(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex78,

haha... it's up 2 u.

back from my glucose test.. now waiting for results.

celynlee,
my drink was a gasy orange (like F&N Orange type) got straw, but very gasy keep burping. And the nurse was like staring at me to quickly finish it. But overall quite easy to drink. I think if cold even nicer.. hahaha. After that the nurse told me sit and dont walk around for 2 hours then take the blood and urine test again.

Re: checkup 28 weeks.
My placenta still low. Gynae said not to worry about baby weight. Small is ok as long as healthy. But found a 2nd fibroid
She said she will monitor. But over all everything is fine. Baby 1Kg already
and she still lying sideways. Ask me try lie down more and so more blood flow to the placenta.. I didn't tell hubby this, else he ban me from going shopping. hahaha.

oh I collected my egg washing machine from strawberry. Thanks !!

little twin stars/vone,
I asked my gynae about durian, she said durian is very high is sugar content. So eat with caution. Little bit ok but not too much.

My next visit is 3 weeks. After that she say will either be 2 weeks or 1 weeks. She will decide after seeing me :p

krex78,
you should get towels for babies only cos it's of softer texture than those the adults use. Hooded towels are ok but bot necessary the salesgirl at mothercare told me. Plus for new mums she say can be quite challenging to use.

m2b
i'm back.....but damn tired. =P
shop till so giddy.
me gd gal leh, managed to spent only $160 in taka today....and $70 went to father day gift for my hubby lor.
spent so much these 2 days, must make hb happy also lah...hee hee....

next gathering u initiate? =)

vone
IB seems down, later get ur info then fund tx to u okie?
yes, to me, i saw all pretty mummies.
that is why i can't recall who is that super extra pretty 1 lor....ha ha.....
looking at u gals, i realised that i'm really old liao. =D

catherine,

if got fibroid, u must avoid durian at all cost. my Gf had that in preg and the durian made the fibroid grow . when my placenta is low, dr never tell me not to walk or rest more lei.

don;t worry, still have time for placenta to move up, but if u r choosing c sect. then it's no issue at all

just got back from taka sale. Really shagged from the shopping! Basically the sale is quite "Standard", except that taka card holders gets 10% extra for these 3 days, but must pay using taka card. Before the 10% extra discount, w mostly 20% standard discount, the prices of things are basically about the same as Isetan. Some items that are alrdy on "special" prices are not entitled for the 20%, only extra 10%.

Was telling mulberry and reirei that it seems alot of ppl dont have to work, cos it was actually quite crowded even before 5pm, cant imagine weekends.

Val,
You got the fisher price rainforest peekaboo mobile at $60+ rite?? its such a good buy!!
Regret not getting the fisher price rainforest mobile during Isetan private sale! Argh, seems like everywhere is either not selling that, or selling at $99 AFTER discount!

just got back from gynae...Dr say BB is average size...28 wks abt 1 kg.

i got like this swelling thing on the outside of my vagina...was painful even when walking. so today i ask my gynae to check...when i took off my panties got blood! give me a shock for a second there...then i realise the 'thing' is a pimple n it just pop. :p scare me...blood is from pimple not BB. so pai seh...Dr help me squeeze n gave me some cream to apply. guess now weather is hotter, n we putting on weight..Dr advise to wear looser clothes to prevent such stuff. quite embaressing...:p

have a good weekend everyone!

joanne,
sounds like you and mulberry enjoyed yourselves. Did reirei go with you two?
I bought the Fisherprice rainforest cot mobile at offer price $69.90, is $70. Last Sat saw it on display at the cot section at Isetan Parkway but I didn't manage to see spare sets. Anyway, that day wasn't the Isetan private sale, so doubt have any offer price.
Maybe you can go to OG sale? 25% off for Stanchart credit card members. Maybe you can call them to check if it's on offer. Else I think other dept store like Robinsons may have it?

Catherine,
do take care ya? Perhaps you should ask your doc if there's anything you should avoid or take any precautions due to the fibroid.

Twinstar,
My stretchmark starting to show like yours too...just these few days oh...yikkks...

Clarins stretch mark cream
Mummies who use this cream, can any of you let me know if you feel like the cream is coming off after massaging on skin for a while...I mean it is producing the impurities like the way you scrub out dead cells from body. I have been using the oil most of the time as I don't quite like the feel of the cream. But heard that cream is supposed to be able to reduce the marks. But I am just wondering if it is normal for the cream to behave this way...or it that the tube I have got expired or exposed to lights that causing it to be like that...

Hui Chin,
Yes...seems like the stretch marks are growing each day...scary !

I know my mum have them and expecting more or less maybe I will have it too...and now it is for real...

I have not been putting the cream and the oil that I have been having them long time but since I noticed, now everyday very kut lat...everyday also put...not sure if can mix, so I try to use the oil in the morning and the cream at night...

valnsw,
thanks for the concern. My gynae said not to be too worried about the fibroid. Some people they would feel pain but so far I'm ok. Only worry is that it will be in the way of the c-sec. Other than that, no worries she said. Was having a hard time explaining to hubby what is fibroid. End up he asked, cancerous ? I said no. Then he said ok. hhahaa.

Babywise,
I use the clarins cream but I dont experience what you explained. After apply very smooth. Or am I suppose to rub hard but I never ? :p

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
so did u end up go to Isetan afterwards?
Btw, i saw an advert that Mothercare got 20% discount on the Avent IQ24 steriliser.
http://www.mothercare.com.sg/images/promo/islandwidesale.jpg
I think that's quite good buy coz just now Taka said theirs no discount (other than the 10% disc for cardmembers).

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
yup ReiRei also went with us to the Taka sale. She's the 'champion' leh as she spend the most..keke..but it was bcoz she bought breastpump and steriliser lah.
Me just bought bottles and other small items. But still i spend abt $100...keke..
Btw, did u go to the Robinsons Expo sale? Is it worth going ar?

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
don't worry too much abt the fibroid ya. coz it's quite common amongst preggies. I have few friends also had fibroid(s) when they pregnant. I remember 1 of my fren said her's disappeared (or shrunk alot...can't remember which) after given birth.

catherine,
mine is 1.1kg at 28 weeks, gynae say side is normal, ok.

for your glucose test, you are told to sit there and not walk around? mine didn't say anything leh. good luck and hopefully no call for you from them.

krex78,
i went to robinson at centrepoint, there is no discount on the avent warmer and pump.

i went shopping in the afternoon:
1. robinson sale at expo, nothing much for me to buy.
2. john little at orchard, no discount for avent products even if you have ntuc card.
3. robinson at centrepoint, no discount on avent warmer and iq duo breastpump. i got the cotton disposable panties from robinson at $5.90 for 5.
4. og at orchard, i finally got my avent iq duo breastpump at 20% discount. decided not to wait further cos its not easy to get discount for this. i remember i went to og in march, i ask about the discount for the breast pump. at that time, i was told that its nett price no discount. mummies who are interested in this, can try the other outlets of og cos there is only 1 set of breast pump at the orchard one. so no more stock liao.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
how much is it after discount the avent duo breastpump?

btw, did u notice whether avent uno breastpump got 20% discount also?

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
no leh, the UNO one no discount in Robinsons, i asked, they say the price shown ($279) is nett liao.
Taka sale is slightly better coz got 10% disc for cardmembers.

mulberry,
if that is the case, i think its better for you to buy at OG. Get the staff to confirm for you at the cashier before you make payment. that is what i did.

when i was at robsinson, i ask the staff if there is discount for duo and steriliser. she say yes. so when my hubby arrive, we went to make payment then the cashier say no discount. so i rejected the purchase and went off.

babywise,

yup stretch mark can sudd appear. it's scary. now mine is under control for now. hopefully no more *touch wood* me also doing last minute oil massage 2 times a day

wkend is here, u ladies enjoy. time for me to disappear n catch up on mon

Do u mtbs go for pre-natal massage? keke.. i've been going almost every week cos its cheap $50 for 1.5-2hrs..

DO u feel sometimes very breathless n even climbing stairs very 'xiong'? But i m still quite active, can climb up n down bed easily, walk pretty fast n agile.. I'm very big sized but my tummy looks quite ok, not very big for 27wks leh.. BB is small?

Btw anyone doin the chart now? Hasn't seen Rata around for quite sometimes...

Weather is very warm n anything cold is so in!

nini,
wow you did massage every week? i only do once a month. mine is not so cheap, its $40 per hour. going to have mine later in the afternoon.

i do feel breathless when climbing stairs. you mean massage helps?

Hi Nini / Celynlee

Can i check where did you go for prenatal massage. I feel like going too. So tiring. Feel like going for a relax.

celynlee

You mean she will come over to your house. Is she good. I was thinking to have one too.
Can you recommend me?

went for my 30th week check up yesterday...bb is at 1.6kg...but gynae said i put on weight too fast..must watch what i eat..he ask me dun drink milk already..too much fat content...milo also drink less...i put on 3kg in 3 weeks..so think he feels that is too much...but i told him i have less appetite also...he said must be becuz i do less activity now since im supposed to be still on hospitalization leave...i think i should start doing more stuff and not laze in bed !..but my bb still in breech position, tho gynae said its early still, still got one month for her to move, but im quite worried if she dun move, i need to then go for c section...
next appt onwards 2 weeks from now, until the last month then its weekly appt liao...

yesterday, went taka sale..finally bought all my bulky items with free delivery...bought 2 Babycraft playpen($109 each, after disc less than $100), a graco stroller ($199, after disc $179), and a Nania Car seat ($100, after disc $90)...since i got taka card..so discount was good...paid only abt $480 for all the items ..oh plus 2 box of pigeon breast pads...inclusive of free delivery..quite worth it..

feel like going to Robinson sale at expo but dunno worth it anot...
also went to metro to buy the cotton disposable undies, and 2 nursing bras from impression...the pattern not nice..but since $9.90 each only..i just thought buy lor...also bought a set of pink PJs for the hospital stay..phew...finally..managed to most stuff...still need to get small items like milk bottles, cloth diapers, nail clippers...etc..

Hi YLN,
Can I check which Graco stroller you went for? I'm considering Graco cos it looks quite sturdy, but DH complain quite hard to close...

mulberry,
I didn't go to the Robinsons Expo sale, still undecided whether to go.

celyn,
wow looks like you went quite a number of places to shop. You've got so much energy. If me, I think I will be tired out.

nini,
sometimes i feel breathless even when I'm not climbing stairs. The reason why we feel breathless more easily is cos baby and our stomach pushing upwards and thus our diaphragm not able to depress fully to allow as much air into our lungs like before.

Celyn: Wow, you &amp; your SH are shopping queen &amp; king! But great deal!

I ask my fren who is working near expo, she said that the robinson sale is abit diff than last time, more higher class items. Not much bb clothes but have other bb items...

YLN: You gotten quite a few good items!!
As for those baby detergent, disposable panties, breast pads, is Chinatown shop selling cheaper?

Mulberry, Joanne,
I was on good mood y'day..datz why spent so much!
muz haf been the mudpie i ate before cheonging the sale! =P

Taka Sale:
Joanne is rite..the taka sale is worth it if u've got the taka card. Like the medela swing i bot oni has 10% disct if u pay using taka card.

Talking abt which, i went First Few Yrs at Paragon and saw they selling for $289!!! soo angry!!

I tink theirs is US version cos packaging is different and they giving the adapter for free.
But dunno abt the warranty tho..

So here's my bulky loots:
1) Medela Swing (10% disct)
2) Avent Steriliser (20% + 10% -- they dun haf IQ24)
3) Pooh Cot Mobile (got it for $63..UP ard $100)
http://www.babycity.co.uk/PD/baby-gifts/Baby-Toys-Mobiles/Mobiles/Disney-Baby/995/Disney-Winnie-The-Pooh-Light-Up-Cot-Mobile.aspx

Twin Stars,
Congrats! Now u can opt for natural birth oredie!!

Vone,
As long as bb's weight is OK then shld be fine rite?
What if u got high metabolism rate..then how..
If u dun drink milk, maybe can take calcium pills?

reirei,

bb's wt is okie 4 d time being. my gynae is jus afraid tt since i m nt putting on enough wt, bb might b affected. i m taking calcium pills currently together wif my vits. it's jus tt i m nt drinking as much milk as when i had my son. :p

mad,
i have 2 massage lady.
1. nadia - 81004091 ($60/hour, drives)
2. jah - 98698708 ($40/hour, don't drive)

valnsw,
i walk slowly loh also very focus, only went to see baby things, nursing bra and pjamas. so didn't spend a lot of time at each place.

storeberry,
yah. nothing much to buy at robinson expo. i feel its not worth going.

yln,
i also bought the impression nursing bra. its the ugly one but since its cheap, so i buy for home use loh. i got it at john little with 20% discount with mtuc card. will buy nicer one at cloud-9 later for work.

Valnsw,
Thx for ur concern

retail therapy cured my flu! :p
Y'day at Taka I saw the tiger food jar &amp; flask set u got in isetan. They selling $59..wif taka card, muz still pay ard $53 bah. still more ex than wat u got.
Looks like u got alot of good buys dat time at pte sale..

celyn, i went to the one at robinsons raffles city on thurs and saw the 20% sign at avent area, so assumed everything was on 20%. maybe sale over already?

i still haven't decided if i wanna go robinsons expo. the thought of squeezing with so many ppl makes me lazy...

btw, anyone using nuk stretch mark cream? i tried the sample and it's not bad. not very sticky and absorbs quite easily. but i dun see it being sold in dept stores leh.

mad, i do my prenatal massage at wellness village in pagoda street. i pay 2x more than what nini and celyn pay, all becoz i dun want her to come to my house and mess up my bed :p

but no regrets lah. the package i sign up quite flexible. if can't use finish, can do bamboo massage once i give birth and hubby can also use it for massage + scrub.

YLN (doll_puppet) ,
Your bb is of good weight. I hope my bb can gain weight faster as my gyane already told me I may go to labour much earlier.

avocado
y would ur gynae say that? u must be more careful then if ur gynae made such a remark...

actually come to think of it, i only have another 10 weeks before i pop..quite amazing that time flies so quickly..im actually hoping to pop in mid july rather than my edd which is 1 aug..so thats y i will use these 2-3 weeks to buy all the necessary items...but dunno my bb will be as anxious as me anot...

catherine:

Dr say my 1 kg BB a bit small too..but according to graph is still ok so he say no need to worry. anyway, smaller easier to deliver.
i also had a fibriod before becoming pregnant. but its no problem now...as long as it doesnt grow, which mine hasn't.

i still eat durian though...:p didnt know cannot.

reirei,
I think you also got alot of good buys la. I'm going to curb shopping for milk bottles, cos i got so many for bb liao. But I guess, it's ok cos prob I need to keep some at my parents' place and some at my new home in future.

mulberry,
don't think i will go for robinsons expo sale. Now I think I only left the maternity pads and disposable panties to get. Other things to get will be stroller and car seat which I think I will buy after birth.

krex,
I had 2 sample packs of NUK stretchmark cream, can't remember where I got them from. Isit the one with blue packaging? I used one pack and I found it too thick &amp; creamy for my liking. Then doesn't feel like the skin absorbs the cream that fast. Do you still want another pack? Cos if you want, just PM me your address and I can send it to you.
If I'm not wrong, I thought I saw some NUK cream selling at Baby Kingdom or Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit. I keep confusing the 2, but it's the shop that sells Combi prams on the 1st floor and when you go to the upper floor selling pumps, milk bottles etc, saw they have NUK creams too. You can call either one to check if they sell before you make a trip down.

re: disposable panty
actually how many should we get? i already got 20 pcs, is it enough?

re: maternity pad
someone was mentioning about the brand 'Madamme'. i saw it at kiddy palace today. but the packaging is so big for a 20pc pack. it looks scary to me, i didn't even walk near it to have a closer look. is it really good? i think i saw that mothercare had maternity pad too. anyone had try before?

NiNi (diorly) and YLN (doll_puppet) ,
Becos my #1 was born on 36weeks and I was on anti-contraction pills-ventolin when I a 6mths. Stop med this week as no more brown staining. but can feel harding of tummy when stand too long or walk too much.

Maternity pad:
My nurse client told me to buy maternity pads from mothercare, she told me its soft so its wasy on the wounds below. Would drop by mothercare tmr.

ReiRei

That's a really nice cot mobile u got!! I was aiming for one which i spotted at Mothercare @ harbourfront, and without the light-up function, it already costs almost $100
HB = MOF doesn't quite allow..

Re: Appetite

How are you ladies' appetite these days? My appetite has kind of reduced these few days.. Inspite cutting down the carbo intake at each meal, i still feel very full &amp; bloated quickly