(2008/08) Aug 2008

Avocado,
Yalor, 2nd kid liao so nothing much to get actually…as I’m not successful in bfg my gal, I won’t be investing in pumps this time too since I have decided to stop at 2…

I share the same sentiments w you on the special kid.

Joni,
What type of plain biscuits hah? I have heartburn at times too…hate it…

Snow,
I went for my 30mins of stationery cycling during lunch time just now…initially though sure very tired after that but surprisingly, felt more energetic than normal days…heehee

m2b, i ate biscuits from ikea - there was this particular one i tried, very big round disc, made of wheat. tasted really, really plain, but it did help a bit with the nausea. i think those kind of jacob biscuits might also work...the less tasty the better. i wonder if i can tahan cycling or cross trainer. i already pant like mad when i climb stairs at my office. most of the time, i opt for the lift.

krex,
You can try swimming. You will not feel tired as u feel very light in the pool. Walking in the pool is also a very good exercise for those who do not know how to swim. It is good for our backbone

M2B,
Gd!
at least show that u are back to nomal liao.
no lah, exercise will help u sleep better and more energetic tmr. =)

krex,
i think for me, i'll also feel very tired lor.
till i'm really alot better, else can't exercise yet.

avocado,
gotta make sure the pool is not crowded hor.

M2B,
Really peifu your stamina.
I plan to go swimming after my week 16. Thinking of bring my girl with me, but the thought of having to bath her already drain my energy.

so sad tomorrow onwards I cannot login so often liao as my boss is back. These few days w/o my boss in the office is shoik

yah, swimming is the only activity i do these days. i have a cross trainer at home but these days too tired to even go on it.

btw, where to buy maternity swim wear? so far haven't seen in maternity shops yet.

err...any others? the things there are ex. i just saw some nursing bras there for $80! clothes wise, don't really like the fashion.

Krex,
Plain biscuits ah,,,wonder if M&S rich tea biscuits can or not…heehee
Ya, I sometimes also pant when walking or climbing stairs but am surprised I felt better after the exercise today…maybe mental lah…heehee

Snow,
Thanks! Ya, really hope I can sleep better coz hate waking up at night and then finding difficulty getting back to sleep…

Avocado,
I aim to go 3x a week for 30mins of cycling lor, see if I can make it…hahaha
My gal also likes swimming but so long never bring her liao…must ask hb to bring her…I personally dun know how to swim lor so normally I will be reading magazines by the poolside… :p…agree, thinking of bathing the kids abit sian…heehee

Oh we can take tonics like dang gui now? Hee..my favourite black chicken soup...yummy! Then when to start taking bird nest?

Re: plain biscuits
Meiji plain crackers is quite tasty and plain at the same time... just saw watsons selling 2 for $1.95... very cheap

Re: swimming
gynae was saying it's gd to exercise, me never exercise, only swim like a few times a year... is there a best time to swim? i scared of cold water lei... duno whether my neighbours will feel gross seeing me in my bra and panties swimming or not, cant fit into my swimwear and dun feel like buying those maternity swimwear, looks frumpy to me lei...

i feel so nausea this morning that i took mc to sleep at home. hehehe.... got craving for soft drinks today, took sprite and ice cream soda just now.

sorry did i say plain biscuits? too lazy to find my previous post, i meant to say plain crackers, any plain crackers, meiji (my fave) or jacobs or khong guan or watever, cos it can absorb the excess gastric juices, something like dat lah... i ate bak chang during my 1st tri, heartburn until cannot sleep whole night... after 2 days of suffering then i sos for help, silly me!

dongle,
swim in your lingerie?! *wolf whistle*
dun want lah... u can get a 2 piece swim wear... after birth still can wear mah, right?

krex, dongle
if u r daring, try Women secret 2 pc. Think they are having sales now..... can opt for different design for top and bottom too.... but one thing there tops no padding...

re:plain crackers
I love Meiji but think I got to watch my carbo again.... cannot anyhow consume carbo until I do my test in 2nd trimester...

anyone experience stomach pull after squatting for some time? lately being having pulls especially if I stand up too quickly...

celynlee,
envy u can drink sweet stuffs as and when u like... not that I have a sweet tooth but goto abstain from sweet stuffs till further test.... *sigh*

happycat,
can't eat sweet stuff meh? you waiting for what kind of test?

i had cut away from sweet stuff since i know that i'm pregnant, only take a sip or 2 when crave but today i took 2 cups. heheh....

Anyone has thalassemia? I have minor thalassemia... my husband just did a blood test ( need to wait 8 days for the results).. hope he won't has thalassemia also.. otherwise our bb will have a high chance of getting thalassemia ...

Rata yah I'm Singaporean but don't really consider myself migrated lah! Still holding on very tightly to my Sg passport. I'm only in the UK cos hubby's a Brit.
This is our first child and EDD is 11 August. Was playing with the thought of having baby in S'pore after hearing horror stories on the BBC about some of the maternity wards in parts of the country but my MIL assured us that the hospital closest to us was ranked among the better ones so we'll be having the baby here in the same hospital where my hubby was born.
Anyway we can't really complain as our MW is kind of nice and helpful and all the tests, checkups and ultrasounds are free. One of the benefits of being pregnant over here is that you get free dental treatment and prescriptive medicines as well.

joni I'm expecting a high risk result since I'm 36. Did your gynae explain the risk factor involved with the test? In fact just reading the description of what it entails on my maternity folder is enough to make me squeamish. You can probably tell I hate needles! Our MW was upfront and frank about the amniocentesis. She told us right away that it was invasive and carried a risk of miscarriage even though it was more accurate. I don't think she was too keen on it either but she had a duty to tell all her patients about their options. Apparently the risk of MC is 1:100. That is one factor one has to consider very carefully I guess. Of course that may never happen but I think I would be terribly heartbroken if the results turn out alright in the end but lost the baby to MC as a consequence of the test. Decisions, decisions eh? Just part and parcel of life I guess.

Oh is there going to be a baby fair in March? How interesting! I'm going home for 3 weeks around that time so might be mak kaypoh and see what's on offer. Some things here are a bit more expensive.

One of the things I found helpful to deal with the gastric was eat cereal bars. Can you get them in Sg? The berry ones are rather nice and not too sweet. They are rich in folic acid too. Rice crackers are great as well. Has anybody gone off their own cooking? I seem to hate the food I cook which is unfortunate because I used to love cooking and eating spicy stuff. My hubby has taken over the cooking but 'ahem' his skills are kind of limited!

krex78 (krex78),
I did not buy any Maternity Swimsuit for my first pregnancy. I can fit in my bikini till about 7mths then i stop swimming liao cos that time is lunar 7th mth and my hubby ask me not to go. If u can still fit in your swimsuit, then need not buy first. I also very heartpain to spend $ to buy this such of swimsuit and look ugly.

But comfirm this pregnacy, I can't fit in liao so looking for any hand me down from my sisters or friends. This time my tummy 3 mths looks like during my first pregnancy 5-6mths. Aiyoh, although only gain 2kg, wonder why this time so big

krex

regarding NT scan should not take the results lightly. all have to depends on how high the risk. I have a friend same age as me and she did oscar test and the results is no good. so she went for further test and detected that the fetus has trisomy 18. she was told a high chance the baby wont survive full term. even if did will die before 1yr old. so she aborted the fetus at 16wks. she is only 29 and yet this type of thing can still happen to her. if she continue to keep the baby all of them will even be suffer more. so NT scan is actually useful. becoz of her case i went for NT scan this preg coz chromosome defect can happen to anyone.

hi happycat,
i have the exact same thing as u...when imn sitting down n suddenly stand straight i will have a sharp pull in my tummy. happened quite a few times. dunno y...will check w gynae next visit. now just get up slowly if i remember. usually forget, so when pain i just bend forward until it goes away.

ive also started getting a dull ache in my lower back. at the bottom of spine. seems to be there all the time. i thot we only start getting back aches when the baby is v big n start to weigh alot.

oh well..

Nini,
How was your test? U got the results?
Mine they say today then send to gynae and then got to call him to check if i am anxious. Else if nothing serious, he may not call either .. haha. Means if he calls then not good news.

Anyway, during the scan, baby was face down and I had to tilt my stomach, then bb turn upwards for scanning ... quite fast oso.

The lady mentioned that the check is ok and it's about 80% and the other 10% is on blood test to give the 90%. So far, baby hands and legs are there, nasal, the thickness of the fluid is also ok .... so sounds like ok to me so far.

Wait to see the results .....

Good Morning!
Happy Valentine’s Day to All!

Dongle,
Thanks for the info, will go get some of the biscuits to standby. :p

Happycat,
I experienced the stomach pull feeling too!

Avocado,
Me opp, I think I gained more than 2kg liao but tummy still a bump nia…but I find my busts are definitely bigger liao…hiaz

Morning! Happy Valentine's Day.....
** Think my hubby totally forgotten today is V-Day **

celynlee,
i suffer from gestation diabetes for my 1st pregnancy... so there is a high chance I will get it this time again.... will have to do a glucose tolerance test to determine whether i have it this time... but my gut feel is that i am going to suffer this time again.... *sigh*

chipchip
what's thalassemia?

gayle, m2b
no such prob for my previous pregnancy and during my non-pregnancy.... dunno why this time so different... must be age catching up.... sometimes just forget to get up slowly so got to suffer the pain lor....

avocado, m2b
i think i gain more than 2kg too... got a shock when i stand on the weighing machine.... maybe due to busts.... hahaha

thalassemia:
my hubby is a thalassemia minor. i'm normal, so our bb might be normal or be a minor. doesn't really matter, unless it's a major case.

NT scan:
got call from gynae yest. everything's gd. yeah!

swimsuit:
saw some yest at maternity exchange in marina sq. quite obiang. i think i'll wear my normal one until i can't fit into it. i also hope i don't gross the people in the pool!

oh chipchip...just read tis morning news article...hope ur hubby test results is negative!
jia you!

so mani bb sharing same bday as me
hehee
congrats Mrs N

do u guys find tt its easier to get splitting headache?

Happy Valentine's Day...

Any surprises from hubby yet? My hubby always no surprises one, he likes to SMS me in the mornings to tell me to SMS him when i receive my flowers... he scared of non-delivery again...

gayle, happycat,
me too got sharp pain when i make sudden movement, will always remind myself not to be have sudden big movement...

krex, avocado,
my existing 2 piece swimwear is those boyshort bottom, so it was kinda of tight fitting... if got those that can tie strings kind sure can fit in... i also heartpain on spending $80 on ugly looking swimwear... plus my pattern is i will swim like 10-15 mins then i want to get out aledi cos i scared of cold water...

megan,
i have been getting headaches and neckaches almost every day... duno what happens...

hi dongle
at least u get flowers from hubby..mine will never buy flowers one..actually no gifts at all unless i have something to buy..so also no surprises one..if he ever buys flowers..then i will think something is wrong ..heehee

i have been getting mild headaches on and off as well...n some cramps too...abit worried of the cramps cuz i thot cramps shld end by now...

dongle,
yah, at least you get flowers from hubby.

i only got flowers from him for our ROM and customary. he won't even know today is valentine's day. sigh... so don't need to expect surprises from him.

i ask him when is valentine's on mon, he told me fri. i almost fainted. hopeless. heheheh.....

dongle, my swim suit not really bikini lah. it's just a two piece. plus my bottom is not bikini cut, more like normal underwear kind, so still can wear. just dunno till how many mths, haha.

u bought maternity swimwear? haven't been able to find a nice one. i usu swim 20 laps but when i got preggie, i reduced to 10 laps. 20 still poss but it takes very long coz' i swim so slowly nowdays.

Happy V day ...

My husband seems order the flowers for me.. as he asked me for my company address haha he seldom buy me flowers.. only get it on V day ... he think flowers is expensive.. he is a very practical man..

Thanks Megan... really hope my husband test results is negative ... otherwise my bb will have 50% chance of getting major thalassemia

Krex78, u r right, for ur bb should be fine.. minor case is ok..

Happycat,
Info on thalassemia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thalassemia

celyn, i'm quite bo chap for v-day this year. find that i'd had to shop for so many presents for him in a year - V day, anniversary, b'day, x'mas. run out of ideas already. this year, we'll just go out and have a hearty meal! i decided will only get him presents for b'day and x'mas. the rest we'll just treat ourselves to a big meal, spa, etc.

chip, tell him to give u flowers on anniversary or b'day better. flowers on v-day super expensive and waste of money, haha.

My hubby also forgot Vday but not a big deal for me since I also forget and we don't celebrate. Morning he was watching tv then saw some ad for Vday then he suddenly "Vday today ah?" Then thought he will give me a hug but instead wish bb happy vday. *faint*

Megan,
I also having splitting headaches today…just pop 2 panadols, hope it goes away soon…hate it…

Happycat,
Your bust also expanded a lot? Mine did…sian

YLN & Celyn,
Same here, my hb also won’t buy flowers except for ROM and customary and only once on our anniversary…he said waste of $...hiaz...he is more into practical gifts but sometimes, gals just like to receive flowers rite? heehee although we also know waste of $ lah...

Dongle,
Yalor, at least your hb will send you flowers leh…

Yuuri,
Your hb so cute…hahaha

Krex78,
yes.. i think I will ask him buy me flower on anniversary or my bday next year instead.. should save up money for bb

m2b,
yah. gals are like that. although we know its ex to buy flowers on valentine's day, we do wish to get them. especially today right. hehehe.....

I received flowers from my hubby yesterday night...was so surprised when i got into the car! haha..Really makes my day.

M2B, not so good to take panadol often..Check with gynae first?

Shint,

Yes went for my test yesterday morning. Result also normal.
Baby very cute...he stretch his leg to n forth..kekeke.. Seeing the baby on the scan, my hubby so excited until he wanna drop tears! I got a feeling this one is a boy..My hubby feels the same way too. :p My looks didnt change..they say when you have gal, ur looks will become 'uglier'?? because they shared ur estrogen or something like that? Sorry for my ignorance or offensive comments.

HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!

we dun usually celebrate vday as rom & propsal anniversary is juz 8days later. But usually a meal together unless got ideas of wat to buy. As for flowers since dating i say no flowers for vday, no pt wif all the mark up. Yesterdae hubby say he will b getting Nitendo DS for me. I wanted to buy all the time but no blue colour initially now got liao. He told me to choose colours. should b getting it this sat

Celyn,
Ya, gals or women are like that, know waste of $ but still will be over the moon when receive the flowers...hahaha...but I have gave up expecting flowers from hb liao coz he has stated clearly rather spend the $ on food =P

Nini,
My gynae said normal panadols are ok the last time...I can't tahan splitting headaches coz need to work leh...

BTW, for my 1st pregnancy which is a gal, my looks also never changed leh...has good facial and hair conditions...

Rata,
Hb wana get me a new hp for V-day but I refused coz my existing phone is still functionable...but I know he is aiming for a PSP...heehee

m2b, my hubby also like psp but i dun wan to buy for him coz he will b over addicted one. See him play online games i already very sian. 1 more PSP then no time for me & baby next time hahaha. oh as for hp we bought each other 1 end of last yr
I m the one who like to keep changing hp, then we will change together coz we ve couple hp hahahaha abit bo liao