(2008/08) Aug 2008

M2B/Snow,
my tummy was aledi very big once i knew i was preggie... till now, grow a bit more... most fitting clothes cannot wear liao... left some dresses when worn very obvious that my tummy is bulging out...

Hi Jaymickey. =)

Shint,
There are 2 Dr Gordon in GlenE, Gordon Lim and Gordon Tan. =P
Mine is Gordon Lim, my sis gynae is Gordon Tan.
Ok, its better to find a place u are more comfortable with lor.

twin stars,
my side access speed ok leh....hmm....
ok, will wait for ur "order".

dongle,
I got slight tummy pre-preggy also, now worse.

Dear all MTBs...

I'm now in dilemma.. saw some brown spotting and gynae suggested bed rest in HOSPITAL! I've still so much things haven't do at work and CNY is coming... I request is there any opportunity for me to avoid staying in hospital (knowing that I will still be very busy while at home). Gynae recommends complete bed rest and my stupid boss! Didn't expect any sympathy from him yet he suggest I resign! I was so MADDDDD!!! And i simply walk off telling him I need to go see doctor... Should i resign right away and stay at home? Or rest in hospital? Argghhh....

hewchen
your boss very mean...can sue him if he fires you.
Why dun u take it one step at a time. ask ur gynae how long bed rest in hosp u need and take MC first?
Decision is up to you, but if hv bleeding, impt to hv bed rest. Work can always find again.

Jus a question.
What is the brand of the Omega fish oil recommended by the gynaes ah? I forgot the brand .. gonna buy some.

I beg the gynae to let me at least rest at home. but she mentions if the brown spotting turns red. She would admit me immediately! so stress....

snow,

strange, mine suppose to b high speed. ok try again soon.

hewchen,

maybe u discuss with yr hubby cos health is important es in first trimester. yr boss prob making use of this opportunity to make u resign so he doesn't have to bear the 3mths maternity pay, even if so. i'll rather be fired, get 1 mth additional pay.
cool down, not worth getting upset over such a boss.see what yr gynae say and discuss what to do with yr hubby. cannot complain to mol mei ?

Hewchen,
guess a life is more important ya?
ya, actually u can go MOM and speak to those officers about ur boss reaction liao.

twin stars,
its ok, take ur time.
me browsing now also.
some jeans US$25, so should not be more than SG$40 after adding shipping charge right? =P

Hi Snow74..

Hi Hew Chen, i do have some brown spotting too but i got it usually when i want to Poo and it turn pinkish red twice.. my gynae put me on some jab for the past 2 weeks and give me some medication.. maybe u can check with ur gynae and see if there are any alternatives..

HewChen,
Dun be mad and DUN QUIT. Cos that's what your boss wants .... just go see the doc and if need, take MC to rest at home instead of staying in hospital.

I had spotting in my frist preg .. and I did get hospitalised for 3 days .. then get 2 weeks MC. So if need to, get a few days hospitalised and take MC to rest at home.. check with gynae first.
*still get paid and then decide if u wan to quit.

Also, if u quit now, cannot get job. To share my bad experience during my first pregnancy, my boss knew I was preggie and then made things so bad for me ... forcing me to quit .... but I stayed on cos I knew I cannot get a job if I quit even though I may be good. So i started sending out application letters for new jobs . got 9/10 interviews but when they know i preggie, they not interested.

Thanks God that when I was 5th month preggie, a company took me in and even gave me maternity leave ....

So ... dun resign first ... unless u really dun wan the stress of work and can afford not to stress when u are out of job. I was super stress when I knew I was going to lose my job due to my pregnancy. Injustice is still vv real -- I tot it's only on TV.

In the meantime, get your rest and MC. Ignore your incosiderate boss. If he gets too much, can go complain about him later.

Bright red means better to have complete bed rest ... no joke. last time in hospital, they dun allow me to walk here walk there, had to use a wheelchair (hubby went to borrow it, hee).
Brown is still ok, can rest at home.

Last time mine was brown, i oredi kenna 3 days 2 nites. Aiya, take hospitalisation leave and then rest then take more MC to rest at home .... let your boss have a "happy new year" ... and u can have a happier new year

Baby more impt leh.

hi Jaymickey,

Welcome. update us your details!

MS
Still feeling nauseous everyday and worse when i go to mum in law's place to eat, the food not to my liking so all the more want to throw up. Hoping it will end soon.

Overseas spree
I used to order but i realised that i seem to always order wrong size, or the fit is not too good, or the material is lousy. Maybe i am picky but still prefer to walk into a shop and try and buy.

Have not bot any CNY clothes yet although it is almost 2 weeks to CNY. Am feeling so tired and the shopping malls are so crowded i feel like throwing up again!!

Yesterday I went to botanic gardens to walk and all the smell just made me feel so bad....yikes!

hi Hew Chen,
did your gynae manage to find out? mine is come and go.. are u constipating??

one question.. do u ladies feel like eating rice? i simply don't like to have it...

The horrendous ones only. Local company? Small company? They wan to save $$ ma.

Not all la. I got a new job at 5th month (contract 1 year) and they gave me 12 weeks maternity ... that was a vv good offer. It was a miracle.

If they mean, dun have to try to please them, just take your benefit first ... cos they dun care even if your baby or you are not doing well.

Know your privilege. He cannot make you quit if you are at least 6 months(6 months) with the company - can go complain them at MOM. U are entitled to your maternity and also your hospitalisation, medical leave.

HewChen,

Feel so angry for you. Your boss really no ethics. Is it a small company? My boss is ok, very supportive. That's why I am reluctant to leave the company cos i know my boss is pro-family. Altho i am quite sian abt my job and may leave after this pregnancy, but my life is bearable here. Your boss got kids or not?

Snow,
My tummy is only bulging out more during evening so still sticking to my normal pants…but dun think can last too long liao…hahaha…Rbr my tummy only showed at 20 weeks when preggie with my gal lor, guess 2nd pregnancy really show faster.

Shay,
I have been drinking bubble tea at least twice a week leh…guilty…

Twin Stars,
Ya, my mom oso said no tea and cold drinks but I never behave when outside…guilty again…

Lindsay,
Dun mention, just sharing good buys. :p Oh, my gal is attending piano lessons on every Sat. She is 4yo this year.

Yup, agree shipping charges are indeed very high although the US exchange rate is favourable.

Dongle,
At least, your tummy is showing all day, mine is not there in the day but out in the evening, makes dressing up for work a headache in the morning…sian

Hewchen,
Your boss is indeed too much. You must consider how to continue working for such a boss if you stay throughout your pregnancy. Will he try to make things difficult for you to make you resign afterall?

RTCP,
Recommended to shop during weekdays instead coz weekend crowds are TERRIBLE at the malls. :p

HewChen,
Depends on whether u can take him anymore not ... but remember to weight your options ... but for now, take your rest first .. dun stress too much.

I can imagine how stressful it can be now --- on how mean they are to you esp when u are pregnant. We are more emotional now .... so, jus keep your cool, stabilise your baby first then take the next step. When it happened to me, I was also spotting.

hewchen,
i agree with the rest of the MTBs here... take hospitalisation leave and MC and rest... dun care about what your boss says... the baby is yours, not his... if he really so heartless, write to forum/PMO etc and embarrass him... so shameless!!! in the mean time, dun think about him and rest well...

Jaymickey,
I dun like to eat rice too, will puke all out.
My mum still complained that I dun eat house cook food, she think I dun like her cooking. =P

<font color="0000ff">HewChen</font>
Actually that time when I had bleeding, my gynae asked me to admit to hospital immediately. and I 'guai guai' listen to him (also my hubby and my mom insist I stayed in hospital also). I stayed for 2 nights. During the stay, it is really complete rest. I didn't get out of bed for the 1st day (except to go toilet), didn't even bathe :p. Even brush teeth, the nurse will bring bowl to my bedside for me to rinse. I was so bored and wanted to go home the 2nd day but my gynae don't allow. My gynae said impossible for me to get bed rest at home, unless I have a maid to serve me in every single detail like the nurses.

But you have no more bleeding (no red) now, right? just brown spotting now only, right? Then I think that's not so serious bah. Like the others said, just take MC and rest at home. But, if touchwood, got see red again, I think you just listen to your gynae's advice.
But I agree with the others, don't quit. Cannot let your boss take advantage of you being preggie. If you unwell, just take MC or hospitalisation leave.

Snow74..
Ya ya... every thing at home just doesn't look good.. see already, want to puke.. but i am living with my MIL, so have to eat abit.. but good thing my MS is not very serious.. just nausea.. havent come out yet..

hewchen
dun stress ok...else will be worse.
take MC first.
like wat the other mummies say, some hosp stay only 2-3days, surely u need not resign becos of that...

Jaymickey... she was in fact expecting it! Goodness...! before the spotting occur, she had alrready advise me to watch out for any spotting...

Shint,
I've worked there for >13yrs! I don't know wat's their motive but now i think they are over-reacting. Is the economy slowing down? That's why they tried to cut down costs..

RTCP,
My boss have three boys, each yr one le. But he said he'll never share his family issues nor photos here in the company. Even if there's any 1 asking abt his family photos.. he'll just mentioned..."will invite you when there's any festive season...

M2B,
During my first pregnancy... not so serious le.. Boss is also kind and considerate but now, change drastically...

I've not yet tell my hubby abt the spotting yet... He's very stress also nowadays.

during the vaginal scan.. she saw the sac and advise that the implantation area is very low... (lower abdomen) she had already mentioned... light light and slow movement ONLY... And pass me her personal contact number during the my 1st appt w her liao....

HewChen,
Dun stress over what your boss does or thinks now (although I know it is difficult), priority is complete bed rest and wait for the spotting to go away. My best friend was ordered bedrest for a week due to spotting too and after that, she was ok liao but of coz REALLY must bedrest.

Listen to your gynae and if need be, stay in the hospital for total care. Cheer up!

Meanwhile, just hope that I won't see red and now comtempulating if i should turn up to work tmr! b'cos I've only call gynae up and didn't apply for MC officially... Later my boss find excuse to SACK me.. then WORSE!

HewChen,
One can be sack only if they disappear without reason for 3 continuous number of days ( i think) .... but if you get hospitalised and inform your boss ... (offically if possible, if not, then sms or call), then he cannot sack u la.

How can one apply leave, say, if one goes to see gynae and needs to be hospitalised immediately.
Last time, I went late afternoon and was ordered to be hospitalised immediately .... so how to apply leave? * I was with new company only 2 weeks then kenna 2 weeks MC liao - paiseh.

HewChen, ya, agreed with the rest, dont resign, take your hospitalisation or mc first. If he dares to fire you, report your company to MOM. Think you definately got a case. I read somewhere more than 80% of cases were in favour of the mothers. Alternatively talk to your HR or your boss's boss and told them what your boss has told u. See what they say and observe where is their standing.

In the mean time, dont stress over this, your health is more important than anything. Rest well and take care, k.

HewChen, just make a trip down to ur gynae tomorrow 1st thing in the morning.. let her check and get the MC from her.. then dun bother abt ur inhuman boss...

Shint, luckily my boss is not the DA LAO BAN yet! ha!

In fact, my boss is not 'very well liked' by my big boss.. I know all the higher level bosses too. But likewise, the higher the position u r in. the more difficult to communicate with yr HR department...

Thanks! Jaymickey... will do that tmr... hope the gynae will give me "MC dated yesterday"!

Appreciate and thanks all mtb's concern and blessings... so lucky to have known all of you...

hope that u have a gd wkend.

hi hewchen,

like the rest of the mummies's suggestion, go see ur gynae 1st thing in the morning tomorrow. go get MC.. spotting needs to rest one...

hi shint,

like u, my pregnancy with my #1 is smooth-sailing but for #2 now, it's a world difference....

Welcome all new mummies. I notice got a few new faces will u like to provide ur details to add on to the list?

Hewchen, I dun think u should resign.

Hewchen,
I also think you shouldnt resign, why so 'pian yee' that stupid boss??? If he fire you then report to MOM! I experienced brown spotting since preggie till 8-9 weeks, had injection every week!!!

Shint,
Are you in 2nd trimester already? Pills for second trimester onwards:
Fish Oil (DHA &amp; AA) - NeuroGain
Multi-vit - Oblimin
Calcium pill - Calcidan

Tiffany,
Oscar or DS test is more crucial for women > 35 and normally gynae will insist them to do. However, I studied an article from internet that 80% of the children with DS were born by women < 35 as they do not do the test so did not aware of this before the kid was born.

HewChen

How can your boss be so mean? He not married is it? Anyway, like everyone here said, why should you quit and make him happy?

But hor...personally, I think you should take your gynae's advice and rest in hospital. You mentioned you got alot of things to do at home before CNY, which means you won't be resting if you are on MC and staying at home. So for your baby's sake, if gynae still say you should stay in hospital, then do so.

Twinstar..
I thought of going for amnio test straightaway coz I think my risk factor will be high lor...both husband and I are above 40.
If go for OSCAR test, come out high risk...will worry..then go for amnio test...will also worry again. So spend longer time worrying. But I know amnio test more risk...sigh...

krmeow,

oscar result quite fast 3 days, u have to check yr side take how long. amino is more painful and carries risk so most of the gyanes advice patients to go oscar first before deciding to to amino but maybe u can ask yr gynae for advice.
all the best! i postphoned my oscar till next wk cos i wanna wait alittle longer to see my baby more clearly

Rayna, I have pm u

Little twin stars, thanks for the info on Topshop leggings. Just wonder which Topshops carry maternity wear?

Snow, the shipping cost can be quite ex, unless u have someone to share the shipping cost with you. They charge based on volumetric and not actual weight, which can be substantially more than the actual weight if the merchant happen to use a large packaging. I kena extra 5 kgs before, which was about SGD50!

For those interested in hotsling, you can refer to www.hotslings.com. The local supplier only carry the following design:

Prices and Sizing
S/N Description SKU # Price (SGD)
01 Tokyo Stretch Cotton Sateen SC-TOK 65.50
02 Reversible Eye Candy REV-CAN 82.50
03 Reversible Ingrid REV-ING 82.50
04 Pink Shimmer SC-PKD 65.50
05 Sweet Pea SC-SWP 88.50
06 Zoie SC-TUR 88.50
07 Ana Stretch Sateen SC-ANA 88.50
08 Sage Green SC-SGR 65.50
09 Pink Ecru Paisley SC-PPA 65.50
10 Quinn stripe SC-QUI 65.50

Price shown are before the 15% discount.

1211455.jpg

lindsay,

i got from topshop normal range, no need maternity cos already so stretchable. their maternity range very limited. think wisma is better.

Hi Hewchen and the rest of gals who have spotting,

I had 3 occasions of slight "stains", and thought my menses were coming. I'm testing to check if I'm pregnant soon. My 1st pregnancy, I never had this issue.

What exactly is spotting? Does it mean you see "stains" often?

good morning all

went for NT scan last night...wow...my bb was SO active during the intial scan it was so funny!..bb was like doing a headstand (according to gynae) n hand was waving up n down, like rubbing nose or picking the nose like that..and theleg also kick here and there..haha..so funny...then i think bb realised someone watching cuz the scan must press a bit of the tummy, so bb quieten down...pretend not to move..heehee...so cute...i never knew the bb was so active in my tummy...till i saw the scan..it makes me feel my puking is worth it when i see the active bb..
..i was smiling all the way home ...scan showed DS low risk...everything seemed fine...just that i double checked with gynae why i still throwing up..he also think a bit strange..thought i got urinary infection...i say dun have pain leh when peeing..then he said perhaps its my body system still cannot adjust to the preganancy...my SIL was trying to console me that the more i vomit , the better, means lower risk of miscarriage and bb is growing stronger..dunno true a not not but if i think like that..makes me feel better about the vomiting too...last nite also had a jab for the influenza..$65! wah so ex..last nites visit cost me $330! faint..so ex...bought multivits and calcium pills..but gynae said to take slowly..if still puking then dun take first..
last nite before i slept ..vomitted again..got heartburn..wah...so uncomfy..and cannot sleep..i might take half day today to go home and rest...