(2008/08) Aug 2008

chipchip
very profound... does it means low blood count in layman term?

m2b
they do look more fuller..... mine went back to pre-preg size after I have stopped breastfeeding.... this time seems like they are more "prepared" for another marathon... hahaha...

i suffer from neckaches more than headaches.. but guess it might lead to headache.... waiting for 4th month so that i can visit a "tui na" - chinese massage doctor....

my hubby also never buy me flowers except ROM and 1 of my BDs.... actually i am very practical... save the money for makan better.

YLN, celynlee,M2B,
Our 1st Valentine's Day as bf/gf, I got 100 roses from him... it sort of dwindle down... last year got none cos the stupid florist did not deliver at all still dare to charge his credit card... this year, i got 20 roses...

i know it's reli waste of money but i still want lei...kekek..

i din buy him any present and dun think he buys anything for me... as usual, we chose our own presents but only once or twice a year... i will usually ask for more ex things like LV bag so he say join all the VD, ROM, wedding, Xmas, BD pressies altogether as one... we are also very practical, i buy him things when he wants but dun bare to spend on...

krex,
i din buy yet, dont feel like buying lei... you very fit, i cant swim that long distance... last time my old house the pool was very big, olympic size i think, i could only swim 1 to 2 laps, then pant like mad... my new place haven try yet but it's more like a lap pool... will try asap if not getting very lazy... walk too long aledi start to have cramps...

hmm seems we have a common thread...my husband wants the wii, i say sure..will buy during xmas..he say by then outdated...I say..great..then no need buy..hahaa

pardon my pun but dun understand y the addiction to such games....for me..i prefer books

Nini,
When I have my girl, many pp commend I look better. I do not think look can tell is a boy or girl.

Today hb only sms Valentine Day, that all and after work, we will bring our girl to see doc as she is down with fever and flu, so will not celebrate any V.Day.

Thalassemia:
Like Krex, my hubby is a thalassemia minor. i'm normal, so our #1 girl also Thal minor. everything is normal. If both party is Thal Minor, have to depend on luck and wish that bb is Thal minor cos if major, most likely cannot survice.

avocado, did u test your bb for thalassemia when she was born? i think i shld also test mine just to be sure.

happycat, can go for tui na meh? my tui na shifu said pregnant cannot go for tui na. very painful one leh. i tried before preggie. i dun think it's good to do when preggie. at most can only do those pregnancy massage they have at some spas. btw, anyone know of spas which do good pregnancy massage? i think i will do in 3rd trimester.

yuuri,
i also did the talassemia test when i had my nt test. there are also test for hiv and something else which i can't remember.

krex,
Baby is okay if one party is no Thal.
Baby is test Thal min cos I dontae blood cord to singapore cord blood group, from that day onwards hb then know he is Thal minor, all the while he do not know. When I test for Thal during preggy, I do not have, gynae said then need not test hubby liao.
My #1 born in KKH, think only KK do test

megan,
i'm opposite of you. i prefer to play games than to read books. my husband prefer to read books than to play games. hehehhe.... so we never had to fight for games.

Can we use hua diao jiu in our cooking? I used alot of hua diao jiu yesterday..even cooked Hua diao chicken (very delicious!) But my sis told me no alcohol during pregnancy. But last time i check with my gynae, she say its fine cos evaporated in food already.

Who should i believe?

speaking of alcohol... i helped to serve whisky to my hubby's frens during CNY at home, such a torture, smell so nice yet i cannot take!

NiNi, who is the professional here? your sis or the gynae? :p

krex78,
my tui na shifu will adjust her strength.... i went to her during my 1st pregnancy too..... btw, she is a qualified and certified TCM doctor... body ache so much so really need the relief...
those massage ladies must not be qualified to handle pregnant ladies... not sure r they certified to massage us or not. we r like a time-bomb. goto to handle with care.

Nini,
it's true that alcohol will evaporate under heat so should be no prob.

Rata,
I oso dun wana buy for my hb, told him if he wants, go get himself…hahaha
So sweet, have couple phones. No lah, not bo liao lah.

Happycat,
Aiyo, I also feel that my busts are bigger this time than the 1st pregnancy leh…they shrink a lot after birth man, now so full and heavy…

For me, I prefer gifts to meals coz eat liao, digest already no more whereas gifts still can see…very funi theory lah

Dongle,
I received 99 stalks from hb before for 1 of the anniversaries and I was thrilled then coz really a surprise…I also dun really buy much gifts for hb coz all he wants are something to do with his car so he pays himself lor…

Megan,
My hb already got the Wii on the excuse that my gal can play…hahaha, but quite fun lah…

nini, yest we had yu sheng and my hb's grandpa put brandy in the yu sheng! i dun think it evaporated but i still ate a little anyway. can't really taste after adding so many other sauces.

avocado, if donate cord blood they will test bb for thalessamia is it? if yes, then i don't have to make special arrangements to do so liao.

joni, whiskey nice meh? i bought and drank a bit when i sent to scotland last yr. luckily didn't conceive bb then, although i planned to conceive during my holiday in oct. think bb would have drowned in alcohol then, haha.

Thalassemia

I'm a thalassemia minor and my hb was instructed to have a blood test done. lucky thing, he was ok.
i know that for preggie mummies, will have to do a full blood count test by gynae to determine whether you have thalassemia.

Happycat,
Thanks! I rec'd liao...btw, when will we cross 4mths hah?

BTW, any 2nd time mommies went for malay massge the 1st time? I did and it really help in bringing down the flabby tummy.

Chip,
Your 12 stalks over the years already more than 100 stalks liao.

hi M2B,

i did engage a malay lady for the massage. i think it's 4 or 5 sessions.
most probably, for this time round, will get back the same lady.

MTB,
Think should be after 16 weeks... baby more stable and risk of miscarriage decreases.

I did not went for malay massage. tummy reduces just by breast feeding. and of course some tummy exercises.

mtb,chipchip,
i think i win hands down. been with my hubby for more than 10 years, got 12 roses in total
and 12 tulips (ROM). ok lah, not to complain cos i dun encourage him too.

krex78,
Actually when Singapore cord Blood received any cord blood from mother, they will make all kinds of test before donate it to other pp to save life, so that time when baby was abt a mth old, then I recieved call from them and hubby go for the test. Next time my girl cannot marry a Thal minor lor.
I donate it to the public mean FOC, only KKH have the service as there have a centre for Singapore cord Blood.
For private hospital there are 2 private cord blood like cord blood etc., I do not think they will test as it for your baby own use only and I think u need to pay a few thousands to store per year. I am not in for this as many pp say no use, better to donate. For example, if bb got a kind of illness due to genetic or whatever, the cord also will have so also cannot be use.

This time round I am not donating liao as most likely #2 also Thal Minor.

I read from Mother & baby magazine, there is this gender predictor kit which can test your baby's gender as early as 10 weeks (dun have to wait till 20 weeks to find out now) n its accuracy is said to be 90%.. Works exactly like the pregnancy test.
Retails at $59.90..

Btw during Oscars test, can sonographer slightly see the gender?

Happy Valentine's Day to all mommies.

Hubby bought flowers on Valentine's Day for me during the 1st year when we were dating. Even sent to office. After that I told him not to buy anymore, and if really wants to buy flowers on Valentine's Day, to give me the money instead. haha! But he gives me flowers on other special occassion and whenever I'm back from overseas trips. Think they are more meaningful.

Today went shopping. So happy, managed to buy 3 pants- 2 of those extendable ones and one yogalike type (foldable). Not very cheap..after discount, each about S$42 but considering that I'm running out of decent clothes to wear, I'm thrilled. Also bought bra extention...hehe! Now I can breathe.

Gemini...is your Malay massage lady good? What's the rate like?

morning,
anyone know how to apply the stretchmark oil from clarins? i just got 1 but not sure how to apply. do we do in circular motion? on tummy only?

Gemini,
My malay massge was for 5 or 7 sessions but I forgot the costs liao…it really helps lor…maybe because of that massage which makes me able to wear back my jeans on bb’s full mth…

Chip chip,
At least you received flowers every year right? Hehe, dun mind the quantity. :p

Happycat,
That means I will cross my 4mths on Sat liao…the backaches come and go…very irritating…

Celyn,
Stretchmark cream shd be applied in circular motion but if you have low placenta, then shd be massage upwards instead.

NiNi,

Sounds interesting.. just curious.. where can buy gender predictor kit ? thanks

HewChen,

I dont dare to drink much alcohol... only a bit champagne.. ( left 1/2 glass)... my husband encouraged me to finish it all...say should train bb early .. he is crazy ..

celyn
i apply the oil on on thighs, butt , and stomache(front and back) for maximum coverage..on the stomache, its circular motion, on the thighs and butt, upward and circular motion...

chipchip, nini,
the intelligender test kit is amazing, really can tell mei? i wonder how come our local gynaes never buy the kits and sell to us... I dont mind buying if i am ard 10 weeks... now at 16 weeks, quite near to the 20 weeks detailed scan aledi... :p

So busy yesterday, thats why no time to log in. =P
Hope all of u have an enjoyable valentines day yesterday ya?

dongle,
Dun think gynae will use this kinda kits lah, because they need to give us a confirmed answer right?

Abt this intelligender, i came across it on the web last week, but according to some feedback (from mostly US forums, to them, US$30 seems like very cheap, so a lot of people tried), some people got false readings of boy when bb is actually a girl, and vice versa... so, i concluded its not worth wasting S$59.90 on a product with no guarantee, and this must be why it is not widely publicised here. For those who dun mind testing for fun, think u can get it from maternity exchange in marina square, according to their website: http://www.maternityexchange.sg/gifts.html

Valentine Day
=============
even when we are still bf/gf, my hb dun buy me flowers on V day. i asked him and he say that the prices is so much ex than normal days which i agree lah.. so i think the only flowers that i got from him is during my Uni convocation and b'day when he's proposing to me.

hi krex, krmeow,

my malay massage lady is Mdm Nani. she quite popular and i think in other threads, should have mentioned about her. she's not bad. but when she massaging my tummy area, i nearly cried out as it was v painful for me lah... as for her charges, i cant remember liao... but 1 thing, she dun do massage for newborn babies.

hi krex,

why are u afraid of the CL that ur MIL is getting u?

hi M2B,

wow, not bad, u can wear back ur jeans on ur bb full mth. i took about 2 mths before i can fit back my jeans. though my tummy has subsided, it's my hips that have expanded.

Good morning everyone...

How was yr day? I've just went for my check up. Gynae mentioned foetus growing! Good news early in the morning!!! Now I'm back to work and was treated "like a freak" from my boss... but I was not bothered by his remarks and actions as long as I knows my bb is growing and healthy... Previously, I was worried abt my bb's stability in my tummy. Now more relax but still thread carefully though...

Krex, don't worry.. yr MIL will take care of you.

re:jeans
I think i didn't fit into my prev jeans aft delivery at all! kekekeke...

Yup the mag says its sold at maternity exchange, marina square. Huh..If its not accurate, then wat for test???? hahhaahha...

Week 16 can see baby's gender liao..*excited* But i guess i'll hav no surprise..My hubby is a alpha-male, all his 3 siblings are guys. Guess mine is a baby boy for sure..hehe

I think I won't buy too.. i'm in week 14.. and going to see gynae next week.. hopefully, i can find out the gender for bb next week...

dongle and joni,
i oso won't waste $ on the gender predictor coz since not accurate at all so what for waste $ when we have paid our gynaes for the services liao...heehee

gemini,
ya, hip is a BIG prob area after birth...hope mine dun expand too much after this birth man...

morning ladies..

just went to see Paul Tseng..cos I still had the brown blood discharge on off, esp during my time in sydney...think its an infection still...otherwise BB doing well

I was happy to see that I din put on weight, was scared cos ate quite alot of rubbish in sydney...
and now can eat quite a bit of breakfast..

its just nice to hear BB doing well isnt it..
today scan show BB edd 11 Aug, same as my bday..so that will be interesting

think gal or boy, as long as healthy, we should be happy liao right?
most of us are either over or going to wk 15th liao, why not wait for next scan to get a confirmed ans on the bb gender? =)

M2B,
if natural birth, hip sure expand one leh...

Megan,
my bb edd very near to my bday too, i'm also thinking maybe both my bb and me might have same bday.
think the daddy will be very happy then, 1 celebration for 2 persons...ha ha....