(2008/05) May 2008

Im at week 35. Went to see gynae yesterday, she say that the baby head is engaged. My edd is mid may. Does it mean i will due these few days? Will the baby be able to wait till mid may?

Apreciate if someone can advise... Quite worried now!

taman jrg,
Let's see if we can meet at Emerald. Hehe...
By the way, you staying at taman jurong? I love the pancakes at the S11 there. drooling now~~~

Pooh,
Yes, I'm seeing Prof Rauff for this pregnancy as well. I didn't know that NUH got a Jurong Clinic for women. I only know that there's also a Women's clinic at Bt Batok Central where there's a Dr Chua practising, but forgot if it's Dr TM Chua or Dr Selina Chua?

3 am? Hehe... I'm nocturnal. ZZZ in the day and awake at night.

By the way, I keep going to the toilet to pee every 1 to 2 hrs during sleep, and it's even worse after meals. It's so annoying and inconvenient. Do you gals experience this?

Winnedy,

It just means that your baby is in the correct position for delivery. But it may take weeks before you actually go into labour. Some babies can even be engaged as early as 33 weeks, especially if this is your 1st pregnancy. Is it? Not to worry, k?

Muzicgal,

Me long time never post msg here liao, busy with work.... Me fine and feeling super tired and aching... How abt u? read from the forum that u are going to give birth on 15 Apr at TMC? few days more to go.....How I wish my girl can come out asap, still have to wait 1 more mth
Wish u all the best and do update me your birth story ok. Take care....

Re: Engaged
Does bb head turn down mean is engaged? Mine was alrdy hd down during my start of 3rd trimester. I ask gynea yesterday if my bb was engaged yet. she say will do the testin on my nxt visit. her ans makes me think that she will hv to insert or anything else to ck... Winnedy, did ur doc do any test to ck r juz that the bb head is turn down? if juz turn down only, then no need to worry lor... me alrdy more than a mth. =)

Enagaged... i think head down doesnt mean engaged ba... for my case ah..the baby head is oredi down since 4 mths ago..hahaa..my baby abit lazy...he seldom turn or toss...

RE: What is engagement?

Engagement or "lightening" is the movement of your baby down into the pelvis that occurs toward the end of your pregnancy. This lowering of the baby into the pelvis typically occurs prior to labor, although for some women the baby will not engage until the very start of labor. The baby is considered engaged when the head has dropped below the pelvic bone.

When the baby begins to drop, you will notice that your abdomen will change shape, shifting down and forward. Your abdomen may even seem smaller, as the head of the baby enters the birth canal. This position creates increased pressure on your bladder, causing the need to urinate more frequently. You may also feel aches or pains in your pelvic joints and perineum as well. You may be able to breathe more easily after the baby drops, as there is now more room in your upper abdomen for your lungs to expand.

Engagement is measured in "stations", indicating exactly where the crown of the baby's head is in relation to the pelvic bone. When the crown of the baby's head is right at your pelvic bone, the baby is at 0 station, also called "fully engaged."

Normally for first time mummy, baby head will engaged weeks before labour whereas for subsequent birth, engagement will normally happen just before labour

Wah! i tink my baby is on the way to engage leh... coz hor..i notice my abs changing shape leh..it seems to drop down leh...

and my pelvic area abit aching..hai...beri cham leh

poky, oh thanks for askin ur gynae for mi.. hehe.. dis few nites i keep slpin on my left side.. but dunno y my bb seems liked he always wanna let mi feel is backside(i tink so cos round round de..) on my rite side.. lolx.. buay tahan him..

oh thanks for ur email oso.. ive rec both the excel & the golden key liao ;)

Die lah.. fri nite til sat ive been eating super sinful food leh..
icebaby, i haven gt a chance to go try the Popeye chix.. will b goin mayb coming weekend hehe..
fri nite i went to commonwealth ate 2 fried chix wings.. n 1 1/2 plate of fried bee hoon mixed wif noodles.. ;( super nice lor.. so bo bian.. den went mj.. sat noon woke up go old airport eat kuay chap.. ;( fat again.. haiz..
den at nite go eat veg hor fun.. den go Ya Kun for the half boil eggs.. ;( den suddenly at nite.. feel hungry hubby said ordered kfc.. argh!!! die lor.. so fat lor.. like dat eat my son sure fat de.. OMG!!! its all my hubby's fault lor.. ;P

Re:Engaged
my gynae can tell from scan whether engaged or not. last chk she position her scanner on my pubic bone just above pubic hair and said if she scan and baby's head is thr then is engaged liao.

Re:HFMD
Sianz..my gal may be having HFMD. Can't cfm until tmr cos so far only one blister looking peeling skin on her hand. She's got fever which subsided with med and alittle cough. She's still her normal active self. Hopefully it's not HFMD..otherwise hb have to take one wk's leave!

pooh,

Yah, my 3rd and yes, she doesn't want to come out! *faint*

Diana & Winnedy,

if it's ur first kid, baby can engage from as early as 2 - 4 weeks before birth.

For those who are having the 2nd or more kids, baby can engage as late as near to delivery day itself!! (i.e. labour). That's what I read up when I was reading up.

poky,

why need to do test to see if baby engaged? I check yesterday with gynae when he doing scanning..he told me the baby turned but not engaged based on the scanning. Hmmmm

RE: Popeye chicken

Locations: Singapore Flyer, T1 and T3
**Sorry if i got it wrong the last time. Dun have at Big splash. Paiseh

HI Poky,

Can send the excel file to me again? i think i either accidentally deleted from spam folder or didnt' receive. but i received the golden key leh. so please send to me again... thank you. [email protected]

Hi Tracy,

can help me update please? thanks

mummy's weight gain: 13kg
baby's weight: 1.74 at 32 week. sob sob... mummy seems gaining all the weight now. sigh.. and gynae still say the baby is small. only at 10 percentile on the growth chart.

icebaby,
ya, dats wat i read too, that for subsequent pregnancies, bb sometimes engage only during labour.

Yanling,
Noted your update. Dun worry, only 32wks. Baby may have a growth spurt later. I think a few mummies here experienced bb having sudden growth in 3rd trimester.

Pooh,

Yesterday terok leh, not even total of 10 counts. I scared until I wanna cry liao.

Thankfully baby make it up to me today. By 4 plus, I hit my 10 counts.

Muzicgal just passed me her babesounds. Still exploring the sounds. Alot of extra sound, like got even water liked sounds. I'll try it later again.

Icebaby,

I dunno how true it is lah. But I heard from my friend's gynae and my gynae that the chances of inducing, only 1 out of 10 induce, the cervix opens up to 10 cm at the 1st try. Usually sometimes some ppl will require 2-3 times of inducing before the cervix opens up fully. Can take up to more than 24 hrs of pain. Somemore in some cases, by the 3rd induce, some gynaes will get impatient and will push you to C-sec. So if you have a choice, like no show or anything, don't induce better. Wait for the signs of labour better, Let your baby choose his own bday loh. Save money also. Just my 2 cents.

Induce and not dilate
My 1st pregnancy I was ask to induce due to BB weight but after induction didn't really dilate and end up was push into the OT need to pay double end up spend 3k in cash and stay in 4 bedded upgrade to 2...

I just received my order from babycenter, and it's too loose for me @ the
underbust area.

This is the Original Nursing Bra -Plus, in S.
On the product info, it says that S is good for 32-36, C-D. But I think it's
will be quite loose
for 32 (i'm a 32).

You can view the product at
http://store.babycenter.com/product/maternity/the+original+nursing+bra+-+plus.do?

Designed with care in Canada, Made with pride in Mexico.

Would like to sell at SGD$50.

Kelcqi,

Haiz. I know that's why I contemplating only. Cos I really really sianz of going to work. Imagine I was online the whole afternoon working.

Anyway, the new maid is here. *happy* Kids seem to like her alot. This maid knows confinement food need to cook with ginger and sesami oil. *heng. Only part I am angry is that I told MIL just now during dinner to ask my FIL to go buy the fresh ingredients this Tue (tue is marketing day) so she can test some cooking. She can tell me to get a list and give my FIL. I was like DUH..I tot u shld know what to buy?

I told hubby that I will get my mum to buy some fresh food here next week when she come and teach abit. And check the "home" stock to see what's missing so that they can help buy. So less headache like that.

My younger boy climb on chair, slipped and hit his head. *haiz. Cry awhile give him sweet...he A-OK. He got tough head. Hahaha. Dun worry already rub and he happily playing again.

icebaby,
duno leh.. i ask my gynea if i engaged liao. then she say she will test durin my nxt visit.. so i assume need to do something lor. =p

Jacqueline Chan,
u bought any car seat for your baby? U will put the car seat at the front or back? If put at the front abit ma fan leh... put at the back also ma fan... *scratches head*

2day at the prenatal class, got mention abt diabetics issues... usually those with diabetics will b induce earlier abt 2wks to prevent hvin a over size bb at full term... now hv to wait till tues, then c the test result. if really kana,, will ask gynea can induce even earlier.... really scared to hv a big sized bb.... =( last time ppl say my tummy big, i dun mind... now they say tummy big, i bcome sianz... -_-"

hello mummies here,

Am new here but not a first time mum , baby no.3 coming in end of May but I feel maybe earlier ! Baby no.1 deliver only after waterbag bust !

Baby no. 2 induce per my Dr's instruction terrible experience !

Baby no. 3 want to wait until really must go don't wanna repeat the same thing like no.2 !

Btw really envy ur ladies, my baby super active wan always kick / somersault / jabs so frequently especially at nite when I'm trying to zzzz ! Usually more than 30 movements day/night cannot tahan lah !

The other two was a breeze no morning sickness, no craving, no backache, no fuss but this wan really have everything comes as a package !

Am delivering in KKH am opting for single bedded rm coz courtesy of my wrkplace policy they will pay the bulk of it, me only a little he he !

Am waiting to take my ml only after I dlv in order to maximise my time at home with my kids !

Hope to learn more & share more things with u ladies !

Like what Tracy mentioned, the doctor just pressed my bikini line there, then say "Well done! The baby head is engaged!"

I was like ????? at 35 weeks only???

If like what some of the mommies mentioned, 2-4 weeks, im not prepared....

Hi All ,

Everyone is so excited of the arrival of our babies !!! Me too was been put on bed rest for week plus
as having slight contractions and cramps .

And was too early to deliver at 33 weeks plus ...premature and his lungs is still not mature yet . If need to deliver need to be induce therefore dun want to . Hope my baby boy can endure for another 3 weeks more .

I`m feeling better now after two jects .... Hope every of the mother stay healthy and happy .

Take care !!

Winnedy .

I have just PM you with bank details for the purchase of ELmo .

I do not know why i can`t post on that oversea spee forum .

Hi Cutie188,

Welcome to this thread.

Muzicgal, I tried liao. But I find e heartbeats slower than what I heard at Gynae. My hubby said it's very fast already. Dunno leh. Today she move, so still ok, tml see how...

Your last day tml being preggie. Enjoy and indulge in all you wanna have for now. No Sins. :p

Icebaby, hmm, how's your hubby's decision? He also wanna ask u to induce? I know word is very sian lah, but see it positivly loh. Mayb your baby have better plans to "sabo" your boss? Keke. I only feel that if your decision ended up in C-sec, like very "bo hua" wor...

Your kids love the maid ah? Gd gd... Tell your mum to come help you with your confinement stuff lah. U already know your MIL style, at most next time she said she got help out with u, you ask her"in what???" See what she said loh.

Hi Muzicgal,

Good luck for your big day tomorrow!! So excited for you!! i also wish that my son can come out soon!!
As for the car seat, it is advisable to put it behind, unless you can deactivate the airbag for the front seat, else it will be very dangerous for the baby.

Hi Icebaby,

Now that i am 37 weeks, having irregular contractions here and there, sometimes really quite painful, my hubby super stress, he really wants the doc to suggest induction! My first baby also induced but the pain was horrible cos no time for epidural, but i think with epidural should be ok!

hi cutie 188,

welcome!1 Wow 3rd baby already!! Good luck!!

morning all, its a brand new week. hope this week will be a gd one =)

poky,

rec the file and key liao, thanks alot! =)

muzicgal,

yaya. 2ml is the big day! hope everything will be gd and smooth for u, rem to send us the pic of ur cutie little one. jia you!!!! =)

Mornin all,
another day in office.. so sianz,, nothin to do...

muzicgal, xav_pris,
jia you for tmr wor! =) remember to update us when u feel better enuff to sent a email or mms. =D

muzicgal,
all the best for tomoro!

it's a new week! yippee! I'm turning 36wks soon and I can let bb pop anytime.

cutie188,
welcome! Would u like to provide me your details for the table update? Need ur hosp, doc, EDD, bb's gender, no. of wks, mummy's wt gain so far and bb's wt. Bb's name if you hv decided too. Thx!

Morning mummies:
Boring Mondae... can't wait to start my maternity leave.. i tink BB should be on it way cos i'm already 37 wks liao.. and i can c my stomach going down liao .. n my inner tight very "suan"... too heavy to walk liao...so anxious now...
muzical: good luck!.. have a safe delivery ya,... :p

Morning all!

me into 37th weeks....hehee..also another gan cheong one...hoping can deliver tis wk or next wk! cant wait!

Kelcqi,

Inducing, dunno leh.
Yes, I agree very bo hua if end up C-section. That's why thinking and now talking to baby to ask her to come early.

Will call my parents later today and ask them to purchase the food needed to cook and get my mum to come down. The good thing is the Indo maid can speak pretty good English.

Smurferoos,

At least u got the contractions, I dun think I am getting anything yet.

I am trying not to use epidural this final round BUT again, might change...depends on the day itself.

muzicgal,

GOOD LUCK! Tell us ur birth story later. =)

hehehe. me this week just nice 36th week but i dun wan to deliver so early!!!

i hope n pray baby will be kuai and wait for edd lo. hehehe.

last weekend was trying to re-pack my hosp bag since i am almost done with washing of baby clothes...oh my, the bag is so big and heavy lo. but still got things nt pack in yet like cam, hp charger etc...

Hi Icebaby,

Yeah, have contractions, but still no sign of labour cos the contractions no regular! sigh...

But my hubby ask me not to act hero just go and get epi..hahaha...but i don't know yet see how first lor...

Hi Choc,

I know what you mean, i can't wait to go into labour, i just hope is this week...good luck!

i also pack finish my hospital bag.... even put in the nursing cover..so that if need to nurse baby ..can wear and b more discreet ba...

camera and hp charger i also havent put in... shld say its 90% pack ba...if missed out at most ask hb to go home take lor