(2008/05) May 2008

Jen,

My bb oso gt quite high level of jaundice at birth. PD told her blood for test & Level is 14. If reach dunno 15 or 15.2 muz admit hospital. TT time i so worried. Then my aunt taught me to buy some kind of flower from medical shop for her to bathe & put part of it under the bed when she slp. And nw she is fine after bathing for more than 1wk. (in btw, my MIL stil gt bring her sun tan every morning ard 7plus 8.)

Jo,

So sweet of ur hubby to think of tt. =)
For my 2-bedded room, standard ard 7.30am, the cleaners wil cm & clean up the room & wash toilet. So noisy until i cannot slp further. But cannot blame them la. Muz maintain ward hygiene & cleanliness mah.

Momsy/ Twinly,

Nw dat i study my hospital bill again. Sorry but i tink they deduct $88.91 from the submitted recepit of $1007.94.
If I'm nt wrong, the total amt dat can deduct from hospital is $2125/-. Hospital deducted $2036.09 from medisave, so to claim the max. amt of $2125 from medisave, I m able to deduct oni $88.91 from ante-natal care to total to max. claim of $2125 for hospital charges from medisave.

I tot we r able to claim additional $450 for medical claim apart from the hospital claim. *Confuse*

hi twinky/jyzis,

i delivered at mt A. hubby did the discharge n there were not balance to us...i need to study the bill agn...dun recall them giving the claim...

im equally confused.

twinky,
tried the pacifier, my gal will spit it out! hahahaha

icebubbles,
I'm using the pigeon warmer, what my CL used to do is to put at about 70 degrees instead of the 40 degrees for EBM so it will heat up faster, takes about 5 mins, but gotta be careful not to overheat.

icebubbles ,

I have been using breast pad but sometime very uncomfy to sleep wif it at nite . But realli no choice cos mine also will leak .

twinky ,

Me and BB stay 5 days 4 nights cos of you jaundice arise on 4th day . I was sooo sad !

Ya my mum did the same bath him with the herb and put the herb near him but dunno it works anot . Cos my BB got slight jaundice but PD said it will go away two weeks or so .

But hubby did bring him down for sun-tan ...but these days sky veri cloudy . But he look fine to me at least not soooo yellow liao.

Jen,

i will go and buy the Anmum milk powder and try. Hope that it will help, if not then my boy will be on FM liao, cos SS is getting low.

Bebe,

i have PM you.

Poko,

i just dropped you a message in your facebook ... Small world and proud mummy of 2 ! Me already struggling hard with 1, my darling Rayden.

jo,
baby jorel so cute!!!!!

my bb not one decent photo....sweetest moments need a baby pic for the card right...i look through my entire collection and couldn't find one smiling one...he makes lots of funny faces and his expressions change so fast. i can't capture his smile faces...he cries and pouts and frowns...the only decent pics are when he is sleeping...can use this for the baby card pic?

kelcqi, your bill is 4 pages long! wow! My only half a page and all very generic terms so i also can't tell what they charge....

icebaby,
understand that the CL, MIL, mothers are scared that it will cause wind if we touch water...
the thing is my hb really dun believe. So he says 'crazy' when i say confinement have to do this, do that etc....today, he even asked if i want to drink teh Peng...at night, he on the aircon and on the fan also...my mother scolded me, then i say 'what you want me to do, sleep different room with him'..then she say, 'some pple do that'..but i don't dare tell my hb leh...later he say 'crazy lah'...so this past months during my confinement i have been sleeping in aircon plus fan room...my CL also never say anything....

Dolly yah so qiao and our bb name is just 1 letter different...

Don't worry this phase will pass very fast, soon you will miss the time when they are so small and sleepy 8)

Buttercup,

Me oso slping in aircon rm..As long u as do the necessary 'protection' (wear long sleeve & pants w/ socks), i dun c any problem leh. Weather so hot, dun slp in aircon rm can die man.

Actually mu boss say last time pple husband & wife slp separately during confinement period. Coz they believe during confinement, we r consider 'dirty' & may bring bad luck to hubby. Even nw my hubby cannot touch those praying god stuff coz he is consider 'dirty' as well as he was wif me thurout my labour.

My bill oso 4 pages long leh. Got those breakdown of those medical term stuffs tt were used on me which i dun reali understand. My bb one oso 3 pages long.

Diamondust,

Haha!! Ur bb oso does tt?? Mine too!! But then i wil force it in again & she wil suck suck again. She spit again i wil force in again until she suck for a while.

Jyzis,

Huh!! For my part, $2150 was deducted fr medisave. My bb part, deducted $672.66. But for me, i managed to claim back the full package amt of $550 leh. I very confused oso leh.

Momsy,

Better look thru & check wif the hospital fast Dun drag too long ah.

Jo,

My bb jaundice peaked during the 5th day. Nw she is 2 over wks old, the jaundice stil gt little bit. (can c from her eyes). PD say by her full mth, she shld nt haf anymore jaundice. Ya lo. These few days always so cloudy, no sun at all. Remeber the best sunlight is btw 7 to 8plus. Dun go later than tt. No gd for bb skin.

twinky, buttercup,
haha... I oso slp in air-con room, I feel so hot that I din even cover blanket, wear socks, not mention long sleeves & pants. During the first week of confinement, I tried slping with fan on only, I ended up with heat rashes at all joints.

Icebaby,
wearing binder is said to tone the flabby tummy, regardless of delivery method.

My baby like to use my nipple as pacifier but I have trained to remove it when she's going to sleep. Recently, she enjoy me carrying her to sleep. She'll cuddle & snuggle in my arms, once I put her onto her bed, she'll struggle to open her eyes and eventually woke up.

icebubbles,
i tell u ho, i nv do confinement proper so makes no diff to me. hehehe. last sun already went giant for grocery shopping n brought along my baby boy.hehehe.
just cant wait for sat to be over coz i wasnt that interested in having the full mth celebration...is hubby more interested so i went along with it....
imagine having to entertain 80++ guests then morning baby have to go for vaccinations then shaving of hair follow by buffet...poor baby will be so tired....
i hope he slps thro out the buffet. hehehehe.

^5. hehehehe. see we can be so coincident same yr same mth again nt. hehehe =P

re: tears
my baby didnt have any tears in hosp only came hm then have...then sometimes he cries v loud and hubby n i will sit there n see if tears will roll out nt. whahhaa. we v bad parents =P

twinky83,
wah! envy!!! how did u manage to slim dwn so much!? teach me le~

peace,
for me, my dad only giving cakes to those we cant come...then for those relatives whp are coming no cakes also wo..he says no need...
then for friends same as urs lo, no cakes if they come...even if friends cant come also no cakes...

jo,
mine was recommended by cherimoya. not bad la. hehhee. can see results lo...few inches off but weight wise...hhehee. nt that significant
PM u le =)

kelcqi,
gd job on ur pumping! hehehe.
i dun baby dragon coz too many ppl wanna have then imagine the competition and stress that comes with it? neh..i dun wan. hehehe.

tracy,
hhhehee. but u still pump even if u latch on 1 or 2 breasts mah?

icebaby,
hehehe. this sat will be 4weeks le...altho the bump is smaller but my friends commented stil can see...so i am hoping for it to go dwn soon!

Girls,

that time i type my bill out. So in this bill, does it shows that I had the $450 deduction?

Mummy's bill Note:
- 3D2N + 1 extra night charge
- due to inducing the night before.
- 4 bedder and got an upgrade to 2 bedder
- Natural + Epi
- Claimed gynae fees from medisave

(a) Normal Delivery with Epi 4 bedder - $1074
(b)Out of package items:
(i) Accomodation - $175
(ii) Drugs/Medicine - $175.70
(iii) Medical supplies - $56.30
(iv) Procedure - $120
Total hospital charge: $1601
GST: $112
Total with gst: $1713.08

Doctor charge
Epi Dr - $300 (non-medisave)
Gynae - $841.66 (medisave)
Gynae - $288.34 (non-medisave)
Total Professional Fees: $1430.00
Grand total: $3143.08

Deduction (medisave):
(i) Hospital charges - ($1408.34)
(ii) Professional fee - ($600)
Total deduction: ($2008.34)

Additional deduction:
(i) Ante-natal care - ($241.66)
Balance after deduction --> $893.08

Buttercup,

It's like that lah. Just take it that they are concern okay? No point get angry... =)

Gina,

I know. So now almost everyday I wear girdle. But my girdle dun seem "tight" enough liao. Need to buy new ones. You know any brand has girdle that has "s" size? I can't seem to find one!

WCT,

I also still can seem the bump. But wear girdle or "covered up clothes" cannot see. Hahaha

Gina,

your baby is just like mine. My boy also like me to carrying him to sleep and once i put him down, he will open up his eyes and stare at me, then starts crying .... So must really carrying and cuddle him alot, until my hands ache. Dun know by which month he will get better and can sleep on his own.

icebaby,

i am also wearing girdle everyday, and hopefully my flabby tummy will slim down abit.

Gina / Dolly ,

You ladies are not alone lah ... me too i was carrying him from 5pm till now 7 plus still dun want to sleep ....!! Sleep and wake up ... !

Falvel ,

Can advise contact and PM me rate !
Thank you .

Buttercup ,

Mine bill also about 4 pages and baby 2 pages !!

I need to pay about $3200 cash and medisave about 4k including baby bill .

Wiskcometrue,

The weight loss is nt delibrate one. When i discharge tt day, i oredi lose 5kg. Think these wt are to my bb. Then the additional 6kg i oso dunno hw i lost. Maybe coz MIL cook the food reali sucks. So i din eat much. Haha.

But nw my mum wil as and when cook for me. So after the tremendous wt loss during the 1st wk, i onli lost another 1kg since last wt.

Gina,

I cannot dun cover blanket leh. Last few nites i haf been shivering non-stop. And the shivers is like inside the bone one. Damn cold. Not like during pregnancy. I can on fan & air-con together & dun cover blanket.

Jyzis,

Ya. My gynae package is $550. But dun include delivery charges. On my bill, his delivery charges is $1280. 80% claimable by medisave. 20% cash. Mine is assisted natural delivery.

icebaby,
if i wear the binder then also cant see but i nt discipline le...its v uncomfortable as in v hot and then coz i am still having rashes end up will make me feel v itchy so i havent been wearing it for days le...

dolly23,
same issue here...mine also wans to be carried and cuddle to slp...even put him in hammock also no use...

jo,
PM u le. u got rec mah?
wah! pay $3.2k in HARD cash????

twinky83,
still envy le..hehhee.my dad cooks the confinement food for me and machim like feeding duno hw many ppl...everything in extra portion lo...haiz...then i also mouth itchy...nite time when i wake up to latch on baby or pump...end up eating the famous amos cookies...hehhee...but only a few pieces la. hopefully aft this sat when confinement ends, i can eat dwn on my food intake le and can slim down...

cherimoya,
i rec my hosp bill le...total of 7d6n stay is 7000plus...including baby's bill....no need to fork out any more hard cash except the $1690 deposit paid..in fact KK still need to refund us abt $99.hehhee

the rest can claim via medisave...so total of $5000plus claimed from medisave.

jo / dolly,
I just just tried to place my girl in "yao lan" for her to sleep and she slept soundly in it. Of course, initially I have to pat her to sleep and she fell asleep fast too. Maybe u gals can try.

my boy also like that...once wake up will cry for food. even if he has been fed 1.5 hrs ago, he will cry and cry until we give in 30 mins later and give him his milk.
after feeding, sometimes he go sleep. sometimes he cry. if that time is the crying one, then we jialat..have to carry and cuddle. even then he may cry, he may keep quiet. if he keep quiet, the moment i put him down, his eyes will open and he will cry again...

For me, mine is normal assisted delivery with epi. Total bill for mummy is $3697.60.
Bill for baby is $811.19.
Strange leh, KKH bill only 1/2 page long only.

buttercup,
try latching him on? for me, sometimes i so tired i just give him the nipple...that will quiet him down...he machim take my nipple as pacifier...then nowadays whenever he cries and if nappy has been changed, has been fed has been carried and cuddled but still cry when put him down, hubby will ask me to latch him -_-'''

so i have become a milking cow cum pacifier...

ya...mine bill also v short...my bill 2 pages only...

felval ,

I tink is becos you are in KKH and your hubby in government ...have diff claiming system .

Private hospital tink is higher .

Sigh ... hubby also like that if everything done cannot quiet him will need to latch him on . Last nite we tried pacifier but a few min he realise it ans start crying again .

But nowadays we will feed him at 9plus and last feed will be at 1or 2am . And he will be able to sleep throught rite up to 8or 9am . At least not soo siong for us .

felval,
same same here.
my boy has been crying non-stop after his milk at 6.30pm...
gave him 120ml EBM liao dunno y still cannot
mouth keep moving, mil wans to give him pacifier liao
but hubby dun wan, so let him cry...
see liao so heart pain
then i latch him on cos everytime he drink from me he sure sleep
then haha he is still sleeping now
i am a cow + pacifier + sleeping pill

so good, at least you all can be cow k....i want to be cow also cannot....

my bb also dun like pacifier...put in his mouth he will push out without ten seconds.

think i better go buy one huge earphones to use when i am alone at home with him beginning next week...then i can play some soothing music and look at him and smile while he is crying his heart out.

hmmm ... another way is we tried to play music when he sleep . And his favourite song is Cannon D ahahah ... able to sleep longer during the day !!

hee hee, jo,
i tried, i played mozart to him already...even got musical mobile that activates when he cries...thing is, he will cry louder than any music and close his eyes tightly shut....

he is crying now....

buttercup/feval/icebubbles,
same here also. my gal's waking hours are spent crying if she is not carried and cuddled. Put down already sure cry even if she was sound asleep in my arms before. And the funny thing is... she hardly sleeps!!! Today her longest record sleeping at one shot was only 1/2 hour leh. Jia lat. Think I'm gonna develop alot of arm muscles man. Read somewhere that babies are like that until about 6 weeks, then they will spend a bit more time being awake but not crying. Hopefully it will get better soon cos I'm already starting to look like panda.

Gina,

actually i am also against the idea of "yao lan" as i am afraid that next time he wun want to sleep on baby cot or bed. But too bad, my MIL's place has got "yao lan" and today she has placed my boy to sleep in it this afternoon, but too bad, my boy only slept for awhile and woke up again, so not much effective on him .... so in the end, she still placed him back on rocker instead.

buttercup,

i am also not cow, as my boy dun like to latch on on me, so i can only pump out the EBM for him. So now, if he does not want to sleep, i only hope that after his feeding time he will KO, if not then i have to place him in rocker or carry him as well, till he is very deep in sleep, if not, his eyes will open up again, then cry. I used to be also against pacificer but really no choice, last week when i took care of him again, i got to give him pacificer. There were times whereby i cannot heat up the EBM on time, and he started yelling and screaming non-stop, and i also scared that he will suck in alot of wind, so i decided to give him pacificer to calm him down. His reaction is the same as your bb, sucked for awhile then dropped out and cried. So what i did is that when i put in the pacificer, i will hold on for at least 1 - 2 mins, then he will suck longer and wun drop out.

Jo,

i wonder when my boy can be like your Jorel, last feed at 1am, and last all the way till morning 8am or 9am ... My boy is like alarm clock, sometimes even less than 3hrs, he will wake up and yell for milk, then drink abit and KO again. Just like last night, his feeding time supposed to be 1130pm, but he didnt wake up, and i also dun bother to wake up him, in the end, he woke up at 1am and cried for milk, then 430am, and followed by 7am ... so at least 1 to 2 time every night. . . . .

dolly,
my girl is sleeping on rocker in the morning, in "yaolan" in the afternoon when we cannot handle her, on our daybed in the living room during evening and in her cot during the night. So basically, training her to sleep at all places.
My girl only became difficult to handle after her bb shower where every aunty wanna carry and dun wanna let go.

jo,
so nice. My girl wakes up twice in the night and her last feed is usu. 10pm-11pm. She usu. wakes up ard 7am, sometimes earlier.

Icebubbles,

Sorry leh, I dunno when the sale will end. I went to the website and cannot find when they ending also. Later I go try the bag size n let u know. It looks big enough to hold 3 big Avent bottle.

Why don't you get breastpads to hold ur leaking breast? I got Pigeon Breast Pads, very cheap, 8 bucks only when on sale. I KS, bot 4 box that time. Now more than half box gone liao.

Jo,

Wah, your room super nice leh. Mine compared to yours like so small like that. And to think my hubby still very satisfied with our room. Haha... but I like my room for the exclusive area for the table. Cos alot of ppl came, den we store our stuff there and no one goes there, so laptop everything leave that area very safe.

Jorel looks very different from that time I saw him. His rashes gone already rite?

Wah, 1 carton ah? Their carton means how many bottles? We only got 14 bottles in total. Which FM u you got from them? I got Friso. I left only 4 bottles only...
But nvm lah, since bb on BM now except nite feeds, so the 4 bottles can stay there till bb is drinking 100ml. Cos even now we bring bb out, we bring the powder cos very wasteful if bb nv finish the whole bottle.

Me reply halfway first. Hubby's here, dun wanna kanna nag for using the com. Tml tell u ladies why...

RE: Heating of EBM
What I do is record the time and amount my girl drink frm bottle. I'll monitor the pattern and look for the signs, then start heating up the EBM. I din use bottle warmer, just a bowl with hot water. It takes less than 5 mins to do so. Unconsumed BM can only stay in room temperature for an hr, so I figure it's alright to prepare earlier.

Gina,

same same, sometimes in the afternoon, when i am watching tv, i will on the aircon in the hall, and try to put him down and sleep on the sofa, if he is very deep in sleep. Just that i am leaving him in my MIL care after going back to work, so i expect him to be carried, and sleep in "yao lan".

Icebaby,

I tink the gynae package already deduct under (i) Ante-natal care - ($241.66).

The receipt submitted to TMC for medical claim was reflected under Ante-natal care. But not $450 but oni $88.91 coz the max. medisave we r able to claim from hospital charges (mayb for 4 bedded) is $2125.

Hospital already claim $2036.09 from medisave so the maximise to $2125, I m oni able to claim $88.91 out of my receipt of $1007.94 for medical claim.

I submitted my gynae package of 1k+ but oni able to claim $88.91 from medisave to offset hospital bill.

dolly,
me too will be leaving my girl under my MIL care when I'm back to work. However, I have told her that I'll be looking after her w during the night-time when I'm back frm work. scared my girl very ke lian during the daytime since MIL has to look after 2 kids. my hb's nephew is very attached to my MIL & he's abit stubborn. His nephew has been insisting my MIL to carry my girl so that he can oso carry her. I got fed-up and told him off by saying that my baby girl is no soft toy, cannot always carry. My MIL face abit black but din say anything.

twinky,

the binder from guardian should be good, from USA. I wanted to buy just before delivery but the sale staff told me to buy after delivery woulbe be better coz there are diff size (S, M, and L) so after delivery, will able to get the correct size. But after giving birth, the hospital provide the binder (of course you have to pay for it) so i didnt get the binder from guardian in the end. You can ask the sale staff to open the box and let you see whether you like it or not but you have to go to big guardian store like the one at Toa Payoh Central , next to KFC.

ladies ,

we normally give him 10ml more for him to last longer at the last feed ...if he cannot finish then we just throw away .

Oh ya who is feeding friso to your baby ?

can i check the cover isn`t gold or blue . i bought from tmc is gold in colour but went ntuc is blue in colour . I`m getting confused ... can someone enlighten me .. thank

$450 deduction
You may want to refer to the table provided in the following link:
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/have-child/HC2.htm
1 column is showing the medisave withdrawal limit , the other is the withdrawal limit under the Medisave Maternity Package, which came into effect in 2004 Oct. Example if you deliver via Assisted delivery, the maximum claim will be $2150 (900+1250)

WCT,
We also will not give cakes to anyone who come for the buffet, but we will buy 1 big cake, some ang ku kuey and red eggs too, display them on the table. Whoever wants to eat, eat there.