(2008/05) May 2008

I have sign up package on my 2nd appointment, when i'm in 7 weeks. The package is $1999 and cover all the appointed consultation and scan but not the medicine.

I'm drink annum (chocolate flavor) twice a week.. dun like to drink milk but force myself to drink. Previously, I was drinking those chocolate milk (eg.marigold, meiji, magnolia), then read the ingredient, they add colouring, then I banned them all.

Me got very bad craving for spicy food...lunch and dinner very boring.. my mom will cook fish or seafood soup and then I da bao to work with a container of chilli padi.

Last week I got very bad constipation, this week i try to eat more fruits, prune, raisins and yoghurt. Feel so much better... =)

I read from those pregnancy book, I think sleeping on your left side is better leh....you must get a good pillow... else you will get neckache or shoulderache.

Anybody start any prenatal courses or activities?

If you are looking for music for your baby. Look for Baroque Period CD, then look for composer J.S.Bach. And look for violin, if you cant find violin then u buy those piano CD. But violin is better.

Oh ya.. I just bought Yoga Pants at Plaza Singapura Carrefour... very comfy... $19.90 i think.. 3/4 length one cheaper.
the waistband very comfy, not tight... then can wear it high waist until below the bra, or you can fold it down to any height u like... got alot colours to choose...wear yoga pants better, at least not so obvious u r preggie.. hahaha... =D

Hi sunshine & missymouse, thanks for your advice... which mean its better to choose my gyne & check with them whether he/she is available in all hospital for delivery or only 1 option...

From my understanding, Mt E is very expensive but their services are good and also their meals during the stay after delivery are good... But most of my fren went to TMC, I think it is more economical for us.

If the gyne I find belongs to Mt E only, I will need to check the package, if too ex, then maybe I look for another gyne at TMC...

Dear PL and Dolly,
Last week I also had spotting (reddish brown). I panicked and rushed twice to the KK 24 hours clinic as it was once in the night, the other is weekend. That time was week 5/6. Doc did a V scan, but coz' too early so can't see much, only the sac. So doc did blood test to see if a certain hormone level is increasing, which indicate bb growing, which is a good sign.

The second reddish brown spotting encounter, again I rushed to 24 hr clinic, same thing doc did a v scan, but this time can see bb heart beat, so indicate bb ok.

From the scan, doc can tell if the bleed (or if got some trace of clogs) are on the wall of the uterous. If yes, plus bb heart beat can be seen, then it's reassuring that the bleed is from implantation.

The solution is to rest a lot a lot, avoid excessive walk, climb stair case, walk very slow (now my walking pattern is like strolling), don't climb stair case, and don't carry heavy thing. Doc also increase my doze of Duphaston. Now I seem better .... must make conscious effort to slow down. That's why from such practical reason, must inform bozz abt early pregnancy, otherwise, very siong on yourselves.

Mickymouse,

I do have yellow discharge. I read a "pregnancy manual", it says this is normal. If I remember correctly, it's our body's natural defence to protect the bb.... let me go home tonight and check the exact wording of explanation .... but i think need to observe, as long as it does not accompany other weird symtoms like itch or discomfort, then the risk of infectious is lower.

muzicgal, I am oni applying this FBI card on my next visit on the 3rd Oct. I think its worthwhile to apply. Esp if you going for the antenatal courses etc...

Hi gals...

just to share with u all... i am free from ms for the pass few day... (my ms means vomitting)...

although i have cramps on n off... i feel relatively ok...

what i did was to do some light exercise... (of coz when i feel abit better...not when i am vomitting badly)..

i read from books that exercising release endorphins... thereby reducing the naseous...

not sure how true issit... but i do feel better..

hi Peace,
thanks for your advices .. i think so too that i have over-walked the day before, as i am in sales line, i was rushing to deliver mooncakes to my customers, and climbed high stairs, that caused my bad spotting. Thats why i also bo bian, cos to inform my boss regarding my pregnancy .. luckily he is quite understanding, so these few days he allows me to rest and work from home. . . .

Hi Jaspire,
me too , i think i will also be applying, but may not be so soon .. likely to be after my first trimster ... any differences ?

muzicgal- i went to perfect mom suntec outlet. the salesgirl there v friendly n nice. i tried on qte a lot of bottoms n told her i wan to go other plc n take a look 1st b4 buyin n she was perfectly fine w it. in the end, i went bk cos cldnt find the cuttin i wan in other shops =D nt sure when the sales end thou...
i wil be applyin for the FBI card too on my nxt visit.

dolly, think its better to apply the FBI card before you start any antenatal classes. Those classes can be registered when you are in your 20th week. So once after 1st trimester should be ok. I will be in my 10th wks next wed. So will just apply for the card loh. Heard if you use Standard Chartered Credit Card got further discount on the card application. Not sure how true but will let you gals know next wed when i go apply, ya!

missymouse, ya... i heard TMC food is very gd! So I am looking forward to the nice stay and gd food. LOL!

choc, really ah... wat kind of light exercise? Can teach us? I am still having bad ms leh.. i today resorted to taking the anti-nauseous pill as I really need to work.

winnedy- yes they hv skirts too. also got shorts n 3/4 pants. i heard wear skirts/dresses is beta esp in 3rd tri cos our thighs may be bigger n pants may be too tight liao! my thighs alrdy like thunder ones, cannot imagine it's gonna get bigger!! =X

Hi Ant1712,
That is what Im worried. I dun wear pants at all and now it seems like I have to wear pants, thus im worried..

hi jaspire,

sure sure ... please keep us updated on your next appr when you apply for the FBI card .... actually i didnt go and read up alot on the FBI card, btw how much is the card ?

hi Winnedy,
Spotting is like your menses, just like either your first or last few days, mostly likely dark brown.

winnedy- no worries lah. thn u can buy skirts or dresses. in fact, it's beta leh esp for dresses, more room for tummy expansion. i not reali a skirt/dress person.

Hi jaspire...

i do light exercise like brisk walking and swimming... i feel better nowadays lor.. hmmm

dunno issit my ms is nt tt jialat..

choc, i tried to do walking... "breeze" walking for 45mins and ended up with spotting again. So my hubby din really want me to do much walking leh. So how? With spotting and bad MS, i really dunno wat is the best way. Haiz...

Jaspire,

My MS officially started today! Puke till the tummy is upside down. Will chiong to guardian to get the sea band.

Its good that you all can still do light exercise. I feel out of breath walking to breakfast and lunch... let alone exercise. No one knows im pregnant so i cant explain to my colleagues why i walking so slow as well.. such a dilemna

hi all MTBs,
i am having spotting now, so do you think it is advisable for me to do breeze walk as well ?

hi Jaspire,
i have not tried doing any exercise, so worried that i will face the same problem as you .. that the spotting will come back again ...
However do you think its advisable if we start doing exercise only after our 1st trimster ?

hmmm.. maybe becoz all along i always exercise? so brisk walking not tt difficult to me?

wah.. if u gal exercise abit.. will have spotting... it shld be the implantation bleeding rite... maybe u can check with ur gynae..if they say dun exercise..just listen to them...

for my case..i check with my gynae tt time when i was having some spottings... she say as long as i feel ok to brisk walk etc...just go ahead..

but if i feel anything pain or not well..advisable to stop lor...

A big Hi to all MTBs,
It has been nice to read your postings. I am coming to 8 weeks pregnant tomorrow, and am concerned about spotting as well. I had some light brown stains (not dark brown or red), and my gynae said that brown stains mean blood and is considered spotting. But she said my baby heartbeat is strong, so, not to worry. But I can't help worrying every time I see the stains, but what can I do? Am already taking Duphaston. But my gynae said as long as the stains are not red, I am fine and need not rush back to see her, so, I take comfort in this assurance.

hi choc, i oso always exercise before i preggie leh. But spotting makes me worry esp when i am not doing brisk walking but "breeze" walking aka slow walk. So i dun dare to walk too much now. But will definitely try to exercise much in my 2nd tri.

mickeymouse, spotting can occur anytime. No specific weeks.

Twinkle Star, welcome... hohoho... when is yr EDD? First child? Me oso din rush to see gynae when i spotting cos i think shld be ok. My gynae review shows baby is growing very well and i am having MS so i think its a sure sign baby is growing loh, so i din bother.

hi jaspire,
can u advise when is the right time that i can go back to work, feel so boring and sianz at home ?
todays my spotting is much lesser than yesterday, but still abit worried ...
Although u are having spotting, do you still go to work too ?

hi dolly, yes I am working now. But I wished i can stay home to rest. Cos I am very very tired and the MS is driving me crazy. Maybe u can give me your mc... hahaha...

I'm avoiding half boiled eggs too. also avoid mascarpone cheese/tiramisu cos the cheese is not pasturized. and any raw cheese.

am also cutting down on seafood like crabs/prawns/etc. worried about the mercury content. oh and cockles. they are usually undercooked in fried kuay tao and laska.

rojak also cannot eat - cos the prawn paste that they use may not be clean. and there is pineapple inside.

hm...lots of things cannot eat leh....

one more thing - it's more like urban legend - sugarcane juice. I've heard that the porus sugar cane sticks that are placed vertically in the hawker stalls may soak up cat's urine. and is very dangerous for babies.

I'm also cutting down on diet coke and those sugar-free mint. They contain aspartate - which has been shown if taken in large quantity, can harm the rat foetus.

i think sugar cane juice is abt cooling one is it? Not so sure..

i think half boil eggs can..

I only ask my gynae if can eat sashimi... she say as long as its from a good source why not.. cos in japan everyone eats sashimi.. so does not mean if we preg we cant eat.. thus i tot maybe as long as the food is handled in a clean way can ald..

But i had soursop and lemon juice blend yesterday.. think it was too sour or cold, i had some cramps yesterday... thus i dunno if that is ok..

i also ate some guavas and honeydew... are they ok?

my advise is dun take too much coke... if u wanna take soft drinks, go for sprite or whatever... cos they were saying tv programs keep showing using coke to remove stains.. thus when we consume it, it may also removed good and bad bacterias in our body... dunno how true is it..

Hi ant1712,
i think it will be good if u choose not to eat half boiled egg and raw food ... Dr Khi has speifically informed me not eat these food .. anything that is not fully cooked or raw is no good for us .. so let's just bear with it

kab- wow u reali abstainin frm alot of food! one of my fav foods is rojak!! but for the sake of bb, hv to ren til may liao. i luv the rojak frm clementi central, alwz long q one.
oh ya, goten cut dwn on prawn mee also.

Hi ant1712 and Kab,
i love to eat ban mian with half boiled egg, sashimi, and oyster egg ... but since found pregnant, i have never taken any of them ... not even soft drinks or my fav "green tea". if i have the craving, i will either drink guava, apple or orange juice, without ice ...
the only thing that i still cannot take it is "milk" .. so i asked Dr Khi if i could drink Meiji or Marigold Chocolate milk .. and she said okay ... since i dun have much choices ... other than that, most of the time, i will only be drinking plain water ...

ya gals, NO RAW Food
I avoid mayo and cheese as well, only kraft cheese can be taken

Dolly, pls dun go for any brisk walk since ur spotting hv n t completely stop

dolly- i luv to eat ban mian too! but all along i dun eat the half boiled egg, only prefer those frm ya kun n toastbox. bread w the eggs n coffee. shiok! keke... i also stopped drinkin coffee. totally no craving for it, used to drink 1 cup every mornin.
when is ur nxt visit w dr khi?

haha. yup. I personally don't believe the chinese thing about "cooling" food. so I am still eating watermelon and pears. Some people also say cannot eat mutton and beef - very "toxic" in chinese terms. But I am eating those.

I believe more in western medicine lah. thus no undercooked/raw food for me at all. and try to avoid chemicals that are proven to be harmful to babied like aspartate.

I heard from some aunties at my work place that the big pears are very cooling, and they ask me not to eat. but I don't believe lah. Dragonfruits are also cooling according to the aunties lah. but I still eat. :p

hi ant1712,
my next appt will be 12 oct .. this appt was initially fixed 1 week before my BKK trip. So now i am thinking of changing to 8 Oct instead, so that i can decide to go or not for my trip and also to see if my pregnancy has stablised ..

kab- my gynae says beef is good for bb! hence i am eating steak whenever i got chance =D of cos hv to be well-done. last time used to eat medium.