(2008/05) May 2008

oh no... just now lunch my colleague ordered bibimbab.. and i think got 1 raw egg lidat. I ate a little of it leh... oopsy. Thot the egg in ban mian is already cooked by the time we eat it? It looks cooked loh... cannot eat oso meh?

hi jaspire,
try not eat ba, cos usually the auntie will just put the egg into the noodles when it was almost done .. so even with the hot soup, the egg will not be 100% cooked ...

mangogal- all the fruits u listed, i dun eat =X

jaspire- bibimbab! we had a bad experience w tat on the flight to korea. not nice one. my hb so scared every meal at korea wil be tat! hahah... it was so bad tat nw mention tat to him, he wil shudder! hahaha

ai yah, i am eating beef and pork and mutton lah. I was just saying that some old housewive's tales say all these also cannot eat.

Hi Jaspire,
The EDD from my latest scan was 8 May. I have a daughter who will turn 2 soon. When I was pregnant with my daughter, I indulged in lots of eggs, beef and strawberries, she was born strong and healthy, so, I think these foods are fine.

haa Ant,
u dun eat ah? hee...then you induldge in others fruits high in vit C

Kab,
aiya gd you eat beef & pork!
red meat and protein are gd for us as well.
Eg, Chicken, pork & beef. Oh ya Avoid pork liver!!

Jaspire,
if you order banmian, tell the auntie dun add egg, that is what i do now

Winnedy,
I just cut the avocado to scope and eat. Of course if you want it more nutritious, you can blend wif milk to hv avocado milkshake
Vit E wif calcium

Missymouse,
I think tiramisu should be fine cos it doesnt really contain many chesse. But watermelon is a NO-NO cos it is too "cooling" already.

Went to Gynae 2days ago and she said "Seems like embroy is not growing" Shld go D & C immediately. I was SHOCK and i'm coming to 7th week already.. luckily all TTC2008 gals encourage me to seek 2nd opinion or even 3rd opinion before deciding and THERE"S HOPE! I went to the Bt Batok TMC Centre whicr cfm by the gynae from BLK 492 Jurong West.

My advise to any1... Shld u hv doubts... seek for further opinion... not to be afraid to ask ... twice, 3 times or more. B'cos getting pregnant is already very difficult and now u need to deal with 'incompetent' gynae who gave irresponsible remarks... This gynae was quite famous in fact at (TMC). So it might be 'once a lifetime' mistake in her career but i couldn't risk my bb's life....

The other gynae was confident that my bb will grow and will soon hear it's heartbeat. I was very lucky to have frds with TTC2008 group gals...

Now the gynae had cfm tat i had mis-calculated from 5th wk to the 7th. Now i have to go for JABs every alternate days.... With blessings from BB, eniale, kelly, jowin, crystal, heniz, rain, mini, pris, jean, jowin, yun, jas and belle.... my bb will develop and grow along with their blessings... it was thru this forum, tat i befrd such wonderful frds...

Hey jaspire,

See, so much happen since the last time i logged in... I'm happy to see that this thread is getting bigger and growing like a one big family.

Hi dolly,

I think you should replace your meiji/marigold chocolate milk with annum chocolate milk. The formula is for pregnant mom. Then that meiji/marigold chocolate milk got colouring leh...

hi Sparks,
i do agree with what you said .. it's difficult for us to get pregnant, and if there is any doubts, it's always good to seek for 2nd opinion, end of the day, i also feel that the gynae is also advising us from their knowledge and experience, and may not be 100% accurate ... i hope that you and your BB will be strong and grow well and healthy ....
.. we are around the same timing, i am also 7 weeks now ..

Hi muzicgal,
does annum chocolate milk available in packet form as well ? as i am not used to drinking milk, so i would prefer to put in fridge and chill it first before drinking ... is it ok ?

Hi Sparks,
do u mind sharing which is the gynae from TMC who claimed that "Seems like embroy is not growing" ?Not sure if you want to share, as my gynae is also from TMC, so abit concerned abt it

Hi Sparks, its shocking to hear the gynae say dat and ask you to go D&C immediately leh. Gosh, din even try to see if there is any way to stabilized it? I am just so shocked. Please be strong, and I am glad u went for 2nd gynae's opinion!

Anybody know what are the fishes that we should avoid? Also just curious, have you announced the good news to your parents & in-laws??

hi Mickymouse,
from my gynae, we should avoid tuna and those deep sea fishes ..eg : sharks, etc ...
Yes, i have informed both parents and in-laws once i am pregnant ... cos there will be times when i need them and their advices .. just like now, i have to stay at home and rest .. so i needs both my mum and inlaws to cook dinner for me.

hellos

i was thinking we can eat most things, but in moderation? won't total abstainance result in possibility that we will miss out on certain nutrients? i'm more for eating naturally than depending on formula milk/vitamin pills...

anyways, the only thing i know abt fishes is that some fish that come from the south china sea are higher in mercury content. so don't eat too much. but to avoid, i think is a bit drastic.

anyways, i realise that pple gossip a lot. i've only told 3 pple in the office abt my pregnancy (my 3 bosses) and the whole world knows already!

Cheers.

hi mickeymouse, me oni know tuna, sharkfin to avoid... those high in mercury/lead fishes. Hee, almost the whole world knows I am preggie liao... me no pantang lah.

Salmon and Cot fish is also from deep sea...

My 1st Gynae ask me to avoid Raw fish and don't take more than 200g of fish per week... No hot bath.

But before I know I am preggie I went for a buffet and I eat a lot of salmon sashimi on that meal.

I try to stop myself from taking rojak in my 1st pregnancy but I eat 2 packet during my last trip to Penang before I know that I am preggie this time...

I eat pineapple also, as I have strong crave in it and my sis who have 3 kids assure me that I can eat a bit just not too much.

What I always avoid even before I know that I am preggie are :- jelly grass water, a kind of Banana (Delmoteh - Wrong spelling)

Thanks Jaspire, Friesbandit & Dolly23,

I havent inform my parents & in-laws cos I've not seen a doc to confirm my pregnancy, although tested a few times with +ve. Also, I hope to wait till my bb is more stable first then inform them as I dun wan them to worry for me. But on the other hand, I thought of informing them as they could give me their advices as what Dolly23 has mentioned.

Hi Poko,

200g of fishes - do u mean sashimi or cooked fishes? I tot cooked fishes is good for preggie ladies cos got omega?

Since salmon & cot fish is from deep sea, if it's fully cooked, can eat or not?

Hi Dolly23,

Do u think i shld disclose here.... If u r keen i can PM u... B'cos she's quite famous and mayb was a gynae to some MTB already and i don want the MTB to get worried...

Hi Sparks,
Could you also share the name of the gynae with me? I've not started seeing any gynae so still in time to avoid her.

I'll PM u. Thanks.

Hi PL,

The gynaes were Lim Thuan Lok John his clinic was at Blk 492 Jurong West the other one was Dr Wong Mun Tat , clinic at Blk 372, Bukit Batok West St 31,#01-376

The current priority is to hear my bb's heartbeat. Therefore, i've not cfm my gynae yet. But currently has been going back to Dr Wong Mun Tat for jabs on alternate days....

Hi PL,

The gynaes were Lim Thuan Lok John his clinic was at Blk 492 Jurong West the other one was Dr Wong Mun Tat , clinic at Blk 372, Bukit Batok West St 31,#01-376

The current priority is to hear my bb's heartbeat. Therefore, i've not cfm my gynae yet. But currently has been going back to Dr Wong Mun Tat for jabs on alternate days....

Sparks, when is ur LMP?
Anyway, you take good care and most impt is to stick to a gynae you comfy with as you hv to be with him/her for the nextt 9 mths

Hi all MTB,

I've collected some homecooked pre-natal cum post natal recipes (soups/chix/veg) etc... PM me if u r interested... I would gladly share....

Mickyhouse
I found my 1st pregnancy in US so the gynae there told me don't take too much fish as most of their fish are from deep sea which is highly conteminated. She say no raw fish. Cooked one should reduce... I take fish oil to get those DHA and Omega... That is good for BB.

Thanks Poko,

I told my hubby preggie women cant take big fishes so he ask me to eat ikan bilis... he so bad hor! hahaha..

Hi Sparks,
Thanks thanks. I'll check my email.

mickey- i told my family when i tested +ve n only told ILs after my 1st visit w gynae. cant wait to spread the gd news! keke
ikan bilis is gd leh! my mum ate alot of tat when she was preg w my sisters n i n all of us got v nice teeth! keke

sparks- i wan the recipes too! thks thks

hi Sparks,
yes, it will be good if you could PM me... as i am also abit worried ...

hi mickeymouse,
since u have already tested a few times "positive" so should have been confirmed.. to me, although i am abit pan dang, i will still share with my close family members ..as you will need them and their experience.

Hey ladies, you all were saying certain food to avoid, cheeze even.... what abt the slices breakfast cheeze, is that ok ah ?

Sparks -
That's shocking! How can a doctor be so irresponsible! I had a miscarriage before and my gynae did 2 scans, one week apart to double confirm the miscarriage before we proceed to D and C. Actually after the first scan, things didn't look very good (no heart beat, only big yoke sac), she still encouraged me and gave me hormone pills. She just told me not to announce the pregnacy yet. Thus I am very comfortable with my gynae and this time round, I am using her again.

Mickeymouse - Tiramisu is definitely a no no! There is alcohol, raw eggs and mascorpone cheese, all are very bad for babies. Raw eggs and mascorpone cheese may contain Listeria, which can cross the placenta and cause miscarriage.

Hi Dolly,
I may tell the good news with my parents first. As for friends & relatives, I will only announce when reach 3mths cos I pang dang.

I only know the following:

Limit open sea catch : tuna, salmon, etc (due to high content, only can eat about 1 or 2 times each week)

No half-cooked / raw food items: half-boiled eggs, etc.

No soft cheese (I skipped all the cheese toppings for spaghetti, etc)