(2008/08) Aug 2008

hi all...

I went to OG baby fair at Albert (bugis) nothing much. Unless you're interested in avent bottles, baby milk warmer, sterlizer, etc. Saw those bumper selling cheap and some mommies getting it but not nice. I'm using Bfree bottle for my baby too, got it from OG orchard anniversary in feb or mar can't rmr and having 30% disc, quite worth it.

annlee,
how's the play pen? no nice? rhy r having sale on bfree bottles? heard the teats will fall...as it's too soft. can use nuk teats on bfree bottles?

LTS, the article on the plastic bottles actually didn't mention the jap brands hor? how come u still ok to use pigeon?

snow, din see ur post until now. u ordered oredi?

faeriekim,
oh, pigeon has a bottle specially made for the japan market that is bpa free...only sold in taka n seiyu. the thing is avent is one of the top mentioned yet it's the best selling lei

snow

Out of the normal range ah? Hmm.. The pregnancy book i have is based on UK or US studies, and for many of our DS wt's, our BBs are all above their median. I guess the DS results are still an estimate, dun worry too much hor..

celyn

Same here, was qt disappointed with the OG fair.. Not much of a fair, just some discounts & not 20% off for all things, right?

twin stars

no gd, no gd.. Unless u're already aiming the items like sterilizer & bottles, otherwise 20% isn't very much cheaper than when other malls have their 20% off too. I shall hang in there for Robinsons sale coz got 10% rebate for card holder

Which Bugaboo did u see? Mothercare had the Chameleon, which is very gorgeous but humongous while the Bee is almost half the wt. Same here, also 'stroller-less'.. I shall have to check out peg perego.. Was browsing the baby site of ToysRUs http://www.toysrus.com/family/index.jsp?categoryId=2256201, they have alot of brands for strollers, but i dun see them in their SG stores.

I think HB & I wld next check out Britax..

LTS, aiya, did they have offer on tat during the bb fair? if so, i have missed it!! now no more seiyu, so i believe the current BHG shld also carry it? wait for GSS then buy...

twin stars,
the $69 looney playpen not nice leh... they put beside a nice one that why look so boring ha... what is rhy? Think OG having bfree bottle disc at 15% or 20%, not so sure. My ds2 is also using Bfree bottle now, the teat did not fall out, so far so good. Never use nuk bottles before so can't comment.

hi, i've checked out OG bb fair (albert park) and baby avenue over the weekend. nothing much. OG having 20% on some items, so if u're buying avent pdts, etc. would be gd. as for bb cots, the one i liked wasn't on sale. if u're buying maclaren buggy, also got 20% even on 2008 models. but i'm waiting till much later to buy all these big items. as for bb avenue, selection not fantastic. they sell mainly prams, car seats and cots. i saw one nice cot going for less than $300. might get that one closer to EDD since it also comes with 9 pc bedding. i hope to check out robinsons sale also. the vivi kids cot looks quite interesting and going for $269 while the nania car seat going for $139. just wondering if i can use it for infant and toddler.

annlee,
hehe, sorry. typo. supposed to be "are" oh, so u have no prob with bfree...maybe can get it then. my hubby is particular about his "precious daughter"!

hisstory,
oh ok, same me the time not to go down later
tks! i saw the chameleon. the material is not stain resistant and it's huge. oh toy r us in states is having a sale on the peg perego uno for only US$245. singapore selling at $800 after discount. maybe can get my friend to buy it back for me. strollers in the states are jus so much cheaper man!!!
i didn;t see britax stroller in s'pore lei.

twin stars

the chameleon is too daunting to use, but i must say with its size, it's very stable. Oooh,you've got a fren going US? Tt's gd!!

I have eyed some models which BabiesRUS are selling, but don't seem to be so in SG. Initially HB is to go US in May, and then he could get the Xplory. But the trip is now cancelled coz he's resigning. *sigh*

No britax strollers in SG ah? Nvm, i shall go seesee looklook for other choices. Maybe some models I've eyed may be found *cross fingers*

aiay.. dont know when should i buy bb stroller, car seat etc...

anyone bought already?
i think i will buy combi ..as i like their weight.. not too heavy

Annlee,
Which brand of bpa bottles are u using? Pigeon? Issit made in China?
If it is, HB not might wanna buy even if it is bpa..headache..

for stroller, i will wait till bb is abv 3 mths then consider buying. cos i doubt i will bring her out often. even so, i will jus carry her using the sarong sling.. :p

re: breast pumps, anyone consider buying or currently using medela? i'm oni considering it cos its bottles are bpa free and its made in switzerland.
but i heard it doesn't come with teats. so which brand can it be used with?

snow,
I think I will give the Gap bulk purchase a miss. Thanks for organising. I'll wait for the ON one, cos the bb clothes look more interesting.

chipchip,
I've not bought the stroller yet too. Cos I don't know if bb will like it or not. Moreover, you would not be bringing the baby out for the first few mths so I think stroller can wait. Let bb sit in the stroller to see which brand she prefers hehe

I'm more concerned about which brand of steriliser I'm going to buy. Whether to get NUK or Pigeon.

chipchip

I'm also not sure when we shd get the stroller.. But i know HB & i are those who MUST go out on weekends, partially for gaigai (even window shop also shiok) and coz we go for service on Sundays, the stroller, wld hopefully come in handy

Can newborns be carried instead of being placed in car seat?

Maybe can look out for discounts on Combi, esp with GSS coming up
Wld u be coming back to SG anytime then?

ReiRei

I was also thinking of using the sarong sling too, so right now also just doing stroller-shopping. Have u shortlisted any models though?

Hisstory,
We did look ard but decided to put on hold till bb is much bigger, cos too many big ticket items to buy oredie.
But we bof agreed on getting strollers wif small wheels cos easier to manoeuvre ard, and muz be easy to set up & compact enuff to put in our car boot.

re: stroller
not getting till baby is bigger. maybe end of the year when there is sale. can also bring baby out to try on which one he likes. hehehe...... also to spilt up expenses.

re: car seat
i will get first so when discharge from hospital, can put baby in. friends always tell me don't need to buy now cos we won't put baby in car seat when discharge. but i still want to buy and believe that its safer for baby and will want to put baby in car seat. unless when i discharge there are older people around who violently object.

re:bpa free milk bottles
i guess i will not think about it too much. there will be too many to consider and restrictions if we take in everything people say. too careful might not be a good thing too. don't we grow up with bpa milk bottles too.

bpa free milk bottles :
The world is making me so scared with all those news. The bpa free milk bottles u all mention at taka is it pigeon glass bottles?

ReiRei

Agree, lotsa big tix item to pay for.. Moreover during the 1st mth, other than visits to the PD, i think we can't go out much too..

celyn

Year end's prob ard when BB's 3 mths old yah? Heheh, then can get the stroller of your 1st choice, coz announcement of bonus might be out too
heehee

I do suspect that we are recommended to carry BB in the car when they are newborns.. *i think* Anyone can confirm this issue?

snow

Better post this now, coz I will be bz tmrw morning.. Giving this time's Gap spree a miss. HB prefers the ON stuff..

Thanks for the very kind offer!

morning ladies!

faeriekim
if ordering, i gotta order before 12pm today.
so i need ur order by 10.30am. is it ok?

valnsw & hisstory
if not enough order, i might cancel everything.
wait till next time got enough order then i'll buy again lor.
if not, no point leh...see how many order i received by 10.30am bah. =)

Good Morning!

Snow,
Nice meeting you again last Sat…showed my gal the matching dresses for her and bb and she was so happy…heehee…thanks for ordering again.

BTW, my gal oso in breech position, hopefully turn in time…

History,
My advice is to get bb used to car seat as early as possible coz if you tend to carry bb in the car, he/she won’t like being in a car seat next time thus will be a headache. Safety is very important lor.

hi snow,

oh u also got the 15% discount from Gap. dun think i can submit my order in time today before 12.30pm to you. now at office already. but if u organising the ON spree or Gap, let me know, ok?

m2b
ya, let both gals wearing matching dress will certainly be very cute. =)
no problem lah, just let me noe if u have anything u wanna buy ok?

i remember my 1st gal already in the "head downwards" position by the time i did DS lor, so this round also dunno what happen to this 2nd 1 leh.
ok, lets cross our fingers...hee hee....

gemini
yup, u will get the discount code every time u purchase from gap...the only diff is how many % lor.
once i'm jobless it might not be easy for me to do the purchasing liao, cos i got no fax machine at home to fax my inv to vpost leh...shh... =P

m2b,
yah, i agree. need to put baby in car seat soon. went out with friend and her son yesterday, the moment the boy was put in the car seat, he start to cry non-stop. so i think its better to get baby to get use to the car seat asap.

even then, both of them say i'm very mean to put baby in car seat the moment we discharge from hospital. heheheh.... but i don't think so. :p

snow

IseeIsee.. did u post in the spree section too?

To post pix, i think you click on 'Upload Attachment'. But the size of the file has limitations.. They will prompt you if the file is too huge, then u gotta resize the pix

M2B

Yupz, agree with tt point. My sis never got my niece into the car seat at an early stage, so now it's impossible to put here there. If I get a stroller which is to be used with the baby carrier for newborns, tt shd hopefully solve the problem

Snow,
yalor, my 1st gal was never in a breech position throughout teh pregnancy but this minnie seem to like the breech position so much that she refused to turn from my DS till my 24wks+ checkup...quite worrying lor as I'm aiming for natural this time too...

Have started talking to bb and also asked my gal to ask meimei to turn since my last checkup...heehee

I do have some order for Gap but if you dun have enuf order, it is ok coz mine no hurry...just finger itchy wana buy...heehee

Celyn & Hisstory,
Yap, I think it is important to get the bb used to both car seat and pram since young...cos if they are used to carrying then problem transferring them later on...

Celyn,
heehee, but on my way back from hospital, I was carrying bb lah coz just a short distance nia...heehee

good morning mummies
do u all realise the weather getting atrociously warm lately? or is it just me? i perspire even with the fan on..i know abt pregnant mothers tend to be perspire more..but i suspect the weather now is really bad too...hmm

btw
do u all intend to use disposable diapers once ur bbs are born..? or will ur alternate between cloth ones and disposable ones? i want to start with disposable ones..cuz they are less mah fan..no need to wash..but my MIL say the disposable ones give rashes more easier to bbs...is it true?

yln,
yah, the weather is very hot. i on air con and still don't use blanket.

i will be using disposable diapers from birth but my nanny told me that she will use cloth diaper when baby is with her. its fine with us since we are not the one to wash. hehehe.....

m2b,
hehehhe.... mine is about 15-20 mins journey depending on traffic. i guess its fine to hand carry too but i scard i will drop baby when car brake suddenly. hahaha....

good morning mommies!

- central gathering on 3 may
sorry, i can't make it now coz I just remember that my first antenatal class falls on the same date in the afternoon. btw, i remember some mommies also registered for mrs wong's class...hope to see you ladies there.

m2b
u dun mind send ur gap order to me? =)

yln
ya, feeling very warm. =(
i'll let bb use disposable diaper also.

morning mummies..

going to fly to Japan tonite...catch u guys 1 week later!

rata, pls help me update bb stuff..
hospital: gleneagles
Dr: dr tan hang yang
bb gender: male

hi snow,

hisstory is right. the file size that u can upload onto the forum is, i think 50 or 60 KB. u can use Microsoft Photo Editor or Paint to reduce the file sisze before uploading.

oh, order from Gap then will have the disc. me never buy online before, v sua ku, so was hoping to tag on others' order.

hi M2B/snow,

i thought now is quite common for bb to be in the breech position? it's towards the last stage, then it will be in the down position.

hi yln,

the weather is getting hotter and for us, preggie ladies, we should be feeling hotter too.
will be letting bb use cloth diaper in the daytime and nite time will be using disposable diapers. this is to minimise diaper rashes.

hi celynlee,

for carrying of the bb home from hospital, most probably will be carrying him in our arms. my journey is about half an hour.

M2B

Ohoh.. Hopefully i can settle on the model of stroller & car seat soon. Then I can play around with either placing Bb in them or carrying, otherwise no choice at all.

Celyn

U're so funny.. Am sure your HB wun be driving too fast when u've got BB with u

YLN

I prob go for disposables.. I dun think i've got the energy to handle the nappies. But i think your MIL is also right. My sis always applied the anti-diaper rash cream whenever she changed the diapers..

Thanks mums...i am quite reluctant to use cloth diapers cuz it means there is more washing to do..wasting water..:p...but maybe i will try to use both, like wat gemini said..to use cloth in the day and disposable at nite...hmm...

reirei,
the milk bottle brand is Bfree plus. Pigeon is good too, I think will switch to pigeon once baby is older as I don't think pigeon bottle is colic free unlike Bfree which is anticolic and bpa free. One thing about Bfree bottle, very lay chey to wash, alot of bottle parts to wash.

I just bought ameda breast pump, read alot of good comments about it. Used to have medela mini single electric breast pump and is super noisy. That ameda breast pump is less noisy and save time to pump out milk since is a duo pump.

YLN,
The weather is soooo hot. When we're doing confinement in aug think the weather will be hot too.....faintz...

gemini
ok, thx.
then later i see if i can find any photo to try uploading. =)

ya, that is why normally i'll share the promo code with those who wanna buy again lor.
1 promo code per order only.

but my 1st gal already in downwards position by this time previously, that is why i'm wondering how come this little rat still sleeping comfortably....& almost underweight some more, she made me eat almost every 2hrly leh. =P

yln
my 1st gal's skin cannot tahan cloth diaper, that is why she had been using disposable 1.
she bleed after wearing cloth diapers for a few hr, even we change it regularly.
so, i dun wanna take risk for my 2nd gal again.

ann lee

Was initially considering Medela Mini.. But with the relatively large no. of negative reviews on the forum & many who are letting go of it, I realised tt it's prob not a gd choice. Now am also looking at the Ameda, which has a lot of good reviews. Though i read that it has a flaw, the tubing (i think) may wear out quickly

celyn

*cross fingers & toes* nothing like tt happens to us

back from my gynae visit. baby is growing well according to the gynae and after looking at my DS report, everything is fine.

Ratatouille,
Can you help to update my princess's weight? She's 629g at 24wks. Thanks!

Just to kinda pour out my thoughts. My gynae said I'm such a worrywart cos I always ask her so many things and worry about little things. Told me not to worry in a kinda lecture way, that even my mum does not seem as worried as me (cos sometimes my mum accompanies me on the visits). I said that's cos I'm first-time MTB. But she said it's due to the mother's personality, cos other first-time MTBs not like me. Am I being too paranoid or worrying too much?

In any case, I asked her about cord blood banking. FYI, she recommended to keep about 15 yrs as the risk of bb getting those blood disorders will be lesser by then.

hisstory,
ya you're right, me also read lotsa neg reviews abt medela. Think the only good one is medela PIS,but expensive and since I'm going to breastfeed for abt a year or less so no point getting such a pro pump. Always read some mommies organise ameda and medela spare part spree, can get it from them.

Re: diapers
I think I will let my baby use disposable diapers first. If her butt cannot take it and breaks out in rashes, then I will use cloth nappies. Have both on standby.
Haha.. I don't know how my mum managed to find the cloth nappies that I used as a baby!

valnsw,
i guess all first time mummy tends to have a lot of questions and worry. i also have lots of questions but cos i have a friend who is a nurse, so i can also ask her. everytime, i see my gynae always forget about what i want to ask him. so my visits with him is quite short, he say he will tell us things we need to know as we progress.

i'm still thinking about cord blood banking. anyone getting insurance for baby?

celyn
my gal got her medical & education insurance since 1st mth last time, think its easier & cheaper to start off when they are still very young & proven healthy lor. =P