(2008/05) May 2008

check with you mummies hor.

I was flipping thru my girl's health booklet and noticed the assessment on baby's growth. I wonder if we need to bring baby to PD for check or GP will do. The assessments are quite simple, I think, it can be done by us, parents, except the testing of eyesight.

Gina I will bring my girl to Polyclinic for 9th Mth assessment which is free got do hearing test too. The rest is done during their jab.

Jyzis,
Yupe yupe i saw that portion after I posted the msg. Hahaha

RE: Rashes
I wondering why my girl got rashes. Dun think it's heat rash...it always appear after bath then by later in the day it will go off. I dunno is it because of the bath wash. But then she used it when she was born...didn't have any issues until the start of this month. Anyone got opinions?

icebaby,
my boy's neck also previously got rashes...my CL say its milk rash and applied talcum powder to the rashes and we try to keep the area dry...it went off after a while

Poko,

The growth assessment gt hearing test?? FOC or need to pay? My bb when 2 days old, the PD recommend my bb to do a hearing test leh. And i did tt oredi. The hearing test $70 leh.

Re : Rashes

Being seeing the thread abt rashes. And nw my bb starts to haf some rashes on her faces & below the eyes. How How?

Also, Can check wif u all..These 2 days, my bb haf been vommiting her milk out (FM). But i dun think is over feeding. Seems like either there is alot of phlegm in her throat or muscus in her nose. Any idea hw to noe whether bb throat gt alot of phlegm or nt? Whenever i feed her drink milk, she would b like always gasping for breathe & panting one. Like short of breathe one. I did check wif the PD. She told me is normal coz bb stil adjusting to the breathing. But i stil worried. Anyone gt the same problem?

twinky,
my bb also same same.
he drinks like he is gasping for breath.
gulps down the milk and panting
listen to him like that so kong bu ah

normally i feed halfway pull out, let him breathe a while before continuing
if not later when he burp, he will vomit a bit of milk out
especially when he tries to stretch hard hard after that...

Re: Rashes

my baby also had rashes appearing since 2 weeks ago. went to see PD this week and was told it was a case of milk rash + eczema. but no family history of eczema also leh...

he prescribed steriod and a moisturizer for him and after 2 applications the rashes subsided.

Felval,
Now that I latch my boy, i only express when I feel breasts still very full. Most of time is I'll express once before I sleep.

Jo,
Friso should now be gold cover. Blue cover is old stocks. They changed to gold cover quite some time back leh. Strange that still got blue cover in market. Maybe you can give them a call to check. There's a number on the tin.

Icebubble/Jo,

Sometimes i wil oso pull out halfway let her catch her breath. But she wil stil vomit her milk out after burping her. When i feed her, i even told her "dun drink so fast, nobody snatching the milk fr u". But she stil drink so fast. Haha..

Yesterday she oredi 'merlion' twice liao. Somemore is in the middle of her slp, she suddenly wake up, like gt stg choking her & then she start to vomit liao. Ended up i haf to change bedsht twice in a day. Dunno y like tt.

Hi everyone, so long didn't post!! So tired recently, my boy recently will cry at night. Then he likes want to suck so must be hungry, then bottle feed him BM, then he will suck alittle and struggle then scream and cry. So take out the bottle, he suck again, so put back, same thing cry again. Sigh.. Don't know what's wrong.. Try to burp him and put back bottle, he will struggle and cry again. So I latch him he's alright. Why is that so? I thgt at least at night I can rest. Haiz..

felval, finally you out from your cage again.. So good leh, u no need to fork out any cash for your hospital bill. I'm just wondering how come I need to pay extra money. Maybe cos of the epidural and forceps delivery.

Wow, give birth to next one still need to choose rabbit year ar.. I'm think 2 years later. So that will be 2010. Cos hubby thinking of 4 kids, then if 2 years 1 kid, I will be 31 years old when I gave birth to the 4th kid. That will be alright. If too big age gap, think will be quite old already. Cos actually don't want to give birth after I'm 30.

Ya. I bought the hammock at $400+ man.. Sigh.. Anyway, it's alright la. At least my boy sleeps in it every night. So not so bad. Hehe..

You lose so many inches during your massage? So good. I think I only lost 3 inches lo. Weight wise only 1kg. I didn't do anymore liao cos lazy leh. Hmm.. Waiting to lose weight on its own. But seems like my weight still haven't drop.

Cheri,

Maybe becoz bb can feel the difference in the 'feel' of bottle nipple & our nipple. When i went for the talk at TMC, this is wat the nurse told me.

Cheri ,

Ya twinky is rite ... Babies are smart they able to know which is our and bottle nipple . Maybe you tried not to latch him on often . That what i`m doing ... which i express into milk bottle when he is veri veri hungry example when he cry for milk when wake up .

But heard of ppl saying some babies only drink fresh from your breast ...if like not i dunno how ....!!

Cheri,

There is a stage where baby will develop "nipple confusion". For my gal who was breastfed more frequently (latch on), she refused bottles at the age of 4mo and this lasted till she turns 5mo.

That is when i started to alternate between bottle and nipple.

Actually I also can't remmeber how they do the hearing test, I only remember got a boy after my son failed the test so he got to see doc as for my boy he passed lor. Then for Poly clinic is free de.

i forgot who is using the avent collection shell le...
does the shell work when lying down?
cos i was leaking when i latch on bb lying down
keep dripping till body wet ah
i cant cradle hold him liao, hand keep ma bi
cos he can drink up to 45mins long...

i did not bring my bills for my pre-delivery expns when i delivered my baby...it has been almost one month...can i still claim for these expns?

icebubbles,

i am using the avent collection shell, but i didnt try lying down, as my boy dun latch. I use it when i am doing single pump.

buttercup,
ya. me also kkh. gynae is A/Prof John Tee. A man of few words but professional! hehehe

jo,
ya. think gov hosp still cheaper.

how much is ur boy drinking ah? so gd u nd only wake up once per nite for feeding.
haiz...mine drinking 100ml...and he wakes up every 2 or 3hrly for feeding!!!! in between will cry for nappy change!
last nite worst....duno why every hr cry...haiz...i got so tired n fedup in the end hubby helped me even tho he have to wk today.

icebubbles.
hahhaa. agree!!!! give nipple only everything ok. hehehe. mayb someone sld invent a nipple-like thing for daddy so that when we mummies are tired they can wear the nipple-like thing n let the baby suckle!
whahaha.

jo,
nv rec ur mail le. can send again? paisay~

buttercup,
babies dun like pacifier better coz once they get used to it v hard to wean off one. my hubby n i agree no pacifier for our baby...

jo,
we played music for my baby too...first few days got use...by n by think he got sick n tired or used to it no effect le. hehehe

Diamondust,
i am starting to miss him being aslp most of the time just like if he is a few days old baby. hehehe. think as babies grow we will get more tired coz if they stay awake and wans attention/body contact then jialat...
like nowadays if my boy is awake, he will start to cry n ask for attention...just now i ignore him he cry till duno like wat...like machim going out of breathe i heart pain give in then go carry him n cuddle him then put him on my chest till he slps...
ya...me also starting to have panda eyes le =( and i look haggard....yucks...

dolly23,
my boy same as ur boy...v tiring lo...

peace(II),
same. we have ang ku kueh & red eggs but no cakes la. coz my hubby scare the buffet food will have alot of left over so he dun wanna waste the cake & food...haiz..i hope my baby slps thro-out the full mth celebration and is fuss free....*pray hard*

Re:rashes
i think is heat rashes? mine also have rashes...started on the eyes then to the face then scalp then now the joints of the neck and arms...then when my boy his face bcums more obvious...see liao so heart pain...duno if its coz i ate too much durian during preg...

twinky83,
mine also and he has got muscus in his nose..so wat i do is raise his head higher than his body and it seems to help ease abit of the prob. then aft tt will burp him...if he burp sld be ok will nt vomit the milk out ba.

tracy,
when u latch ur boy, does he poo with every feed? i realised if i latch him on, he poo very very little while if i give him EBM he will poo with each feed...so i am wondering if i have too little to offer him when latching him that is why nt much poo....
some how i have this feeling that he is not drinking alot when being latched as compared to giving him EBM.

cherimoya,
hahhaa. ya lo, the cave woman is finally out again. hehehe. coz hubby went back to work so i went to my mum place for "help". hehhee. if nt i will die ah...
mayb u can call up KKH and ask? i think they will explain to u.

WAH!!!!!!!!! ur hubby wans 4kids!!! then u urself le? 4 ok for u? hehee. i also wan 4 lo but hubby dun wan..he only wans 1 ok..but i manage to get him to agree to have 2. hahaha.
2yrs 1 kid is ok lo, i find it just nice but 2yrs later is dragon yr i dun like...coz normally alot of dragon babies then will have alot of competitions...like enrolling in sch need to "fight" fight with so many kids...
then exams wise like major PSLE/O'LEVELS need to do extra well in order to go to gd sch...then when grad need to fight with so many same graduating friends to get a job...so i aim for rabbit yr. 3yrs apart sld be ok also coz my bro and myself also 3yrs apart. hehehe

tWiNkY,

how many weeks were u pregnant before you gave birth?
Sounds so much like my younger son. Now when he is so much older he is okay and dun vomit. Its hard to describe and explain leh...it's like his breathing compared to other kids is abit faster and harder...cos of the "space" in his chest (nothing serious). So that's why he tends to vomit more easily.

So whenever he play to much or laugh too much...he start coughing..the milk will just vomit out. Since he was around 3, it doesn't happen that offend. (He is now 4+)

Cheri,

As for your baby, I think used to the nipple liao. So bottle teat not used to?

Hospital bill, with epidural is higher cos just the person that does the epidural you are not allow to claim from medisave (i only found out when I paid my bill too!) And foceps is assisted delivery...that part I dunno whether it's additional cost.

I think my massages I lost around 1 inche. I lost most of my inches because I constantly wear a girdle. For the 1st 2 weeks or so..I tried my best to wear a binder for at least a few hours esp when at night (but very uncomfortable to sleep...so middle of the night I would take it off). Now I am still wearing my girdle.

Wah 4 kids. If you want 4 kids I peifu u. Me settle with my 3 can liao. I dun want to even think of having a 4th when everyone at my in-laws side keep say must keep the number "EVEN"!!! I say to them...they help me take care huh!

RE: Weight
7 weeks after birth, I finally left 2kg to lose! Hahaha. But thank god I can fit into my jeans (the smaller one). But then again, I like eating max 2 meals a day...and very very little carbo. Have cut my soft drink intake to almost none but plain water or else only a cup a day.

RE: Hearing test
My baby girl took her hearing test at TMC after she was born. Cost $70!

felval,
from day 1 my boy dun poo after every feed even when CL was bottle feeding him during my confinement. I remember aunty was telling me he poo at most 4x a day. Now, he poo at most 3x a day. Sometimes only one big poo in morning only.

When i started latching him, i also no confidence, kept thinking he will not hv enuf. My advise is practice and practice. Soon your boy will be efficient in sucking and can fill himself by jus sucking for 15mins. Once he drink enuf from your breast, he will unlatch himself and go into deep sleep with that silly satisfied look on his face

But one thing i notice abt direct latch. My body seems to be accustomed to direct latch, now when i pump i get less letdown. So my advise is also to pump at least once a day. When i return to work, gotta retune my body to the pump liao.

Felval ,

We feed him abt 90ml at the last feed .

For day time .... we feed him 70ml each time ...3 hourly . But sometime he will be still be hungry i will latch him on for 10 to 15min

I feel that he drinking alot ....and he is already 4kg on sunday . But hubby said if he is okie with the intake then let him be since PD said for his size they can take up to 100ml per feed .

Your boy soo cute also know to how lift his head ...like my boy even thought he is 2 weeks old he got veri strong neck and limbs .
No wonder when he is inside me always can sense his hand keep on popping out .

Panpan,

u are welcome ... to be honest, i am very lazy, only wear a few times when i apply the slimming gel.

Felval,

oh yes, our babies same same lor, so it's good to have another person around, so that they can relieve us. Just like today, i didnt send my boy to my MIL place, and luckily my mum came over this afternoon, and helped me to cuddle and carry my boy until he is sound asleep, so this afternoon, my boy slept for quite a long time, unlike usually, he will sleep awhile, then wake up, then got to pat him again.

My hubby commented the same thing as you, we wish that he is just like the 1st and 2nd week, whereby he wake up for milk, and sleep after that, then wake up again for milk, no cranky, no carry carry......... hahaha

Icebaby,

I delievered my bb when i am 38wks 3 days pregnant. Does this haf anythinf to do wif his breathing?? My bb nw onli 2 over wks old. Hope things wil get better by her full mth. If nt, intend to bring her to PD. Vomitting like very bad for her throat.

Felval,

Sometimes after burping stil vomit leh. Also, a few times, she vomit abit of milk at the same time she burps.

Jo,

U onli feed 90ml at last feed ah? Nw my bb 2 over wks old can drink btw 100ml to 120ml of milk every 3-4hrs. If lesser than tt, she wil start crying every 2hrs or less. PD say normal coz mine is a big bb. But i scare feed her too much, she wil becum fat when she grow up. Dun feed her, she always cry for milk. Ended up she wil drink more. Haiz..

Tracy,

Ur damien hw old can b on his tummy?? Look so young to me can stay on his tummy liao ah. So fantanstic!!

feval,
how old is damien when he can lift his head like that?
my gynae also A/prof John Tee...agree that he is a man of few words. Me being first time month also dun know what i dun know so also din ask him much...later pple ask then i realised i don't know!

tWiNkY,

Better check with the PD on the situation. My 2nd boy was born 37 weeks so he was abit weaker (under developed abit). But dun worry too much..it's okay one.

Buttercup and WCT,

Dr Tee was also my gynae for my 1st 2 kids. He very easy going...everything also "can". He very good at estimation of baby size. Also yes, man of few words...unless u ask...then u get an answer.

icebaby,
got a few times i asked Dr Tee abt my heart palpitation, abt my swollen legs and fingers etc..he just say its ok, no issue. Me first time pregnant mah, so thought how come he like this? Now then i realise a lot of what i experienced are pretty common. So to him, it is jia Chang Bian Fan.

Gals, i don't bring my boy to see PD at all. only once on the second day after we bring him home. The other three times are strictly jaundice check. But i read that you all bring your bb to PD for normal checks quite often. Do i have to do this?

twinky,
haha, i tink u meant felval's damien. she posted the pic.

Pooh,
ve you manage to resolve your forceful ketdown problem? my seems to worsen. he's choking at every feed and will unlatch himself at letdown then relatch again. sometimes he will resist by using his hands to push my breast away then i gotta switch breast.

hello, all mummies,
got a question to ask
when do you know to change to a bigger bottle or a faster flow teat? cos my baby can drink 120-130ml per feed and sometime when we pull out the bottle, his mouth still suck suck like not enough. but tat's oredi the max a small avent bottle can hold? so we were thinking of changing to the big avent bottle but scare he suck in too much air.

as for the teat, when he is super hungry and and flow is too slow, he will cry out like very frustrated, then suck a bit then stop to gasp for air. is it the teat problem? confused!!!!

last nite, baby darren is super cranky, he cried non-stop and woke up every hour to be carried. and even during sleep, he makes a lot of noise like very uncomfortable. in the end, my mother has to carry him to sleep. are your babies like tat? sigh.... if every nite like tat, i sure cannot make it. and realise tat if he is very cranky, he refuse to latch on. for the past few days, when his mood is ok, he still can latch on a bit. yesterday totally cannot.

re: taimaobi
hey. for those interested in doing tao mao bi. yesterday the person came to shave the hair for my baby, end up we coax in doing a pair of the pens (as my baby got quite a lot of hair) and the umbilical cord stamp. all for 660, but he is giving a pen free. and we intend to give tat pair of pens as wedding gift for him and his future wife ( we really think very far hor, hehehhe)

then i realise, after shaving hair, the head looks extremely big, machiam like those aliens in the Mars Attack.

Yanling,
you are right about him sucking too much air if we switch to bigger bottle. Last time for my gal, if we tink the flow is too slow for her, I sterilize a needle (use lighter to burn for awhile) then I poke a hole beside the existing hole in the teat. You can try that on one teat and let him try to see if he can manage the faster flow.

jo,
my baby also kept wanting my nipple for comfort last night but i refused to give him. I last fed him at 12mn and had to tahan his whining till he finally slept at 110am, but 2am it was time to feed again. Then of course feeding at 4am, 6am, 8am. Hahahaha..

You bottle feed? I direct latch so not as tiring, jus put him next to me and let him suckle till he unlatch himself and fall asleep. Then I'm also asleep throughout the feeding.

tracy,
u let bb latch one side only?
did u alternate at one feed, or pump out?

actually when i do exclusive pumping, i miss carrying baby...
so on n off i latch him, just to make sure he dun forget his mummy aka milk machine

everytime i carrying him, he seems hungry and will open mouth big big, aim my breast...
other pple carry him, he ok leh, not hungry
maybe i smell of milk?
u gals experience this?

Oops..Sorry Tracy.. =)

Wah Jo,

Ur bb awake for so long ah? Mine last nite different. Every 5hrs then wake up cry for milk. Suppose to wake up at 1am to drink milk. Then i purpose stay up to wait for her cry for milk. Wait & Wait until i fell asleep. When i wake up again, almost 3am liao. I tot maybe she wil slp longer. Who noes when i off the lights, 1min later, she star to cry for milk liao. And next feed is 8am. If every nite she like tt, gd sia..haha

Yanling,

My bb nw 2 over wks old & she is drinking like 120ml liao. Last nite she lagi best. Drink 140ml (But this is the 1st time she drank so much. Guess she starve too long liao.After feedg her at 10pm. Sh did nt cry for milk until 3am)) I am using the 250ml Avent bottle to feed her. So far she is sucking gd. Onli tt at time she drank too fast then wil vomit.
Think u haf to test wif different teats & check which one best suits ur bb.

twinky,
ur baby only 2weeks plus can drink 120ml??? tat's a lot leh really.
my baby is 5 weeks liao. but it's like every 2 hours plus he will cry for milk liao. guess it's time to up the amount for each feed liao.

twinky,
your baby can drink 120 ml ..my baby only can drink 90 ml and he is 3 weeks old ..i tried to give him more but he refused to drink more..

it seems like most of our babies have the same 'habit', dont want to sleep till late nite..i thought babies supposed to sleep alot, ike 20 hours a day? but my baby sleeps much lesser than that, can wake up 3 to 4 in the morning, another 3 or 4 in the afternoon and at nite worst still, till midnite also dont want to sleep..i finished watching the euro match, baby still awake !! me and CL going crazy soon !! i dont know whether i can handle the baby after the CL leaves next week..nightmare !!

Cheri,
Re your bb wanting to drink fresh milk, rather than EBM, my bb also like this for a few weeks. Funny thing is, for the same bottle and teats, but content changed to FM, he did suckle.

Actually we also don’t know the reason was it nipple confusion, or fussy with the taste. Some one, cannot remember who, mention last week or so, regarding the differences in the taste between fresh milk and EBM and Frozen BM. So we are just guessing my boy is choosy for this reason, since he will take FM from the same bottle and teat.

So last week, we tried to get him to drink EBM again, but wait until he’s hungry, like cry until very ke lian then feed EBM from the bottle. He had no choice and took it, now he does guai guai drink EBM from the bottle, some more suckle very fast wan.

WCT,
Ya, I also hope tomorrow bb is fuss-free, can’t imagine what to do with the guest if he is cranky.

Tracy,
I read somewhere that bb poo will get less frequent as they grow older week by week. I remembered my boy can poo like almost 10 times a day, no foul smell, so doc said it’s not diahorrea and 10 times frequency is alright if bb is BF. This 1 week, he is pooing lesser like about 5 times. However, I have not trace back if it is because of my diet (lesser confinement food as confinement ended), as what we eat, goes to the milk.

TWINKY and Buttercup,
Your bb drink so much already? My boy now 4 weeks but only drinking 80ml every 3 hours.

When you all latch bb, can your bb aim at your nipples correctly? My boy will open his mouth but always mis-aim. I still have to guide his head to my nipple.

icebaby,

how come you cannot claim epdiural cost thru medisave? i can claim, under doctor fee..i claimed $3800 via medisave for both my hospital stay and baby charges, in the end, i paid $1,400 cash for c-section w epidural , 2 bedder 3D2N

icebubble,
i latch one side only. then next feed i give him the other side. i only pump when i feel my breasts are still full, most of time at night before i sleep. I never notice whether my boy will aim at other people's breasts leh. Hehe, but possible tt he only aim at yours cos we do smell of milk!

peace,
my bb when going to drink very kan cheong one, so i must guide him towards my nipples. Sometimes even force his head towards it cos he facing wrong direction.

harlo mummies!
another cow reportin! haha.. my boy is 6 wks nw n drinkin 150ml every 3 hrs. my bm not enough for him, can only pump up to max 120ml only. smtimes drop to 90ml

re: bb sleepin late at nite
mine is lidat too! buey tahan leh... there were a few nites he slept at 2am =_= earliest also midnite thn knock out. put him in the cot, he wil cry, wans to be carried nvm, stil goten walk n rock him to sleep!! smtimes i sit on the sofa, alrdy dozin off liao, his eyes stil so big lookin ard. reali faintz man..

felval- ur boy so cute! can lift up head so fast alrdy! realise ur boy's hairline like my boy. front part not much. i stil tinkin whether to bring him to shave anot cos his hair nt much leh thn scare he move or jerk n may hurt him leh.

buttercup- my boy's neck also cannot be seen nw. haha.. goten lift up his head to clean.

ant1712,
one non-cow reporting! kekekekeke

re:bb sleeping late at nite
yesterday i bring bb secretly out to ntuc to buy groceries...my CL also came along...and the place was so cold...so bb got very frightened and very cold, his lips were shivering..i see already heart pain

when we reached home, he was unconsolable...cry until my whole block can hear, i carry lagi worse..hubby carry better but still crying. after 30 mins, the CL took over (she went bathe first), she took like less than 10 mins to calm the bb down...

so i foresee i will have a lot of sleep late nites cause i need a long long time to calm him down..acutally not really calm him lah, he will quiet down once he gets tired. :p