(2008/05) May 2008

good morning.

my ultrasound is $30 and my consultation is $50.

for me, i was seeing Dr Beh for other women problem so i decided to continue to see him for my pregency too lor..

hi muzicgal,
i tend to get hungry easily, but did not manage to eat alot, only eat abit, and get turned off ... so i am only afraid that i have not been eating alot, and scare BB dun grow ..

hi sunshine,
thanks for the assurance ... i get quite worried when it happened to me yesterday, and this is the second time. So i guessed i have to eat more fruits and drink more water.

hi all MTBs,
i have booked my BKK trip before i was found pregnant, and by then, i should be 10 weeks. i have checked with the gynae, but she did not really comment much, i am gg to see her again, 1 week before my departure date and decide, from her advices, if i do not have much MS, i should be able to proceed with my trip. Do you gals think that i should proceed or forgo the trip ?

Hi Choc,
Which doc are you seeing in Mount e? My gynae is also from Mount e and she only deliver at mount e as well.

My consultation was $90 and ultrasound was $70. First consultation on week 6 can hear the heartbeat ald.

Could you share with me what type/brand of multi vitamins I should take and where could I get it? Thanks.

Hi Jaspire,

Could you share with me the contact details of your doctor pls? Thanks!

Hi Kab,

thanks for your advice and link .. i think so too ... but of course, i will go and consult my gynae again 1 week before my departure date to confirm, as i am also being worried if i cannot sit too long during the flight, or have any MS ...

Hi MTB,

Do you feel uncomforatble with the usual sleeping position ?

Is there a most comfotable position?

For me, I used to sleep on my sides, but now, sleeping on sides, seems to put some pressure on side of tummy ... so i change to facing up, which is what i dislike most usually coz' very uncomfortable. i tend to have lots of wild dreams lately ... are any of these familiar to you ladies ?

Hi Dolly23,
I think its safe for you to go on the trip. I have checked with my doctor, she say its ok as long as I dun eat roadside food, dun go chatuchak, it should be fine.

Hi Jaspire & Dolly23,

Thanks for sharing info with me. Appreciate it.

Hi Kab,
I heard that preggie women will crave for those foods that she dislikes to eat before preggie. So strange ya...

Hi Dolly23,
I think its safe for you to go on the trip. I have checked with my doctor, she say its ok as long as I dun eat roadside food, dun go chatuchak, it should be fine. Cos I am going there for meeting next week as well.

Does your tummy bloated, fart & burp more often than before and a bit of lower abdominal pain (some pulling on & off)? Is that normal?

peace(II), my usual sleeping position all not comfortable now. My sis taught me a way to sleep for preggies, she say must slp on left side and leg like alphabet H. I always end up with backache and nowadays its worse... do u gals hv same problem?

mickeymouse, tummy bloated, fart & burp more and lower abdominal pain is normal.. very normal in fact. Haiz... i din know preggie will be so discomfort leh.
really man, all mothers are very wei da.

mickeymouse - yup! i always feel very bloated. and also mild lower abdominal pain sometimes.

but i don't have any problem sleeping leh. I slept like a pig every night. In fact I spend all my weekends sleeping now and I haven't been going shopping for 2-3 weeks already.

Hi jaspire,
I think there are a few ways to sleep. I have been reading the yoga book and they say that the best position is to sleep on the left side, with a pillow between the knees and supporting the tummy.

If not will be the corpse position, which means lie flat and with a pillow under the knees. it will raise yr knees up and buttock down. Thus relaxing the back and causing less stress to it.

Thanks Jaspire & Kab.

I am more relieve now since I know it is normal.. Before that I was quite worry and thinking if I should go & see doc cos my tummy is very bloated and big! hahaha....I've not seen a doctor after tested +ve. My 1st appointment is on 20 Oct, is it too late??

Ya... mickeymouse, i find your 1st appt too far out. But then if you comfy then its ok.

Here is the updated list.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child # </TD></TR><TR><TD>ant1712</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr C Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>jaspire</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>muzicgal</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>rantingbaby</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebaby</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A.</TD><TD>3rd </TD></TR><TR><TD>sugar</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD>Dr Sim LN</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>xavpris</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>bonjon</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>kab</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>Dr Yeap ML</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>sparks</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoopie</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>Dr W.K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>diana</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dr Beh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>courage</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>lisa cheng</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiuxiu</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cherimoya</TD><TD>9th</TD><TD>A/Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>jen</TD><TD>10th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>moony</TD><TD>11th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>poko</TD><TD>11th</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunshine</TD><TD>12th</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gina Loh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>choc</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>dolly23</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>Dr C Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>missymouse</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>melc</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>3rd </TD></TR><TR><TD>PL</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Loh SF</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>winnedy</TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Yeoh SC</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>gosh</TD><TD>17th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>weekender</TD><TD>19th</TD><TD>Dr W.K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>mangogal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>lynn</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>doglover</TD><TD>23rd</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>annabelle</TD><TD>26th</TD><TD>Dr CK Tho</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A.</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvbella</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>friesbandit</TD><TD>30th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Looks like I'll have to do some shopping this weekend Seems like most preggies wear maternity pants, what abt maternity skirts? But I'm thinking if wear loose and longer tops with skirts not very nice right? Looks frumpy and not as formal, but then with my big butt and tighs it look bad with pants as well.. Sigh...

Just now had a giddy spell, cold sweat and all, think was too hungry, but couldn't bring myself to eat anything. So xin ku! Today is mid-autumn festival and the look of mooncakes turn me off (I usually love them).

I haven't eaten my usual unhealthy foody (oily, spicy stuff and fast food) cos I can't seem to digest them (feel more puky after eating them) then normal plain soupy stuff. Yesterday saw KFC's tv ad and commented I want to eat, but then go in only the smell disgust me. The stuff I eat are so boring now..

Lynn,

seems like mickeymouse is right. when we are preggy, we like to eat what we usually dislike!

i haven't bought any maternity pants leh. have been wearing dresses so far. when I have enough energy, will go shopping for maternity pants.

jaspire,

pls help me add in my details (except EDD cos my doc said it's still too early to tell, but based on a scan at my GP last sat it's 15 May cos can only see 4mm of the foetus)..

It'll be my first bb

hey gals,
do u all keep spitting saliva?
I seems hv full of saliva and need to spit out once ever 2/3 hrs:p
sound disgusting!

me ah carving nw is pasta, I dun mind cos is tomatoes paste and is gd for bb

MTBs
for those looking for comfy n nice looking pants
can try Osmose, they hv elastic black free size pants/skirts
price only $$29 to $39
is reasonable and at least can tahan for 1st 2 trimester

Hi Jaspire & Winnedy,

I can only go to see gynae on Sat (cant take leave) and the earliest Sat slot is on 20 Oct
so no choice but to wait a bit longer loh.. I'm waitlisted for the earlier Sat slot and hopefully I could get it.

Hi Mickymouse,
I understand the situation you are in. I told my company I got gastric problem and going to see a specialist in Mount E. I have fixed the next appt during lunch. Hopefully no one will discover me should I go missing for too long.

Hi Mickeymouse,
Go see a normal GP now. Get those folic acid or whatever multi-vit to last you till the 20 Oct appt. They are not very expensive i think...

Winnedy, me drinking anmum now. My boss is also aware of my pregnancy, in fact all my colleagues knows. Cos my MS is so bad...

Actually, it better to take folic acid and drink the milk early cos baby's formation of his heart, liver, intestines etc are all during our early stages. Later stages, the milk will mostly be to cover calcium i guess. So try to drink. I will drink and puke, but i guess better than not drinking at all loh. Oh ya, they say bb will oso be bigger if you drink milk. Hee... i guess dats wat explains my big sized bb?

Jaspire, the clinic gave me some samples. The samples can last me till my 2nd appt. They told me not to buy just drink whatever they gave me.

I am taking their supply of Enfamama now. IT SUCKS! How do you make the milk? It says 50g of powder with 200ml of water. But the powder does not dissolve. Its so lumpy.... Any correct way to prepare it though i have followed the instructions behind clearly...

hi all MTBs,
thanks for the advices. i didnt manage to read the links earlier regarding my trip to BKK during lunch time and have to rush to my gynae.
Earlier around lunch time, i had quite a bad spotting, similar to my normal 1st day menes, and i got so scared and rushed to see my gynae. She has done the scanning, and BB found to be ok, and can see the heartbeat. But i am advised to stay in bed for the next few days .. so no going out and work ... haiz .. on 1 hand, i am feeling so worried and scared, and on the other hand, i am feeling down to stay in bed

Hi Dolly,.
Mee too. Have a bad spotting since Sun like the last day of me menses. I went to see gynae. he said cannot do any things. did u gynae give any medicine for u and any injections?

Hi PL,
yes, i got scared out of my life, as this is only my 7 weeks ... my gynae has given me an injection and medicine to take 3 times daily to stablize the pregnancy.

Hi Dolly,
I was not only see one gynae. I have seen two gynaes in one week. Just want to get the 2nd opinion. I hope to see Dr Loh this week (my 1st appointment with him). hope he can advise. he has a long Q. I only manage to make this appointment with him last two weeks.

Hi Dolly,
as long as u can see your baby heartbeat. you are safe. Just take more rest and don't move too much. I have not seen my baby heartbeat yet.
what the name of the medicine she gave u?

hi PL,
the medicine given to me is Dydrogesterone (Duphaston), to be taken 3 times daily.

Hi Mangogal,
thanks, the gynae said that it's difficult to define the cause of the spotting, it could be due to many factors, over-worked, over walked, carrying heavy things, and with this sever spotting, this shows the unstability for my pregnancy ...
i am not sure whether it is due to yesterday, whereby i walked alot, and climbed high stairs ...
i guessed now, i have got to lie in bed and rest.

oh then u better rest n relax well for the next few days at hm, dun think abt work or anything
just rest n talk to ur bb

think you will be fine

dolly, i had bad spotting too in my initial stage and was given duphaston to take 3 times a day as well. Duphaston is really gd as it really help to stabilised the pregnancy. So do take it. My spotting has since then ease off and now i am taking it 2x a day. Take it and I am sure you and baby will be fine.

Hihi...

The doct say i am 7 weeks...i can hear the heartbeat...hehee...very exciting process...

My doc is Dr Kek from Woman Specialist in Mount E

Have any of u gals sign up any package before 12 weeks? I thought must confirm bb ok and dun have down symdrone before we will sign? i have gals frens who signed at 11wks before the test!!

Dolly, read ur earlier posting that u gng BKK at ur week 10,
think better cancel the trip, since gng BKK must be walking and shopping...scared tired urself and spotting may come back again
So for bb sake..better play safe, dun go lor
My 2 cents worth

jaspire, 39 is very very cheap leh... without package also consider very cheap...

how come ah...any hidden cost?

choc, no hidden cost leh. So far so gd. I read gd reviews on him oso. I find his charges very cheap and me, hubby even my mom like him. Very patient and detailed. Even during scan, he will explain what is wat, where is wat etc and after scan, kiasu me still bring list of qns to ask, cos scare i wil forget wat i wanna ask and he stil patiently wait for me to ask finish all my qns and answer all. Also read his stitching skills is gd, and dat is impt. So i give 2 thumbs up for him. Oh ya, he oso gives free folic acid and obimin. So far i was given the free folic acid. The clinic assistants oso very helpful. They always give free samples. Hee.. so i like them alot. I rather save up as much as I can now cos later when baby is born wil need lots of money.

my main criteria is the gynae must b a female leh...else i super paiseh one...the clinic i went to...got to ask for freebies one...ai....

mine i can onli sign the package at 20th weeks... =( hb complaining alot of upfront cost....

oic... me no pref for female or male gynae so i dun mind. So long as I am in gd hands. Ya, some charges alot esp when the consultation and scan is charged separately. Its even more costly. But no choice if you prefer a female gynae. Or ask ard loh.

Hi Jaspire,
thanks .. after reading ur advice, i will be good, and take the medicine on time, and stay in bed as much as possible. i have been given "hospitality leave" for the next 3 days till next week ... so no choice, i got to tell my boss, and he is quite understanding enough. In order not to alert the rest of my colleagues, he got me to rest, and work at home if possible, so not need to take any MC or leave.

Hi mangogal,
yeah, this is what i am thinking too .. i will monitor for another week, if really bad, i dun mind to cancel and waste my trip. i rather to be safe than sorry.

hi choc,
perhaps you can consider Dr Caroline Khi from TMC. I am not sure of her charges compared to others ... my first consultation is $75, and today, my follow up consultation is $45 ... to me, she is quite gentle, patient and assuring. Just like earlier when i had my bad spotting, i panicked and left a msg with the answering service for her to return my call as it was lunch time. Immediately she returned my call less than 5 mins, and got me to go down and see her. When i reached there, i dun even have to q up, and she allowed me to see her first, even i dun have any appt fixed. So from this incident, i feel secured with her.

hi dolly, yr boss is indeed understanding. And yes, do rest more. I agree that its better to cancel trip esp if u still spotting. Dun risk yr life and little baby's life.

Me keep feeling very lethargic leh... okie, turning in for the nite now...

BTW, Happy Mid Autumn Fest to all you gals!