

tks for your feedback on FBM. to answers some of your qns:
1) freezer should be cold enough. we didn't deep freeze but use the normal freezer that most ppl use to store fish, frozen peas, etc.
2) yes we put the milk with the meat but at a different level and in airtight container. could the smell have permeated thru still? tot the bags and container are air tight?
3) yes it does have a metallic smell on top of it smelling fishy.
4) haven't tasted the milk yet. that's what the consultant at joyful parenting advised. i dun really know how my BM taste like though, haha. she said should still taste sweet, not sour.
5) i tot FBM can store for 3 mths? but anw, we haven't fed our son anything more than 2 mths yet. i only tried the sept batch and most recently, the oct batch. maybe this weekend, i'll try the nov batch.
6) the fishy and metallic smell remains even when milk is warmed up. that's why i hesitate to give my bb. the joyful parenting person said if bb does not reject and he does not get diahorrea or fall ill, then the milk is not spolit. but the nurse from my PD advised to throw away if in doubt. i suppose this is a common advice coming from those in the medical profession. better be safe than sorry.

will continue to observe and see if i still want to feed FBM. i think i'll try out the nov FBM and also taste it before feeding next time.

x'mas bb bash:
are we having it at someone's house in boon tiong? i see everyone bringing just their bb leh. no one bringing hb or maid? i feel so paiseh if i tow everyone along. i dun leave my maid at home so if i attend, then she has to come along also, unless i leave her at my in-law's place.

Shint,
thanks for the collage & roger on yr innuovi stuffs...

i use bottle detergent to wash pump then use hot water to soak them in a lock & lock container for next use... if i get the extra flange from mommysown, i will leave one set in office & sterilise using tablets & mb bring home once a week to sterilise... then only need to transport the pump motor + adapter etc...

actually my bags damn heavy... my handbag (> A4 size) contains my pump motor + adapter + tubing & my recycling bag contains my lock&lock with my pump flanges/bottles + fridge to go + extra bottles... i cant imagine taking bus with these 2 big bags during rush hours!!!

Jo,
Can you call up inuovi for the actual product name & price? i scared i buy wrongly lei...

Celyn,
i dont have the excel file with me now but i duno whether still in the laptop or not cos my HB reformatted my laptop cos kena some virus/worm thingy ... i believe it's ard +-$10 but that shipment may be a bit high due to the DS boo boo which i explained in my email....

re: mini fridge
im using the mini fridge i got as a free gift from buying biotherm skincare/cosmetics... used to put it in my bedroom... now it's below my office desk... so far, my ebm did not turn sour... i only put my FTG in my office fridge... the bag aledi kena stained by duno what... eeks...

re:nursing room
my office got a dedicated nursing room for staffs with fridge too but the freezer compartment vv small... so no choice, have to squeeze with the aunties who bought raw food from ntuc lor...

faeriekim / hisstory,
Last time both of u ordered socks from this BP organiser right?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1853422.html?1226040994

I'm so pek chek w her. She got the sizes of my orders wrong and she never respond!

After my post, she still can happily table down the new orders and ignored the exchange requests of me and few others whom she got e orders wrong!
Did u hv the same prob w her?
I even emailed her but then no response too.

*sorry to rant here*

Megan
after pumping, i will pour the milk in the milk bag and with the flange and bottles, i keep them in clean ziplock bag and immediately put into fridge. (or i will fixed the flanges onto sterilized and clean bottles and put into ziplock bag and then into fridge). No rinising of the flanges.

Good morning mummies

Dongle
Cayla smile until so happy! So kewt : ))

Krex
Not sure if it is 3 or 2 mths but I think have to see. If the 3 mths stock nearing expiry then better not give so stick to 2 mths safer.

Happy Mummy
Due to work my gal drinks mainly ebm. I only latch her on in the nite and on weekends. It depends on whether yr company "supports" breastfeeding anot, and also yr boss ok if you disappear a while to pump. For me I already told my boss I need to get off twice a day to pump and she is ok abt it. Plus my company got nursing room. : ))
So far my supply still ok leh.

Fariekim
You got pm : )

M2B
Okie thanks.

Shint
pm you my email add

****Crocs Expo Sale***
Starting from tmr till sunday Hall 4A

I went suntec city shopping yesterday, i think the place is really baby-unfriendly... no diaper changing or nursing room.. even the stroller have to be carried up n down the stairs. I think marina sq is more friendly but the rooms dun hv lock one??

shint,
what i did with my pump is almost similar to dongle. but i didn't use sterilise tablets and detergent.

i just rinse with tap water after use. then soak them in hot water inside lock and lock for a few minutes. then pour away the hot water and fill with new hot water. then shake the container with hot water a bit then pour it away. then its ready for the next use. i will only sterilise when i'm back home.

dongle,
so ebm will be cold when put in mini fridge is it? if yes, then i don't think i want to put my ebm in office fridge.

thanks for checking on the desitin, its ok if you don't have it.