(2008/08) Aug 2008

Today i am in my 14weeks. Next monday is my appt with gyane, should be able to tell gender. If cannot tell, most probably is minnie liao. Mickey easier to see mah

hi M2B,

ya loh, if this time round, if my hip EXPAND a lot again... *sigh* have to get new pants/skirts again...

bb b'day same as parents
========================
not sure whether u gals got heard of this, my friend got mention that it's may not be a gd thing that bb share the same b'day or even same month as parents. cannot remember whether is the kids or parents going to be v bad tempered.

gemini, i'm not scared lah. but the thought of booking CL so early is scary! i haven't even thought of many other things yet, like maternity clothes, bb clothes, antenatal classes, which hosp to deliver, etc.

hewchen, u're very brave. i haven't touched alcohol since i knew i was preggie. before that drank quite a bit as i like to drink wine with my pasta. a few glasses allowed meh? i thought only 1 glass at most?

Got a bit worried this morning coz there was brown staining yesterday and today. Didn't have it before throughout my pregnancy so far. Went to KK to look for my gynae...gong gong sat there (coz was told to wait) for about 15 minutes before finding out that he doesn't have clinic session in the morning today. Was told that I should have gone to 24 hours clinic straightaway. Hmm... didn't know that at all.

Anyway, everything seems fine. Thank goodness. the doctor on duty did a scan and baby was waving away. Was given some Dydrogesterone pills and told to take things easy. Guess I'll skip the gym tonight.

I thought the brown staining only occur in the 1st trimester.

krmeow,
good to know that everything is ok.

i always go straight to 24 hours clinic at kk if its not my usual appointment. its difficult to slot in appointment for us even if our gynae is on duty and also there is no scan machine inside the room unless yours is at private suite.

take care and rest well

can i go kk 24 hr clinic if i'm seeing dr woody at TMC? btw, my cough syrup from him finished already. can i get another bot w/o consulting? don't want to go there and wait 1 hr just to see him abt my cough.

krex78,

i guess if you don't mind seeing another gynae, nobody will stop you from going to kk 24 hours clinic. its just like any a&e in any hospital, isn't it? just that our case might not be so serious that we had to go to a&e.

hi krex,

not too early now to book CL> i got know of a few friends who once know their EDD, book their CL immediately! esp for those good ones, have to book them early. talking of which, hopefully, now there's still CLs available, based on those contacts that i have. i have not called them yet.

oh, u went to see your gynae for your cough? for me, i went to my GP. Just need to tell them u are preggie.

krex78,
i will also confirm CL by mid next month if the current one my friend is using is ok. i will just book her. she is doing her confinement now. if not, also don't know where to find.

Snow,
No leh, my coll c-section, her hip also expanded.

Avocado,
I also hope that I can give birth in July coz Aug is lunar 7th mth, I scared to stay in hospital alone. :p

Rata,
I have a few contacts of Malay massage ladies.

Gemini,
Yalor, very scary hor…if this time expand a lot, I sure go slimming centre coz closing shop liao mah must maintain man…heehee

I personally dun like to have the same birthdays coz to me, birthday is very special and it shd be MY day…but too bad, my hb and I have the same birthdays…hate it! Everytime, dun know who shd give who surprises…sian

Krmewo,
Glad everything is ok for you…ya, beta rest well and stop exercises for now.

M2B,
ai yo, dun scare me leh....lunar 7th mth.
think i better book single rm and make sure hb sleep with me at night...hee hee...

hi M2B,

cant imagine if my hips really expand a lot, i think i cry... me also, after #2, factory closed already...

dont scare me also. me even if early delivery, will be also in early Aug, which will be the beginning of lunar 7th mth.
but then i'm thinking of taking double rm, at least at nite not sleeping alone.

Snow & Gemini,
Really lah, Aug is lunar 7th mth, i check again liao...thatz why I hope to give birth in Jul...heehee

My gal was induced at 38weeks+ coz she is not growing well inside...if everything goes well with bb this time, will just wait for natural symptoms but yet I'm scared to stay in hospital on lunar 7th mth...heehee

Gemini,
I took 2-bedder the 1st time too and had a good room-mate.

Rata,
I PM you the contacts ok?

M2b, ya lor 1st aug is 1st day of lunar 7th mth. remember my initial edd was 1st aug hahahaha. Sure PM me. thanks

There is no way I can escape giving birth in Aug lor, unlike u gals.
Because my edd is near end Aug, unless I wanna give birth on the 36th wk. -_-"

Was still joking with my hb just now, I told him he might as well book a suite.
So that we can bring our gal there also, just tell her its a hotel. =P

Rata,
PM you liao.

Snow,
My hb was the 1 who said maybe we can book 1-bedder this time and bring my gal there...I told him, I sure get post-natal blues having to dream with both when I just delivered man...coz my gal will SURE be fussing over the new bb...

m2b, thanks. will look out for it. till now not yet receive. coz i think some time the PM thing very jialet one.

Thanks girls..took a 2 hours nap just now and felt so much better. Think hubby was really worried this morning too though he didn't say anything.

Celynlee, my gynae has his own scanning machine inside his room, so see him and scanning all in the same room. ^^

We also trying to decide whether to get 1 bedder or 4 beddder. Don't think KK has 2 bedder leh. I don't mind 4 bedder coz can save $ but I think hubby wants single room coz he likes privacy. Anyone stayed in KK's 4 bedder before? Is it very noisy?

Would like to know if those that go for checkups at hospitals - did you'al walk-in to see their gyneas, or were refered to them from polyclinics?

If you go to hospital, each time you see same gynea or different?

gemini, i didn't go regular doc coz' i tot they won't have special cough syrup for preggies. today, i'm fuming coz' my HR person called to tell me that my mc was not valid coz' i didn't go to visit my panel clinics (i have one at punggol). she said must get referral letter from panel doc to visit the gynae, else mc won't be recognised. so fed up! the doc better give me the referral letter, else i will kick up a big fuss with my HR. so disappointing! i'm not even working in govt, and they're so sticky about it. talk abt being pro family!

krex,
rest well! i think if the brown spotting doesn't come with pains, its alright
Just make sure u dun overstrain yourself, dun carrying heavy stuff, dun squat and get up too quickly , my colleague says try not to lift up your arms too (1st time i heard also, perhaps when we lift up our arms, we will kinda stretch the abdomen area, so no gd?? not sure also) For me, tat time it took a few days for the spotting to totally clear, almost a week i think?

oh talk about confinement lady... my MIL helped me booked one already... i had thot she was so super kan jiong, but later frens told me its the norm to book as early as possible... oh well, 1 less worry for me then!

Happy weekends to all!

briebaby,

i had my check at kk. i walk in and see the same gynae throughout. not sure about other hospital.

krmeow,
that's good. at kk, my scan is done in another place then see gynae at another place. but now, i'm going to change to the private suite so that the scan can be done by my own gynae.

krmeow,
For my first birth I stay in KK 4-beddder, it was so noisy that I can't sleep. Imgaine got malays and Indians and their whole family like come to visit for pinic and stay whole day with their children running and screaming and on their Indain radio too. Lucky I only stay 1 day. Sat I give birth and sunday discharge liao cos I have natural birth without epi. Delivery only 2 hrs. No nurse talk to me regarding breastfeeding, lucky I have my friends who went thru BF for more than a yr.
Another things is their whole family use the toliet and urine the place all over. Nurse like bo chap like that and the food suckssss.

So this time round I choose private hospital with confinement food and some privacy.

I'm back in Singapore today. So happy to be back

Me didn't celebrate V day coz hubby is in overseas business trip. He's also coming back tonight. We'll probably celebrate next weekend.

<font color="0000ff">krmeow</font>
take care ya. Rest more. Did the doctor say why did it happen?
Me too had brown stains few days ago. The gynae said most probably the reason is my low placenta.

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
actually if you know the name of the cough syrup, you could buy it yourself from pharmacy.
I was also sick during CNY. The gynae gave me cough syrup, it was in original bottle / packaging, comes with box.

Btw you can also try eating bird nest. My mom cooked bird nest for me nearly everyday. My cough was gone in 2-3 days.

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
Can you also PM me the massage lady(s) contacts? Thanks in advance

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
is your PM using your hotmail acc? If yes, hotmail will have problem receiving PMs lah. The Moderators already advised us to change to non-Hotmail acc. That's why I also change to Gmail now.

Hee! Hee! We didn't celebrate V-day either. Well not in the traditional way at least. We usually go for a meal the day after when everything is more or less back to normal. This year though we thought we do it different and went out for a meal the day before instead. The restaurant save for another couple was totally empty. So we were pretty much entertained by the 3 people working there who kept coming up to us every few minutes to find out if we were ok. So much for a romantic evening eh!
Not too sure whether it was because I was Asian and we were in a Chinese restaurant that we ended up having a long conversation with the owner who is now keen to introduce my Dad to his golf 'kakis' should he come up in August. Maybe he wants us to go to his restaurant more often. Ha! Ha! Anyway it was nice not to do any cooking for a change.

I'm going to miss my 20 week detailed scan as I'll be in Sg. Called the hospital the other day and the nurse didn't sound too pleased when I told her why. Will be having it when I'm 22+ weeks now. Have to ask the MW if this is ok when I next see her. Otherwise maybe I might have to see if it can be done while I'm in Sg!!!

Have a nice weekend!

morning mommies...
so many posting again n i cant catch up! been working for 12hrs daily n really cant take it! next wk will try to take some mc to rest.

actually dunno if malay massage really helps? coz i din engage any malay massage n can still wear back my pre-preg clothes after 2mths. i only wore the binder from OSIM which my sis gave me as a gift.

if possible dun go for 4 bedder in hospital. think not only kk any private hospital can be noisy too. coz friends n relatives will sure for visits and if in 4 bedder means have to tolerate the visits from the 3 other patients. then at night babies brought in for breastfeeding so if more mummies in the same room harder to get good rest. unless u can fall asleep easily and wont be awaken by noise/light. i m a light sleeper and opted for 2 bedder during first preg. i already felt din get so good rest.

mini,
I do not think mssage lady help in losing weight, but are good to expel toxics and water. I did not engage during my first birth and lost all my weight in a month time and can fit in my jeans. My total weight gain is 16kg.
But since this time round I am closing shop, I will do massage and also "bu" my body cos after the confinement can never bu back liao.

Like to ask u gals,
What type of fish oil did you take? I am not sure to buy Neurogain or natal care plus, both abt the same price.

went to spring maternity sale at suntec and bought quite a number of maternity wear. the tops are as cheap as $12 n some designs are not too bad. can wear as casual wear. can wear to work too if your workplace dun have to wear too formal clothings. they sell those causal n working pants from $19. happy with what i bot as i dun intend to spend so much on maternity clothes since want to close shop. last preg din buy much as friend lend some but returned to her when she had her 2nd one.

healthy baby
i started to use the binder once i was discharge from hospital as i could not stand the bloated tummy then.

avocado
actually i dun believe in removing toxic. those excess water will come out of the body by itself. mayb massage speeds up the process.
hmm.. i dunno abt fish oil as din take them. gynae believe in getting nutrients from food.

avocado,

i got it from my gynae and it's pretty expensive..about $42 for a month's supply! And later i went to get more at GNC the SA recommended Goldmine fish oil which is from algae extract, she says all her colleagues take it when they're pregnant. Says its better than fish oil! About $73 for 1-2 months supply... well at least i know im paying for quality stuffs!

Rata that's what I thought. It was just the way the nurse said it that made me feel I was committing a capital crime!

Ladies couldn't we supplement our 'fish oil' by eating oily fish like salmon, sardines, mackerel, trout etc?

Mrs N,
I don't get to eat fish daily and I hate cooked fish so I think the fish oil is a good way to get DHA. To bad I cannot take raw fish as I took too much during 1st trimester, now have to stop as hubby was very unhappy.

Krex,
Your cough is better? For your cough, u can call up Dr Woody's clinic and ask the nurse. Think just have to pay for the extra cough mixture ba. Previously, I just go to the nurse and tell them my medicine finished liao, then they ask Dr Woody and dispatch me new ones - din see him, queue too long ... haha.

KK Hospital
krmeow, briebaby,
Spotting prob due to low placenta - My first, I had spotting from early pregnancy till 5th month then it stopped (almost).
I had low placenta, hence I went to KK through the public queue (polyclinic referral) - cos i was afraid I'd have complication and it'd cost a bomb. At that time I was losing my job cos I told my boss I was pregnant, hence the apprehension on the cost of pte hospital if I had complication.
Things were almost normal after 5th month with occassional spotting, I went to private gynae at TMC and delivered there.

When I started - I went to NUH first and after 1-2 months I went back to polyclinic to "demand" them to refer me to KK cos NUH sucks big time - except for the vv clear scanning at that time. The lady told me prob a boy cos can see the stroke - which means the birdie ... and it's true. The polyclinic I first visited referred me there cos it was near to where I stay. When I wanted to change to KK, they say they can only refer to 1 hospital - hospital politics .. haha. But I still manage to go KK after I demanded that they re-refer me to KK.
KK's provide much much better service. For public queue, each time I see different doctor (some are just MOs) and KK is vv careful - kiasu. I got admitted once cos I had spotting and went to the 24 hour emergency as I had no appointment. Admitted for 3 days 2 nites. They tested me 3 times but not sure what was the big problem and admit me to monitor.

Tummy after delivery
I din really use the binder cos I bought it 2 weeks after I delivered - when my son was hospitalised for super high "jondis" - dunno how to spell .. haha.
my tummy was 5 months pregnant after i delivered and I tot that was it - i am doomed. Hwr, they say ginger can help to remove wind but since I was
breastfeeding, they say will cause "jondis" so I din take any. After few weeks, I secretly drank two - three times those 3-1 SUPER ginger tea and my
stomach went down ALOT.

OSCAR test
Only yesterday that my gynae's clinic assistance called to say the test results are ok. Dr Woody did not call. I was half asleep and I just said ok, thanks.
Guess I'll only discuss more with him when i see him. Since ok, then no need to know the details so urgent ba.
I am wondering why some of you have the actual test readings? U received the report immediately? Hmmm. I remember having that report the first time I went to NUH for scan the last pregnancy.

avocado,
I took Neurogain the first pregnancy - apparently it is recommended by quite some gynaes.

This time i got some from Malaysia - much cheaper. and it's from the same source ma.
So if u have lobangs, better if they can get soecal discount, can get it from there.

Shint,

I did mine Oscar Test at TMC n they were very efficient! I did the test around 10am and the report is out at 4.30pm, but i kia-su so i called n check. haha.
But usually if there is nothing wrong, they wouldnt call you. But some MTB request them to inform the results when its out.