(2008/05) May 2008

icebaby, ya wat u said is oso true lah..
erm.. u mean ur kids dun haf their own room ar?? -_-" haiz.. sometimes when we stay at a hse which is nt ours we bo bian haf to tolerate.. ;(

jen, okok.. thanks!!

lynn,

yalo, samething told by dr ang..i also ask him, if no 1 bedded room during our delivery, he said have one, coz 1 bedded more expensive

so now i just have the letter with me and do nothing..me seeing him in 3 weeks time which will be 35 weeeks..

dont worry lynn...i'm due earlier and i havent even started on anything! all dumped at a corner of the room. heheee....

Just thought of sharing, I don't think there is an auto-upgrade from 4-bedded to 2 bedded in a default mode leh I have few experiences admited to TMC for my #1 and it is not all the time that I get upgraded. The priority will still go to people who booked 2 bedded at admission.

For nursing bras, you may wanna consider those padded tube top for nursing when outdoor. I find that its easier to manage when I bf my #1 in old days. For discreet nursing, sometimes I will bring a shawl along if I am wearing normal clothes. Just sharing....

Lynn,
I'm seeing my gynae every 2wks now. next visit I will be 34wks.

Jen,
that's wat the shopowner told us, that closing for reno in May. We bot tang kwei, bei qi, wolfberries, red dates, blue dates, dang shen, tang kwei head, mushrooms, dried longans etc.

kelcqi,

gd to hear dat u n hubby talked n he agrees to take bb out of mil's care if she can't manage. i thk he cares alot abt how u feel n his openness is reassuring. happy 4 u! let mil try la...who knows maybe when she sees her own grandchild, she will become a really doting grandma. :) at least she wants to try n help u to take care. my mil... aiyoh, attitude is so negative n she had a gd mil herself! so no excuse for her.

re: nursing bras

the other day i went to get some nursing tops. the v nice sales asst said dat many new moms struggle w/ nursing bras cos some find it diff to unhook. i dunno how true cos i hvn't tried on any nursing bra myself. she suggested sports bra type also cos she said it's v comfy/breathable n easy to manage.

Lynn,

Mine is package so I can go anytime to see gynae although at this time is around 3 weeks once.

RE: TMC

How come most of u pay the deposit leh? I no need to pay as yet. Hahaha

ant1712,

I book 4 bedder. Will get auto upgrade if there is NO more 4 bedder. (I assume yours is also like that). I kapo and ask during the hospital tour, apparently there is 4-bedders around 2-3 bedrooms only. Cos I read some people really dun get auto-upgrade when there is room.

During the tour, I saw 1 bedder (standard), 2 bedder and the delivery ward. Was disappointed with delivery ward, cramp compared to KKH. The rooms are far more cramp than KKH and older. But since got free upgrade (if got rooms), cheaper in cost. But their customer service in TMC very good. They willing to slowly explain things. Problem is renovation there...noisy!

Moony,

Currently the sleeping structure in the house.
Older son sleep with in-laws from Sun to Wed. Thurs to Sat with us. (Bias HOR)
Younger son sleep with us everyday. (younger son very upset that y the kor kor get to sleep with in-laws...haiz)
Hence I had been pushing for them to be moved to the spare room since Dec! My hubby lor, not pushy enough. End up...imagine only this weekend then hubby promise to shift my older son's bed to the spare room. But spare room so cluttered with so much things. Haiz.

Mrscheong,

Yes, it's NOT auto-upgrade. So dun get confuse. They will ONLY give you the upgrade IF there is no 4 bedders. There is only 2-3 rooms 4 bedders. So if suay, not all 4 bedders get occupied, then of course we get the 4 bedders. If not, we get upgrade. **Just to highlight further.

moony,

haahaa. i tend to be more nasty to my mum than dad la..i can shout back at my mum but nt at my dad coz like u dad more strict. haahaa. i know i am in the wrong for being nasty to my own mum so now that i am a mum to be, i know how my mum suffered so i tend to be nicer to her now. hehehe.

jen,

sorry le. was caught up with work and tiredness over the weekend so i didnt do any scan.

icebaby, wah.. y ur in laws dote on ur older son more huh?? funny leh.. both r sons mah.. lolx.. so cute.

felval, eh.. im nt as bad as u lah.. i nv shouted back at my mummy but ive used to make her cry when i was young.. very rebellious.. hehe.. den only at times talk back to her.. i tink the worse ive done is ive made her soooo angry dat she wanted to go jump down frm our blk.. :X

I'm new here..
EDD 18th May
Baby Blue
Baby's wt @ 31 weeks: 1.7kg
Mummy's wt gain @31 weeks :13kg
Delivering at TMC, Gynae Dr Adelina Wong
Thanks.. =)

Hi all..
I went to the expo fair last friday.. like got nothing much lo.. not like the taka fair got more things to buy. think will be gg back to taka fair this weekend to buy those baby detergent n other small items.. thinking of getting the ferrari jogger bt no stocks now leh..

moony,

my older son is 1st grandchild. Sometimes i feel that my FIL treat my older son like their son. If he want to watch movie (outside), they will both bring HIM go watch. If say bring younger one, they say younger one cannot keep still so cannot. But then it's also true, younger one cannot keep still.

Now my younger son keep asking us to bring him take aeroplane. So far he sat plane once, his brother sat so many times. Yet if we bring younger one only...older one will start saying "unfair". My older son feels that I very bias towards him compared to my younger which is partially true. Even my in-laws also feel that way. But my in-laws dun realise they also very bias with the older one. So I just make up the balance. *grin*

RE: TMC
I have submitted my pre-admission letter a mth ago. I have not been informed to pay any deposit yet. I have oso been to the hospital tour. Submitting the pre-admission letter is to save hassle of doing the admission at the counter and your husband will be able to be with you shortly after registering.

RE: Expo Baby Fair
I only got nursing cream and a free steamer, which I'm planning to use it for my baby's mattress and mine too. Keke... The steamer I got it FOC with only an appointment for them to come for demo on a queen-sized bed.

mrs cheong- we wil only be upgraded if the 4 bedder r full. if nt, wil be 4 bedder lor. but the nurse frm my clinic says if reali got 4 bedder availability, i stil can choose 2 bedder on that day. so it's luck lor.

icebaby- another thing is the prkg at tmc! dun like the valet prkg. we usu park opp thn cross the overhead bridge. but bo bian lor cos tmc the nxt nearest to my hse. nearest is mt a but duno y i dun hv a good feel abt the hosp.

beans- as i mentioned above, u book 4 bedder wil hv upgrade lor. so stay in 2 bedder but pay 4 bedder fees =)

hey ladies, i heard tat there will be another fair in june motherhood fair from 5 to 8 june...mayb by then after we pop, we noe exactly wat we nid to get liao....heehee

ant1712,
me too. I dun hv a good feel about Mt A, though the parking is better than TMC. The only thing I dislike is the location of the carpark, away from the hospital down the slope.

june...by then most of us will be doing confinement rite? so the hubbies hv to do the shopping liao...kekeee....

icebaby, mm.. den ur in laws cannot blame u on treating ur younger son better.. haiz.. nw i really realised its hard to be parents.. hehe..

ant1712,

u veri funny. If u dun feel good abt the hospital, cannot choose other hospital? Unless ur gynae deliver in TMC only?

Yes, by the way, the hospital tour the lady say...dun park FULL day at TMC hor. Can cost abv $40. Those delivering at TMC gets 2 $3 per entry coupon for the 2 nights there.

After hospital tour in TMC, I felt KKH is better in terms of space but in terms of customer service I see that TMC is far superior. So I guess each hospital got pros and cons. =) I didn't go Mt A, at first wanted too..but because of the tot of maybe get free upgrade to 2 bedder can save $$, that's why I chose TMC.

LavenderDreamz,

You are rite. It will be interesting to just have DADDIES there buying stuff. But the point is...they know what to buy anot? hahaha

icebaby, dun quite understand the part on the getting 2 $3 per entry coupon for the 2 nights there leh...meaning wat if we deliver there, our car only nid to pay $3 per entry for 2 nites?

icebaby- i mean i dun hv gd feel abt mt a lah, not tmc =D i ever park at tmc for 3 hrs n costs close to $8! sm more was after 6pm leh! super ex manz.. i went mt a to visit a fren b4. saw so many statues, gv me the shivers leh...

btw did any of u bot dr brown's bottles? my fren says it's reali gd n i bot 2 at the expo fair since got 30% discount.

icebaby,

ya, they probably will be quite clueless! haha. walking around lost n blur! reminds me of the time when i was doing grocery shpg n this man in office attire came up to me n asked for help. i thot wat happened...his wife asked him to buy cabbage but he doesn't know which veg is a cabbage. poor guy! hehe

if u remember correctly...mrs wong doesnt recommend dr brown's bottles rite?
i got nuk bcos of the teats...

TMC will give 2 complimentary parking tixs. So if you happened to get in and out 2 trips within a day, you would have finished the complimentary parking.

However, if I am not wrong, u get extra tix if hubby is accompany you in the 1 bedded room per night.

Parking is horrible and expensive at TMC but i guess thats the most convenient hosp for me to choose :p Hubby will usually drop me off at TMC and park at the hdb car park opp TMC. To save some $$, try to plan your visit to TMC after 6pm, car park charges will be based on per entry basis

Moony,

Ya. That's why when my MIL says why I scold my older son, I shld scold both. But the point when she make the comment is when I start scolding older one, doesn't mean i dun scold younger one...it is just haven't "reach" to him yet. So she also abit too much.

Diana,

We get 2 $3 coupons. You can use on the same day if you want to BUT you get only 2 coupons. And it's for per entry only. (i.e. u pay only $3 regardless how many hours u park there.)

ant1712,

paiseh...i read wrongly. hahaha

Wish and Moony,
u both so bad to your mum ah! For me, I used to find her loh-soh, actually I still do. Some times she can really repeat and repeat, nag and nag. Things I already knew, she still insist of telling me again. I felt it's more like she wants to clear her thots than anything else, but can get on my nerves at times. While my dad is a quieter man. he'll just immediately leave me alone when i said "ok, I know", although he can also whine and whine abt certain things. Now I'm gonna be a mummy and at times get paranoid and bug my hb over the pregnancy, like bb not moving enough or too much BH, or backache while sleeping, etc, I felt mum just need to repeat, becoz' she's paranoid too. No matter how old I am, in her eyes, she thinks I'm still her little gal. So, now I tend to exercise more patience. Imagine, when she rings me, she could be the one talking for almost half an hour, and I'm more patient / willing to entertain and respond "ork", "ok, can", "ok ok", "done already", "have", "dun have", "tomorrow", "next week", etc. You know, the limited syllabus words. Then sometimes when she asked me "if bb active today?" wow, I machem get so excited and a chance to speak, I'll tell her what I experience, and what I learnt. So you can see, the heart of mothers, we should be nicer to them.

Someone recently told me, when your kid is young is the time u spent most with them, watching them grow, not just physically, but mentally and emotionally. When they see something or experience something new, they come home and tell u non stop, such that sometimes the parents tell them to "shut up." But when they grow up, they have their own life and don't share as much with you. You got to ask them questions-s-s-s, and all they give you is often "yes", "no", "ok". When I hear that, I felt guilty.

Lynn,
Re packing and the nursery. My house is not very big. It didn't used to be 100% neat, but at least manageable and acceptable for just hb and I. Now with increased bb things, my house is quite messy. The storeroom is quite full, sometimes i didn't want to go in, just in case something drop on my head! Imagine, in the bb's room, there are also things stack on top of the cupboard.. heh heh, I've already close 1 eyes, now gonna close both eyes, just don't want to look ah! After bb 1 month old, we'll then have a mini renovation, that's when I'll be having maternity leave and more mobile / energetic. So for now, I think we should just relax, I don't wanna freak.

was a passing remark...cos someone asked about bottles & teats...but then again, i'm sure some mothers & babies find it suitable. Guess to each his own lor...

moony,

hahaha. u v bad le, u almost make ur mum drop from the blk. hehehe. dun think my mum will la...ehhehe. my mum v gd seriously..i can shout at her but she nv shout back at me....sobsob...now thinking back i so bad!!!! =( but i shout at her coz i cant take it la...but still this is nt an excuse. i will treat her nicely from now on.hehhee

peace,

yes la, i realised how bad i am now...but like u lo, my mum can nag n nag one...today say nvm..2ml can stil repeat again..haiz...then she always forget things that i have told her..make me more frustrated...then she v "slow" in wat i say...while i am more of a quick person so sometimes when i explain n repeat many times to her i get fedup lo...

but i know all these do not mean i can be nasty to her la..so wat i do now is i explain to my limit then if she still dun understand or forget then i tell my dad to tell her...at least my dad tend to understand wat i say faster than my mum..so this cut dwn me throwing tantrums at her la. hehehe. so far...didnt make her v angry or was nasty to her since my 2nd trimester...hehehe.

RE brown's bottle

Mrs Wong said cos the bottle is curved so it's harder for the brush to clean the inside. and if not wash properly, the dirt will accumulate there and cause the baby to be sick/diarrhea. same goes for those bottle wiht a hole in teh centre. she prefer the straight cylindrical type of bottle

ant...dont worry too much....anyway, must take all advice & comments with a pinch of salt. as for me, i just grab watever stuff i see, didnt bother to do much research or comparison.

icebaby, haha.. but i feel dat u make a gd DIL.. hehe.. cos u really can have a cool mind if any happens.. so 'pei fu' u..

peace, ya.. dats true.. but my mummy still ok.. nt so naggy.. my parents gif us some freedom.. but at times i feel dat they gave my little bro too much freedom le.. til sometimes makes mi looked liked im the mother.. my little bro dun like mi to go back my mummy's hse.. cos he noe he will going to get it from mi shld i noe watever things he had done when my mummy told mi.. hehe.. cos at times i saw that he will tok very loud to my mum i c liao 'buay song' i will shout across to him.. even nw dat im preg i oso liked dat.. cos bo bian.. ive only gt 1 bro.. n both my younger sisters r very independent.. last time i used to tink my parents y everything oso wanna asked dis n dat n y everything oso wanna restrict.. nw i really noe y le.. cos they care.. haiz.. i told my hubby.. i was very rebellious when im young.. when i realised im wronged n shld acc my family more, im already 20 liao.. den 23 ROM to my hubby, 24 married off liao.. i told him i really regreted to b nt a family gal last time.. i shld haf spend my time to acc my family.. nw as days passed i feared of my parents to grow old.. haha.. very paranoid rite??

felval, ya.. i realised my mistake only when i was 20.. haha.. too late though.. but luckily my mum nv really go do it.. my hubby told mi its nv too late.. dats y nw.. whenever i can i will go back her hse n acc her.. at times i will secretly take leave den lie to her say i no need to wk dat day juz to go her hse n acc her.. den when its her/my papa's bday or mother & father's day i will make sure they have cakes to celebrate n i will either gif ang bao or buy things.. i rem juz b4 i was to get married off dat yr.. the 1st i bought after getting my bonus is a gold braclet.. but my mummy c liao keep nag n nag say ask mi dun waste $.. hehe.. but can c she very happy.. den i'll make it a pt dat whenever i go holidays i will buy things back for my family.. dats y my mummy gt alot of bags haha.. haiz.. i guessed its the least i can do ba.. til nw.. whenever i tot im already married n nt living in the same hse as my family i feel so sad..

I've not receive my pre-admission letter leh.. the nurses at the clinic told me most prob they will send to me when i;m ard 34 weeks? is tat true.. coz they already help me wof the booking 3 weeks back..

Ladies interested in banking cord blood, I just got an email on the seminar by Stemcord on 5th april. It's at orchard Hotel. Must pay entry fees, per couple is 20/-... there will be goody bag, worth more than 50/-

peace,
whenever my hb grumbles about my gal always bothering him and sticking to him, i remind him, in a couple of years' time, you want her to bother or stick to you she also dun wan liao ah! Cherish it!Then when he grumbles abt her waking up at night, i told him we used to hv to wake up 2-3hrly when she was a newborn and we didnt grumble, we made it. Why now she is older he cannot do it leh? I tell you...men ah...can make you vomit blood also.

Vel,
For my first pregnancy, i didn't submit any pre-admission letter nor receive any letter from TMC. The clinic jus book the room for me. When i called TMC to check, they said booked already and they don't issue any letters. So i went to the hospital without any documents, only a note from my gynae to the nurse on duty about inserting tablet for me and putting me on antibiotics drip. Maybe you wanna call TMC to check?

Vel,

I am curious about it also. I got my letter 1 week back (30th wk). Just like Tracy said, no pre-admission letter for my 1st preg in 2005. So perhaps this is a new practice in town? I was kind surpised when I received the letter at this early stage (could it be my gynae KS cos i deliver at 35+wks for #1?) Still scratching my head :p

moony,

at least we realised our mistakes so it not so late or bad right? hehehe.

my family no habit of celebrating birthdays or mother's day or father's day one...but i make it a point to give them ang pao on these days la...or try to buy them presents lo. but like ur mum, if i buy presents for them sure kena nag but they mouth hard heart soft la. hehehe. they are actually v happy. but i prefer to give them ang pao coz they can use to buy watever they like or to my parents they have watever they need or wan so i give them $$ they can save lo.

then i try to make sure i spend every sun having dinner with them...even my friends jio me out i will reject lo...or even if my bday falls on sun, hubby wans to celebrate with me i told him we celebrate on sat so sun i can have dinner at hm =)

its only when we grow up and become sensible or parents ourselves then we realised how our parents feel lo. but at least we realised it now than never =) ya?

moony,

it's never too late to change. They (ur parents) are happy that you change to cherish them more. SO dun worry about that. =)

I only can pray that my brother will change his attitude but unfortunately he is "one of the kind" that dun change. Haiz.

Vel,

I booked about 1 month before I receive the admission form. hahaha. The gynae and nurse reassure me that we will receive. (But just in case, highlight to them again, like I did. Kaisi. =P) Cos some pple receive early, some receive later.

WCT,

Same as u. I give angpow rather than buy cos I dunno what they really want (later buy they dun use..also pointless). Money, they can opt to buy their own things. Although parents mouth say one thing...but they sometimes mean another and they appreciate that you give them something. Only issue that my parents sometimes ask, do I give anything to in-laws. I say I give for WHAT? Then my parents say what if my in-laws jealous. I told them, angpow is from my own pocket and not joint a/c.

So if they jealous, they should ask $$ from my hubby and not me. =P Naughty hor. Then my parents shake their head at me. I say true mah. I say at least I good enough to plan celebrations when my in-laws' only child (hubby) cannot even be bothered! So they shld be happy liao.