(2008/05) May 2008

dolly,
u mention u going to let rayden choose from a list of items rite? wat items do u have in mind ah? actually teochew dun have such customs but i would like to let damien pick also for the fun of it. ehehe.

o...ya hor...tat will be fun...

tink some of the tings are

(1) calculator
(2) pen
(3) book

wat else huh?

dolly,

my mother will be coming over wif a drumstick for daryl to taste...she say according to custom the wai po hv to 'jie jiao' or wat for the bb so tat in future, the bb will nt hv nothing to eat even if we arrived late at any function lor...muahahhaaha...funny rite?

diana,
ya. i think that is fun lo. hehehe.

(1) calculator
(2) pen / mao bi ( i will use mao pi in place of pen)
(3) book
(4) thermometer
(5) celery

Val,

(1) calculator (accountant)
(2) pen / mao bi ( writer)
(3) book (teacher)
(4) thermometer (doctor)
(5) celery (cook??)
(6) laptop or mouse (IT)

anymore?

Val / Diana,
oh yes, my mil will be cooking mee suan for rayden's lunch this afternoon, and also red boiled egg and 1 drumstick for him ...

And also, i have prepared a pair of new shoes for him, in the lunar calendar, he is officially turning 1yr old, so can wear shoe liao, planning to bring him out later.

then i think i will prepare the items for him to choose, but hor ... i didnt know need laptop or mouse, or celery leh ?

anyone has the proper list ??

dolly,

i anyhow say de...coz muz put in all profession mah...still tinking of judge and lawyer use wat to represent....muahahaha

Dolly, Val
Me too! I am going to let my boi choose... but my pil will know what to put cos they are the very very very traditional kind. They said my husband late time pick calcuator first and his maths super good.

Diana,
I also dun know. My mil says just put it into the porridge and slow cook. Then after the porridge is done, remove the whole quail and and chop the meat (alittle bit) into small pieces and mix with the porridge and serve. OF cos you can cook with pumpkin, potato or fish if you want.

Oh, I have also transferred the money to you. Please check.

Birthday Bash --- Registration closed

Venue : Gymboree @ Harbourfront
Date : 16 May , Sat
Time : 5.00pm - 6.30pm (new timing, please note)

Charges : $370 (10 babies package for 1 1/2hrs)
Additional : $26 Non member registration fee
Additional 30 mins : $26 (so that we can have 2hrs)
Additional babies : 22 x $15 = $330
Finger food & drinks (estimation) : $200

Total amount : $952 / 32 babies = $29.75 ~ around up to $30 each baby

Please transfer $$ - $30 to Diana's account : POSB saving 065-34182-4

1. Choc - ref: 2214898191
2. Dolly23 - ref: 2216284997
3. Jo
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle
6. Chobits - ref: 2214891065
7. JJBoy
8. Von - ref: 2217788961
9. Jer
10. Evie_82
11. Cheri
12. Dearie_e
13. felval - ref: 2217684179
14. bb08 x 2
15. Jocelyn
16. Alice - ref: 2214862227
17. Jovial - ref: 2215497614
18. ylyn
19. ting
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling
23. icebubbles
24. Angela - ref: 2215056758
25. mona - ref: 2214821674
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn
29. Yueling
30. Corynn
31. Michelle - ref: 2215056758

Total : 32 babies

diana/val,
hmm..my boy lunar bday on 4th may...

celery i think means hardworking. hmmm...nv hear of laptop or mouse also le...i dun have the proper list also. hahaha.

(2) pen / mao bi ( writer)
(3) book (teacher)
(4) thermometer (doctor)
(5) celery (hardworking)
(6) laptop or mouse (IT)
(7) ang bao / $$ (wealthy??)

diana,
judge/lawyer --> use wig? whahaha. j kidding nia. mayb print out the symbol for law??

von,
u mention ur pil v traditional rite? ask them for the list n share le. hehehe.

Hi mummies..finally finished readin all the postings. V tirin wkend for me. Aldan as usual din slp much n I tot at nite he wld. But fri n sat nite he woke up countless times til I fedup!!! Heng last nite he only woke up twice n slept all the way til reach the centre, tink reali tired out…

Choc- tats the only way to make him slp leh… hope one day he wil wean off himself…

Angela- hahahah! So funny lah megan. Hw cm see ur nipple wil run?! Lolz….
V nice leh the kitchen set!!!

Sugar- hang in there…!

Beebee/winnedy- same here. The only time my hb n I can hv a peaceful meal is when our boy is aslp! If nt goten entertain him w food n take turns to carry him while the other hurry eat.. envy those bb can sit dwn quietly.

Dolly- cannot believe it hor.. our boys gonna be 1yo soon!!! Stil rem this time last yr anxiously waitin for their arrival… I also bot a pair of shoes for aldan. Those soft sole kind…hehe

Hope this help..

(2) pen( writer)
(3) book (teacher)
(4) weighing scale (business)
(5) money (wealth)
(6) ball (mean like to play)

diana,
some i know la coz i asked my dad b4 but he dun have full list also. i think those u bracket in are quite true.

haha...

i only noe abt the 1st 3 nia....

adnes,

like tat my boy sure choose ball de...coz on sat we brought him to gymboree free play (invited by my neighbour) and he is so busy chasing and picking up the balls lor...and he so tan xin and choose a big ball initially and then cant move himself coz ball to big (he cant crawl only shift his ka ching using both hands) then after awhile, he decide to gif up the big ball and go for a smaller ball and he managed to move ard wif one hand and the other hand holding tightly to the small ball lor....mauhahahah

Diana,
same same, i am also quite sure rayden will choose the ball as well.... i am gg back in the afternoon, will test him and share with you all on the result .... hahaha

Adnes,
thanks for the list ...

Ant,
very fast hor, our boys are turning 1yr old, remembered on 30April, both of us were in TMC waiting for delivery .... hahaha .... Help me to "kiss Aldan" and wish him a happy lunar birthday ..

Sugar,
Help me to wish Tim a Happy Lunar Birthday as well ..... **Muack Muack**

周岁宝宝抓周物品及代表含义:
1、字典或词典:代表文学家或科学家,有知识的人才。

2、书、笔:具有制定意味,代表书法家、文人、文职工作。

3. 尺:具有尺度的意味,代表律师、法官、革命家。

4. 计算器、算盘:代表商家或生意人。

5. 人民币(钱):代表富有之意,善于储蓄的富翁或有钱人。

6、信用卡:银行家或金融行业

7、印章:代表官位或官权。

8、画、水彩盒、彩色笔:代表画家、艺术家。

9、毛线团、布料:代表服装设计师。

10、乒乓球拍、羽毛球拍、足球:代表体育相关职业。

11、笛子、小提琴、电子琴、CD:代表音乐家。

12、筷子、铲子:代表厨师、饭店业者。

13、小鞋子:代表旅行家、探险家。

14、润肤霜、口红:代表爱美,在乎自己的容貌。

15、手机、软盘、鼠标:代表从事IT业、高科技、通讯业。

16、地球仪:代表地理家。

17、棉签、纱布:代表医生、护士类。

18、螺丝刀:工程师、工业

19、玩具汽车:有车族、司机

20、积木:建筑业、设计师等

21、念珠:代表潜心修行。

京京妈准备的12件物品:

网球拍和网球:代表体育相关职业
人民币、英镑:代表富有之意,善于储蓄的富翁或有钱人。
鞋子:代表旅行家、探险家。
钢笔、圆珠笔、签字笔:具有制定意味,代表书法家、文人、文职工作
英汉字典:代表文学家或科学家,有知识的人才。
小提琴:代表音乐家。
筷子、勺子:代表厨师、饭店业者。
计算器:代表商家或生意人。
鼠标:代表技术工作者,如IT工程师
梳子、护肤品:代表爱美,在乎自己的容貌。
尺子:具有尺度的意味,代表律师、法官、革命家。
十二色蜡笔:代表画家、艺术家。

diana,
hahaha. i have a hard time reading chinese words sia... =P

adnes,
so we have to let our baby choose 3 items ah?

dolly- yalor.. time reali flies n our boys r nw toddlers le! happy lunar birthday to rayden too! hw's ur prep for his bday? mine thou is a small party.. alrdy headache... finally settled the decor n cake... nw headache on wat to let him wear cos realised the new clothes r too big for him!

diana- wah chim leh the chinese words.... haha

val- i jus rem i hvnt pay u for the potty!!! hw much ah?

ant,
actually i forgot is $3.90 or $4.90. think u trf $3.90 to me can le. =)

me got new clothes for damien liao but is frm 12-18mths or 18-24mths le...also abit big le. hehehe.

von,
hahaha. no prob. me going to print out then bring hm and ask my dad to read for me. hehehe.

Ant,
finally i have finished packing the party favour bags for his birthday, and also finalise my cake with PG. I dun have much headache for the decor as i am engaging Michael's service.... for his birthday suit, my mum has bought him a shirt to go with his suspender and i also got him a bow tie ... hopefully it will turn out nice.

Diana,
your list too chimn liao, i think i will just go with the basic 6 items ba, if not, dun know where to find 21 items leh.

1) dictionary (wen xue jia/sciencist/knowledgable person)
2) book or pen (shu fai jia/wen ren/office job)
3) ruler (mean someone of depth/lawyer/judge/ge ming jia)
4) calculator (businessman)
5) money (wealth/good in saving)
6) credit card (banker or finance)
7) name stamp (officer or guan quan)
8) picture or paint or colour pencil (artist)
9) mao xian tua or cloth (fashion designer)
10) pingpong or badminton racket or football (sport related work)
11) flute/volin/organ/CD (musician)
12) chopsticks (cook/hotel industry)
13) small shoes (lu xing jia/tan xian jia)
14) moisturer/lipstick (vain, care abt own look)
15) handphone/software/mouse (IT/high tech or telecommunication job)
16) globe (geographist)
17) jin qian/bandage (doctor or nurse)
18) screwdriver (engineer or gong ye)
19) toy car (will hv car or driver)
20) ji mu (construction line or architecturer
21) nian zhu (qian xin xiu xing)

diana,
wah! thx for translating the list =)

think the mao bi and the ambilical stamp tat we did for my boy will come in handy for the 1st bday =)

think i will leave out item 14. hahaha.

hmmm...any ideas if these items must be new or old one also can?

von,

i surf the net using chinese word mah...coz i tink shld be able to find on web de...but i nv noe the list is so long lor....but hor this list is abit too modernise liao de...

tink the credit card, ball, shoe, moisturer, handphone bandage, srewdriver toy car, ji mu all these are newly add to the list de...

mayb u wan to check wif ur in laws for the traditional one?

dolly,

i also no time to prepare all 21 one...likely to choose a few and let him choose nia...

val- okies.. wats ur acct no?
ya, i also bot 18mos clothes for him, scare he outgrow too fast. my mil lagi KS, bot the size meant for 2yo! tot wan to let him wear on his bday but last sat tried, realise too big. hahah... so nw tinkin n tinkin wat to let him wear!

diana- i tink aldan wil most likely go for the toy car.. hahah! my hb wan to train him to be future F1 racer. lolz

ant,
PM u my acc num =)

hhahaha. more excuses to buy more clothes liao. hehehe. last sat went suntec, saw baby fox having sales le..the gal gal's stuffs so nice..

Diana,
think i will prepare item 15, as both myself and hubby are in IT industry, maybe he would like to follow our footstep ... hahaha

dolly,

i only print out the list then go hm discuss wif hb wat to prepare....muahahah...but no. 14 i sure leave it out de...coz our boy le if choose tat guess we be worry le....

Hi Diana, payment trsf to ur posb acc, pls check ya.. thanks

3. Jo
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle
7. JJBoy
9. Jer
10. Evie_82
11. Cheri
12. Dearie_e
14. bb08 x 2
15. Jocelyn
18. ylyn
19. ting
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling
23. icebubbles
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn - ref: 2217903158
29. Yueling
30. Corynn

evie,
I read in a book its okay to give celery to baby. but need make sure that all the "string" of the celery are being removed as its a choking harzard.

feifei,

no no...u shld prepare the list of item then let bb choose one nia...

von,

then mayb u wan to put a dentures for him to choose...hahaha...joke aside tink shld be same line as the doct ba...

diana
*pat pat* ignore remarks u dun wan to hear... uncalled for lar... hahaa

lunar birthday!! exciting..finally can wear shoe!

Alice / Chobits,
Thanks for the info on celery

Von,
How to prepare the Quail eggs huh?

Dolly,
Oic… cos mong told me she have a guitar cake, a pooh cake to prepare that day… tat why she told me cant take in my order… then I tot the pooh cake is yours!

I only let Nicholas select 4 items… the list should have come out earlier!

1) Pen
2) Calculator
3) Sweets
4) $10 dollar note

I put him 1 metre away from all these items… and once I released him, he dashed all the way to the calculator… he did touch the items on and off but no interest for sweets at all… no wonder he so skinny!!

jer,
how was the genting trip?

did u bring yr bb there? u drove there?

thinking to make a trip there... but dunno if my bb can "survive" the distance

choc,

thks, mine oredi wear the soft sole shoe during CNY le...so nw tinking if shld buy a hard sole shoe for him to prepare him for walking bo....muahahaha

winnedy,

we only start talking abt the items selection 2day nia....heehee...but y hv to put sweets huh? wat does is represent?

val- i trf le =)
yalor gals' stuff so nice rite! boys de so boring. haha... tat day i went fox bot 2 regular priced items n got 2 tops at $5 each. v worth it =)

choc- u bot shoes for raphael le? i put on the shoes for aldan, he dun like, kept wantin to kick them off. haha... n he likes to bite them more thn wearin.

3. Jo
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle
7. JJBoy
9. Jer
10. Evie_82
11. Cheri
12. Dearie_e
14. bb08 x 2
15. Jocelyn
18. ylyn
19. ting - trf on 20 apr 1.50pm, forgot to copy ref no.
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling
23. icebubbles
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn - ref: 2217903158
29. Yueling
30. Corynn

the last weekend was a very bad one for me... i was warded into kk as i had severe pain in my tummy... found out tat this pregnancy is an ectopic one so had emergency surgery to take out my left tube...
so now just got back and is resting at home... will not be attendinag any parties for the next 3 wks at least..
tim is now with my parents and he'll be there for at least 2 weeks...

and the worst thing is tat suppose to celebrate tim's b day on sun with my family... so sad even asked my sis to take pix of his cake when she went to collect it yesterday

Winniedy,
Not quail egg, it's the whole quail. My mil says just put it into the porridge and slow cook. Then after the porridge is done, remove the whole quail and and chop the meat (alittle bit) into small pieces and mix with the porridge and serve. OF cos you can cook with pumpkin, potato or fish if you want.

Re: Shoes
I also brought soft sole shoes for my bb last month. I brought 3 pairs from Shoo Shoo. When the shoes arrived, I cannot resist the urgue so in the end, I opened 1 pair and tried it on my boi. He likes it. Now when we put the shoes on him, he knows he is going out. Whahha...