(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000">im not bothered by the weight so its ok.. impt is healthy!! hahaha..

i think second or third week of june lor..</font>

Congrats to Cynthia and Jessica !!

soyabean : i read that weight drop is a sign of impending labour !!! so it may be your time soon !! alll the best !!!

Cactus : pressure there is due to all the reasons you mentioned above, plus Morr's addition

i'm also experiencing it frequently, very sharp pain right ?? sometimes i feel like baby cld pop out, esp when he is stretching and pressing downwards !!!

Everyday is a waiting game for me - since Doc said that baby will be earlier than later (EDD 15 June)

<font color="ff6000">ok ladies.. i need to log off already.. my ger is waking up real soon

take care everyone here!! </font>

morraine,
i has to b concerned as my glucose reading is on a bit high.
mine fr 2.7kg to 3.5kg leh

that's only 2 weeks difference

K Ong, yes! It's a very sharp pain that sometimes takes my breath away. Very localised. The pain and pressure sometimes happens when bb is moving alot, or else, happens when there is a BH contraction... feels like bb is pushing downwards. My doctor isn't too concerned about all these signs though. He just said if waterbag ruptures, or if contractions are regular and cannot cope with the pain, to go to hospital. other than that, it's part and parcel of pregnancy.. hehe! He's really relaxed.

I have a baby tub with changing mat bought at kiddy palace for $130plus. selling at $100 with free delivery to AMK, bishan or serangoon north area. Interested, please drop me a line here.

lobang:-

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/free/

For New Mothers

* Bag of Love

We'd like to give you and your new arrival something to get you started on your brand new life together...

If you have delivered at Singapore General Hospital, National University Hospital, Thomson Medical Centre, Raffles Hospital &amp; KK Women's And Children's Hospital, you will receive our "Motherhood Bag of Love" from the respective hospitals.

Please check with your hospital upon discharge to ensure your receipt of the Bag of Love.

Important Note:
Only mothers with babies who are less than 3 months old are eligible for the Motherhood Bag of Love. If you have not received it from your hospital, you may collect it from our office, Mondays to Fridays, from 9am to 12 noon or 2pm to 5pm. We need you to bring along a photocopy of your child's birth certificate during collection.

* Baby Plus guidebook (worth S$7)

For mothers with babies less than 3 months old and who have delivered at Mount Alvernia Hospital, Mount Elizabeth Hospital, Gleneagles Hospital &amp; East Shore Hospital, simply fax/email/mail a copy of your I/C and your child's birth certificate and we'll mail the Baby Plus to you.

cactus...
i hv been feeling this sharp pain as well but they dun usu follow by bb's movements. usu the pain elevates when i try to stand up from a sitting/sleeping position. btw, how do u tell a BH from a irregular normal contraction? they all feel the same to me... mostly i hv been getting menses-like cramps.

k ong...
dats wat i heard too... but we shall see... been walking ard with a 3cm dilation for a week already. haha... the waiting game continues... btw where will u be delivering?

if i'm not wrong, the bag of love will be the usual kind of goody bag wif a few foc diapers, a couple of baby and mummy mags, bibs, brochures etc.

soyabean, the BH contractions I've experienced are painless and sometimes I don't notice them unless I purposely pay attention to them. they feel like my skin is being stretched a little, tightening. quite a strange feeling. but no pain at all. as for a normal contraction, I've been feeling cramping at my lower belly, which radiates to my upper thighs, and around my lower back (but not to the spine), but these contractions are not regular and so far just a couple of times (all one-time occurences). I also get menses like cramps.. these last for a couple of minutes each time, about 2 minutes or so. once, they were regular for up to 2 hours (15 minute intervals) but I dont think these are true contractions.

Good morning!!!

Congrats To Jessica &amp; Cynthia!!!

cactus,
Me have tat feeling since last sat and yesterday me feel pain when i sit down also so dun know issit bb engage liao or wat, later going see doc can ask him liao.

cactus,
Mine BH is also painless just feel very tight but my bb is very active for the past few days then yesterday went gentle and slow liao but still move. Then cramp at the V part and tat last only abt 1-2mins and then ok liao. Me also no discharge.

roooller,
think that depends on whether we have pop already right, now is the waiting period, cannot make plans, like hb asked me if there's anything i crave to eat to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary this sun 8th June, then i said provided i not pop yet

thanks cactus...
then i can say most of the time i'm feeling those mense-like cramps and not hardly any BHs. i can experience them for up to 1-2 hrs with intervals of 10mins or so as well. as for normal contraction, i doubt so i hv had any.

btw i recall when the contractions started when i had my #1, they felt abit like pang-sai pain. so much so that i even went to sit at the loo trying to PS. but the pain went away. after a few rounds of such pain, i thot it was strange and started timing, and true enough they were already 5 mins apart. =P

fennie,
ya.

my sis sms me, this sun celebrating father's day
told her, provided i'm not pop yet.

gotta be a special father day for our hub

soyabean, I believe you have experienced BH before. just that you didn't recognise them. during my last check up, my doctor felt my tummy, then felt the tummy tightening. he told me that's a BH contraction. It was only after that appointment that I was more aware of BH contractions even when I'm at work and doing stuff. before that, I could only tell BH contractions if I was purposely looking out for them.

talking about poo-ing, lately I'm been having increased sensations of wanting to poo, but when go to toilet, often no poo. I've been poo-ing quite regularly though.. once a day, sometimes twice. then once a week, miss one day.... so a bit confused whether I'm constipated that's why have increased sensations of wanting to poo, or feel want to poo cos bb's pressure on my bottom now...

BTW, my MIL said if have increased sensations of wanting to poo means bb going to be delivered soon (dun know how true). her own experience. my mom's experience is losing weight just before I was born.

morraine, your 1st girl came out on the actual day of 40weeks? Anyway if this week my baby not out... next week will go induce.. so maybe can see you. =)

grace,
spore expo

christina,
ya, best gift

abt the poo, seems true
but how long is it gg to last?
cos happen to my gf a few weeks b4 she's popped

i used to hv constipation but lately the poo seems to be softer. somex, LS feeling.

cactus...
u may be right... cos since u said BH is painless... i may hv got them but didnt know. it sounds more like bb putting pressure down there dats why u having poo sensation... for me, i dun poo regularly... oni once every 2-3 days. yest morning i had a round of very soft stools... then my tummy went achy the whole day... wan to poo but no poo...

grace,
ya. my mum and my sis they climb staircase for 2 days then give birth liao.. it worjk for them.. some say go walk walk also will help lor...

my gynae got do check my waterbag water also. he said although today is my due date but since waterbag water still got water enough for baby growing so need not eager for induce labour. now i more understand liao...
well, i still hope my bb will pop out this week

soyabean, yeah. I think you are right. cos I only started having that want to poo feeling a couple of days ago after bb just engaged completely... maybe I shouldn't be too uptight with regular poo-ing.. haha... just let things be.

cactus,
last sat i got contraction pain.. really painful for one hour time. knew its false alarm... but after that no more liao...funny rite

cactus...
haha... i am quite paranoid abt pooing. cos even b4 preggy, i get constipated easily... so now preggy even worse. it was the same when i had #1.

grace, fennie...
my #1 was oso an overdue kiddo... 40w plus 2 days... not long though.

fennie,
ya lo.. my gal too comfy inside me.. hee
well, my gynae told me my waterbag water only enough for her one week more. monday must induce liao..

i dont understand why cynthia's gynae wants to induce her, when her bb is not big, she dont have much contractions, and she's just 37wks something

Hi Fennie, I think some doctors are pro-induction and others are less. my doctor is damn relaxed loh... dun know if it is a good thing though. I would rather have someone in between. on the topic of induction, it is true that there is a high risk of c-section if labour is induced when bb is not engaged or if cervix is not ready for labour yet... I think the % of induced births should be in the region of 20% or so. but I notice alot of June mommies being induced..

Fennie, for Cynthia case is, her baby is not moving much in tummy, which her doc find its not a good sign (scare she distress or something) so have to get her to induce. If her baby moves like at least 10 times a day, she will wait till next week or so on for normal natural delivery.

Just had a meal with her yesterday so can understand. Her gynae also say cannot wait till even today to do the operation, so it was carried out last night.

<font color="blue">rooller,
i going.. but hvnt decide which day to go yet..it's from thurs - sun is it?? u going?? </font>

Morning ladies....

anyone going to the motherhood fair??? I'm thinking of going on the first day... dunno will have alot of pple a not.... maybe go early in the morning since 11am start liao...

Veniz
My baby quite active one with hard movements but nowadays become very lazy and sometimes will move very softly will that means anything???

an article on induction...

http://www.reproduction-online.org/cgi/content/full/131/6/989

extract
Around 20% of all deliveries are preceded by labour induction, a proportion that has not varied dramatically over recent years. Fetal death was the only indication for labour induction centuries ago, while this is now a very rare indication, with prolonged pregnancy and maternal hypertensive disorders being the major indications for the last 50–60 years.

http://pregnancychildbirth.suite101.com/article.cfm/labor_inductions_on_the_rise

The Statistics of Labor Inductions
There has been a dramatic rise in the labor induction rate in the last 15 years. According to the National Center for Health Statistics, the rate of inductions was 9.5% in 1990. In 2003, the rate more than doubled to reach 20.6%. There is reason to believe that the most current labor induction rates might, in fact, be under-reported. According to a 1999 review of 7,000 consecutive inductions, published in the American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, (the Green Journal) the number of labor inductions may be closer to 40% in some community hospitals. Similar findings were reported in the 2002 Listening to Mothers survey. Of the nearly 1600 mothers interviewed, 49% who gave birth vaginally reported that their medical provider attempted to induce their labor and 44% actually had their labor induced

Provider's Choice
Some providers may recommend an induction to their patients for a number of reasons. One reason might be the suspected size of the baby. The difficulty in late pregnancy is accurately predicting the baby's size since ultrasound measurements are based on percentiles. These percentiles measure the "average weights" of babies, however the estimates are not always accurate.

For example, one of my doula clients had an ultrasound that estimated her baby's weight to be 9 pounds. One of the measurements used is the length of the femur, which is the bone in the thigh and also the longest bone in the body. It turned out that her baby's weight at birth was only 6 1/2 pounds since he had very long, skinny legs!

Another reason for a provider to advise an induction is when the mother's due date has passed. Babies who are truly post-term can have more complications. However, this diagnosis must be made based on more than simply dates. Specific testing can be done, such as a biophysical profile, which measures the amount of amniotic fluid in the uterus, the breathing movements and the baby's heart rate. This would give the provider and parents a more accurate indication of a post-term baby (and ultimately a labor that needs to be induced!) rather than looking at the due date alone.

It is important that parents take the time to discuss all of their options with their provider before any procedure is recommended.

Medical Reasons for Labor Inductions
Labor inductions are medically needed in situations where the baby or mother's health is at stake. The mother might develop high blood pressure late in her pregnancy or there might be a decrease in the amount of amniotic fluid that cushions the baby.

If the mother's due date has passed and the tests performed on the baby are not reassuring, a labor induction is typically recommended. Clearly some medical reasons do require labor inductions. These high-risk inductions appear to be in the minority, however, since the above-mentioned 1999 Green Journal review reported that as many as 3 out of 4 labor inductions were performed without an indicated risk.

Are Labor Inductions increasing Cesareans?
Even with its convenience and necessity for high-risk mothers, experts believe that labor inductions are, in part, responsible for the increase in the cesarean rate. More time is spent in the hospital with a greater number of medical procedures required, which may, in turn, lead to an increase in cesareans. One of the biggest factors that affects whether the mother has a vaginal or cesarean birth is if her body is ready for labor. Her cervix should be "ripe" (soft, effaced and dilated) prior to an induction.

If the mother's cervix is not ripe, it increases the amount of pitocin used in the induction and the length of her labor; both of which can make the labor more stressful to the baby. In fact, a 2006 study in the Green Journal reported that even when women used "cervical-ripening" agents to get their cervix ripe for a labor induction, they still had a higher chance of a cesarean.

The Effect of Labor Inductions on the Baby
One of the most significant problems with inductions is unintended prematurity. If the mother is induced 2 weeks early and her dates are slightly off, the baby might actually be born at 37 weeks' gestation. Babies that are pre-term will have a harder start in life. They can have more difficulty in breathing on their own and often require a longer stay in the NICU (Neo-natal Intensive Care Unit.)

Because the pitocin used for labor inductions can cause more powerful and intense contractions than spontaneous labor contractions, babies need to be monitored continuously for any signs of distress during an induction. In fact, inductions are more likely to cause fetal distress.

The intensity of contractions during a labor induction can also make it more difficult for mothers who are planning a natural birth to avoid using pain medication.

The Pros of Spontaneous Labor
While labor inductions can be helpful for the high-risk mother, there are several advantages to waiting for labor to begin naturally. Mothers have the ability to labor at home more comfortably. They have freedom to use various positions during labor and can eat and drink what they desire. Labor may feel longer if the mother is at the hospital from the very first contraction. If she labors at home and arrives at the hospital in active labor, it often seems shorter to her than a labor induction.

In fact, mothers are typically much more able to tolerate a very long labor by spending time at home rather than laboring at the hospital the whole time. Resting and conserving energy may also be easier without the noise and disruption of hospital staff and procedures. And, as previously discussed, babies generally tolerate spontaneous labor contractions better than those from a labor induction. Spontaneous labor also has the advantage of reducing the mother's need for a cesarean, as well as other medical intervention.

Another advantage to spontaneous labor is freedom of movement and use of a greater variety of pain relef techniques for labor. Mothers are able to move about, shower, take a bath, walk around the labor floor and in general change positions much more easily than if they are restricted to the bed attached to IV's with continuous monitoring.