(2008/08) Aug 2008

Re: insurance for baby
As what snow said, it's good to start babies off when they're young as any medical condition has not manifests yet. Else if later on they develop some medical condition such as diabetes (which I know of one real-life case), insurance companies normally will not want to cover.

In case you're interested to know more, I can help provide info. I'm in the line *winkz* Just here to share info with you all.

celyn
i can't remember liao, i go home chk then let u noe ok? =)

valnsw
my hb is not in this line, but he is those cost sensitive person that he will do lotsa comparison between diff offer then he decide 1 lor.
sounds terrible right?
but i dun need to worry at all.
ha ha.... =D

snow74,

valnsw,
thanks for offering. will most likely get from my friend who is also my agent. but do you happen to know if any insurance company had included cord blood banking into their policy?

snow,
I think it's common nowadays for people to do comparisons. Sometimes it would be tough to do apple to apple comparisons such as compare on same premium basis as the benefits may be different. But ultimately, I think you want somebody with good service in your best interests and one who will stay on to service you.

celyn and any other mummies who are interested, you can refer to this for the plans under various companies:
http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/hcfinancing.aspx?id=342
Do note that Prudential and NTUC have changed their plans in the link.

One thing to note is you need to differentiate between hospitalisation coverage and other types of medical insurance. The former is to cover for hospitalisations only. Some people have the misconception that it covers for outpatient GP visits too.

Anyway, the most important and basic is to get hospitalisation insurance for your child, as babies have a higher tendency to be hospitalised than adults. It will definitely come in handy.

Feel free to ask or PM me
I'll help answer any queries you have.

celyn,
so far to my knowledge, cord blood banking is separate from the norm insurance. From what I've gathered, the two companies offering cord blood banking are Stemcord and Cordlife. HTHs!

hi celynlee,

i have signed up with Stemcord for my #1. but for #2, dun think i will be storing cos *touchwood*, if anything happens, can use #1.
as for insurance, when my girl was 2 mths old, already bought for her, most impt, medical insurance. it's the most easiest to buy for them now, definitely insured for all illness.
as to how much, depend on what type of policy/plan u looking at..

valnsw,
thanks for your info. will try to digest them. heheheh....

gemini,
is there any reason why you choose stemcord instead of cordlife when cordlife seems to be more popular?

YLN,
I will be using disposable diapers for my bb too coz it is more convenient.

Snow,
Hehe, aldy sent you my orders liao…must keep it a secret from my hb man…I think having gals really make me broke man…luckily this month’s bonus come in time…heehee

Gemini,
No leh, my gal was never in a breech position 5 years ago…

Valnsw,
I think it is normal to worry abt even the smallest thing when we are pregnant lor.

Celyn,
My gal also got all her insurance policies since she was born.

i'm still toying with the idea of cord blood banking. very expensive leh! and there are 2 cos out there, which one better or cheaper? any promo going on? i know they have promo last time at expo during the bb fair in march, but i didn't have time to read and sign up. wonder if they will offer discount during the monthly talks or something.

gemini, if something happens to #2, can use cord blood from #1 to cure is it? likewise, if anything happens to parents, cord blood for #1 will also be useful? how much did u pay for your package and how many yrs did u sign up for?

val

Glad to hear everything's going on well with your princess.. Hey, it's okie to have concerns, esp with you being a 1st time MTB. At least you've got questions to ask.. On the contrary, i dun seem to have anything to ask, hahah, like very lugi like tt

Since u're in the line, can i check, which co. offers claims for insurance due to emergency c-section?? I know of someone who got tt plan/policy, so luckily she was covered. Another person had another plan/policy was 'told' tt she was covered, in the end had to fork out *heartache*

annlee

Okie gd.. Agree, the Medela PIS is very exp. I was thinking of doing BF for at least a year too, coz i'm intending to take extended leave. Tt also means I rather BF rather pump, so PIS is qt pricey if my plan works out

Hi Rata,
Pls assist to update my princess' weight. 600g at 24w3d.

Re: Stretch Marks
Any mummies kena stretch marks? Cos I have kena some skin imflammation recently and my skin is kinda of drying up and recovering so have red patches now. Din apply any cream for a long time since I kena the skin problem so Im not too sure if those that are on my skin are my rashes or stretch marks. Anyone can enlighten me??

hisstory (hisstory) ,
Yeap, that is why it advise to buy late due to the warranty as the repair can be as exp as buying the new one

krex,
I know cordlife had $300 discount during the baby talk last week or so at Suntec. If you know of anybody who banks with Cordlife, both you and the person whom you referred will get $50 off each on the yearly fee. This is one-off.
I think it was the same discounts given at the Expo bb fair. I believe there will be another bb fair in June but not sure if Cordlife will have a booth there.

hisstory,
I've just PMed you on the maternity insurance.

M2B / hisstory,
maybe it's cos I asked questions at each visit that my gynae thinks I'm worried.

celyn,
As I was telling hisstory via PM, yup it will be too late for us to buy already. As there will be some waiting period during which if you want to claim, won't be able to do so.

Jvenus,
If I decide to take up with Cordlife, can I use your name too? TIA hehe

chipchip,
If you want the info, I can PM you as I've done for hisstory. As mentioned, prob too late for any of us to get it. Prob can get it in advance for your next pregnancy ;)

Hi Rat,
Can you help to update, my minnie is 623g@24wk. Thanks!

Bed sheet for baby cot,
Anyone can advice where can I get the bed sheet for baby cot? Sending my boy to CC soon and require few bed sheet. I have been looking around but cant seem to find any as all come in complete set with the blanket etc. Which brand is good huh?

chipchip,
you did not activate your PM function. You need to go to your profile under preferences to untick "Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users".

hi celynlee,

that time signed up with Stemcord cos got its 5th anniversary promotion. the one-time sign up fee was a promotional rate. in terms of pricing, i know that Stemcord is cheaper than cordlife. both are almost the same but what's the difference, my hb will know better.
the purpose i store it cos i got slight thalemissa (wrong spelling) minor, so store just in case, pass on to my #1.

hi krex,

as mentioned, my package was under a promotional rate, so it will be different if u signed up now, unless they got promotion again. if i'm not mistaken, it's v high possibility that #2 can use #1 one, though sometimes it's not 100% suitably between siblings. as for parents, i'm not v sure.
as for how many yrs u wan to sign up with them, it's depend on u. the renewal fee is on a yearly basis, $250. so i guess, if u do not want to continue, then for that yr, dont pay the renewal fee.

earnestmum
did ur gynae mention any diabetics test for u at 28 weeks? i have to do mine this weekend already..i have no history of diabetes in my family..have no idea y must do...but since gynae say do...then do lor..

earnestmum,
i will be doing mine on 22 may when 28 weeks. my mum is diabetes and i was tested positive for my last 2 visits during routine test.

val, i think it's cheaper to get the longer term package...i think 10 over years for $3,000+ than pay annual fee right? but if it's $1k+ for this year and $250 every year, it's not that bad. i tot i had to pay $1k+ every year...i'll go mad!

hihi ladies,

long time no chat.

Cocomo, you can buy cot sheet at kiddy palace. Cheap and good. You need to standby more as sometimes kids will soil it often (urine/vomit).

Valnsw, any updates on Aussino??

Baby wt: forgot to check bb wt the last time i was there....but I'm so big!!! feel like I am 7 mths preggers liao. But weight gain still ok, 4 kg so far.

avocado

Oh, tt makes a lot of sense too! Thanks for the timely reminder

Val

Thanks! Got it.. *sigh* Looks like I've got to reserve tt for #2

sorry to intrude,Dumex Mamil Mama milk powder each (expiry: 12/12/08) 50g (10 available) and 2 packets of annmum expiring in dec 2009

$1.00 for each satchet,price negotiable
collection:ang mo kio or postage
if interested,please email to [email protected]

Hello YLN,
I just did my diabetic test last Sat. Gynae asked me to do cos my dad is diabetic and my urine tests showed that I'm on the 'high' side. :p

Is this test necessary for you? I mean, I had to fast from 0000 - 1200hrs and let them draw my blood twice (2hrs interval). In between, they gave me one cup of glucose water to drink.

mousse,
you fast for 12 hours? that's long, my appointment is at 9am and fasting starts at 11.30pm. i think i will faint if i fast for 12 hours. is the test result fast or must wait?

i just got a call from lo hang ka. they are going to replace me with a new bottle of bird nest after i send in the bottle that i complaint for testing. lucky they replace me with another bottle if not, i will boy cott them. hehehh.....

cocomo, i saw nice ones at aussino and baby avenue (balestier). selling for below $70 and includes full set.

Hi Celyn,
I started fasting from 12 midnight and had my blood drawn at 0900hrs. Nurse gave me glucose water (super super sweet!) and told me to come back to have my blood again at 1100hrs. No food and drinks allowed until after that. By the time I get to food, it's almost noon.

RTCP:

wow u only gained 4kg.. that's good.. i have gained 8-8.5 kg in total..
i dont want to be fat mummy ....i gained 2 kg compared to last visit... my gynae said it's ok.. dont worry about my weight gain

Oh! Celyn, I should get the results either today or tomorrow.. glad that they're giving you a new bottle! bird's nest is just so expensive!!! :D

Hi missysz,
Since my results is on the 'high' side, of cos must refrain from sweet stuff maahhh... but how can a pig like me resist the temptations of durians, ice-cream and other mouth-watering desserts? hee hee.. :p

mousse,
oh, i heard it will be super sweet. my ex-colleagues vomited the sugar water, so end up can't do the test at all.

celyn,
Yes!!! it's super super sweet!!! the only reason that kept me from puking was the thought of having to re-take the test! can't imagine having to fast, get pricked and drink tt stuff again!

chip chip,
I've gained 8kg too! :D don't feel sad, or baby will feel sad too.. especially since ur gynae says not to worry. =)

Hi avocado,
I jus went taka today. They've got pigeon 240ml glass bottles dat are made in japan, and oso smaller plastic ones dat are BPA free (dat says PES in front of the bottle). Each cost abt $14-17 and no discount at the moment.

For those of u meeting tis Sat (3 May), can consider attending pigeon-tmc joint seminar conducted by Mrs Wong BB of tmc on Breastfeeding.
Here's the brochure: http://www.pigeon.com.sg/event.php?news_id=5
$6 for 1 pax and $10 per couple. I tink it's very worth it lor. Held in Marriott and got tea-break leh..

YLN,
i asked my mum the same qn (she's been takin care of my niece & nephew since they were born) and she recommended me to use "Pampers".
She said cloth ones very ma fan..esp. when they poo poo...very difficult to wash. According to her, Pampers so far no rashes..