(2008/05) May 2008

cheri:
u mean only siong a few mths then subsequently its only e pay for her rite?
Haiz my hubby keep telling mi to saty at home but i tink gettin a maid should be better then i lose my income rite?? so trying to work out the figures to show him its better...

jo,
haha... as long as he does not LICK the shoes like nicholas!

malcheri,
i different from u... i prefer someone with at least 2 yrs of experience... then i no need spend so much time teaching... i practise wat my colleagues tell me, let them try to do the housework 1 week (of cos must tell them the schedule) then correct them from there... so far ok..

my colleague even have a apprasial form!! she will do appraisal with her maid every 6 mths!! tell her wat is good and bad... where have to change!!

Winnedy- I forgot which brand le. but it’s reali ex so didn’t buy.

Val- I hope so.. hahahhah…. I tink he chose the card cos sth new to him n like shiny shiny lidat.

jovial,
when the maid come, they owe agency about $2000. Their per mth salary is about $350. so deducting their salary means, they will take about 6 mths to repay back the loan.. after which they they start to take the full salary like $350..

usually we have to pay the agency upfront like $2000 (or whatever the maid owe the agency)..

val, i took leave on tue and wed, cos want to do some baking and have some family time.. but the rest of the week, i'm at home working.. i just changed boss and he's really good as compared to my previous one.. yi ge tian, yi ge di..

jovial, you have to pay about $2000+(one lump sum for the air ticket etc) then this money is deducted from her monthly salary every month for the 1st 6-8months depending on what the agency worked out for you, but it just meant that the maid is taking an installment loan from you. you won't lose any money just that you need to fork out cash to pay the agency. yes, it's definitely a better choice to have a maid than to lose the income since your mum will be around..

winnedy, it's true you don't need to spend more time teaching.. initially we also thought the same but guess we're pretty unlucky cos the one with experience never want to listen to us.. she just do it her own way even when we told her what to do.. really pissed us off.. and after some advice from relatives who got maid, asked us to switch to a new maid instead.. new maid is fine with us cos in the agency, they are taught how to do normal household chores, just need to tell them the schedule and also since my mum will be around, it's really alright to get a new one.. and so far after 6 months, she is alright.. still hardworking, she will go to my mum's place every morning after we left for work. i guess it's really a matter of luck.. but up till now, i still don't have any good feelings for having a maid but don't have a choice, need someone to do the housework for my mum and also ourselves..

Jovial, winnedy / cheri

Just share my views on maids.

First one is a new maid. Young and inexperienced. She was a transfer case but tat time in need to get a maid fast as I was going back to work soon.
So just took her in based on the agent’s advice. But only abt two weeks, she started crying and wanted to be sent back to the agency… so end up boh bian, sent her back. But this one is quite obedient lor.. and when she does household chores, she really use a lot of strength and clean and follow orders. But she needs a lot of teaching and guidance along the way. Say for cooking, my mother has to cook and show her how.

So for the 2nd one, I chose someone based on the biodata the agent gave me. Cos of the 1st experience. I chose someone who is older and more experienced (she worked in singaproe and HK before). She is a very fast learner, usually show her once and she knows oredi. And for cooking wise, just have to tell her and ask her to note down the steps (she can write and read English). But the –ve part is tat she knows how to cut corners and go shortcuts. And tend to be skip steps or eat snake when she finds any opportunities. Ya and true, sometimes when we say her, she just keep quiet, but she will revert to her old ways after a while. But my hb and me are not very picky persons. so as long as the house is generally clean and the food is ok.. we are ok. And can see she likes my boi so we just close one eye…

As for money wise, the experienced wise is of course more expensive. Initially have to pay a lump sum ard 2k for the loan. But for the next 6mths, just need to pay 10-20 for her pocket money. If no off day, have to top up another 20 for compensation.

choc, me interested in e pouch leh... but i got a beco already hmmm... where's e link where i can see all e designs? btw i also dunno which size to get?

alice, wah bought in genting think i cannot get le cause cant imagine taking coach up to genting with her think abt it already gives me nightmare.

Hi Winnedy

The problem is my house got no more space for a slide... hahaha!! Some of the mommies here that been to my place already saying my house like childcare centre... i tink the slide will occuipe my study room if i place it on. Mine oso little tikes... i want more space... heehee!!

cheri,
hehehehe. gdgd. at least is from bad boss to gd boss nt the other way round =)

actually i like to work from home lo..working with loved ones ard very nice feeling =)

angela,
u got the slide from toyrus mah?

Hey Val

Mine is pass down from my brother. My little tikes kitchen set is from kaki bukit baby hyperstore... I am still looking for replacement on the maze cube as megan love tat toy.. Will go US this weekends to see if i can get something.

annabelle,
pupsik pouches nice and good... i also got a beco which i use for days tat i'm travelling alone with tim...

the pupsik is very convenient to use when you're out with other pp as its very easy to slip on.. so support choc!!! its good!!!

Thanks mummies... Hehehe.. at least i get a better idea how to go abt...still trying to convince my hubby cos he really dun like e idea of having a maid.. keep telling mi dun like strangers to slep in our house.. haiz

angela,
for the maze cube, i saw something similiar but not so many types in 1 toy at Ikea...mayb u can check it out. think ard $10++

choc,
me v tempted to get urban chix...get liao at least i think my hubby may use as compare to mocha dots...

Birthday Bash --- Registration closed

Venue : Gymboree @ Harbourfront
Date : 16 May , Sat
Time : 5.00pm - 6.30pm (new timing, please note)

Charges : $370 (10 babies package for 1 1/2hrs)
Additional : $26 Non member registration fee
Additional 30 mins : $26 (so that we can have 2hrs)
Additional babies : 22 x $15 = $330
Finger food & drinks (estimation) : $200

Total amount : $952 / 32 babies = $29.75 ~ around up to $30 each baby

Please transfer $$ - $30 to Diana's account : POSB saving 065-34182-4

1. Choc - ref: 2214898191
2. Dolly23 - ref: 2216284997
3. Jo -ref :2218178592
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle - ref: 2219462428
6. Chobits - ref: 2214891065
7. JJBoy
8. Von - ref: 2217788961
9. Jer
10. Evie_82 - ref: 2218969907
11. Cheri - ref: 2219472891
12. Dearie_e - ATM transfer on 23/04, Ref. 2564
13. felval - ref: 2217684179
14. bb08 x 2
15. Jocelyn
16. Alice - ref: 2214862227
17. Jovial - ref: 2215497614
18. ylyn
19. ting - trf on 20 apr 1.50pm, forgot to copy ref no.
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling ATM transfer 4633 (20Apr)
23. icebubbles
24. Angela - ref: 2215056758
25. mona - ref: 2214821674
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn - ref: 2217903158
29. Yueling
30. Corynn - ref: 2222386903
31. Michelle - ref: 2215056758

Total : 32 babies

So envy you all discussing on pouch or sling. My ger never want to be inside. Especially now, she even want to walk on the road. Headache lor. Yesterday she even grap the soil to eat.

Jovial,
My hubby also hv the same thought. He don't stranger to stay with him le.

Anyone know when is Taka having storewide 20% sales ah?

Anyone of you try the Safety 1st car seat? Is it good?

Jovial, corynn
me and my hubby also dun like the idea of someone else staying in our house...touching our stuff...haha...tats why we rather not have a maid

val,
urban chic is nice!!! quite manly... mocha dots more for women...but nice also leh..too bad no more stock for the mocha dots reversible or tat will be better!!!2 designs in one pouch!

pediped shoes quite ex leh think i paid abt $46? not sure if i remember correctly as i also bought oobi clothes from e seller..

winnedy, think shoos shoos i paid abt $26 bah.

angela,
is the slide foldable? good lah... then so many variety of toys for megan

yanling, good that u are happy with this 2nd maid... my this maid with me for only 1 mth plus.. i really cross my fingers and hope that she will continue.. big headache to get a new one and restart training...

corynn,
i think my car seat is from safety 1st, model is britax from robinson.. have to confirm on the brand though.. its good.. from new born to 4 yrs old.. but pretty hot in there..

annabelle,
$26 is cheap leh!

sugar,
bo bian on the maid.. cos my side and my side get part time maid, the cost is almost the same to getting a full-time maid liao...

Hi Diana,
I pasted your post earlier below.

I prepare 12 items for daryl to choose :

1) Ruler
2) Dictionary
3) Pen
4) $10 note
5) a pair of chopstick
6) handphone
7) a pair of new shoe
8) calculator
9) thermometer
10) colour pencil
11) small soccer ball
12) flute

and the 1st ting he pick is the ruler, then chopstick, then dictionary lastly $10 note....

after we done wif the selection...and we keep away, the chopstick and ruler, then he start picking up other stuff to throw...but overall, he pick up the ruler twice but hold on to 1 chopstick for a while....

<font color="ff6000">wow.. u also have this custom.. I thot aldy "shi chuan" liao. I also did that for my gal when she turned 1 YO (in chinese age). My ah ma keep insisting 12 items. but i cant think of 12 items.
Do u mind explain each of the items ar? hahaha.

Hazel (#2) picked 2 $1 coin, 1 at each hand, then followed by pen and then drumstick.

My elder gal picked drumstick, book and then $1 coin. haha.</font>

2380908.jpg

2380909.jpg

sugar,
ya lo. urban chix quite manly that is why if i get will get that..already got 1 pouch le. so now trying to convince my hubby why need another...

annabelle,
ya. pediped is ex but i feel its worth the price as the material is gd...if only my boy can wear it for more times will be gd =P

jo,
ya. me also wanna to buy sandal so go downstairs can wear. no need to wear tt adidas shoes.

kidstyle @ northpoint also got sandals. will bring damien to go try and bring those shoo shoo shoes to trade in. hahaha.

jo,
i saw 1 pair from oshkosh at $29.90 (abit ex considering it sandals but i think we paying for the brand). If trade in with the shoo shoo shoes, hopefully can get $20 off (in nt will be $10 i think).

hopefully sun weather is gd..morning go kidstyle then aftnn then can bring damien go swimming again. hehehe.

jen,
saw ur pic got ang ku kueh, why need it ah? why need scissors also ah?

Jen,

This is the list of tings i translate to english from a chinese website i found the stuff on monday..

1) dictionary (wen xue jia/sciencist/knowledgable person)
2) book or pen (shu fai jia/wen ren/office job)
3) ruler (mean someone of depth/lawyer/judge/ge ming jia)
4) calculator (businessman)
5) money (wealth/good in saving)
6) credit card (banker or finance)
7) name stamp (officer or guan quan)
8) picture or paint or colour pencil (artist)
9) mao xian tua or cloth (fashion designer)
10) pingpong or badminton racket or football (sport related work)
11) flute/volin/organ/CD (musician)
12) chopsticks (cook/hotel industry)
13) small shoes (lu xing jia/tan xian jia)
14) moisturer/lipstick (vain, care abt own look)
15) handphone/software/mouse (IT/high tech or telecommunication job)
16) globe (geographist)
17) jin qian/bandage (doctor or nurse)
18) screwdriver (engineer or gong ye)
19) toy car (will hv car or driver)
20) ji mu (construction line or architecturer
21) nian zhu (qian xin xiu xing)

val,

let me guess accordingly to olden days lah...

scissors - represent tat person good in needlework?

Drumstick - respresent tat person hv kou fu and will alway hv food to eat bu cho chi?

ang ku kueh - represent tat person will hv a smooth life dun nid to go thru hardship tian tian mi mi?

Winnedy ,

Ya the level on above kid level think the sport appareal station near to escalator .

Left only black /brown and green .

I bought the black one .

Val,
the ang ku kuen will hv 2 big ones. both to step on her foot one. got meaning be4 she step on it one. haha so funny. something like 1 leg step on the "ku" (I forget). then another leg step on "toll"(hokkien - sound like peach) means in future always can play.
Scissors dunno if it means be seamstress. ahaha

Diana,
thanks for the info sooo interesting leh. can I knw what did u key in the search?
drumstick ya u are rite.. nxt time bu cho chi lor. haha. both my greedy gals chose drumstick.

Winnedy, that is my younger gal who just celebrated her chinese 1 YO bday. Next Monday will be her official 1 YO. ahhaa.

BTW, Diana, u also let ur child sit on the "pounder"?

jen,

wat is pounder?

i key in chinese wording to get to the webpage de...the chinese name for the selection is zhua zhou yi shi...but i cant remember wat i type to get to tat page le...heehee

zi ka da ku, zi ka da tou, a pai wu tang qi tou....muahahahaa.....this is wat i try to figure out on ur saying abt the hokkien wording lah...

diana,
pounder is the grey thing my gal sit on leh. ahah that thing is used to pund chilli or spices one leh. ahhaha.
i try to find those link tomolo .. haha. thanks.

gtg liao. bye.

Birthday Bash --- Registration closed

Venue : Gymboree @ Harbourfront
Date : 16 May , Sat
Time : 5.00pm - 6.30pm (new timing, please note)

Charges : $370 (10 babies package for 1 1/2hrs)
Additional : $26 Non member registration fee
Additional 30 mins : $26 (so that we can have 2hrs)
Additional babies : 22 x $15 = $330
Finger food &amp; drinks (estimation) : $200

Total amount : $952 / 32 babies = $29.75 ~ around up to $30 each baby

Please transfer $$ - $30 to Diana's account : POSB saving 065-34182-4

1. Choc - ref: 2214898191
2. Dolly23 - ref: 2216284997
3. Jo -ref :2218178592
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle - ref: 2219462428
6. Chobits - ref: 2214891065
7. JJBoy
8. Von - ref: 2217788961
9. Jer
10. Evie_82 - ref: 2218969907
11. Cheri - ref: 2219472891
12. Dearie_e - ATM transfer on 23/04, Ref. 2564
13. felval - ref: 2217684179
14. bb08 x 2 - ref: 2223361169
15. Jocelyn
16. Alice - ref: 2214862227
17. Jovial - ref: 2215497614
18. ylyn
19. ting - trf on 20 apr 1.50pm, forgot to copy ref no.
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling ATM transfer 4633 (20Apr)
23. icebubbles
24. Angela - ref: 2215056758
25. mona - ref: 2214821674
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn - ref: 2217903158
29. Yueling
30. Corynn - ref: 2222386903
31. Michelle - ref: 2215056758

Total : 32 babies

diana
i transfered $60 cos i got 2 babies attending.

i dunno whether do some of you feel the same way as i do... but i feel very sad that my twins are born on the 14th may cos that means if they were to celebrate on sunday before their birth date, it will usually fall on mother's day... As a pair of twins, they already have to share the same birthday...now they gotta share the celebration with mothers too... some of you might think its good to celebrate it together with mother, but i dun think so lor... cos most of their friends will not be able to celebrate with them (they need to celebrate with their mothers too)... then most of the restaurants are also fully booked and more expensive on that day..(my hubby only off day is on sunday, so saturday and weekday will be out)

in addition,mid may is often the exam period... that means they will not have the mood and time for birthday celebration....

did i think too far liao??

mummies with babies in mid may, can share with me how you think abt this? feeling abit sianz and sad...

Val,
I also saw a pair of oshkosh sandals at kidstyle. Think can only trade in old shoes for $10.

bb08,
don be too sad. the thought that may is the exam period and they cant enjoy their birthday also cross my mind. But don be too bother ya, they can really enjoy when they are older where they don have exams. Somemore, they can celebrate their birthday with their friends after mother day celebration ya. =)

bb08,

dun tink too much...i born in 3rd sept and yearly my bday is ard test date or 1 wk holiday de...so none of my classmate will remember too...but nvm de lah...coz the one we wan them to remember is usually our parents and our bf in future mah.....so nvm one...heeheee...

furthermore, i alway feel it is special to find someone to share the same bday as myself de...thus i was so excited to noe in this thread there is at least 2 bb same day as daryl lor....muahahaha...it took me more than 20 yrs before i find someone who born same date as me...but too bad me and her nt tat close lor....heehee

Dolly, Val,
Alamak... not trying for 2nd one so soon! Can't imagine what i will become if kanna so soon... Now with Rachel alreadi almost KiSiao ler, probably have to wait till she is at least 2 YO then try lor. By then 2nd one comes out, she is 3YO so much easier lor.

Diana,
haha... not bad at least yr parent quite supporting to come over yr place =) Rachel too, keep trying to get rid of the shoes keke... then let her stand with shoes... she started to play ice skating on it *faint*

Ant,
wah... Aldan will be rich lor like that wahaha! Maybe buzi man or something. Wise choice!
Beginning means maybe they will published it in another month or so bah. keep a lookout =)

Jovial,
heard Nation is not bad... but realli depend on luck so time lor.

Winnedy,
Aiyo yr boss so funi... how can she stop pple from their own planning de, Hiaz!
Me too, a boy then Factory Shut down immediately! =)

Val,
I love the design!!! thanks for poisoning me ah... Ya lor, Pediped very expppp... lei, must consider cannot chong tong cos' theit feet realli grow damn fast lor!
Hope BP is much cheaper =) must inform me okie

Cheri,
Happy Lunar Birthday to Matthias!

Annabelle,
Genting is a kind of training for bringing bb on holiday. Starts with short trip then the long trip will kick in =) Oh dun think coach is a good idea... I went by plane the last time then take 1 hr cab up too! not so bad lei.

bb08,
Dun think that way... actually i feel that what they want most on their bday is the close ones celebrating for them. Venue is not impt lor... can always arrange to celebrate on Sunday when yr hubby is not working mah. Actually Daddy and Mummy is good enough for them ler. They will appreciate it de =)

bb08,
My ger also born in mid May. Before that my colleague also have the same thought as you and told me the same. For kid, their enjoyment always came from how their parents prepare their BD. When they grown up, they will prefer the close ones to celebrate for them. Later they will think BD is just a little bit special day in the year...most important is they are happy throughout the rest of the 364 days.

ladies...
now i confirm and tell u all that having teeth earlier is realli NO GOOD. My boy slip and fell and cut his tongue while he was crawling...
my dad couldnt catch him in time...so the sian... wonder why all this happen...
i know that accidents are bound to happen, but hope that wun have such severe case next time

also... i realli salute those mums/caretaker here who spoonfeed their babies! LIHAI!!!!
POWER! coz ytd i spoon feed my boy for 3 times... nearly hand break and i try so hard to control my "bad temper"...
u noe lar..ah choc not a patient lady! hahahahaa

so those bo gei...please dun feel sad... its a blessing !

choc ,

hmmm ...Jorel had fellen twice and blueblack on his chin ....

Sometime is really bopian ...cos they are active . If Rachael start walking around without support ...you will have more headaches .

Choc,
*sayang sayang* to Raphael, must be damn painful ...

Yeah man, now you understand .. my boi now dun take bottle, only for drinking water. For his milk feed, he always want spoon feed, tt why i also saluate and appreciate my mil, cos she is one who has the patience to spoonfeed him, for all his milk.

sob sob... then he tongue pain cant suck from bottle..i spoon feed lor...

but think better liao...last nite his midnite feed he able to suck lor... but i see him cry till like that..heart si bei pain...

hai...i noe lar..accidents bound to happen..but this is his 2nd accident... both cause by grandpa.. hahaa..first time is FIL, now is my Dad..

ask u all hor..i crazy one lar..if fell and hit the teeth..shld we go hospital? if teeth drop n bleed etc... i tink too far..ahhaa

Ladies ,

I can declare Jorel 100 percent walking without support liao cos me and MIL been monitoring him . For the past 1 week he hardly crawl on the floor liao . Hooray ....Jorel need more shoes !!