(2008/05) May 2008

diana & dolly,

oh. i see. cos i read from the instructions take 1 or 2 pills daily.
then got a shock how come dolly can finish a bottle so fast!

Buttercup and Moony,
For this last week, I intend to be my CL's apprentice. She's typically busy in morning:

Make breakfast for me - if confinement is over, my breakfast can be as normal.

Wait for bb to poo and pee - funny bb has specially lots and lots of poos and pees in the morning. After changing him, which can be good 10 cloth diaper in 1 morning, he will do it almost immediately again. So, I might just give him disposable diaper, do all he needs 8), not the washable one.

Bath bb - I had been watching, but should get some hands-on this week

Play with bb and get him to nap. By this time, it's usually easily 11 am.

Do laundry - she uses hand wash. I will probably soak bb's soil diaper first, then throw every thing in the washing machine.

Shower myself - no need to boil herbal water le

Lunch - i will just order tingkat meals.

Feed bb again, nap .....

Night, omg, I have not figure out what efficient method I can adopt, at the moment, we are already giving bb FM at night.

Really can't wait to get out of the house and do something I like. While we are b-feeding, can we do manicure ? Will the chemical be harmful ?

Pooh,
Ya, when my boy throw up milk, he also amazes me with the quantity.

Have you all taste the BM? It tastes sweet. I wonder when we change our diet to non confinement food, the taste of BM will change ?

pooh,
i dunno leh... i never order from amazon b4, but tat time i order gap, it took about 2 to 3 weeks i think..

peace,
i dare not try my own bm leh.. hehee... i sniff oni..

icebubbles,

dun know leh, but previously this is what my gynae told me to, 2 pills 3 times a day, that why i finished a bottle in 1 month. but so far, no side effects and it does help.

hi moony,

you are not alone lor ... i am also facing the same problem, taking care of bb alone, but no choice, as i dun want my hubby to ask my mil to come back as i am not used to her staying with us. let's encourage each other and cheer up ! i have not been having good sleep dun know since when .... unless the past whereby sleeping is my fav hobby.

i cant sleep..... my heartpain..
from last week, my mum asked me to help her buy 4D as now holiday, she got more kids to take care.. (she's a babysitter, currently takin care of 3kids).. so i help her buy lor..

i seldom buy 4D, but since i'm there.. i bot a few for fun.. but all my numbers jump..
last wed and today i nearly won 1st prize.. sunday i nearly won 2nd prize.. all in all, it's $17K... haiz.. now think le.. so heartpain.. numbers all came out but jumped.. cant take it anymore.. 1st few times buy 4D and nearly got heart attack liao

dolly, haiz.. i dun wanna trouble my hubby cos his wk needs ample rest i noe he very much wanted to help me but i cant b selfish.. actually dis few days im at the verge of breaking down liao.. last nite my boy eyes can open big big look here n there while im tryin to pat him to slp but at the same time he is whining oso.. i get frustrated n scold him.. i tel him i dun wan him liao but yet im cryin oso.. haiz.. den my hubby gt scare.. he tinks im having my depression.. he said he will take over n ask mi to rest but i told him nvm.. haiz.. i juz wanna vent out my frustration.. cos i oso dunno y my boy cries.. i fed him liao.. change diaper liao.. he still like unhappy.. argh!!!

Buttercup don't throw away your milk, my 1st pump only got 1 tea spoon and I just pour out and let BB drink feel so lousy but at least he got to drink what I "xin xin ku ku" squeeze out.

moony,
can try applying some ru-yi oil on his stmoach. if fail, try placing him near u, where he can sense your presence. worst, u may hv to carry him and pat or walk around.

cheri,
the temp staff my co. hired to take over my job no show. on top of that, the new accountant oso no show, now the only staff @ ofc is new + my lady boss. in the end, my lady boss called to ask me to go back earlier.

Yanling,
When i decided to stop bfing, I gradually reduce the amount I pump each time by 10ml and also stretch the pump interval gradually. Eg. my output is usually 100ml per breast, i pump till i get 90ml then i stop. And instead of pumping 3hourly, I pump 3.5hourly. I do this for one week, then the following week decrease by another 10ml and increase interval by half hour. Slowly until my breast finally no more milk.

Sparks,
Wow 8 weeks in hospital! Can imagine the bill size. But glad that all is well now. I like my CL alot too, loved the food she prepares.

Kelcqi,
Drink lots of soup and milo. I feel that helps to boost supply too. Jia you!

Muzicgal,
I dun mind trying out 1 piece of the bra. Now i'm surviving on 4pcs of Moms-in-Mind bra. Love that bra the best so far, but sometimes wear t-shirt gotta put padding then nice.

Buttercup,
Dun throw away the BM no matter wat amount. You can accumulate it. Sounds like your CL not pro-bfing? Formula is most convenient for her. Ask her to mix the BM with FM for your baby. Alittle something is better than none.

Peace,
Yes, breastmilk is sweet even after 6months of breastfeeding

Moony,
You are considered lucky lo, bb drinking 3hourly. Mine from newborn until now still 2hourly feed even at night. I remember with my #1, I used to be like you too, getting frustated very easily. Now, I've learnt to accept.

I tell myself my priority now is the baby so baby must come first. I only have this one month to look after him solely on my own. There will not be another month where he will be a newborn and I will have the chance to spend so much time with him again. Very soon, they will grow up. They are only newborns once.

Infants tend to have wind. Cannot be prevented. My boy strains and whines everytime he needs to burp and when he passes wind or poos. So imagine how noisy he is at night. Then at about 4pm everyday, he gets cranky. At this time, i try to burp him or I just cuddle him. He will still be crying but I just hold him close. It will pass. When their digestive system matures at 3-4months, this colic thing will pass.

So hang in there, if you really feel very frustrated, leave baby in the cot where he is safe and just leave the room to cool yourself down. No harm letting him cry for awhile.

Vel,
Rite the breast massage super pain until my tear come out but different massage lady.

Butter cup & Kelcqi,
Jia you & keep trying BF. My 1st bump only few drops of colostrum but i didn't throw away, i use spoon to feed BB. This is the best food for BB. Until today alomost 1 mth's time my milk SS still low, & i buoy tahan went to buy fenugreek from GNC, though smell also got to eat for BB sake.

Re: Fenugreek
I was told by GNC salesperson fenugreek got 15% off if paid by NETS. 25% off for members if buy 2 bottles, 20% off member price for bottle. Each bottle got 100 capsules.

mummies, any tips to make bb sleep on tummy?

it's supposed to let them sleep better and help with tummy wind, but my girl hates being on her tummy

any idea how to make her like the prone position better? i read that most babies would like to be in this position but not my girl or am i doing something wrong? need any pillows or anything to make her more comfortable?

Moony,

Is ur baby using a pacificer?

Buttercup,

Hey, I have the same issue as u, hence baby doesn't latch. So if can, try ur best to pump. If the supply is low, then u see see urself if u wish to con't. But dun let the CL control u.

If u feel lost or scare, give us a call (i.e. if u hav our numbers) or just post here. I am sure someone will reply u. *hugz*

moony,

Hey, sayang girl. I understand how u feel when u trying ur best to get baby to sleep but the baby just whins or just wanna play while u are physically tired. Some babies are like that, their "time clock" seem to change or they dun sleep at all or some are sensitive to light or even small sounds or maybe just wind in the tummy. It takes time to understand ur baby...dun get discourage.

Seriously if u are feeling tired, I am sure ur hubby will help u. Mine is helping with night feedings at the moment (we sorta take turns).

Lynn don't put anything if you put her on tummy down position all I put is just a folded napkin below her head...

You can't put her on tummy down position if she is awake only do it after she is asleep or going to dose off, if my girl alert and I put her on tummy she will struggle a lot, if she going to sleep I just pat her and she will sleep for quite awhile without fussing. Anyway is good to let her do some tummy down exercise as this will strenghten their neck, my girl very strong can shift her head from left to right. But remember some one need to be around when you put her in this position.

Moony 3hrly is very good liao my girl drinking 2hrly or sometime even shorter.

Jaundice
Just back from Polyclinic, her level drop slightly and the urine test show that she is normal range from 2-7 she having 5... Doc say by rigth need to come back for test until the level drop to 100, but we will not be going back till she turn 3mth old since with the result it showing is breastfeed Jaundice.

peace,
I feel the same as you too, so you're not alone
already 3 weeks plus and I still haven't adjusted. Started learning how to bathe baby while CL watches me now, but baby struggles a lot. At times I feel very incompetant as a mom, and I miss my old life, yet when I look at my gal, my whole heart warms up. Dunno what I want also. Plus it doesn't help that I still feel bloody ugly post pregnancy. So far I've still been sleeping through the night cos baby sleeps with CL, but CL going home this coming Tues, and I'm going to be handling baby alone, scared.

Will your bb make a lot of noise at some part of the sleep? My son is especially noisy at 5+ to 6+ am. When I take a look at him, his eyes are still close, but he will be stretching his arms and legs, and making some stretching noises. Is he cold or is he dreaming or what?

By the way, do you let your bb wear long sleeve and swaddle bb at night? We don’t sleep with air-con, we switch on the fan, for 3 of us (hb, me and bb) in 1 room. We let bb wear a short sleeve top, wear pampers and swaddle him chest down with the cloth diaper, arms are exposed. We always wonder if this is sufficient for him?

Moony,
I am a very impatient person. You know bb like to suckle for 10 min and then fall asleep. For the past 2 weeks, when I feed my boy, I will be quick to wake him and sort of rush him to finish his milk. He will either throw out some milk or get choke. Sometimes, he also looks frustrated and fuss in between suckles. Perhaps I had made him drink too fast, he is uncomfortable. These few days, I tried to be more patience, which is very trying for me. When he stops sucking, I will wait for him, and remember to burp him before letting him continue. After he finishes, I will carry him upright for a while before putting him back on his bed. It seems to help.

In the day, after feeding, we try to put him in the bouncer, and play with him for a little while. Hopefully by night, he will be more tired.

Diamondust,
So you don't get up to pump milk at night? For me, 1st 1.5 week, I b-f at night, but ss low, so bb not full, by another hr time, he will fuss. So in the end, I gave up night b-f, give FM, which allows him to sleep longer and all of us are happier.

peace,
my bb makes ALOT of such noise at night. Daytime he sleeps soundly. Like what Pooh mention, babies who make such noises grow faster.

We sleep in aircon at night, so my bb is dressed in long sleeve and long pants. No swaddling cos he doesn't like it.

birdy,
Eh, I've not given up bfing as yet.
I was telling Yanling how I gradually stopped my milk when I was bfing my #1. For my #1, I breastfed for the minimum of 6months then I weaned off cos we were going HK for holiday. :p

My girl make a lot of noise too stretching and moving a lot with eyes close around 5-6am too, my MIL say BB is stretching her bone and she is growing...

Like Tracy I also on aircon at nite and we let BB wear romper with sock type and cover with a towel.

Nite time I lazy to burp her after she latch she will sleep next to me. Sometime I also confuse which br do I give her during the last feed. Getting more and more forgetful.

Diamondust and peace, i feel the same too. Very scared how i will handle when CL goes next week. I loves to sleep so being sleep deprived will hit me hardest.

Hi all, thanks for the advice & encouragement regarding BF. I did a crash course - 1 hour- on BF two weeks before i deliver and i wrote an email to the person who called me back last evening. she say if i want to continue, i will need a lot of perserverance as i have to pump every two hours...i will try it and see if it works, if SS is still low after a few days, then i will tell myself i have tried.

Poko,
Same here. One night, I forgot I just fed him at 12am. When he stir at 1am, I simply picked him up and fed him again. He also drank again. :p

Buttercup,
A week before your CL leaves, wake yourself up every 3hours to pump at night to condition your body to wake up at night.

Hi, all, I am MTB June, like to check where to buy YUE ZI SHUI (confinement drinking water)? Also the QU SHI SHUI (confinement bathing water)? thank you

buttercup,

I had the mis-interpretation that I had inverted nipples for my 1st 2 kids (was told at the POLY CLINIC by a bf consultant!). So I didn't bf then.

It's only this time around, I was told it wasn't inverted but flat. Had a hard time latching...then got sick...plus supply was little. So I stopped. I rather keep myself healthy to take care of my daughter.

RE: Weight
2 more days to end of confinement, manage to lose 10kg but still got 9kg more to go *faint*.

RE: Fisher-price bouncer/rocker/swing
Those who bought this can i have the url of the product u bought. As i see there are a lot of different bouncer/swing. Which one is better?

icebubbles,
I'm using meihao99 for my gal's full month. Used them for house warming last time, their food not bad and service is good.

peace,
if i direct latch, my gal only sucks for 10-15 mins then doesn't wanna suck any more,even though there is somemore milk, and she will start fussing for more milk in another 15 mins time, but won't want to latch. difficult to breast feed at night. So in the end pass her to CL give her EBM or FM milk at night. Then I very lazy, can't wake up in the middle of the night to pump, always end up sleeping through the night. Haha.... but my peaceful nights are coming to an end!

buttercup,
jia you on the breastfeeding, but if really cannot, don't despair, many of us also grew up on FM alone and are perfectly fine now.

Tracy,

thanks for the link ... i may be keen to attend, anyone else attending ??

Moony,

i used to be against pacificer alot, but now, no choice as my boy sometimes will whin and cry non-stop. So rather to let him suck in the wind, i rather to give him pacificer and calm him down, maybe you can consider it. And also, how abt getting him a rocker. I bought the rocker, and it eases me alot from carrying him. I only have to put him in the rocker and rock him, but he needs to see me, if not will also cry .... i will rock him around 15 mins and he will fall asleep in it. this is also worth trying, at least you will not be so stressed out to keep carrying him.

Hi Jer,

this is the one that i have bought, same as Muzicgal.
http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=900004&e=storeProduct&pid=43886

today's exactly my boy's one mth old. i went back to my workplace to give out his full mth cakes.
as of today, he's 5.5kg!! woah~ so surprised to see he've gained so much

ice bubbles
i engaged this buffet.. not bad.. www.lexin.com.sg

muzicgal
if u ordering, let me know.. i'll take two

dolly/tracy
the workshop is a one time thingy? i might be keen too

pooh and diamonddust,
thanks for the recommendation =)

gals,
ask u all hor, does ur tummy feel blue black?
when i touch my tummy, i hv the blue black feeling... and its itchy too
is it normal?
already 3wks liao...
tummy still there, look 4mths pregnant...

just weigh myself, lost 10kg liao
but i still hv 4kg more to go

hi icebubbles, me also have this 'blue black' feeling...and its very tender and soft to the touch
i also almost 3 weeks already....

i lost 10kg also! 5 more kg to go....the gynae says my uterus still have 3 more cm to shrink.....

so glad i chance upon this forum...last time when i preggie didn't know....and my first week after delivery was left alone floundering and worried and upset and feeling that i am the only one with these problems....

by the way, bb is supposed to go for the 2nd dose of hep B jab when they are one month old right? where do you intend to bring your bb to? private PD/ polyclinic or the hosp u delivered in?

besides this, no need for anymore bb growth checkup right?

hi icebubbles,

i am not any better, i think i still looked like 3 months preggie ... although i have lost almost all the kg, except 2 - 3kg left.

buttercup,

yes, our bb is supposed to take 2nd jab for hep B ... i am also pondering whether to go back to the PD in TMC or polyclinic, but the polyclinic hotline is damn hot, always not able to get through.

pooh,

your baby must be very chubby and cute, managed to grow him to 5.5kg ...

hmm icebaby, your latest post on bf for me got me thinking...i've been so up-tight abt bfeeding my bb that i've not been really relaxing and enjoying him...
i'll try for a few more days and then give up if really ss still low....

buttercup and icebubbles, me have problem latching due to the same problem! so now exclusively pumping lor, but really must pump every 3 hours or so. me not taking any supplements, but supply still sufficient to meet my gal's needs. although everyday also sore nipples, very sian

pooh, wow 5.5kg! good job!

buttercup,
oh thanks ah. i tot i am abnormal
need to go see gynae ah
can measure hw much more the uterus can shrink de ah?
i only gng back on the 23rd,
gynae say for pap smear leh

Ice Bubbles ,

So fast lost 10kg !!

Me already one week only 5kg and i have 8kg more . But with my mom around ...she like feeding pig like that . Cannot stand her , nag nag thwe whole day !!

Would like to check with you gals, does ur bb hv block nose everday?
My gal seem to hv her block nose everyday.

Ladies ,

you ladies you all sooo hardworking ...i only pump once a day . But i latch on 30min each feed . But do not know how to do it after going back . Think i eventually got to pump the milk .

Hi ladies, I'm doing a spree for Victoria Secrets. Please join if you are interested. 20% off...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1467122.html?1212654851

friesbandit, I thgt your nick was familiar, then after I check the table, haha.. so we're from the same thread.

Re: Immunisation package
Just wondering how much is the immunisation package in polyclinic ar? Anyone knows?

Re: Weight loss
I'm still stuck at the same weight for almost 2 weeks now. Haiz.. Wondering what's wrong..

Re: Menses?
I'm still bleeding now. Almost 5 weeks liao. Last week, seems like it was gone for 2 days and before that was like brown blood. But now it's fresh red.. Is it menses? It's been 3 days liao. Anyone can advise?

my baby is 4 weeks old this week and he been drinking 140ml of ebm, is it too much for him? Do baby know that they are full? Could my baby just want to suck for comfort but because we are bottle feeding him that why he got no choice but to suck and drink the milk? Cos my mil keep saying baby got not enuff milk. Put her finger to baby mouth, baby open his mouth, she said he is hungry, is it really so?

gals, thanks for ur advice.. i dunno is it something gt to do wif shifting of bedroom..
dat time when i go gif birth my hubby n in laws was shifting the bedroom n our beds oso need to be shifted.. my in laws let us haf the master bedroom so i dunno does dis mayb 'crash' wif my son anot.. haiz.. so vexed..

Now i really scared of blocked ducts lo.. dun dare to miss the pump timing.. but at nite i still slp through lo.. too tired. but i make sure my last pump is like ard 12 plus 1 den morning 7am wake up n pump so at least i will only miss 1 pump session..

RE: weight

Juz measure myself lo.. gosh my everywher seems to grow 2-3inches from pre-pregnancy lo.. so sad.. i;m having 28 inch waist now lo!! duno ever dare to think tat i cn fit into my jeans!! so sad.. still thinking tat nxt weekend can go out do hair wear nice nice.. now duno wat to wear lo.. think still stick to my maternity jeans n top!! getting impatient on my weight lost.. lost 12 so far.. still got 7 more to go but i aim for 10kg.. JIAYOU!! any idea to lose weight faster?? already been eating very little carbo n dinner at 5 plus.. help help!! sum more nxt sunday full mth celebration, how to face pple..

Cherimayo
Hab B jab is 30+ for 3 jab
5 in 1 is 4 x 80+ ( pay 80+ each jab) total 4 Jab...

If need to go for consultation is S$4.50 per visit...