(2008/06) June 2008

Hi ZuEn,

I think I'm like you. Also want 2 children but won't push hard for it if it's not easy financially, emotionally or to conceive. baby cactus will be first grandchild in the family and first greatgrandchild in an extended family of over 20 people... so will be quite pampered.. I'm hoping to have 2 kids in quick succession cos now my work is still quite relaxing. after kids come, and after they have settled in school, hopefully I can make career my focus again.

ZuEn,

Fr morning till now, i was surfing the bintan website on and off. Will try to discuss with my hubby tomolo and see what is his respond. But another issue, is he hardly can on leave. Even the CNY, his leave was been rejected. So can only plan a short trip.

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

ya lor rose lor.. ok ok not recommended arh.. ok ok heng.. haha

eh when u trying the other one!!??</font>

Zuen.. same here.. Each time I feel a bit of pain in stomach I tell him and he will get a very stressed look and ask me want to rush down see gynae or not though it might be midnight... But I also want at least 2 kids.. maybe 2nd kid will just "force" it on him when he doesnt know im fertile period hahaha

Piyo.. the massage lady is at bt batok, need to go to her house and $30 for 60 min...maybe u can check with him? but yours seems cheaper leh, somemore come to your place and so long.. u try already let us know good or not? Im interested to go too...thanks thanks

roxy, wow u waited so long ah...was it on Sat? luckily i didnt wait dat long maybe cos i was there early since i had to bring my girl for her jab so after my DS, i waited abt 30-45mins b4 i see him. dat day he was oso stuck upstairs at the fertility clinic...think i was oso no. 2 or 3 in the queue so luckily waiting time not too bad...but i will try to schedule my appt on weekdays now to avoid long waiting time.

starmoon... no it was a normal Thur... But I think thurs are bad because he has a meeting on Thurs... we waited from 12... 1 plus 2 then managed to see him, then see him also very fast coz he like very rushed like that, alot of patients waiting outside for him... didnt really explain the DS results, just say everything is ok
Remember dun book a Thur appt again.. everything very packed on Thur

roxy....oh yah heard from the nurse b4 dat thursday is busy day...ok ok....shall remember not to schedule thursdays for appt. thanks for telling me.

Zu En,

It is not only travelling with milk bottles and diapers. Even if we put our young bb at home with caretaker/mother/MIL to take care, we will still feel uneasy and worried when travelling. Enjoyment level will be reduced.

I will suppose at least when bb is 1.5 years then can travel without worrying so much abt him.

Zu En,

so fast thinking about no 2?

For me I am most worried about the labour pains and possible risks and the part on taking care of the bb when he is born.

Maybe only 1 or 2 years time then will consider want to have no 2 or not.

My hb face turn green green tat day when i mention no 2. I tink he never consider abt how much financial bb can bring when he say he want to have a kid last time.

Cactus,
If you are looking at 2 kids with probably 2 years age gap, it will be a long while before they settled in school wor. If you are talking about primary school, it will be at least 9 years from now wor. By that time, too old to focus on career liao. Haha. I ever consider switching to a more relaxed job when I have a kid. Now, I am just taking things as they come.

Felicia,
Actually, Bintan not much things to do de, especially that we are preggy now. So 3D2N will be good enuff le. Too long and you might be bored.

Roxy,
My hb oso. When I got pain and cramps, he will be super kan cheong and asked me to see doc. Haha. I oso worried, but have to pretend that things are fine, cannot have 2 kan cheong people running around. Guessed it is bcos the journey wasnt too smooth in the beginning, hehe. Good to have a participating hb oso.

Ellysia,
1.5 years?? Aiyo, so long ah. How to tahan? Hehe, I not very young wor. This year 29 liao and I have problem conceiving. If I want a 2 to 3 years age gap, I think must start trying soon after this bb is born. ;p But of course, things are likely tp change after gg thru' labour. ;p
Hb oso want a 2nd kid. I think I will be the one who will be more relunctant than him. ;p

Zu En,

I am older than you by 2 years. This year turning 31 but i am dec born.

I planned for no 2 before age 35. But the next few years is cow and tiger year, actually not v compatible for me and hb bec' we are both snakes.

cactus,

Career may be around 5 years or longer. First 4 years is teething years i think.

Felicia,

I also kept waking up middle of night. Funny dreams also. Just dreamed went to a Tangs sale have to take off shoes before shop, then someone stolen my shoes and I dunno how to get the store pple to pay me back the shoes $$. So wu liao dream.

I am going IMM tomorrow for my most craving subway roastbeef sandwich. You wanna join me? If not, next Monday I am going IMM again for lunch. Let me know when you want to join me.

Morr, I also craving for massage. Booked a slot with my friend's mum who is a beautician who also know pre-natal massage. First time trying out her skills on 1st Feb after my Detail scan. Aching all over body, esp in office.

Morr, seems like if there is a reputable massage salon next door to your office, you sure pop in several times a day.

My friend's sis who working with their mum, asked me where I have aches so her mum will help me tackle those areas. hope she is ok, most probably will be 30mins. Now talking to you on massage, wish I can fly there to do it at once.

Me worst leh. Yesterday wanted to eat baked rice from pizzahut. called to order, they say my office invalid postage code, give blk no, also invalid, i flare up say like that i go hungry better dun want to order liao. So sad.

Office here like super ulu, even though located in good area. the Rustic N. that massage company, hq also in my office area, I wonder if their hq got salon to massage pple or not, if yes, then I will sign post natal massage with them, can pop by during lunchtime to massage cum sleep.

<font color="ff6000">huh? how come invalid postage code.. full of nonsense!!

call up to check? but think the locations are like in cuppage, cantontment, GlenE.. as of wat i can recall now</font>

Ellysia,

Me oso snake leh.
So, both of us r havin little mouse kid then become 'she su yi wo'. haha.....

Veniz,
I think i met u on next Monday at IMM. Normally wednesday is my most busy day as i need to submit some reports. Anyone want to join us?

It is confirmed that I am not a Thala carrier although my hubby is one. So relieved to hear that when the doc called me up ! Phew.
Really have a shock out of my life. I think all these shocks and worries is really bad for the baby.

pkdust, ya, good to hear its good news.

Felicia, ok, so I see you at IMM maybe when i reach there will be around 12.05pm. You wait for me ok? I will PM you my mobile no. U tell me wat you want to eat hor. I ok with any western food one, pepperlunch also can. :p

morr, ya lor, the stupid excuses on postal code, if invalid, how my company receive all the mails leh? Dun want to take order say lor, make me this preggie woman hungry, dun patronise them anymore for time being. Heehee, i so bad and petty just becoz can't satisfy my craving.

I just went to goldenshoe to eat Lor Mee
but i add meat so its $3 after add meat. Need to eat slight more or else later hungry again. Tiring walk to goldenshoe cos its abt 15min walk from my office and back another 15min.

Shycloud, Felicia,
Thank you : )

Now I start to feel baby's movement very regularly, esp at the lower tummy. Do you gals feel the movement very frequently? I think little baby is very happy when I am full. Because there will be more movement from her. Maybe she is more energtic after I have eaten : )

Hi pkdust! That's really really good news. you don't need to worry about anything now!!

Hi ZuEn, Ellysia: Regarding career, I only worked for 4 years before being pregnant. It was a very very intense 4 years though. now I'm in a more relaxing job but still in the same industry. I'm hoping to have 2 kids in close succession.. like, conceive #2 when #1 is less than 1 year old. Then, will slowly work back to moving back to original work scope. Maybe it's wishful thinking on my part... but at the moment, it's quite possible cos the industry is very shorthanded... at least for the next few years. not sure if things will change in 8 years or so...

pkdust,

Yes me also start to feel more movement but not always, mine is usu at night.

cactus,

For me i worked here for 6 years since graduation. Coming to 7 years in a few mths time i tink. Actually wanted to change job this year but bec of bb so now i am staying put.

I actually wanted to study masters or study another field few years ago but my job dun support so i didn't do anyting.

My fren is so good, she can quit her job and study full time at home + take care of kid. Now she taking masters.

Its a bit hard for me to change job as i have worked too many years and other company always suspect the reason why i want to change company. Thats why i am tinking to study some other field and change field but that may mean pay cut also.

so everything depend on financial circumstances after bb is born and at least 1 year then i see how.

THANK YOU EVERYONE : )
But there is still a detail scan to go. Just pray very hard that it will be smooth from now onwards till delivery. My hubby is also very happy when I told him the news. But he is very funny one. Never show his emotions even when he is worried.

Cactus,
If you dun mind, can tell me which industry you are in? Cause you mention it is very shorthanded. Maybe I will go into the same industry as well. Hehe. Actually what you are thinking can be done.
After giving birth, a woman is usually very fertile within the first year. Thats how I got this second baby before my first child even hit first year old. Her first year birthday will be end Jan this year. The second baby is unplanned. But everyone encourage me and say that this is good because can bring them up together. Maybe next time both can go school together : )

Toking abt career.. my mum has to quit her job when she had me, cos she said she has bad MS and hard to work.. then later she take care of me when i am born but her health deterioate that time, so end up she didn't work.. and so it cont and cont.. she become housewife liao for so many years.

Sometimes i tink women always have this dilemma btw career and kid and family whereas men is simplier dun have to juggle so many things.

pkdust, ya, after given birth that first 6 months, our bodies are most fertile, easily will get preg again if want to plan or accidential(for some couples). My friend's mother was one good eg. Friend was born mid Jan and then her bro was born in Dec the same year. But her parents let both of them go into different sch years. Friend's bonding with this bro also quite good, coz gap very close.

Veniz,

Ok set! Me ok with all kind of food, except i dont take beef loh. So any suggestion? I think i'll arrive around tat timing oso as i'm taking IMM bus.

HI cactus,

U can also work part time? Cos i liaise with lawyers due to my work, i know some lawyers work part time. Yes lawyers do earn a lot and it is short handed but long hours of work.

Btw, yr starting pay is my pay after 5 years of work.. now got a slight increment due to promotion just last year. even though i got a honours degree. sad isn't it?.. Me graduate in a bad time year 2001 company freeze my pay for 4 years.

company paying 2.5 mths special bonus on top of 13thmth bonus. Actually with the company earning so much, they shd have pay us more.. sigh. suffer for so many years with company when market is not doing good. Now market good still pay so little.

tok about career, i change to this job when i decide to settle down , hvin a kid. As my previous job is manufacturing line, very stress up. So i decide to left tat company. Here consider relax loh else i wont be here chatting liao. hehe....
Before i try to conceive for my 2nd one, in fact i almost resign but then i stay put as thinkin maybe i shld plan for my 2nd one before i jump to another company. So maybe will consider 'jump' again after deliver but tat will be another one more year , at least!

felicia,

ya the time to tink whether want to jump ship or not will be after birth and before the next one came.

I tink i cannot have very quick succession of no 2 bec' of financial and also if i sacrifice more years, i tink i be bind to this company liao. unless i really change field.

Hi Ellysia, I don't think the issue is whether there is enough nutrients for the next kid if it is a close pregnancy. but if it is a c-section, must wait for 1 year (most doctors advise) or wound may spilt. Also, studies have shown that subsequent pregnancies should be between 18 months and 5 years from the delivery date of the previous child. Or else, the subsequent bb may have low birth weight. But this is not a major problem.

Ellysia,
I personally feel that its not easy to work, do a Masters and at the same time taking care of a kid. I still remember when I am having my confinement (which is sometime around CNY last year), I am struggling so hard with my thesis that I almost give up. Luckly my classmate encourage me and help me a lot. Also, baby sleep most of the time during the first month so at least I can concentrate on my writing.

Cactus,
Haha, I dun study law so cannot go to your industry .Not to scare you but its really difficult to cope with kids and a hectic job schedule, unless there is very good family support from elderly and hubby. I have changed to a less stressful job after my first kid and upon giving birth to the second one, I will access my situation and if needed to, might consider a career switch to something more relaxing. Dun really mind a paycut.
I feel that somehow my perception change after having a kid. Last time I am very career minded but now I have my family as first priority.

Ellysia,

I was in dilemma when i'm deciding to quit my current job or stay put to try conceiving my 2nd kid. Though working environment here is quite ok but the pay was not justifiable. But finally i still chose to stay put and try for my 2nd kids as i dont want to give birth after 33yrs old.
Sacrifice is a need no matter which choice u choose loh.

pkdust,
I agree with you. Me oso change perception after i had my 1st kid. Before that i can work up to midnite to finish up some assignment but after delivered my 1st kid, i put my kid as priority.
Tats why i told my husband, he has to work harder to support us financially if one day i decide to work part time so tat i can take care of the kid.

Actually I am also considering joining civil services after I give birth . Shall see how it goes. I heard that they are more family friendly as well : )

Cactus,
I guess low birth weight should not be an issue.
Just hope baby is healthy.

speaking of career, I'm planning to work part time after the birth of my baby. I think I want to spend more time with my child but I'm not sure if I can tahan staying at home!

Hi pkdust,
Glad that the results turned out well! Congrats! now you can sleep very well at night

Hi Cactus, Ellysia and felicia,
Same for me.. b4 having my 1st ger, I also cheong in my career.. after having my ger, my perception changed..my coy quite family friendly, got nursing room etc, so I stayed on after delivery - cos got nursing room for me to express milk, dun haf to OT that much and I report to boss in NY so overall as long as I clear the Asia pac region job scope, it's quite ok. Pay is good, can't complain liao. So here I am, stayed for 13mths after popping my ger, then now kena 2nd bb(as per my plan).. dunno after popping no.2 will continue to stay here for another 12-18mths to bf this bb exclusively or maybe after my maternity leave will focus on career.. cos stagnant here for too long...

I cfm cannot be SAHM cos I nearly went crazy during my confinement and maternity leave.. I think I do better switching roles from work to mummy after work to keep my sanity :p

Cactus,
I feel that in that case, stay put in your current job scope until you have settled down well with baby then consider a change.

Tell you something...breastfeeding is a big heachache , at least for me. Its really not easy and a lot of determination is required. I manage to bf till 3 months because milk supply went very low. Also my office is not very conductive for bf. Imagine attending a meeting half way and telling your client you got to go and express milk. My boss is the first one to kill me. I still feel guilty about not able to bf my baby till 6 months old. But anyway, she is growing well.
Perhaps you can try to conceive from 6 months onwards. Give your body sometime to adjust.

actually, my boss doesn't know I'm planning for #2 so quickly. such things cannot tell her lah.. cannot let anyone know. not even close friends. just in case boss gets to hear about it. not good. actually, big boss wasnt happy that I'm pregnant so soon after transferring department... but since it is a honeymoon baby and imemdiately after customary marriage, they couldn't say anything . lukcily my boss and colleagues have been very very supportive.

Hi pkdust and cactus,
Agree with both of you! bfg not easy, takes alot of determination and TIME off work if you are working. I used to pump 3x at work, at 10.30am, 2pm and 5pm, each time half hour, practically 1.5hrs gone from work, not including lunch time? quite disruptive.. and while working must keep drinking lots of hot fluids, water etc.. vicious cycle then go home latch.. middle of night (if bb haf not dropped night feed), also latch.. go back office sometimes super tired...

high5 cactus! There are times during maternity leave that I sneaked out for some ME time! Although I miss my dotter, I was so happy to be back at work on my 1st day haha! but if you planning for no.2, all in all may take up 3-4 or even 5 yrs staying in the same job all in all if they are consecutive?

You are very fortunate that your boss n colliqs are supportive. I haf friends in the legal industry where going ON time at work is a no-no, not to mention haf kids...

No one in my company, including my boss know that I am pregnant yet because I am still not wearing maternity clothes. I put on those office wear but the loose type . Guess by feb, there is no other way to hide and have to let them know. All of you wearing maternity clothes already?

My first child is also a honeymoon baby. She should be "made in" either Holland or Paris. Hehe

Hi pkdust,
wa! you can conceal very well! must be another slim cha bor! me wearing maternity bottoms but thk going to change to maternity tops VERY soon cos feeling uncomfy in office wear liao...

We went Paris, Switzerland and London for honeymoon too but my ger was made in SG 1 yr after our marriage.. din wan kids asap after we got married hehe

Felicia, sure, I will note that you do not eat beef. maybe we go for japanese food, is it ok for you if I eat beef infront of you? I have craving and need the iron in beef to boost my borderline level, if you do mind, we can always eat others, the raman from Ajisen also like not bad leh.

Ellysia, in terms of having 2nd child very close to first, the nutrients you have to boost from our food intake and the vitamins lor. Even after conceive, it is recommended to still take our multi vits to boost our bodies (maybe for another couple of months).

What Cactus said is right, if you C-sect, then you will have to wait for after 18mth before you can get pregnant again. This is what my gynae adviced me after i conceived #1.