(2008/08) Aug 2008

Haven't been posting as been busy at work. Am so tired at the end of the day that just want to lie down and sleep. My doctor actually asked me to go on MC last week but I asked to finish up work these two weeks and then rest at home. I am covering for my boss who is away on maternity leave so have to wait till she gets back.
My feet are so swollen that everyone keeps commenting about it at work - Makes me so self-conscious - Anyone else has the same problem?
Doubleblessing
Hi my doctor is S F Loh as well and am expecting a boy and a girl too. My original date is 20th Aug but now he says to expect by 1st of August.

mulberry,
the TinyLove musical mobile with remote control is selling original price $129 at Isetan.
There's 25% off, so around $99?

It's this model:
http://www.tinylove.com/toy.aspx?toyId=66&state=toyTypeId=13@elementId=0@ageId=0

I didn't check out the original price at the Tinylove distributor cos I was intending to go there after Isetan sale. End up I buy Fisherprice instead.

Re: Gathering on 1 June
I'm fine with the venue and time. Thanks for organising!

I think I would be quite full when I'm there cos I always wake up v late on Sunday and have my bfast at 10am or so. Hehe
By the way, how are we going to settle the food ah? Isit like what reirei mentioned, "catering"? just joking la.. maybe we gona order pizza or KFC or Macs?

Catherine,
your Tiger food jar looks more colorful. Mine's the plain one. You got that at Taka on discount?

Nini,
which model of the Aprica stroller did you get? I'm considering but wana wait till bb is older to let her test.

YLN, u oredi cfmed ur myanmese maid? which agency? how much u pay? must share tips leh. btw, they juz had the calamity there, was anything affected wrt maid?

valnsw: no la i bought Combi.. its the older model, lightweight one.. :p I think the rest of the other brands got 20% discount! But hubby insisted on Combi brand cos it's only 4.2kg..hehe..
But only downside compared to Miracle turn is 1) no turning to front 2) the mattress is not-so-airy 3) the rollers are smaller.

Which brand of stroller did u all bought?

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
okie noted

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
wah Tiny Love's one quite ex leh.

eh actually ReiRei's suggestion is feasible leh. I was searching thru some catering website last night and saw some do for 15pax.
and I calculated the cost that each of us need to pay is about $14. (I was assuming that there is 10 of us). Personally I think $14 is reasonable. At least hassle free and the food more healthy....hehe...compare to fastfood lah.

Hi valnsw, oh u oso Eastshore ah! Hehe...I've just sent the application for the bed on my gynae visit yesterday. Hehe...when's your EDD btw?

Vone: high 5 back! Haha...which part do u stay at ah? Me is very near to the mac's. Hehe.

Mulberry: I really dun mind meeting up with u girls - I only have a food concern...LOL. I know its not fair for everyone to cater to me cos I can only eat halal food, so maybe u girls plan and know wat will be on the menu for lunch then I can see if I can join if u all dun mind? The venue sounds good at your place though! Hehe...btw is this a wives-only outing or r u girls bringing the daddies along? Whoa the more I tok abt it the more exciting it feels! LOL

reirei,
yes mon is vesek day. i need to make use of the long wkend to get all my things done up. so many things not done lei

babywise, mul
ya, the funnel in the bottle puts me off too
mul, thanks for the info

high tea: (dates: 21-23may , wed to fri) any mummies prefer a date over the other?

so far the list is:
1)snow
2)little twin stars
3)reirei
4)mulberry
5)catherine
6)vone

*i will let snow know the places available for high tea in wkdays but u guys feel free to sugg too okie

mmm getting hungry

rata,
oic... so most probably you will deliver early too...

twin star,
we have requested the maid to come over on 1 june, duno whether she can make it or not... my maid should be staying at the basement cos my HB dun like the idea of her sleeping "on top of us" cos we have another 2 spare rooms on top of our masterbedroom floor... i also haven work out with my mum on the arrangement on who/how to take care of bb...

yup, we have a 2 yr old shih tzu but he got slight skin problem so my HB forbid me to take care of him after preggie... my mum also nag at us to give/sell him away because of our bb.. so now he very poor thing cos we confined him to the roof terrace &amp; downstairs balcony as my mum is scared of dogs

my 2 units away neighbour just kena dengue fever, he alerted us to close all our windows &amp; doors facing the back cos there is some construction going on behind our houses... maybe NEA will come to check our houses too..

mulberry, i am most fine to go to ur condo. how abt the food? r we gonna order mcdonald and have them deliver there? hahaha...

valsnw, i went to the isetan sale today too! the q was soooo long to enter at 8.30am! luckily i arrived there when the q was moving oredi. So, didn't feel like i was q-ing. i oso bought stuff similar to u!
Ok here's my loot:
1) The Pigeon steriliser set at $149
2) 2 Pigeon PES bottles at $16.90 less 20% off
3) a pair of Pigeon teats for the bottles at $6.00 less 20% off.

bought the fisherprice rainforest mobile at the mattel sale at $50 leow. so, din need to buy tat.
also got my thermos flasks (food &amp; hot water) oredi, so no need to buy.

dongle,

i also have a shit tzu
at times she will have skin probs, sent her to the ver several times to investigate..did food test etc. special diet only to realize the prob lies with the shampoo my groomer is using for her. once we gave our groomer my dog;s personal shampoo. problem solved. no more skin prob
u have to find out what causes it. could be food or even metal or like my case: shampoo. btw, dogs cannot eat alot of food like grapes, chicken, bread, wine ( believe it or not when i had a dog gathering at my neighbour's we did ktv n drank wine until we got high n fed our dogs red wine from our glasses! )

now busy trying to clear spare room to accommodate baby and another room for the maid. alot to do

snow74,
next week i got blood test leh. can't go for hi-tea.

you got the gap stuff liao?

re:isetan
i went down after work, got the baby monitor, cloth diaper and diaper liner. wanted to get 0.5l tiger thermo flask but sold out liao.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
which brand u buy for the baby monitor? How much?

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
I more prefer either 21st or 22nd May.
coz i got dinner appt at 23rd, hee...scared i eat too much during hi-tea and can't eat dinner liao...haha...

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
oppps...sorry i missed out your posting that you are Muslim.
hmmm...i'm not sure about food yet. hee..we haven't even finalise the number of attendees yet.
This gathering should be for only MTBs/mommies and kids only. If you all want to include daddies also, then I think my condo's function hall too small liao. I think my condo's one can only accomodate abt 15 pax (so to be comfortable lah).

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font> / <font color="0000ff">faeriekim</font>
hehe...u gals want fastfood like McD, KFC meh? fastfood very 'heaty' wor...
actually if our attendees confirm got at least 10 adults, it's possible to use Catering (thanks to ReiRei for sparking the idea)...It would cost us about $9-$13 per person (depending on how many of us).
These 2 websites sounds good. I've read good reviews about them before:-
http://www.yumchaexpress.com.sg/order.html

http://www.kyo.com.sg/products/index.html

Re: Eastside gathering on 1st June
What do you all think? You all prefer fastfood or catering?
hee..most importantly i should ask How much is your budget ar?

nini,
I think I confused Aprica with Combi. I was eyeing the Miracle turn but feel it's quite alot of $ to be spending on a stroller. It's quite light but I wonder if it will be too light that it will topple.

mulberry,
I'm fine with catering. I just suggested those fastfood delivery for convenience la.. Ya, think better avoid deep-fried food.

huichin,
Yup I'll be delivering at East Shore Hospital. My EDD initially was 17 Aug but kept shifting so I just take the earliest one which is 15 Aug.

faeriekim,
Haha great minds think alike!
Looks like we really got the same things! I was there late ah, intended to go early but hubby still sleeping till 9am. Oh, so you got the Fisherprice mobile at the Lok Yang sale? I also wanted to go but it's all the way to the West...

snow,
I just PMed you regarding the ON order. GAP order, I let you know by tomorrow 3pm.

avocado: I'm not sure too.. my foot massueur encourages me to go (but i nv do foot since i preggie) my gynae says can go but my pre-natal massuer say cannot n most of u say cannot..haha

little twin star: sounds yummy..let me know when n i see if i can tag along too :p

valnsw: Yes its ex to pay $600+ for a stroller n haven't add in car seat.. im a poor mummy... :/

Re: ham sandwiches
Can we eat ham/cheese? I mean those sold @bakery stores (reputable ones) are safe to eat anot?

mulberry,
i got the philips avent SCD496 baby monitor. i just try it out and like it. its very clear. bought at 155.50 with a magic cup too.

Hi Serriz, welcome!! Why are you on 30days hospital leave? What happen?

East mummies: I hope to meet up with all of you also! But sun gotta go church &amp; grandma house so abit difficult...

Snow &amp; little twin star: Would love to meet up you all. I can meet you all for high tea cos mt time is flexible but fri afternoon can't cos have meeting.

high tea: (dates: 21-23may , wed to fri) Prefer 21 or 22

so far the list is:
1)snow
2)little twin stars
3)reirei
4)mulberry
5)catherine
6)vone
7)storeberry

Do u know how much is the U.P.?
this monitor is just normal one? i saw some so high tech, can detect bb movements (or something like that).
i also thinking to buy a baby monitor. coz planning to let baby sleep in separate room.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
hee...ya i also agree fastfood would be easy. actually i love McD and KFC...*slurp slurp*..... But better for us preggies to eat healthily ;)
hmmm...now i dunno whether to buy FP Rainforest or Tiny Love mobile. Maybe i just tell my hubby to buy during his US trip and see which one he can find. keke...leave it to fate.. :p

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font>
if u read those preg books/website, they say it's advisable to avoid cold ham. They say if wanna eat, best to heat/toast it until you see got steam coming out.

mulberry:
yes i read that too...so kinda worried cos i just ate turkey ham sandwiches n i didn't heat/toast it up..just ate it straightaway!
I bought the sandwiches at Moulin Bakery (Istean basement 1) so wondering if their ham is safe or no???
stupid me...

It just slipped off my mind that ham may contain listeriosis so it got me really paranoid now. I bought the sandwiches @ Sun Moulin (Isetan Scotts basement 1) n just ate it straightaway... then when i got home i realised i shouldnt have ate the ham sandwiches... i mean i should have heat it up before consuming. I read that the bacteria may pass on to unborn baby right? I am really worried about the damage I have done. *sobz* Now worried until cant sleep

i saw someone selling confinement stuff earlier. didn't know there was such thing as confinement powder, bath and shampoo. what brand and where to buy ah?

celyn, u finally bought your bb monitor! i bought mine during taka fair in march since it was cheap and came with lots of goodies. there are so many models out there i can't keep up, but i recall mine is the one that allows 2 way conversation. i also bought the iq food warmer coz' it's quite hard to find in dept stores and quite unlikely they will have bundled package since pdt is so new. now waiting for steriliser to go on sale then i'll buy.

little twin star,
Me, me too! Include me for the high tea *yummy* HB working super late again next wk, so i also have to self-entertain again, sian..Im fine with any of the 3 days! Thanks for organising =)

nini/mulberry,
You girls are scaring me! I have been having quite alot of those ham n cheese sandwiches from bakery. I love the Ham n cheese crossiant from Sun Moulin!

Mulberry,
Ur HB going HK next wk? We can meet up for lunch if ud like, since im so free too =)

krex78,
yah. the one i have also have a talk button. but didn't try that out.

i saw the iq warmer at bhg, isetan and baby store at kaki bukit (either one of them have, can't remember which one). but haven't buy cos its still same price at $99.90. will buy it later.

Reirei/Mulberry,
Seems like Reirei's "catering" idea might really work out!

Actually if theres 10 people, think catering might be a better idea. Maybe if we can get the confirm attendance asap, it will be easier to plan for cost and all. Im fine with 10+, anyways fast food also not v cheap nowadays. Wat u girls think?

catherine
send me ur gap order, might be ordering this afternoon if i can get home earlier. =)

celyn
yup, got the gap parcel from our end apr order liao.

valnsw
replied ur mail liao.
okie, will wait for ur gap order.
let me noe how u wanna meet up ok?
btw, when is ur blood test?

ok ladies, me going out to yoga class liao.
remember to pm me ur gap order b4 3pm ok?
i should be home by then. =P

Mulberry

Think we can stick to your condo lah..mine now abit late to book cos usually quite "hot". Thanks for booking.

hey...i have a suggestion..how abt we order Qi Ji..no need minimum order, free delivery and its halal! and the food from Qi Ji is superb
the popiah and mee siam is very good! 10 pax can order liao....they have drinks etc..www.qiji.com.sg

alternatively, golden pillow..is halal and very good priced too..and quite good variety dun hv to worry abt transport cost or minimum quantity
think $30 they deliver liao...

wat say u guys?

morning ladies..

valnsw, i will be getting a playpen instead of cot. will i have difficulty attaching the musical mobile that you got on a playpen? oh ya, i also got the pigeon steriliser set..luckily still have some stocks left. :D btw, i got 2 pigeon bottles (160ml) too but its $14.50 each..same as yours?

i'd love to join the gathering but its too far from my place. i stay in the west. have fun!

Mulberry: Haha...no worries. Of course if u're ordering fastfood - i can confirm my attendance liao. LOL. Anyway - noted that this meetup is a Mummies/kids gathering only. Hehe.

Valnsw: Oh my EDD used to be 12 Aug, then it shifted to an earlier date on 080808. LOL.

Seems like you and Faeriekim have got quite good discounted items from the Isetan sale!

Anyone advice on the Pigeon steriliser anyone? Heard that the Avent one is good too...so i dunch know man.

faeriekim
I confirmed my myanmar maid and she should be here at the end of the month...agent is booking the airtickets and doing all the admin work...i used this agency www.topmaids.com.sg
my sis also got her maid there...and she is ok...from the countryside one...very kuai and take initiative....im just crossing my fingers i will be lucky too...the agent fee plus insurance is $520..and her salary is $350...abit on the high side...but if she is obedient and good..i dun mind paying...
the agent is also a myanmar citizen ..so she will also go back to myanmar to handpick her maids....its also unlimited replacement if unhappy...but so far, she say she only got very few 'rejects' cuz she say she also dun want any trouble..cuz its very mah fan for her to send the maid back...more trouble for her...

Valnsw,
You got a good deal for the fisher price mobile…I’m aiming that too but can’t go to the Isetan sale leh…sob sob

Snow,
You went Isetan Sale and didn’t get anything? Your “ren gong” very power man, mine is lousy!

Regarding the hi-tea, I’m keen to join leh…what day is it? I already taking next Thu, 22nd leave as hb is leaving on 23rd for 3 weeks…we intend to bring our gal out for that day lor…

Is my order from Gap here too? Heehee

Missyz,
Me oso using playpen instead thus oso worried if the musical mobile can fix or not. :p

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font> / <font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
don't worry lah, I should believe big bakeries standard is good, i mean i think the risk is ham which not handled properly might easily get the listeria (spelling?). Moulin Bakery is reputable bakery mah.
I also occasionally got eat ham n cheese sandwich.

hee...those tat can detect bb movements very expensive leh. I also think buy normal one is enough.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
oh yes yes, let's meetup for lunch next week. ;)

<font color="0000ff">Megan</font>
can check your condo's function hall can fit how many ppl? coz i was thinking if our attendees is more than 15 ppl, my condo's one might be quite cramp.

thanks for the suggestion of halal caterers website

Golden Pillow is it this one? http://www.goldenpillow933.com.sg/products.htm
think between that two, i prefer Golden Pillow than QiJi. Golden Pillow seems like more variety of food. Although i love Qi Ji's popiah but that's the only thing i can eat from there coz i can't take spicy food like mee siam or laksa. :p

<font size="+1">Dear mommies coming to the Eastside gathering on 1st June,</font>

Pls let me know who else wanna come and who now cannot make it.
Also, pls indicate whether you are OK with catering.

<u>Re: Gathering in the East</u>
Date: 1st June
Time: <font color="ff0000">11am (OK boh?)</font>
Venue: mulberry's condo at Simei?

1) Megan - OK with catering
2) valnsw - OK with catering
3) mulberry - OK with catering
4) Cindy
5) vone - OK with catering
6) earnestmum (cynthia)
7) faeriekim
8) ReiRei
9) chipchip
9) Joanne - OK with catering
10) Gemini
11) Catherine

mulberry,
like that, I think you let your hubby get whatever is available in USA since your hubby is paying. I personally prefer the Fisherprice one, cos have 4 types of music. The tinylove one only 3 types and when I heard the Bach classical music, sounds abit solemn leh..

krex,
I didn't get any confinement shampoo etc. My mum just bought those herbs or flowers in a pack meant for confinement from Hock Hua I think. You can put the contents into a tub of hot/warm water and then you use the water to slosh yourself and maybe even wash your hair.

Megan,
I'm fine with Qiji. I also kinda like their popiah

missysz,
I'm not sure about putting the musical mobile on the playpen. Cos I didn't get playpen. By right playpen wouldn't be as stable as cot. To be on safe side, you shouldn't put it. Perhaps you can consider this Fisherprice clip-on one? Just that bb cannot see things hanging above.

http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2341&amp;e=detail&amp;pcat=rainforest&amp;pid=38143

huichin,
I almost wanted to ask why you chose Dr Aziz as your gynae as most Muslims would go to him. Cos coincidentally I have a Muslim client who delivered under him last Aug and also stays at Bedok Reservoir! Then I read your post. So how long have you been married?

As for Avent steriliser, you need to buy all the Avent accessories, whether milk bottles, breast pump etc.. Cos Avent not compatible with other brands.
In the end, it's personal choice which brand you want.

snow,
I just replied your PM in case you didn't get to read my post. I'll skip the GAP spree. Thanks for asking too!

=================================================
John Little sale

Wondering if I should go but seems like nothing on discount for baby items.

http://www.johnlittle.com.sg/events-promo/VesakDay_16May08.htm

YLN,
was looking at the website of topmaids. Quite interesting but the charges abit steep. But as you say if the maid is gd, don't mind paying abit extra.
Do update on your maid's performance. I'm going to search soon. prob next month or so.

HI Nini &amp; Joanne, I have been eating ham in my early trimester also so I think anything in moderation should be ok. I even ate sashimi on a regular basis!! My gynae says its ok, so I just ate at restaurant where I am more assured of the cleaniness..
Don't worry too much yah?

sometimes, i wonder if i'm very bad. stomach is calling for food about 30 mins before my lunch time and i would like ignore it and let it make noise. should i take something or can wait for my lunch time?

vone, those are quite cool pdts. did u get anything from the site? maybe i'll go down on one of the sat to take a look.

Vone: Yea very near leh! Kekeke...

Mulberry: Yea ok i'm onz liao! Thks to Megan's suggestion for halal catering! Hehee..金枕头! is nice! heeehee...

Valnsw: Oh haaha...yea he's very popular amongst the muslims esp. Heh. ANyways, taking him cos he's very recommended and his rates are quite economical for my pockets. So take him. Hehe..oh i'm married since last June 2007. Heh.

And then i think i should really get the Pigeon brand liao hor..since Avent one abit ma fan...everything must be the same brand one. Hmm.

confinement bath
ya , i was looking at the bath items as well..was wondering if our confinement ladies will buy those herbal bath stuff for us or we must buy ourselves..any one any idea??

Mulberry, Megan,
Thanks for organising!

I'm OK wif either Golden Pillow or QiJi.
Thanks Megan for the brilliant suggestion! cos i luv QiJi! :p
Budget wise $10+ is fine wif me.

Mulberry, Valnsw,
R u able to take Nasi Lemak? Qiji's fried chix wing is oso v yummy! *droool*

YLN,
U'd hafto chk wif ur confinement lady.
Some will buy for u (but u hafto pay lah) and some u buy urself.
Like my case, I pay her $1800 oni for her service. Herbs &amp; stuff i hafto buy myself.

Megan,
Which part of tampines you staying at?

Cindy,
dunno y my tummy is so flabby, my first pregnancy isnt like this. i look like a fat woman.. i rather to have my tummy looking round and hard like a ball. in fact i didnt eat alot -
so far how many KGs u put on?

i was on Hospitalization leave as i'm having low placenta covering ops thus can go thru natural deliver, at my current stage, i'm still experiencing spotting and my water bag is alittle weak. therefore my gynae wans me to have total bed rest....

Valnsw,
Hi, i'm mother of one girl 3 years and cureently expecting another baby gal - yes i'm working fulltime however currently on HL.

Mulberry,
i cant attend as sunday my girl is attending her ballet class and follow by to my MIL's hse

Catherine,
regarding the new law - what happen if i already rent my car out for more then 6 months - will it affect me? i intedn to rent out for a year.

Storeberry,
well as mentioned above my placenta is covering my ops thus not suitable to wk. Gynae appt is on 3.6.08, she will check if i'm suitable to go back to work.Frankly althought its quite boring at home but at least i dont face so much stress at work. My boss told my secretary that she is putting alot of pressure on me becos i'm gg on maternity leave thus she wans me to work extra hard how to cover my sales figure... what a boss. lol

snow74/joanne,
sorry i missed the yoga this morning. was soo tired from shopping last few days, that last nite I dozed off at 9.30pm and woke up at 1pm today .. heehee ...