(2008/08) Aug 2008

I have a le blooming chic voucher (maternity & nursing wear shop at delfi orchard) to let go. value at $60. going on sale for $50.

anyone interested can let me know, please PM me.

Nini: I also feel very thirsty. I think it's normal. I had this feeling when I was having my first born too. Just drink lots of water, for me I feel like drinking juices!! But lazy to make!!

Dongle: Your next gynae date same as me! I will go first cos appointment in the morning :) Guess this my 2nd baby so I not so kanchiong to have hubby around. He was with me all the visits for my first born though :)

Re: drinking water
Dunno why I can't take romm temperature plain water. If drink will feel very nausea after that. But then if cold or hot one it's fine as long as not too much. I think I am weird. Anyone like me?

Nini,
Re: attending baby's full month

I am not sure if you really pantang? Old folk always said better dun attend ceremony and funeral (hong bai shi) while preggie, especially baby full month and funeral. For me I very pantang one, will try to avoid. I have a fren who attended another fren's baby full month one month before she gave birth, had lost her baby just one day after delivery. Doctor classified as SIDD as dunno the reason. Very sad for her. Dunno if this is just coincident 'qiao he' or really pantang?!

Man U,
im quite pantang one..heheh :p Ya i m not going but hubby's friend wants him to go leh..so was thinking should i let hubby go?

Sorry for my ignorant question...

had a really good day today!..i went shopping!
yea..after weeks of feeling sick and tired..i finally had enough energy to shop!..did a bit of shopping yesterday..went to Spring..checked out the maternity wear..hmm..not nice leh..the pants all look so ugly..

today..went to orchard..went to pamper myself..bought myself a LV bag..heehee...i know i shouldn't spend unnecessary $, but its been so long since i bought sometime to pamper myself..n since i felt sick and tired all the time..today was a good day to say 'what the heck!' so..yea..hee..cost me less than $1000, so its not so bad lah..
then i went to mphosis n bought 2 dresses...nice ...good enuff when tummy grows..bought another retro looking dress form Mango...and 2 more from BYSI..all not maternity wear..but roomy and trendy enuff

was really good to spend time pampering myself..after the vomitting and the fatigue..it makes one feel really energetic!..had 2 cans of coke and an ultimate ice blended!..realised too much caffeine..:p...
im hoping tomorrow i will feel like today as well..but its hard to say...so i guess i better enjoy since i have the energy..very strangely..i keep thinking that i might have a bb gal today..maybe the 'bb gal' loves to shop too!

Nini,
My hubby's cousin just deivered a baby as well so I told him to go but I will not. Told him after he back he takes some 'shi liu' leave and stick to shower before touching me (my mom teached me one)! I super pantang so you might find my way a bit stupid. This is just what old folk used to do. Hee. . .

peppermintt
Think u better check with yr gynae. Or read the instructions on the washer. I think some also asked u to refer to gynae in the instructions. Read the paper and not the box instructions.

ManU
not really lor. Because the BB not even 1mth old. So of course must wash lah. By right, he should even prepare the water with the leaves in and then before he stepped into house, washed his feet/face/hand with it lor. This is esp so if u have praying altar at home.

The issue abt not going to those places also depends on one's luck and not neccessarily pregnant or not (of course confirm cannot go lah). Becoz those red/white event might 'chong' lor.

YLN
wapianggggggg so fast buy LV liaoz. Which model u buy?

Re Playmat
Any mummies thinking of getting this? I've checked out the korea site and hmn i think the BP guy is still selling at reasonable price, with delivery etc and shipment from korea. I am considering buying one before he decided to stop the BP due to price increasement.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1156555.html?1201432131

I'm thinking of getting Yellow Bear. Quite exp. $266 but can use long time leh. Most impt thing is item used is not toxic.

Earnestmum,
hehe... i also think that experienced MTB more "zai"... most of the things also know aledi...

Man U,
me too, i prefer to drink lukewarm cos i try to cut down on cold drinks... only drink cold drinks when i really crave for it like after a oily meal...

YLN,
wah... wat a spending spree... envious... somemore all non maternity related items... wahaha... enjoy!!!

peppermintt, But mine also no itch. Infection is ok for baby now juz dat when giving birth it might be harmful to baby as baby comes out fr there. U check wif ur gynae. My gynae gave me a PH wash.

YLN,

a very nice bag

i cannot afford to buy any luxury stuffs.. need to save up for buying things for bb..

aiya.. monday again..

Nini
nope..i still used the same range as before pregnancy..

chipchip
i know...i felt kinda guilty buying..but the purchase made me really happy..so now i must save more $$ le!

YLN,

don't feel guilty buying it lah... i need to save money as i'm planning to stop work after my bb born.. noone look after my bb for me.. so no choice.. need to stop work for sometimes... and i ( and bb) will become my husband ' burden hahaha

NiNi,
I put less cream and lotion during preg haha and now using less creamy lotion ..

2 days never log in only so many posts liao ah..

Nini,
I didn't change skincare also, too lazy to change.

YLN,
As long as its within ur "spending power" and u really feel happy after buying, just buy lor. =)

Q BTW What does Retinol-A have effect on us???
A i think it has effect on bb. Quite negative but dont know what exactly. forget already so avoid. AHA/BHA shld avoid too

Skincare i almost stop. Whitening ones all shld stopped because i saw this Nu Ren Wo Zui Da n they said some whitening pdts quite 'toxic' for pregnancy so didnt use. i am using bar soap n also use it for face as scent put me off

LV Bags.....
i am wishing that they have mini lin? in the speedy design but canvas material. However, so far only in the fabrics kind of material which i tihnk is not lasting and shape also cannot hold....

im using L'Occitante mainly.... But sometimes when i help hubby massage his eyes, got contain Retinol leh... didnt realised it till yesterday...

My FIL 'banned' me from eating curry (whats roti prata without curry??? LOL) cos he says contain duno what ingredient that is not good for preggies etc.

Then indian moms how? Curry is their main dish...

Nevertheless, i still enjoy roti prata..haha

Jang,

wow u are really informative! *Paranoid me* Then i shall stop using the Retinol for my hubby liao..

My appt for next gynae visit (valentine's day) can do Oscar's test & blood test liao.. By then i'm in my 2nd trimester! But seriously, i dont think there is any MTBs out there as easily paranoid as me... Worry this n that all the time.. Like worry about developing bb, worry abt Oscar's test, worry about how my food intake or skincare affects bb.. Hubby says im super paranoid but i m just being careful what...

ya cannot eat curry leh. I eat then i asked my mummy helped me ask. then cannot eat ah! so i didnt eat lor. How u know if pregnant mothers eat? maybe they also siam leh. Curry has many spices lor so better dont. Roti prata with sugar also nice. Yum yum

I blur leh whats Oscar's test abt. I mean how they carry out the testing?

actually hor even essential oil usage must be careful. in first trimester better avoid. then if want, can avoid whole pregnancy. at later stage, even must be careful as some essential oil can make one give labour faster (contraction at cervix or vagina). so its not good to use. and dont itchy backside go massage foot hor. some points also make one go labour.

Snow74,

I'm not sure.. he just say during pregnancy. Maybe it contains coconut or some yellow spices or what lah.. im not sure. But i still eat in moderation...

NiNi,
Agree with Jang, roti prata with sugar also not bad lah. =P
Better avoid curry if u are unsure, and made people around u worried lor.
But if its ur bb's craving, guess there is nothing u can do bah...eat in moderation.

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>
Nice bag! Last year I also wanted to get a speedy but after going to the boutique to see the bag, don't find it suitable for me coz no compartments inside the bag...keke.. I like those with many many compartments.
Aiyah no need feel guilty, like Snow74 said, its within ur spending power. You are working mah, got your own income. It's ok to pamper yourself. Happy mom=happy baby

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font>
wah you eyeing to buy the LV Diaper bag? So expensive!! I will never buy, later my baby vomit on the bag, I will cry leh...hehehe..

Re:skincare
A few MTBs here have asked gynae before and they say all those can buy over the counter is safe to use. But those prescribe by dermatologist better don't use coz may contain too strong ingredients like Retinol-A.
So I also continue using my usual skincare as mine is bought over the counter.

Re: Retinol-A
It has studies that shown will cause birth defects on the bb.
But don't worry lah, you are not applying it on your skin. You massage your hubby only mah, afterwards eventually you sure got wash your hands right. It won't get absorb into your system lah.

Mrng mummies,

I'll be gg to visit my gynae this sat...at last waited for a mth liao!
Recently feel that my body quite tired thinking to go for massage or soak in water (spa) ley... Do u'all think it's safe and ok to do? Any recommandation &amp; affordable price?

nini,

i ate cheeze roti prata a few times liao when i was like 11wks i think. cannot take it lei. crave for it. then wkend went to sanuar to eat fish head curry. that one think too spicy, can feel my baby kick a few times when i eat that.

think everything in moderation shld be ok la. hehe

yln,
saturday is also my shopping day
finally got stamina to shop but so crowded everywhere. i was at ngee ann city too. there's a q to go to lv so i gave it a miss. wah. sounds like a fruitful trip

once in a while no harm. for me i don't dare unleash the shopaholic in me. scared in the end, we need sponsors for baby items. hehe

mulberry
oh read already but v cheem leh. err i kind of forget my no. of wks liaoz. ask husb later heh

Yi Lin
if u still within 1st trimester i think better not. 2nd also not sure leh. And I tihnk better dont soak in water because thats a common bath tub and not sure how they maintain/whether they clean thoroughly before u use it (after next user). might have higher chance of infection thru soaking in water lor. ah bor u go pool and soak. got chlorine and at least better. go condo pool.

Heng ah luckily me this week is 12 weeks liao Yeah~~
Oh yah swimming pool also can but the water there sometimes quite CoLd 1 ley not shiok!
Anyway just finding ways to relax myself cos I've not been sleeping very well for few weeks le..

<font color="0000ff">Jang</font>
keke...ok let me try to explain. U wanna know what the testing involve right? ok, basically it consist of :-
1) NT scan. It's ultrasound scan using more powerful machine. Suppose to measure bb's spinal fluid, neck thickness, nasal bone...... ummm...forgot what else...
2) Blood test
3) Urine test

Aiyo, how can u forget how many weeks you in now... When's your EDD?

Hi Mommies!

Just wondering if anyones started applying stretchmarks cream aredy? Have a fren who advised me to start applying now - cos it works for her and it was too bad at all after giving birth. Hweheehee..

Nini: Aiyo for me i think it's fine mah. I'm Chinese married to a Malay one wk oso eat spicy food or curry at least 4-5 times leh. Heehee...

And yes la malay/indian mums how? Not every kinda food needs to be avoided one. Only very 'jialat' things like pineapple, raw eggs, sashimi, caffeine, sotong(some ppl believe) are not asvisable to be consume. But best to avoid where possible loh..heeehee

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
I started applying 1mth ago when I was week 8 liao. That was advised by my best fren. She diligently put from her week 8 onwards. After give birth, no stretchmarks at all on her tummy. BUT she forgot to put on her hips/butt, so that parts got stretchmarks.. :p

mul,

go online lei. i misplaced the amazon's person's info. i have stretch mark cream but till now lazy to apply. so far so gd (touch wood)

mulberry
oic. I already forget my previous appt (before last sat) how many wks i am liaozzzzzz. so i forget what to add to 3wks lor hahahaa.

My EDD kept on changing so now i also blur liaoz lor. From Late July to Early Aug.

Stretch Cream
I going to apply horse oil onto my tummy because can feel the itch liaozzzzzzz. gynae said must apply cream already

I'm still feeling tired...though feeling less nauseous. Thank goodness I don't have MS.

Looking forward to my gynae visit tomorrow. Anyone knows what we can see in the scan during the 10th/11th week?

Btw, anyone of you feeling pain in the breasts? Is this normal besides the fact that they've gotten bigger?

Re stretchmark cream, I haven't bought any special cream but have been appplying lotion to my stomach. My gf was saying that you should also apply firming cream besides the stretchmark cream coz stomach skin will be loose and flabby after that.

Jang, Ratatouille,

im using the vagisil femine wash. Have been using it for yrs liao cos it's not alkaline like soap. Wil check with my gynae during the next visit.

My running nose getting worse today took mc... back home the lift broke down... and i climbed the stairs all the way to 15th floor.. wanna faint by then... feeling sleepy now after taking the flu/cough syrup... i avoid taking medicine cos afraid too much harm baby. But guess no choice have to take otherwise my flu/cough wont recover. And doc said pregnancy safe. Thot will have a medicine free pregnancy this time round but guess not...

wasay u flu still 'exercise'. flu 'exercise', even normal pple will collapse one lor. because the heart arteries or what might be affected and indirectly caused heart to malfunction/stop beating. this is already shown in report liaoz. so if got kids, pls tell them dont exercise if they recover from a bad flu.

Krmeow
BB still developing but can see the hands/legs but still not complete formed.

Mulberry
so gynae use ultrasound machine see BB neck on previous visit, tell me its normal=one of the test done liaoz right?

Why does gynae want to look out for a round head? Gynae too busy checking out bB so i didnt ask. Plus scare pain. hah

Krmeow,

the shape of a baby shld be clearer this time round. U may even see ur baby waving at u

Not sure abt the pain in breast.. check w gynae tom?

Im using Clarins anti stretch mark cream. Think the oil form shld be better. Mine given by my sis in law &amp; gave me 2.. have to finish using these before i can get the oil one. I apply on my breasts, tummy and thighs. I also apply some behind my waist cos my colleague said she has stretch mark there as well. Actually dunno whether these cream help cos i guess its our genes as to whether our skin is elastic. My mum has no stretch mark and cellulite though she gave birth to 4 of us. But this doesn't mean i will be like her..

Jang,

Ya.. knew that flu cannot exercise..no choice.. wanna reach home soon to rest.. me so "lucky" man..

As for the NT scan, they check a combination of the following:

(1)the baby's neck fold, for eg within 2mm is normal for a 12 week baby. Thick neck fold due to more fluid behind baby's neck is associated with the likelihood of a down syndrome baby.

(2) nasal bone (presence of nasal bone on baby's nose). Absence of this is said to be a characteristic of a down baby.

(3) Mummy's age

(4) Mummy's blood test to find out the level of free beta hCG and PAPP-A

Then they will give u a ratio to gauge ur risk. If ratio is less than 1: 250, then need to do amnio or CVS to determine whether baby is down.

Hi Mummies/mummies-to-be,
sorry to intrude, i am fr the dec'07 thread.
As i hav given up bf, am selling away my Medela Mini Electric Plus breastpump for $220, FOC additional valves &amp; membranes worth $30.50.
Bot on 26th Dec 07. Complete set. Warranty still applicable. Good condition as used for less than 2 mths.

Also selling a Avent Isis Manual Pump at $50.
Complete Pump set but some accessories has been used. Very good condition as used less than 2 weeks.

Please PM for more details.

<font color="0000ff">Jang</font>
i think you only do NT scan then.
not everyone wanna do the OSCAR test.
some ppl just do NT scan only, some only do triple blood test only.

hmm..i also dunno why ur gynae look for round head. I think maybe those with ds have more flat forehead. So if round round, that means good.

peppermintt
shld have wait first n call the breakdown co to rescue the life heh.

thanks for the infor. will digest it. 1st trimester can see BB face features liaoz? I didnt get to see BB face features yet leh.

mulberry
oh i kind of guess too. Gynae said must wait till next visit for BB to develop then see the head again. hehehe hope BB will cooperate, jump and then later see the gender.

anyone touch their tummy (area where gynae do the scan. the area we wear panties over).... and can feel the BB? i can feel my BB leh but i asked my husb to feel he said feel nothing. I can feel the moving/heart beating when i breathe slowly and dont let tummy raise too mux etc. Then i talk to Bb, will feel more too. hehehee

krmeow,
i dun see much difference on the little one during 9th week+ scan, so hope u can see baby waving to u during ur 11th week scan. =)
my last preggy breast pain till cannot wear bra, so guess its part and puzzle of 1st tri lor.

I'm using mothercare stretchmark cream, only when I'm not feeling tired after shower..hee hee...

After reading thru those description on the NT scan, does it mean that i need to do NT scan this coming gynae visit on week 12th?

jang, snow,

i can feel my baby's kicks from wk 12. it's like little flutters on the lower tummy area. sometimes on the left, sometimes on the right

last nt i gently press my hand on the side of my lower tummy, i can feel the baby as well, i was so shocked

when i slouch, i can see pulse on my tummy. i will always check to make sure baby's heartbeat still there when i feel insecure

mul, rata, happy
i told u guys right? mul, rata, can't wait for you guys to feel it too