(2008/05) May 2008

buttercup ,

hahah ...what class is this ?? I interested but cannot access the webbie !!

When read up is for parents ...ask me attend class i scare i KO in the class .

hahah

Hi Jo,
I cut and paste this class info for you here.

Positive Babies (7 month to 15 month)
During this period, baby's growth accelerates. His increasing cognitive development results in inquisitiveness and emerging self-awareness. Critical to his first learning experience is the opportunity to explore and express.

POSITIVE BABIES provides stimulating activities for both babies and parents through:-

Yoga play

object play

simple sign language

exercises with songs and rhymes

fun tools to capitalize on this vital developmental stage

The above endows you with the tools to promote learning potentials and holistic development of your babies.

Buttercup, any lesson to teach us how to discipline our toddler?

Ladies, lately facing problems in discipline Rachel.

Re: Hitting pple's head
Lately, she has been hitting either mine or hb's forehead with her palm. Each time i tell her "No", she will starts to cry loudly ler. Then, i tried to hit her palm lightly to tell her it is wrong... but she also ends up crying big time!! HOw??? Me so paisei, i think she also hit Evie's gal during the bday bash too *_*
Now, is too young to reason out with her...hiaz!

Not oni that, when she is upset... she will hit her own head very hard to show her anger! Oh no...... =(

jo,
for your jorel leh, dun think u will KO in class. In fact, you will listen very intently and take notes some more.

Alice,
me too am worried about the need to discipline liao. cause Randall can be stubborn too. He don't hit pple on the forehead, but he throws his tamptrum in other ways.
I am a bit worried that i use too harsh words on him or the wrong method of disciplining also. Now, i onli whack him on the arms or buttocks.

Buttecup,
but when u whack randall does he know that he is being punished due to his wrong doing? Cos' i'm worried they won't understand that. I think is easier to reason out with them when they r older... but me dunno how to handle now :{

alice,
hmmm...sometimes when damien misbehaves i will smack his palm also. when he does it again i hit harder and then says NO very fiercely...sometimes when he cry aft i shouted him i let him be lo...let him cry n cry then eventually when he stop i explain to him again...then he will stop doing it for a while.

Alice

You are not alone. When Megan got scolding from anyone of us, she will start to pinch herself or hit her own head hard. I think their anger management fail... heehee!! I think cos they dunno how to express themselves yet. Recently Megan also very notti, till i can get mirgraine and need to take pill killer every night. But when she is guai, very guai. Very tiring hor. SIghz!

angela,
think u are rite le...i read it before somewhere that they duno hw to express themselves hence they take it out on themselves as they duno hw to anger manage.

hey, i like the headband u did for rachel =)

Alice,
Think our kids already understand some things. My girl also tend to throw tantrum. When she cannot get her way, she will either pull my hair hard, or hit people. So I try to scold her and tell her no. Like Val, I also hit her hand and let her cry
After that she seems to know it is wrong, but sometimes it gets repeated.

Val...

Like just now, she insist tat i must lie beside her after i passed her the milk for her last feed. Even i change position she also cry and reali cry till got tears. She dun zzz wz me since birth, dunno these 2days have being like that. Hb stress now as we not bringing her along for our Bangkok trip in July... he say like Megan tot we abandon her. Sighz.....

You like the headband? Hahaha! Hope your next 1 is gal then i can make for her. Recently ordered many ribbons etc from Gmarket korea site... Have new ideas to make clips. But Megan only have 1 head, make so many also no chance to wear all as she dun reali like to put on clips. Is my personal interests so i enjoy doing them

Hi Mummies (those attending Gymboree trial),
all names are confirmed, and i will submit to them tomorrow ...

Buttercup,
thanks for the information on the positive thinking, but i think our babies are now toddlers, so not very neccessary leh .. hahaha now i am more keen in the classes that i want to enroll rayden instead.

Alice,
hiyo, u are not alone lor. Rayden is also notti. He will cry for attention in event if he dun get his way or when we ignore him. But the funny thing is tt he will usually do tt to his daddy, as he knows tt the daddy can be bullied ... hahaha

Angela,
i think now they are toddlers and also smarter, they will know what to do to get their own .. so its always good to teach them now. Maybe Megan senses tt u are gg BKK without her, tt why super attention seeker now.

Val, Ylyn,
Ya ya... I also let her cry lor, but she keep repeating it and it goes round and round like a cycle! So i thought i might be doing it wrongly ler. But now, looks like most of them behave the same way lei, hmmmm...

Angela,
haha... so not only us that can make u kanna Mirgraine ah. I always feel that Megan very guai ler compare to Rachel... oni when they gets cranky can fight nia hehe!
huh? Pinch also ah... me feel so heartpain when she hit herself so hard on the head ;( Maybe u r rite abt the Anger Mgmt thingy... Hope they can grow out of this soon!

Re: Hairband
Angela, start BP lar... we support u hehe!

Dolly,
Rayden so smart... he knows how to aim for the right person so he can save his energy haha! Think he also know to get yr attn... "dun drink milk" u sure jumping around, lol!

Re: BP for Haenim Play Yard - 6 panels for $188
Alamak, I knew it... Sure got BP one lor after I bought one haha! But cheaper by $22 lor... from what we bought, Sianz!!!

Alice,
I ever read somewhere that discipline our kids must be on the spot. Example, when your kids pulled your hair, someone (maybe husband) must whack his hand and do simple explanation to him. It should not be done after he let go of your hair.

Then we must do it many times then they will capture that this is not right because their small brain are still developing and requires repeatility to make them understand. This logic is the same when we are trying to teach him words. We always says "bird bird, car car etc to our kids....

alice,
its never too young to reason out with Rachel. Their brain is like a sponge now so they are learning things fast so before it is too late to discipline better start now. for my discipline way, i will hit the palm lightly like u first then explain to him and each time keon still want to do a thing knowing tat i already scolded him then i will "act" to be more fierce. they will cry for sure because they know tat crying is their secret weapon. I will leave keon to cry and pretend to ignore him. normally he will stop his real cry and pretend to make crying sound and some other sounds to attract my attention. then i will give him a hug and explain again. in fact my hubby just commented the other day that we seems to be more relaxed with keon. Last time for kiern, we were rather strict so he was well-discipline at a early age, like if we go shopping, he wont go touch thing here and there etc. i also thinking is it because of our strictness, tat why kiern is very independent for his age.

angela,
ya the headband very nice, too bad i no girl girl.

Alice,
Rene does that too. Whenever she does that, I'll say "No! No!" in a stern tone. She knows that it's wrong, but she still does it on my hubby. My hubby dun bear to scold her, so.... When Rene does not get what she want, she start to slap or pinch her thigh. After some time, I heart pain, I give in. *Headache* It seems like she know that I'll give in if she keep doing it.

angela,
Megan v smart to lie on u so u cant escpe watching tv programs with her. hehe. hey, so these few days she wanna slp with u rather than by herself? think as they get older they get more fussy...recently my damien can really scream and cry till my neigbhour come over and check...faint...
HAHAHA. i pray my 2nd one is a set of twins lo if nt 1 gal also can. hahaa. if really gal, i will get u to be my hairclips/headbands supplier liao! heehee. how? u manage to convince ur hubby to let u start a small business frm it mah?

dolly,
faint...the 6 panels play yard so much cheaper!

von,
hahaha. when my boy bites me when i latch him i will bite his upper thigh too. ahahhaa.

jer,
actually i find it a gd thing that Kiern is very independent le. He is also very sensible. gd! =) haha. pray for u ur #3 one is a gal then we all spree together for gal's stuffs. hahaha.

ting,
these few days been letting damien hold his own bottle when he drinks milk.he has been holding by himself everytime i give him le. was telling my hubby, argh...finally i dun need to hold his bottle for him. hahahaa. then aft he finish with his feed (be it if he finish all the milk or still leave some) i will praise and clap for him and give him a kiss and he always very happy when i clap for him =) mayb u can try to encourage aldan to do the same.

Hi Alice, Val

Start BP? No la... cannot catch up the nice work done by professional... heehee!! for good friends like u gals no problem, i can make anytime. When i receive those new ribbons, i will make new design and post on my blog for viewing... heehee!!

Val,

He nvr agreed so dun even try asking. Waste my saliva n energy so what for. Heehee!! He always say " Got so much time, please bring meagn out for classes, play, etc...." hmmmmmm

Ting,
yes yes .. i agreed with Val. this is what i learnt from Adnes and Angela. To let him hold the bottle and drink, and once they do it, to praise them. I even called my hubby from the hall to come in the room to clap for Rayden at times and indeed, he feels so proud and now he loves to do it. Once he finished his milk, he will pull out the bottle and make some noise so that we will know tt he finished ...
this morning, it is the 1st time tt i left him to drink on the bed, while i walked away to do my make-up, instead of lying down with him. When he finished, he immediately pulled out the bottle and clapped himself, then my hubby who was lying beside him also clapped for him, u can tell from his look tt he was happy and proud.

Dolly- aiyoh y this BP dun wan to cm earlier! Save qte a bit leh! u gonna get for rayden?
I been waitin for the day I can jus pass the botl to aldan n he lie there n drink himself! Attempted to let him hold a few times but he kept pushin away the botl n playin w it =(

Angela- nvm lah, enjoy ur tai tai lifestyle. hehehe.... i wish i can leh! hahahha

Val- aldan jus refused to hold his botl leh =( damien wil lie n drink on his own or on ur lap? Hey nw tat he can walk, does he stil like to be in the play yard? Aldan ytd walked longer distance w/o support.. reckon by end this mth he shd be walkin independently alrdy

Ting / Val,
i am quite tempted to get the playard since it is so much cheaper now, but the thing is tt will rayden outgrow it soon and whether he wants to be confine inside ?

Ting,
keep trying by letting him hold, slowly he will get used to it.

dolly,
ya. i also told my hubby once damien finish we will both clap and praise him. rayden will still clap for himself. so cute. hehehe. so far, damien wldnt clap for himself but once he is done with the feed he will either sit up then pass me the bottle or he will throw the bottle to 1 side then get up. hahahaa.

now when we ask him to wave bye bye and when he does it we also praise and kiss him. think kids really loves us adults to praise them.

ting,
damien v funi. he will nt lie dwn when he gets the bottle and put it into his mouth. instead he will sit n suck frm the bottle. hahahaa. we have to make him lie dwn lo. be it on my lap or on the bed he also ok.

so far, he is still ok in the play yard SO long there is toys for him. hehehe. But once he is sian liao he will roam abt in my mum's place lo. in our own place he will roam the entire hse la with either my hubby or me trailing behind him.

hahahaa. v soon he will start to run like damien does! =P

dolly,
it depends on individual baby ba. u see my damien till now he is ok inside if got toys for him la. mayb u try it out at one of our place then see if rayden likes before u get?

re: play yard
worth buying it now? i wanted to buy when keon was in his crawling stage then hubby rejected it. after seeing the play yard during damien party, he said buy it after his parents shift out. now that they are shifting out in about 3 to 4 months time, is it too late to buy now?

dolly,
ya lo, dunno how. I intend to put it for playing corner. Keon seems ok inside the play yard during damien's party but i dunno how is it when its at home. initially sure kiern will be in the play yard too and keon will be in as kor kor is in there but at later on if the kor kor sian liao then how? haha...

Ting,

This is not tai tai lifestyle... Tai Tai lifestyle is everyday go shopping, spa, manicure etc... hahahaha!! Take care of children is called Huang Lian Po... haha!!

Dolly,

Rayden such a darling now... Heehee!! good boy. Now Megan after finished her milk will place the bottle aside and pick up her pacificer and suck then go to her la la land... hahaha!! But at times, when she bad mood.. reali monster!!

hello everybody,

Anyone would like to replace my Shaine gymboree session? I forgotten that I will be hong kong on next weekend.

For the zoo trip still on?
I can't get the zoo card cause i forget to login in at 12am 1st June. Till next day, it had been grap by all liao.

Jer,

I tink i need a gate more then play yard... Haha!! cos need gates all around the house esp the toilets, balcony and store room to prevent her from going in and make a mess!!! She jus slip and fell backwards in the toilet yday and she reali like pink panter as we dint even realise she sneak in... I tink they wont stay in play yard for long at this age. Just how i feel la...

dolly,
what kind of classes you want to enrol rayden in?

von,
its every saturday from 3pm to 3.45pm for the location at Square 2.
u interested? we can go for the trial together =)

dolly- ya mayb u let rayden try 1st? aldan dun reali like it in there. I only put him in when I need go bathe or do my stuff but he wil be screamin away unless I’m inside w him. is rayden stil usin the walker?

val- tats gd! Aldan alrdy sick of his toys! I tinkin for no. 2 I gonna train her (hope so. Hahaha) to be in it at a early stage like my fren did. Her gal can stay in the play yard n play by herself for hours!

angela,
hahahaha. u got ur mum to help u out so u nt really huang lian po la. hehehe.

ur hubby dun wanna u to start a business out of the hairclips and headbands isit coz he bu se de see u so xin ku?

corynn,
wah! go hongkong with ur hubby n shaine? so gd life ho! one moment stay in hotel, the next moment go hk! shiok!

Re: Zoo
i am ok even if no zoo pass. OCBC card holder got discount la. if we cant get enuff zoo pass the most we see who got ocbc card then we buy the tickets and split the cost lo. at least discounted price better than full price la.

angela,
ouch! did Megan injured herself then? i agree with u i also need gates le...to block the kitchen n mbr's toilet!!! if nt damien will go to my kitchen and play with my WM's buttons and picks his dirty clothes off the laundry bag...or to the toilet and play with the glass door n slamming them shut!

lately damien's new "toy" is the door. he likes to slam the doors of any room -_-''' so worry he will get his fingers caught in between...

Jer- I’m usin the play yard as a play corner too. Jus dump in all the toys! Haha

Angela- ok mah. Since ur mum is helpin u lots! Heheh… u stil can go shoppin, manicure n hi-tea! Hehehe.. megan’s such a gd gal!!! aldan… suan le…. I pat him until I so tired wan to doze off liao, he stil turnin rite n left……..
Is she ok anot? Any bruises??

Val- aldan also likes to play w the toilet door. Open n close n repeat it again n again. N he likes to transfer his dirty clothings frm the pail to ours instead =_=

Jer,
me too, like what angela said, i dun know if he likes it or not, and it is not cheap although it is cheaper in BP, still $100plus.

Ting,
yes, at my mil plc, rayden is still using walker, and he still likes it leh, so i just let him be.

Buttercup,
haha i am a KS mummy. I have planned to sign Rayden up for Kindermusik from next month onwards, till he reaches 18mth. And after 18mth, i am planning to sign him for Zoophonics for weekdays and JG for weekends. Hmmm haha this is my plan lah, but hor, for JG, he will still be on waitlist as they are currently full.

Dolly,

I can't make it. I am in hong kong next week.

Date : 13 June, Sat
Time : 5.00pm - 5.45pm
Place : Harbourfront Gymboree

Please confirm your attendance, as it is only limit to 15 babies per class.

Re: Gymboree Trial
1.Dolly (Rayden) - confirmed
2.Choc (Raphael) - confirmed
3.Mona (Timothy) - confirmed
4.Lynn (Dylan) - confirmed
5.Jer (Keon) - confirmed
6.Poky (Xuan Xuan) - confirmed
7. Adnes (Morgan)- confirmed
8. ting (Aldan) - confirmed
9. winnedy (Nicholas) - confirmed
10. Jo (Jorel) - confirmed
11. Yueling (Alyssa) - confirmed
12. Diana (Daryl) - confirmed
13. Cheri (Matthias)- confirmed
14. Annabelle (Eudora)- confirmed
15. muzicgal (Weijun) - confirmed
16. ylyn (Kaylene)- confirmed

ting,
duno wats with the door that attracts them so much. hehehe. damien cant trf the clothes to our pails coz i place them high on the WM. all he can do is tip the pail so the content inside will spill on the flr. and he like machim running rely like tt...willl run frm the room to the kitchen then must touch the wall at the furthest end (look at u then smile) then run back to the room again...-_-'''

u ladies ordering the personlised tee mah?

val,
that's a fear of mine too....cause my house very windy and sometimes the doors slam shut by themselves, me also have phobia that they will slam on my baby's fingers...so will tend to keep checking that they are stuck to the magnetic thingy, or i will close the window when the wind is too big.

Angela,
at least you get to see a lot of 'first' of megan...i can onli hear about it sometimes from my mum who will call me and tell me excitedly =(

val,
This hong kong will bring Shaine along. It's her first trip on flight. I had booked it long ago but bo bian lor, don't want to waste it.

If the swine flu get spread from human to human then i will not going. Currently for those who kena are fly from US.

dolly,
u putting rayden for weekdays AND weekends class @ JG?? why both weekdays and weekends? me also interested in JG le for weekends class le. share details le.

i am intending to put damien in the drama class @ JG when he is older.

buttercup,
did u buy the door guard? actually i did for all the rooms but main door and toilet ones didnt put la. the door guard will leave a gap so even when they slam the doors will nt kena their fingers.

corynn,
how nice it is for shaine to travel. hehehe. ya lo...currently sg 11cases are all flown in frm states...

jo,
ask u ah, if i bring damien overseas before he is 2yo, i will pay air tic cheaper? then if i fly back aft he turns 2 how?