(2008/08) Aug 2008

Mulberry,
count me in for 25May or 1June. Thanks!

ReiRei,
I was thinking of doing the signboard thingy too leh, but where to get nice materials?

Hi, am an Aug mtb too. Like to ask wat medicines are safe for consumption when u get cough/phlegm, fever, flu etc. Are Pi Pa Kao and lozenges safe?

have asked gynae/pharmacist, they said the 2 are ok. but like to hear more opinions. And wat medicines are safe for common ailments like fever...panadol??

Cloudz,
When i was ill during preg, doctor said it was fine to take panadol. But of cos you shouldnt take too much. Lozenges think cant take too many too, cos will cause diarrhoea and its not good to have diarr when ur preg, thats what my gynae told me..I think its safer to see a doctor and let him/her know ur preg rather than take our own medications cos you probably wouldnt wanna take the risk.

Joanne,
i got the materials from the scrapbook shop (link provided in my earlier posting above). U may oso wanna chk out Spotlight at PS.
This project will keep us sahmtb occupied for a while..hehe..

Catherine,
Hihi! You've already decided to do c-sec? if i were to do it, maybe i'll choose 8 aug 08. heehee..

Cloudz,
When i had flu and fever in my 1st trim, gynae said normal (white colour) panadol is OK but don't take those extra strong ones, like those in white & blue color. When I showed her the medicine i got from GP for my running nose, she said it's not proven for preggie. So i ended up going back to see my gynae whenever i'm not well. at least i feel more assured taking those medicine prescribed by her. Advise is: better see doc if u r unsure.

Like to join u gals here too, here are my details:

Zone: North & East (staying at both parents')
Gynae: Dr Irene Chua
Hospital: KKH
BB#: 1
EDD: 21-Aug

Thx Ratatouille in advance.

cloudz7,
its ok to eat normal panadol for fever. as for flu, can take the small yellow one (priton, don't know if its the correct spelling). still don't feel safe, better ask gynae.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
no worries, I need to go out nearby there to buy dinner anyways. me don't cook
oh u are scrapbooking fan too? I used to do it too. But stop few years ago. Thinking of picking it up again. My best fren said she wanna buy a scrapbook kit for me as bb shower gift.
Btw, what's PS?

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
u wanna provide full details for Rata to update?
btw, just curious, any reason why u opt for c-sect?

<font color="0000ff">Cloudz7</font>
I just trust my gynae. Whatever meds he said is safe, I'll take it.
fyi, as I was told, the normal panadol is safe (NOT those extra strong ones or flu n cold ones). Pi Pa Kao is safe. Lozenges, it depends on what brand. I was told Strepsils not so good for preggies.

<font color="0000ff">Megan</font>
yeah looks like most likely will be 25 May.

Updating
<u>Re: Gathering in the East</u>
1) Megan - all dates ok
2) valnsw - all dates ok
3) mulberry - all dates ok
4) Cindy - 25 May &amp; 1 June
5) vone - all dates ok
6) earnestmum (cynthia) - 1 Jun
7) faeriekim - all dates ok
8) ReiRei - all dates ok
9) chipchip - all dates ok
9) Joanne - 25 May &amp; 1 June

Note: all dates = 18 May, 25th May and 1 June

maybe im just paranoid. Coz baby was moving quit e abit, then after got that phlegmy cough, took pi pa kao and trachisan, then like baby never move as much, got mi worried.

but one said maybe i cough too much, didnt sleep well, hence baby tired out...?

but now can feel slight movts. just hope baby's fine...

nini
yup, thats pre term contractions...plus i also kena slight bladder infection...so..a bit more painful...sigh..but ok lah..i resting at home now...watch TV, eat, sleeep, surf internet, plus the medication, pain not so severe already...thanks for all the encouragement and advice

Mulberry,
Heh..i was about to ask u wat u usu have for lunch cos i alwayz run out of ideas since going out for me is so troublesome.
I'm not realli a fan..juz doing it for fun. Plus i have a soft spot for cute and pink stuff now so ended up buying lotsa tings from the scrapbook shop :p
I've not attended any of their classes so wat i did are really amateur and simple..

Oh, PS is Plaza Singapura.

m2b, little india to outram not very far lah. i take from dhoby to punggol. if i stand all the way, it's at least 25 mins of standing! but still tolerable, even if no one offers seat to me.

btw, anyone feeling nauseous lately? i dunno why, lately seem to feel like vomitting (but i dun actually vomit). have gone back to taking seng buay again, which i haven't touched for very long already.

celyn,
my hb always ask me to take cab too but now cab fares is so ex, i rather save the $ and tahan the journey man...heehee...i rather go shopping w the $.

krex,
I take from little india to outram park and must change EW line to Jurong East then again to Bukit Gombak leh (vice versa)...so imagine it is a looonnnggg journey but what to do, if nobody give up their seats then got to stand. :p

krex78,
i have that feeling yesterday. although i didn't eat any seng buay. hubby was worried that i caught his virus. he is down with fever and flu.

m2b,
usually by little india, the train is quite crowded liao. i would usually take the train before 7.20am or 7.30am latest from serangoon to dhoby about 15 mins. i will try to stand near a pole, if there is no seat. my balancing is no good.

yah, cab fare is ex now. i also don't want to take cab in the morning. about 10x more then train. rather endure the journey. maybe take only at the last month.

hisstory,

ur parents like chinese or thai food??

if chinese food, mayb u can try to go jasmin restaurant at time square.. haha last time
me and my husband ordered the whole suckling pig..only cost 990 thai buath...

seefan thai restaurant ( near to siam square or central world) - very nice thai food there..

I never tried papaya restaurant. nice??

rei rei, tks for ur concern

hi mulberry,

will prefer lunch or high tea. morning dun think i can make it, need my precious sleep and also to settle my gal first.

Re: Gathering in the East
1) Megan - all dates ok
2) valnsw - all dates ok
3) mulberry - all dates ok
4) Cindy - 25 May &amp; 1 June
5) vone - all dates ok
6) earnestmum (cynthia) - 1 Jun
7) faeriekim - all dates ok
8) ReiRei - all dates ok
9) chipchip - all dates ok
9) Joanne - 25 May &amp; 1 June
10) gemini - 25 May &amp; 1 Jun

Note: all dates = 18 May, 25th May and 1 June

avocado,
i bought mine at taka. u can try searching.

valnsw,
d menses is call lochia. it depends on d individual. 4 some mummies, d lochia will stopped after 2 wks, while some mummies will experience it 4 a longer period. 4 d tinylove musical mobile, u can get it at a lot of plcs. bt i remembered tt baby hyperstore is selling it at a cheaper price. bt i m nt sure hw much nw. mus call 2 chk.

YLN,
u mus rest more okie. if u r feeling bored, then log on &amp; chat wif us. r u on msn? if yes, pm me ur email address. i m usually online unless i m out.

YLN: do have alot of bedrest ok? dun carry heavy things too..

I'm going to Japan tomorrow! Yooohoooo!! I dont know if the check-in staff can upgrade seats for me anot..im taking ANA. Hope preggie women got special previlege lar..... :p Maybe i can do some stretching exercises infront of her...n tell her i need ALOT of space to move around....n maybe i can be upgrade to Business class leh...haha...*wishful thinking* :p

Is support stockings a must? I dont wear stockings leh...
I think i do more exercises during the flight then to wear stockings... I'm going to buy, no, INVEST in a neck pillow later, so can rest better...haha.. im a pampered mummy!

nini,

yes, it's more spacious. bt i dun noe whether d airline will allow u 2 sit thr or nt. coz preggy women r nt supposed 2 sit thr. u need 2 chk wif ur airline on tt. bon voyage &amp; njoy ur shopping.

i'm so bored at work. i bomb my hr personnel with lots of questions on maternity leave and childcare leave. first time, applying for maternity leave so very blur. hahahha..... must create work for people.

gd PM ladies,
wow so many postings liao.........m trying to catch up n reply one by one

hisstory,joanne
mil not complaining, she is happily feeding me! 5 meals a day es when she heard i was not eating well initially. my hubby told mil her main mission is to feed me. cos i'm too lazy to cook and end up snacking instead of eating. don;t worry, yr baby will definitely put on. i was telling rata, maybe i'm too fat so my baby is helping me eat my reserve fats

cindy,
baby position still can wait until last min, but low placenta cannot do natural at all as the placenta will be blocking the passage for delivery. so all i can do now is pray my placenta move up lor

YLN,
pls take care. don;t move too much liao, rest well okie. find out which position will make yr tummy softer. like for me my tummy gets very hard when i walk/shop. so i'll need to rest to soften it. must do what it takes to "tong" as long as u can, jia you!

celynlee,cloudz7,
must take care of yr health. recently alot of pp are falling sick because of the weather

central gathering:
( i jus name only la, anyone wants to organize before we get too "big"?
1) M2B
2) Megan
3) Snow
4) Mulberry
5) LTS

wow, so many mummies in the east, u guys can form a support group in the future

hi megan,

it will be a gd idea for both our girls to interact...
my girl is 18 mths plus. if bring her out now, my hb or maid will need to come along too, my hb dont feel comfortable with me bringing her out alone,esp me preggie now. he dun wan me to carry her since i have a low lying placenta...
i have to see the timing of the gathering too... normally i will try to let her have lunch at home before going out.

hi twin star,

haha... normally i wait about 15~20 mins to see dr ho, but out from his office in about 5~10 mins..
i did ask him about low lying placenta but he say that it's quite normal to have this at this stage now. strange leh, why did he mentioned that you will have a scheduled c-section since your placenta may move up towards the later stage? pai seh, may not be following the postings closely...

twin stars
thx for initiating the gathering. =)
all we need is a time, date, and place ya?

gemini
same thing, my hb will not allow me to bring my gal out alone.
but that is because i got slip disc, any time can relapse that kind. =P

Hey Nini

hmm..dun think the neck pillow is of much help..my husband bought me the last time but din work...anyway..who noes u might be lucky...one time my family of 4 including my niece got upgraded to business class even when flight not full
so who noes right..enjoy ur trip

celynlee,
i dunno lei, u wanna organize?

now i'm jus writing a list of who wants to meet in central first

gemini,
he never mention. he jus tell me there's nothing to worry about. then he told me not to scare myself. i surf around and ask around n that is the ans many give...i'm just getting myself mentally prepared. KS right? haha. dr ho always don;t wanna tell me much one. he always say don;t worry. it's me that go and do research on it

nini,
when r u going hokkaido? y mil flying there 1may. OMG same tour group? heh

snow,
any suggessions?.....if afternoon for lunch or so we can go royal Copenhagen at taka.

calling all who are not working:
u guys wanna meet up for high tea?

little twin stars,
why don't we decide on what we want? lunch, tea or dinner? central area means town?

i'm fine for dinner on weekdays and weekends should be anything.

twin star
sorry, can go place that are less "dangerous"?
I scared my gal will...u noe lah, she 2.5yr old only.
central mean orchard or city hall area?

from mid May onwards, I can go hi-tea with u liao...hee hee....

celyn
"kids friendly" places lor...hee hee....
e.g.
- Just Noodle in Suntec, they have a play area for kid.
- Botanic gdn, spacious enough for kids to run about.

i'm ok if there is nothing for her to play with, but I scared she will not let me sit too long only lor. =P
in the 1st place, any suggestion on date &amp; time?

catherine fong / cloudz7,
Welcome!

cloudz7,
I'm having the flu and GP gave me this yellow tablet called priton as what celynlee said.

mulberry / vone,
thanks for the info on lochia. I super blur.

krex,
I've been feeling nauseous too. Last night during dinner, halfway wanted to barf but managed to keep in the food. I puked out the first half of my lunch today.

Wa.. all the posts all came up while I was sleeping. I still have a terrible headache. Took one panadol but yet still doesn't help. Whenever I wake up, the headache starts again
help...

nini,
I'm not sure if they will allow pregnant women to sit at the emergency exit area. Cos people sitting there are expected to help other passengers in the event of emergency. My hubby always requests to sit there as it has more leg space when both of us were travelling before married. So we were always told we need to listen to the stewardess briefing on how what to do during emergencies.

Re: nightgowns
You can get cheap ones at CK. Especially those that you can use for breastfeeding cos there's zip or buttons at the front. But then of course, the designs may seem auntie to some of you. You may want to have a look first.

ceylnlee,snow
im fine with anything at the moment. nothing to do, snow how coe from mid may u free liao? took leave?
wat is less dangerous? kids friendly places?

valnsw,
u still not well? must rest more. ask yr hubby to massage yr head for u tonight. might help?

snow,
oh oh, i jus read yr above post. think u'll know more kids friendly places then me
. u wanna suggest?

snow74,
sorry, no idea on kids friendly places. think its better for you to suggest.

i guess we have to do it in may, april is ending soon.

YLN,
think your contractions are not so serious that's why your gynae allows you to go back w/o hospitalisation... for me, i stayed for 5 days and 2 days cos need to put me on Ventolin intraveneous drip &amp; need to stay &amp; monitor cos my gynae say it's faster than oral med... so you are now on oral Ventolin? me taking 4 times daily, 2mg each time... wat other med are you taking? i have also taken the jab to mature my baby's lungs...

i also quite mad at myself for being so weak... 1st time was due to infection, but 2nd time i was resting at home everyday except go out for dinner on sat &amp; sun still kena... very sian... try not to think abt it lor...

Nini

Airlines normally prefer to sit able bodied people next to emergency exits. My aunt once requested for those seats and they asked her if she was confident enough during an emergency to operate the door! I've never travelled with ANA before so not sure what their leg space is like. I think you might be better off asking for an aisle seat that is near the toilet! (Not next to it lah as it can be quite noisy but near enough so that you can access it easily). That was what I did when I came home last month. If your hubby sitting beside you even better as you can 'borrow' some of his space!
My hubby bought those socks long time ago so he let me use them this time. I just kept moving my toes and feet every few minutes. I used slippers and was just in socks most of the flight.

To Dongle, YLN, valnsw and everyone who is ill. Keep well and do take care.

Little Twin stars / Mrs N,
thanks for the concern. i suspect it's the blocked nose that causes the heavy headedness on my temples. Massaging the temples and just had a bath. For the time being seems tolerable. Just sms my hubby to help me get medicated oil to rub later.

Mrs N,
This flu seems to be taking v long to recover. How long did you take to recover from the flu?

dongle,
don't think of your body being weak. Instead, tell yourself that your body's signalling to you to take things slower. I also used to lament to my mum I'm weak, especially when I get tired easily. My mum said it's my body telling me to take a rest lo.
Like now, I'm having the flu, can only comfort myself to say at least I had it, then at least for the last trimester I would not get it again. hee

As what the other mummies said, perhaps you can start thinking of the things to do for bb, else once bb is born, no time to sleep in late and start thinking already.

celyn

Thankfully your IL is easy going, if not it wld be another headache for you.. Hope things will become easier for you, esp when the little one comes along

snow

You're feeling tired easily these days ah.. Nvm, online shopping easier &amp; fun! It's always nice to open up parcels hor?

chipchip

My parents like both Chinese &amp; Thai food.. *phew* Oooh, u &amp; ur HB managed to finish the suckling pig ah? *slurps*

Yupz, Papaya restaurant's very much recommended on SB forum &amp; when u visit it, locals &amp; tourists alike will queue for their turns.

twin stars

Heheh, so cute! Ur MIL's mission is to feed u.. Eat smaller meals &amp; healthier stuff k? Baby wants all your nutrients leh

I sure dun mind if BB's taking my reserve fats too