(2008/06) June 2008

ioio,

Which street or ave at amk?

mog,

yah heng u take our advice and call dr wong early.

Kelcqi,

yah cannot take out liao. nevermind, let it stay there lor, until really v pain then see how. i really dun like to remove both rings bec they have great significance value.

i hope i can dong another 7 weeks more.

TF, wah piang, then really is the taxi driver fault. Stupid taxi driver also. Yesterday I also got a shock, I think my bb also. So sianz one lei, nowadays the stupid taxi driver, so reckless. I make sure I claim every cent I spent at the clinic back.

babycupid,

Actually my mum been complaining on doing confinement for me.. hope she can manage to do it bec' old folks sometimes dun know wat is promise..promise liao then always change their mind.

i tink if my mum can't do confinement for me, i will try to do on my own with hb help, rather than get MIL. i really dun feel comfy communicating with MIL on such matters.

ellysia,
i think if do confinement on ur own super shiong leh..i've got a fren who did confinement on her own..n it's so shiong to her dat hor she was in depression during dat period of time lor..so better not lah..

Ellysia, trying not to get worked up also, hehe
At least today go down let Dr Wong checked, feel more at ease.

shycloud,

babyliner is used if u intend to use cloth diaper for ur newborn cos it can help to prevent baby's poo poo to stick to ur cloth diaper. I used to throw away whenever i change e cloth diaper for baby regardless of poo poo or urine but in e end i try to use again if baby only urine n not poo.

bizznow,
if u intend to total bf n use cloth diaper only then i thk 30pcs is just enough for 1.5days usage cos baby tends to poo many times if they r on total bf, n everytime they urine we also got to change them but cloth diaper tend to dry very very fast so u just need to wash every morn when u wake up n at nite b4 u go sleep then i think should be enough.

elaine,
i intend to totally bf is possible lah..cos more $$ saving mah..hehe..but if cannot then also bo bian..

dont try to do own confinement, is going to be a bad choice. During my #1,I did my own confinement for 2 weeks only and i suffered for it.
Is not easy and is going to affect ur health as well.

Ellysia,

I get what you mean. I also feel very weird not wearing my wedding band. But to me, I rather force it out than later having to saw it, I'll feel very heartpain.

Ellysia,

It's really gonna be very siong if you do confinement alone. How abt ordering confinement food tingkat and hiring a part time cleaner to help out?

bizzsnow

Yah i will try to persuade my mum lah.

she has the habit when she is frustrated or she quarrel with me, she will throw temper and say she dun want to help me liao etc.

last time when for my customary we also argue argue one. used to it liao. but i tot i tink of someting as back up le.

Ellysia,
try the ones at Giant, really super big size,i also very fleshy, big butt, and need big ones, the XXL is like maternity ones, somemore, there is samples for you to gauge the size b4 you buy

Ellysia
Y nt ask yr mum how willing is she in doing the confinement in 1st place. And also tell her u scared if she change her mood, u r the one suffer under her promise. See wat she say. At least if later she really change mood, she remember your words to her.
Was advice tat even if we are so free n no pain, we still have to lie on bed and nt move around to much. So pls dun do yr own hsehold matters during confinement. Else next time suffer person is ourselves

Ellysia,
ask ur mum at least help u cook lor...for my case during my 1st confinement i ask my mum to come over my place during e day to cook for me although i'm staying with my MIL cos e food tat MIL cooks dont suit my taste..heehee then my mum sometimes help me to bath e baby other than tat i do my own washing of baby's stuff using e washing machine n hubby do help with e hanging. i remember tat time my boy cant latch on my breast at all cos of short nipple so i got to pump out e milk n feed him. although is more tendious but at least i manage to pull through until my boy turns 1 month old then he manage to latch on my breast..... Wat i feel is tat at least u get someone u like to accompany u during e first 1 month whether how much e person can help doesnt really matter cos she already can give u e mental n moral support unlike having someone who will only pour COLD water on u tat will make us feel more stress up.....
tis time round my mum will also be coming to cook for me at e same time i have a maid who can look after my boy so i hope life will be better....

Kelcqi,

Hmm.. if need to do c-sect hor, lets say emergency c-sect, we need to remove the rings right?

Then if the ring stuck then jiat lat..

Btw, do the swell reduce after giving birth? if so i ren since its only 7 weeks more to EDD?

Ellysia,
dont worry too much.... taking care of a baby is not really so so difficult, try to enjoy those special moments if need any help/enquiry can always log in here n we will share our experiences.... actually looking after a newborn is much easier than looking after a toddler cos newborns tend to sleep most of e time.

ellysia,

I think is not good for ur blood circulation oso if your ring is too tight on ur finger leh. Is better to out now while still can.
I remember the swelling will take times to reduce oso.

Ellysia,

I agreed with TF and catcus. If your mum is unwilling, forcing her will only make yourself more frustrated during your confinement. No point making yourself and your mum unhappy together.

My mum also unwilling to do for me, she said at most she help me with cooking only. MIL out of the question, cos she prolly drove me to suicide if she does confinement for me. So I decided to engage a CL and stay with the CL at my mum's place. Solve everyone's problem once and for all.

Have you consider hiring a Confinement Lady to help out? Cos seriously doing confinement alone not only very damaging to your own body, but to your physical health as well. Esp after delivery we're very pro to post natal depression, I definetely don't wish to see you getting depression becos of all these.

Ellysia
Ha, talking abt hubby helping. Just 2 days ago, I tested my hubby if he got read childcare book that he holding one n he says yes. Knwing he bluff me, i tested him hw he will clean his son's penis n the 1st thing he said was to pull the foreskin dwn. I immediately told him he fail already loh..haha

Cos i told him to take leave to help in the confinement wif my mum since no CL. So after he fail the test, i told him looks like u handle the kitchen and household part n my mum handle the baby..haha.. then he say no no, then i better handle the baby. So hope he gwai gwai go n read, which i also not going to put much hope. Just tat I have to gv instructions n borrow his hands only.

elaine,

dun worry even if my mum do confinement for me, she is also not cooking for me. i will be booking confinement food no matter wat.. intend to book late this mth cos can enjoy 5% discount if book 1 mth early.

cactus,

wat my mum do is.. when she ask me for certain things and i say no or wat, sometime she will threaten and say wait she cannot my confinement for me liao.

then me and her always quarrel one, i also worried if she stay with me, dunno whether good for my mental health or not.

in fact i had several contractions before of our quarrels.

then my younger bro has minor depression also so my mum is quite concern for him tats why my bro is coming over with her for confinement and my mum feel ma fan cos got to accomodate to my bro too.

Actually mum said she want to start staying over when i took my advance ML at home so that she can help call cab or wat when i face labour pains. I have second thoughts bec' i always quarrel with her, dunno will worsen my peace rest at home or not.

Ellysia,

I think when we enter the delivery suite, we have to remove everything else. Not only Emergancy C-sec. Cos my friend told me she had to remove her ear rings, necklace, braclet and the ring. They'll usually ask you to remove and hand it over to your hubby if I'm not wrong.

Erm, I dunno if your ring stuck, will they still make u remove?

Also, like initially when my mum ask me where i doing confinement, i told her at her place. So she assume she was the one going to do for me since i already mentioned her place. But I also tested her saying i will engage a confinement lady. Or do catering to ease her work. Then she say dun need cos CL got no place to sleep n catering food nt nutritious. Then i ask her if she really can cope, she say ok. So least i explore all i have to her so tat she cannot later turn around say she xinku lah.

Kelcqi,

is it? shucks i hate to remove the rings.. even for manicure massage when they ask me to remove i always feel upset.

I dunno whether the rings ored cannot remove for some time liao or only recently.

If really need to remove at labour ward, tink i better practice with soap and see can remove or not.

TF,

WAHH haaa.. did yr hb attend any pre-natal class with u or not. bb boy cannot remove foreskin one lah.

Ellysia,

Don't let your mum's issue cause you preterm contractions. Not worth it.

That's why really suggest if really can, do it without her help since she's not easy to deal with, esp all the threatenings can really put u in deep stress. You'll really appreciate it that once you survive your confinement without her help, she will have less things to say about you...

Ellysia
Ya loh, i knew he gonna say tat base on his own experience mah. So tat was my first qn n he fail. Anyway subsequent qn all fail. No, he cant attend cos he nt in S'pore. Tat y i told him i will pass book for him to read then he say no need. So i test him loh. So next week when he back, i going to make him brg back the Mrs Wong childcare book at least.

Ellysia,
Kelcqi is right, need to remove all accessories when in the delivery suite. My coll also told me same thing. I have already stopped wearing my wedding band a few mths back once I started feeling it get tighter.

Kelcqi,

I struggle with both rings and finally got them out... phew!!

wedding band is still not so bad, i tink can still take in and out. the other ring took me great effort to take out. so wat i do now is i put the other ring at another smaller finger heee... so that both rings are still with me

Kelcqi,

Yah so last weekend, i told mum i need a break so didn't meet up with her.. cos every week we will meet up.

My hb is worried i quarrel with her during confinement so he has decided to take leave during the 1st week so that he can help out and mitigate if needed.

TF,

My hb didn't read the childcare book, he only attend the class with me.

Tera,

In this case if need to remove at delivery suite, i guess i ask hb to keep for me then help to put back both rings for me lor.. since both rings he put on for me one.
one ring is wedding band, the other ring is my hb gave me when we started dating, both got meaning.

Ellysia, Tera,

My wedding band is 1 size bigger actually. Cos that time the gal told me to get it at a size bigger so that pregnant time still can wear. I didn't expect my fingers to swell so much until from loose, becomes hard to remove. I put soap to remove n I kept it aside liao, cos I scare later really cannot take out n have to saw it. I sure very heartpain one.

Ellysia,
U mean you really nv remove your ring to wash or when you do housework ah? I always change my ring from left to right, right to left. Cos I have ezcema, sometimes I scare wear too long no ventilation later get rashes. Haha...

Ellysia,
Your relationship with your mum so bad ah? Everytime meet up sure quarrel type issit? My mum and I also quarrel at times, but most times is becos I feel that she too bias over my sis liao. Spoilt her rotten. That's why my sis always threaten my dad and mum when she can't gets her way. My sis is a real b*tch! Really buay tahan how she con my dad's money out from him...

TF, Ellysia,

Both of you your HBs still made efforts to read up. U know what my hubby said? He said all these don't need to read one, when the time comes, we'll surely know how to Hands on liao. *Pengz*

And he added, he not worried cos 1st mth got CL to help out, plus I have Early Childhood background before, his baby is in good hands. Buay tahan him, I intend to sabo him and make him bath baby next time! See how he gonna cope...

Kelcqi
U salah liao.. Mine didnt read. He also said exactly wat your hubby said..haha. I told he the least he could do is help in the confinement since he hasnt been ard during my pregnancy. He also said no problem, all these so simple. So i test him loh. Then after, i test him, he can still test me back. When i hit the right answer, he said, What?? u really read everythg n so prepared. And also say lucky have me n baby in good hands too. Ha..MAN! Me too, going to watch him change nappy n bathe his son...haha

Ellysia,
U might wan to try get those disposable panties frm Giant or isetan or Metro..The brand name is " Impressions", its for expectant mummy de..bery comfy and soft...I bot 7packs liao..each pack of 5...

As for ring, i stopped wearing in my 5th mth cos all bloated up...

kelcqi,
My hb also dun read up one lor, only attended e annental class with me, but at least he learnt something there lor..hee

Mogudog,
Happy and glad to hear that everyting is ok, can fang xin liao lor =D.

Ellysia,
My tummy naturally go out when I breathe in leh and suck in when I breathe out leh. Scratch head..

Kelcqi,
Nope, no pain for my fingers. I took out my wedding band long time ago. I cannot take it when the ring gets too tight. I will feel very uncomfortable. I like my wedding band alot, so I oso sian when I have to take it out.

Got to go, tok to you gers tomolo.

TF,

Haiz, MAN all alike one. Buay tahan. I made him go to my friend's baby 1st mth and my friend's MIL said the daddy bathed the baby. I turned and looked at him, he said no problem, he'll bath also. I can't wait to see him make a fool out of himself. :p

Wah, your hubby wrong still dare to test you ah? Haha... Mine, He dare not test me back cos he knows I really went to dig out materials to read and prepare myself. And he said, nvm loh, daddy don't know how to handle is ok, but daddy knows how to make money most important. Buay tahan the guys...

Feifei,

The ones you mention is pink and white in colours one rite? I think that is the one I saw. How come get 7 packs?

Feifei, at least your hubby learns something from the class, I waiting to see my hubby's performance since he said nappy changing, bathing all these very easy. Haha...

Zu-en, I don't mean the pain from the wedding bands leh. I mean pain at the joints. Esp the middle finger. Mine kinda hurts...

I only took out my ring this week. Still pain leh...

Kelcqi,

Yes i didn't remove the ring, will wash and sleep with it. my hb also same.

Not everytime will quarrel but everytime will bicker. last time b4 married quarrel so badly tat i always want to move into my new house soon. got 1 time i even went to my new house to sleep over few days. i cannot tahan her nag, me have quick temper and flare up easily if she nag me too much. then she also got some funny preferences, sometimes i cannot tahan. Then she always ask me to buy things for her and v last min, so we bicker over such things lor. haiz.

Babycupid,
Hahahhhaa….i can sound like tat cos wat I state here is quoted from her mah….she oreadi laid down her conditions liao as I insist on doing confinement at my own place. Mine case is old history in tis forum liao if u flipped back thru the archives. I went thru so much pain cos of confinement issue.

Diapers Discount: -
The discount on diapers was announce in the Straits Times early tis mth as an article stating tat there is a 30% across most of the diaper brands in the market, not oni Mama Poko for the entire mth of Apr 08. Actually tis is a good time to stock up but tat is provide we know which brand our bb is using n the size as well. If not no point stocking up on say Huggies n find that it so happen our bbs are sensitive to Huggies, then wasted liao. Also, we dunno how much of each respective size to stock up on anyway…just my tots….

Kelcqi
Man like pride, so I will praise him n guide him as he bathe n change nappy for baby. I must make him feel peacock abit so he will do more for me :p Else next time everythg i have to do if i criticize him too much while he learning. haha...

Zuen
Its true tat when one is relax, breathe in, stomach out, vice versa. But when one's is tense, its breathe in, stomach in, which is the wrong n unhealthy way. So most of time when we are sleeping, resting or relaxing, we do the right way with deep breathing. But when we are stress or tense, the we do short breath.

TF,

Haha, Very Li hai leh you. No lah, my hubby needs some "Da Ji" at times to work harder one. Must let him fail for himself to see so that he'll appreciate that all these don't come easy. Haha...

Ellysia,

Wah, looks like u and ur mum got quick temper. My mum also does alot of last min thing or tell me she want something, but buy back liao kanna nag or scolded. Very pek chek, But sometimes just let them be lah. Comparing your mum, my mum, they are still nothing compare to my MIL. After meeting this "Gao shou", I learn to appreciate my mum abit more liao. Haha...

Yesterday was supposed go to NTUC to check out the price but ended bringing my ger to pasar malam.
At pasar malam, passby by a coconut drink stall , thinking to buy one and drink but then later totally forgot liao.

Hi gers, it's Friday..

Me trying to take leave tomolo. Havent ask boss. ;p

kelcqi,
So late still awake? I already hit the bed at 9.30pm last night. Hehe. I am a pig. No leh, I dun feel any pain at the joints. Dun worry, we will be at the finishing line very soon.

TF,
Icic.. I think I must go and teach my hb on the deep breathing technique and asked him to remind me. The deep breathing is only during contractions huh? I oso read about panting. Why must pant huh?
Siao, I scared when the pain come, I just anyhow breathe and scream like mad women. ;p

Morning ladies..

Kelcqi,
u mean the disposable panties? its 5pc in a pack..so 7packs is 35pcs...going to wear for confinement and at hospital stay lor...hv afew pcs spare in case stained =D...really bery comfy..

Felicia,
Can helpme check out the price for Pampers and Mamy Poko(72pc)S diapers too if u going NTUC today? tks...Me bot 1 pack of Pampers NB and 1 pack of Mamy POko S Size liao...but if cheap, wan to stock up..

ZuEn,
hehe...i missed the BK boiler burger =D.