(2008/06) June 2008

Lengleng,
Thanks. If we get a maid, then will probably not send Lil ZuEn to CC le, but take the playgroup, nursery, Kindergarden route.
By the way, anybody knows if nursery and kindergaren will be cheaper than CC? To get a maid will stretch us financially. Haiz..

Feifei,
So confusing and tiring hor. Think I must sit down with my hb and think thru'.

Lengleng,
I thinking of employing a maid cos I find it very tiring now to have to take care of the baby after a long day's work and during the weekends. That is especially when my hb works on almost every weekends and PH and goes on rotational night shift. Then things get worse when somebody in the family falls sick. My mum is my baby's main caregiver now. She also helps out with my bro's 2 girls. Everybody gets no rest. So I tot maybe a maid will help.

feifei, buttercup,
Can tell me more about the positive tots' trial?
I tot of bringing Lil ZuEn for trial again. What did you all do? Do you all think it is good?
Anybody sign up?

zuen,
Ya lor, i tink n tink til bery confusing lor..I can understand how u feel lor..getting a maid if your finanacial permits is good cos they can help u with hsework and take care of ur kids, but hor, if unlucky, might get those maids bery problemetic type. I tink it really depends on luck de..

Positive tots huh? Not bad leh..poky,myself and buttercup signed up for 9th Jan class le...3 of us will form a class so it will be fun =)..U come join us lor...Hmmm, we hv songs, some music and exercise, and some positive encouragements for our kids, then lastly is phonics lor... Charlotte enjoys it alot, thats y i wan to sign her until she goes cc in March lor =)...come lah..

Lengleng,
Tks alot for the infor...Wat will we do without u here...hee =)...

Hi zuen,
I've seen babied & toddlers who are brought up by parents, maids, grandparents, infant/childcare,
they are all very different.

Unless your maid is those who'll talk & love children,
else without simulation, a child will be left with toys/TV at home.

Maybe can try those once/twice a week part-timers who'll do household chores for you.

It's very true that having a maid will reduce much physical strain,
but there are some maids who can add more stress to you,
it's a gamble lah...

But at the end of the day, when your kids are really close to you & you know them very well,
when they are upset or angry, they'll share with you instead of the maid....
IT'S PRICELESS...

Whatevery choice you make,
do discuss with your hubby & mum,
they'll sure give you more suggestions.
3 brains are better than 1.

feifei

The big board books cost $24. Small one cost $18. If u have MPH member card, u can get extra discount. Or can wait for MPH sale.

Zu En

If u put at PAP nursery and kindergarten, it will be cheaper. I tink around $100++ per mth. CC easily $300-$500 per mth after subsidy.

I feel that maid can only be caretaker but at CC, they learn more I tink.

However my friend has an alternative view, she feel that CC is a waste of time bec' they use up a lot of time to bathe/feed etc whilst time for learning is not so much, therefore she prefer to put at those 2 hrs nursery class which she tink is more worth for money.

Ellysia,
Tks for the infor...No wor, i dun hv MPH card..hmm..

I find cc is good cos kids can mingle ard and be more socialable and learnt to share...=)..I hope char can speak aft she attend cc..hee

Lengleng,
TKs =)...

I have a Red BN Sony Vaio VGN-P25 pocket pc to sell away. Got this during my company's dinner & dance 2wks ago..Do let me know if u are keen ya..tks..Since we same forum de, will sell cheaper lor..hehe..Tks

feifei

My colleague say her kid learn to say "I dun want", "this is mine!" and learn to snatch toys since her kid attend CC...

Hi ZuEn,
Are u feeling better now?
My baby also down with fever, cough, sorethroat, runny nose during the Christmas holidays. It was terrible =(

You are welcome to join us!
But Poky is now organising the actual lessons so I dun have all the details. Only know our first lesson is on 9th Jan at 4.15pm at Tanglin shopping center. Eve is joining us that lesson as a trial also, the last i read. =)

For that trial we went, We motivated and build up confidence of the kid through songs and actions. There was phonics section whereby the teacher taught one alphabet and words with that pronounciation through cards, songs and actions. The teachers also shared a bit with us parents how to talk positively to our kid.
Like i kept saying Randall is shy...the teacher tell me to say Randall is not comfortable with the new environment yet.

feifei, buttercup,
The class will be in tanglin shopping center? Ahh.. that is out of the way. If my hb has to work late on Sat, I will have to bring the baby on my own to the class. I hate Orchard during weekend. Haiz..

Lengleng,
We considered CC too. I almost signed Lil ZuEn up with one CC already but found that we are really very stretched (in manpower) now. When I work late, which I usually do, it is really back breaking to take care of her after a long day's of work. It is worse during weekends when my hb works and when he is on night shift. Putting her in CC doesnt solve the problem.

Moreover, if we really enrol her in CC, which is opposite our flat, we will have to send her there at 7am before rushing to work. The timing doesnt really fit in too. Haiz. So thinking of sending her to playground and nursery instead and the maid to take care of her before and after playgroup/ nursery lor.

Ellysia,
If we dun send her to CC, then I am targeting nursery and kindergaten at nearby churches. Hehe.

Buttercup,
Yup, staying in Jurong West. I am looking at 3 churches currently. Haven really explore.
Jurong Christian Church - pre-nursery starts at 2.5YO
Faith Kindergarten (Faith Methodist Church) - pre-nursery starts at 2.5YO too.
Jurong Calvary Church - Kindergarten starts at 4 YO only.

Any other that I can consider? Hehe.

Lengleng,
Hmm.. Of course we would like her to be taken care by family if possible lah. But our current arrangement is bad, especially during weekends when my bro's kids dun have to go CC. Every weekend is like fighting a war. Hoho. Then, it leaves no chance for abnormalities. The adults cannot fall sick, cannot attend to emergencies, etc. So lor.

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
Hmm...I tink its better than my ger now, when she dun wan, she say mai in hokkien..hee.

ZuEn,
I see...but the class is interesting lor..

Feifei,
Maybe I will bring her to a trial class in Square 2. Tanglin shopping center is really quite out of the way, a loooonnng walk from Orchard MRT wor. Gg to Orchard at 4+ kills. Gg home after that is no better. Hohoho. I am a lazy mummy. ;p

buttercup

MPH i tink there is an outlet at shenton way, another at novena square. and i tink town maybe have also.

Btw amazon also sell.. if u want to order through amazon spree.

Buttercup,
Not sure if it helps, but I saw Carrefour selling Usborne books as well so u may want to check it out. And there's MPH at centrepoint.

zuen,
it's good for kids to play & fight together isn't it? hehe...
It's quite a war zone when our 3 meet my brother's 3 at my mom's 3rm-flat during the weekends.

Don't be afraid of asking help from friends, neighbours or relatives,
sometimes others will like to help,
but dare not offer.

Lengleng,
It is nice for the kids to play together but their age gap is very close. My bro's girls are 4 YO and 2 YO. My is 1.5 YO. So we are constantly running after the kids. It will be wonderful if they can just play on their own behind closed doors while I sit and watch TV + sip kopi. I must be dreaming. Hoho.

My mum has been complaining of feeling tired recently. She said that she's "working" non-stop trying to handle household chores to looking after my kid, then my bro's kids. No rest at all. It had been like that since their maid left and I dun see things getting beta wor. I mean the kids cant suddenly start taking care of themselves mah and my mum will only grow older.

zuen,
my kids & my brother's...
Mine's 2 (18mths), 4, 6,
my brother's 3, 5, 7

hehehe....
So for that 5-6 years, either me or my SIL is pregnant... ho ho ho

Maybe my mum's more kampumg style,
we just let them run around the house,
my SIL will be screaming after her kids,
I'll be watching TV + sip herbal tea my mum made...

My MIL take care of only 1 kid (my boy) and is ored complaining that she cannot tahan and cope liao. My SIL not married yet, last week blurt out that my MIL may not want to take care of No 2 if there is any. Dunno is it I am sensitive or real, i feel that SIL is not v happy, maybe tink tat we over tax MIL. I ask my MIL to bring ah boy to and fro CC by taking bus or even taxi, she also not willing say need to climb up and down and her knee not good. So have to find CC with transport which narrow down my list a lot thus i still cannot find a suitable CC yet. I see other uncles v old liao, walk slowly still can bring their grandkids up and down bus and back home from CC. My FIL family rich, my MIL pampered liao need to have taxi or car when going out one.

When my boy get sick, either me or my hb has to take leave to take care also, cos only my MIL can take care and FIL or SIL can't do full time 'caretaker'. Then, she go holiday 2 times per year, me and hb used up 20 days leave for her holiday. End up now i only left 2 days leave from tis year. i didn't even dare to take leave to watch movies with my hb.

No time to do housework, i sometimes take leave to do spring cleaning and massive cleaning. during weekends will only do simple cleaning. Laundry and cooking ah boy meals i oso do myself, no maid lor. sometimes i tink work v tired liao, go back home need to take care ah boy then weekend no rest too. but if see ah boy smile and v cute, will feel its worth it.

Ellysia,
heh heh...my unmarried SIL also,
talk & complain only, does NOTHING...
Over the years, I learn to ignore her comments.

There was once she says her mum (my MIL) is tired looking after our kids,
I told her, if she's tired, ask her to tell me,
I don't need a middleman to inform me,
my MIL who was around kept quite...

Ellysia,
I think I lazy mummy niah. Hoho, that's why looking for a maid. I think an extra pair of hands will give us all some breathing space.
If the issue can be resolved by spending $$, I guessed we should even if we will be stretched financially. Maybe it is selfish thinking, but after working all these years, I sometimes feel that we shouldnt just slog at work and taking care of kids. By the time the kids grow up, then we also old liao. But of course I am not saying that we should throw the kids to somebody else to take care totally, just that a balance lor.
We only have one lifetime niah.

zuen, ellysia, lengleng,

Its easy to give birth, but hard to take care of babies. That is why I drop the idea of number 2. Even with helpers...they are not the solution to all problems. They might even create more problems for you. I hired a maid in July, first 3 months okay, then she start to act smart.

Things she done to Reanne without consulting me even though I am at home.

- wanted to feed reanne fever med just because she feels warm to her!

- reduced reanne milk feed because she poop too many times in a day!

She does things her way...and I have to constantly remind her that I am her mother...not you!

ZuEn,
check this out:
Grace House Kindergarten
Grace Assembly of God
1 Bukit Batok West, Ave 4
Singapore 659125
4TH FLOOR.

URL: http://www.gracehouse.com.sg/index.html

Grace House Kindergarten is an
associate early childhood educator
of Raffles House Preschool,
an independent premier school

I saw their artwork, amazing and creative! Thinking actually to send my son over there instead but that means my mum needs to take bus and i dun really want her to do that...

Is bukit batok too far for you?

Janiviy,
Wah, so scary. That is my fear too, about getting a not good maid. But I still want a no. 2 though. Provided that I managed to conceive lah. Hoho.

Buttercup,
Sob! Too far. I am in JW. If go to Bukit Batok, must take MRT and change train at JE somemore.
Thanks anyway!

jan

to the maid, tis is her job lor.. not her family.

Leng Leng

ya hor, my MIL didn't say she dun want to take care of no 2 leh..
in fact previously she ask me when is no 2 going to be.. although nowadays if i mention no 2 she will keep quiet.

although last time my MIL tot we are going to send ah boy to full day CC from 18mths so she tot can rest by then, but now we asking her to extend her help to nursery (will be going for half day nursery by then) even though she will be moving house also.

My tinking is MIL may not be v willing but she also love my boy also.. so maybe its conflicting for her too.

Actually i keep saying no 2 but practically it seems harder and harder.. the financial constraint is one thing, also if MIL cannot help to take care then it means infant care + child care for 2 kids which will be v expensive. Then i still need to take care of my own parents plus my brother who got depression and cannot work. Then my own health also not v good plus now still breastfeeding.

My colleagues a lot keep telling me to plan for no 2 now that ah boy is 18mths liao, but i am tinking to see after he turn 3yrs old.

Buttercup,

Think my boy same as your boy. i thought he is shy too. now realise he needs a long time to "warm up"... hope he will like the positive tots class. =) so as to join u all in the actual coming classes!

hi janiviy,zuen, ellysia, lengleng,

im also planning to stop at 1. mil complains shes very tired taking care of my boy. ( even though theres a maid to help out at home) and she told my hubby she dont feel like looking after now but no choice. =(
and even tell my maid she dont wish to come when my boy starts to talk?
( dont know why she has to tell maid such things)
so now desperately looking for a cc... sigh...so reluctant to put him there..but maybe its a good step also. can learn more things in school.
i always envy those with mil who really take care n love the grandchildren wholeheartedly...
on the other hand cant blame them too coz i also cannot tahan taking care of my boy over the weekends.. i still prefer working =P hehe

Eve

I agree with u i sometimes envy people got old folks who can help wholeheartly, but sometimes i also tink its my own kid so i have to take care of him also, not other people kid lor.

Eve,
You just said what I always feel. Most of the times, I prefer to work. I was so glad to come back to after after my ML and after my one week's chicken pox MC. I think I will go crazy if I stay at home with my girl for too long a period. Hoho. I always feel that I am such a bad mummy for feeling this way.

ZuEn
No lah, not bad mummy.
Guess we are the kind who must strike a balance between work and home bah.
I always thought i can be a homemaker. told my hubby how i wish i can stay at home to tkc of my boy ( if financial allow) but now i eat back my words. hee

Zu En

for us working mum, its v difficult to stay at home take care of kid whole day. Even when i need to take leave for 2 weeks (x 2 times per year) when my MIL go hol, i also cannot tahan liao. tolerance level go down to zero lor.

Eve

We can be homemaker if we got maid and elderly to help to supervise, then is really tai tai life lah. If no maid and one person handling kid, how to manage.

Tats why my MIL complain i oso let her be.. she want to go hol, i complain behind her back but never in front..

Ellysia,

Actually i wish to have a number 2 too, 1 child very lonely loh. but no choice, only if my mil is encouraging and supportive enough.
Like what you said, if 2nd one comes out = infant care plus cc. plus if got a maid then how to sustain.
dilemma

Eve,
I told my Hb that I want to be a homemaker but he must 1st employ a maid for me. Lol!
He said that I have to wait until he earns our combine salary, then he can fulfil my dream. By then, I think I old liao.

Ellysia,
It is? I see my friends who are FTWM oso can survive with their kid leh. Only I always try to escape. That is why I always feel I lousy mummy and I totally salute SAHM who take care of their kids themselves. I think that is harder than working. When I brought my girl to Melbourne for holiday, I even lost weight. Super hard work. LOL!

Feifei,
on my way to pick my boy up now.
He cried today when we brought him to the cc guess cos after long break. This week another short week.

Soon it'll be char's turn.

Ellysia, eve,
my MIL also hinted she's tired even tho there's maid. Me also not sure to have #2 or not. We sending maid back in June so if really have #2 will have to rely on infant care.

ZuEn,
Hope u sort out your childcare arrangement soon. Have u shortlisted ur maid yet? With your current arrangement, it sure sounds quite rushed for time for everyone.

Tera,
why u sending your maid back? Not intending to have one already?
I also dont really like the idea of maid. but no choice maid has to takecare of my boy. actually my mil just "supervise" the maid. so i thought should be quite easy for her.. but she still feel tired loh. so i supp is she needs freedom bah.

taking care of kids really not easy lor, i can identify with whatever is shared here also...that's why i salute my mum...she takes much better care of my boy than i take care of my own son....in fact when my boi was down with fever, she more gan cheong than me....
but i guess i am lucky, she does it without complain lor....willingly and out of her heart one.....that one i am really grateful to her...and she has no maid at the moment and she is almost full time taking care of my nephew at the same time. Cause my nephew stays with her 24X7.

I was also telling my hb that coming back to work after 3 days of getting stuck at home with a sick and crying baby feels like a good break! :p

Buttercup
You are the lucky one!
How i wish my mum can take care of my boy.
but she has to work...sigh
i always thought own mother is always easier to discuss with.
sometimes i will put my boy at my parents place over the weekends..then me and hubby go rnr =P

Eve,
i really am grateful to have a mum who loves kids wholeheartedly lor....

ZuEn,
me also work late...that time when my boi was still young we actually put him in infantcare...den it was very tiring for us also, cause wholeday work, at night can't have a nice dinner as baby is with us and can be cranky, den need to settle him and put him to bed, den its housework time.....very tiring...