(2008/05) May 2008

diana,
i was thinkin if it more realted to the fact that if bf, then the express milk will hv to store in fridge.... his family quite old-traditional... so duno if they think storin EBM in the same place they keep food consider "unhygiene" or not... but bf or milk powder, will still b thru btle after i go back to work mah.. so wat the difference betweeen the bondin with mil n bb??

icebaby,

ya, i rem be it watever, as long as it goes thro the baby's mouth also need to burp lo..and must wait till he really burp then can stop...

so poky's mil dun support bf-ing coz need to burp nt a v gd excuse to discourage her frm bf-ing mah.heheh

felval, I havent thot of my outfits wor. So sian... Ya, think can dilly dally a bit and probably we can meet liao. Dunno wat props to bring leh... headache wor...

icebaby,
find it strange why guys dun want to let parents know.... furthermore, they alrdy hv own family... y still "sensitive" on this issue?? ur pil dun smoke or v strict on him one??

Jer, jaspire, felval,
juz email the studio,, she recommend me to come end apr cos the studio is shiftin on 1 may.,.. i intended to hv the shot in mid may one... now still discussin on the date... =p

jaspire,

me thinking of bringing a set of forever friend bears we used for our wedding shoot and some baby's clothes or bootees to the shoot. hehehe

poky,

where they shifting to? then when will they reopen again? hope its nt too long coz i wanna choose the photos before hubby flies off. hhehe.

oh ya, yest went AMK Hub NTUC Fairprice Xtra...the kodomo laundry detergent and J&J baby powder are so much cheaper than kiddy palace and JL. The kodomo 2litre detergent was going at $16.80 *50cents cheaper* and the baby powder twin pack for $4.30 *70cents cheaper* lo.

hehe. now my mum can start to wash the baby clohes with the kodomo laundry detergent liao =P

felval, haha.. ya lor.. hubby wont understand y we wanna buy those things for bb.. its nt abt the brand mah its just sooooo cute hehe.. but when bb grow up le i will nt buy so often le.. late he dun wanna wear no brand den i die..

icebaby, ya lor.. nw the flats sooooo ex.. wah lau buy resale 5room can ask for 70k cash.. -_-" i tell my hubby we cannot buy nw lah.. sure cannot afford one..

felval, I oso have nice booties and bears that hubby and i sewn for each other. We going to sew a bear for Baby Kayla but it wont be in time for the photoshoot wor.

moony,

hehhee. dun tell the kid that the clothes are branded? heehee. i think its gd to have a mix of those branded n non-branded one but of coz we cant spend too much liao coz got to think of the future like edu which will costs a bomb!

and nt forgetting need to buy insurance and even edu policy for baby....

jaspire,

wah! u going to sew by urself ah? so cool =) u v hardwking lo...i initially wanted to knit something but i v lazy...keep procastinating till now....heheheh.

then i v bad...ask my mum do the beans sprout pillow n quilt cover for my baby, ahahahah

hellow mummies...

Just back from mtg, I sense my colleagues or even my boss was giggling behind my back while i was walking... so i asked my frd, she said now I walk like a duck
Ask my hubby yesterday, he too said likewise though didn't mentioned the duck... so unhappy...

felval,
i still waitin for maryann to reply me on the new location. will update u when she reply. ok?

jaspire,
i b juz bring the booties n new clothings bought bb.. hopin to find a nice cuddly soft toy b4 my shoot. =)

sparks,

aiyo...ur colleagues n boss v bad if they reali giggling abt how u walk now...

nt as if we wan to walk like tt mah....ur colleagues n boss have no exp thro preg? some ppl are like tt one, v insensitive....

felval.
me also.. wnted to do diy for bb also.. but also procasinate.... now no time... wash n tidy the stuffs alrdy rush rush liao.. where got time?? =p

sparks,
how come ur colleague so unpathetic one.... we now very "Sad" abt our figure liao.. they stil can giggle behind ur back.... =( nxt time their turn,, remember to laugh loudly in front of them to let them get their own medicine!!!

poky,

hahaha. ya lo. that is why i outsource to my mum! hahaha. wash she do, do beans sprout pillow she do, quilt cover (u know those blanket that are made up of many many small pieces of cloths?) also she do. whahahhaa =P

wow morning so chatty liao ar?! keke

icebaby
hope ur bb guai guai turn down again!

moony
ur hb dotes on u la.. once my gynae pressed hard on me also but my hb din say anything.. but pressed til bruised, really too much liao. but the sonographer that did on me yday quite friendly, there's a consultant gynae also. found them very nice

peace
i'm now on leave til i pop.. coz got preterm labour mah.. but if dun have, i'll be only starting my ML when i hit 38 weeks or i've popped.. see which one is earlier lor..
abt taking care of kids, i also headache.. wanted a maid to help MIL out, but MIL still request the same allowance to be given to her every month.. told her, we cant afford it.. then she say she dun wan take care of all 3 unless there's a maid.. she thought we have a gold mine lor.. now i was thinkin to send my no2 to my mum's hse til she's 18mths old then i bring her back and enrolled into a nearby childcare.. but every weekends, i'll bring her back lor.. my mum offered to help me take care of all 3 w/o taking any allowance..
when i told my PILs abt this, now they say it's their "nei sun" they dun want my mum to help..
argh~~ i dun noe wat to do with this kind of PILs

poky
my MIL also dun quite like me BF-ing.. she say very troublesome.. somemore she can make horrible remarks.. once she told me "ur boobs so small, u sure got enuf milk ar"
wah lau~ i so angry man.. then i pump and let her see.. i told her straight in the face.. "one pump session of mine can feed 2 newborns" the 1st time i BF, she even came to my room and looked.. i was so ^%#%##^%$!!!
now i locked my door up and din let her touch my no2 during my confinement..

Re: Steriliser
anyone know if when using steriliser, the power hv to be on always?? i initially tot after sterilise liao,, can close power with the btles still inside, then juz use the btle when need to. but heard from another colleague that her friend complaint that sterilizer take alot of power cos always need to b on... is it true??

sparks,
ur colleague & boss very bad leh. They also will have wife pregnant like us one leh. Ask them watch their words manz. angry leh.

icebaby,
your MIL realli think u print $$$ leh. 2 maids leh. wow still got children expenses etc.. wow sey.. Siong ar.

moony,
isit u go ADC or AMC? 2nd level one. i also feel the sonographer there very rough except for 1 i met with during my detail scan. very good & fast. very gentle. then also very fast can tell me head, butt, & bb organs etc.. but then her diagnose buay zhun one. tell my gynae my bb is small leh. makes my gynae wants to see me 1 mth later. then when gynae check 1 mth later my bb is not small eh.. I din say eat alot to make myself or bb pump up lar.

poky,
regardless of BF/BM, both also nid to burp one mah. Ask u buy the thermo vacuum flask ar? for making milk easier no nid boil water isit?

felval, ya lor.. my hubby keep tellin mi gt to save up for rainy days.. i told him he will save for rainy days n im using for 'sunny days' lor.. haha..

pooh, i always tell him its bcos of his son den he make noise haha i always scold him dote on son dun dote on me.. haiz.. u r lucky.. the sonographer is gd.. mine.. ha.. like shit lor.. ;(

poky,

His parents sometimes say not good to smoke, blah blah. That time got once even funnier, they were saying, lucky their son dun smoke. I almost choke on my food. My parents know he smoke. But my hubby damn weird, he smoke like 4-5 sticks a day. My dad say so little, might as well dun smoke! Hahaha. But hubby say, cannot stop leh.

Hubby doesn't want his parents to know cos he has always been "afraid" of his parents. Ma cham like scare they disown him like that. Haiz. So I just put up with his nonesense lor.

moony,

Yah. Now the flats expensive. I was damn lucky that I got my unit in yr 2006 after chasing for so long. Even then, the price from BTO to WIS (cos mine 2nd WIS) went up more than $10k! Sianz rite?

RE: Baby clothes.
I find you all very good. I dun even bother to use different detergent to wash baby clothes since my 1st kid. My 1st kid already 6 yrs old..no issues.

Aiyo, just as i thought i finish reading to the last post then i refresh the page and more posts are in..

poky,jaspire
yes i had booked on 5th april after a few dates and time rejection cos for me a bit difficult as hubby working shift work. I thinking maybe ask tips from friends on makeup ba... now my main concern is my dark eye rings that are cause by my recent insomnia. Personally i felt $80 bucks will be worth if done for long hair but my hair so short so i felt bo hua.

ant1712,
I started telling hubby that I wanna maternity shoot ever since my tummy started bulging out then just nice the BP came about and he still owe me a valentine gift so I just told him that is what i want. Then decided le, he told me, you go take the shoot wif your son (my #1) ok, i stay at home then i super piss off. Told him anyway family members is foc then he said ok =_= Then when told him, i book on 5th april then he nagged on me cos he is shift work so he be back at home on that day around 9 plus in the morning, then said later go take photo he looked ugly, blah blah blah. Told him the shoot at 2pm then he smile back and said ok la at least can get to sleep few hours.

felval,
our photo shoot is on the same day! Mine is 2pm, what time is your slot? Are you taking up their make up and hair do? I also thought of bikini. I thinking 1 bikini, 1 jeans with white tube. Another outfit still thinking.

jaspire,
wah you sew your own bear? i dun think i will have the patient to do it. I think i may bring along a toy which my #1 insists to buy for didi and force me to pay for it.

pooh,

mayb old ppl in olden days werent taught the benefits of bf-ing and the bonding it will have on the mum n baby so ur mil jealous? jealous as in last time she didnt have a chance to bf her son while now u have a choice to bf ur kid lo.

Pooh,
ur MIL is very bad leh.. Ohh my god hw can make such remarks??? My mom nvr bf be4 also wont say her doter me boobs not big got milk meh? i believe my MIL also doubt i hv sufficient milk one lar cos i always latch until 1 day i go pump due to engorge. she say wow can pump so much ar. i say YA LOR. Hw can ur MIL come watch u when u are BF-ing. so awkward right? Own mom see wont feel that awkward. how come all our MILs sot plug one har?

POky,
for me, i switch off the supply after it has been sterilised but then still keep the btls in the steriliser for max steaming lor. this i think i saw from the manual book i think.

pooh,
ur pil also one a kind leh... want to earn from takin care of "neh soon" then want a maid to lighten their load also... where got such gd "job" one... arent they suppose to "unconditionally sacrifice" for their "neh soon"?? three kids fincial no joke leh... price rising so much.... if me, i wil bring the kids to ur mom instead... =p

all alone, i tot mil also v chinchey,,, cos she always says youngster hv their own thinkin, let them do watever they want... then that time go out first time shoppin with mil, lookin at bb stuffs, then she realise i intend to bf.. she straight away say not gd. reasons etc... i juz kept quiet.. cos dun want to argue.. but think she know i still intend to bf, then she make a comment that not all mommies can bf. that i maynot hv milk even i want to bf... make me even more fume..... but still,, i kept my mouth shut... on the way home, i told my hubby that i die die want to bf if i can. if mil refuse, then i will take unpaid leave to bf bb till she old enuf to go infant care!

kelcqi..same here, i married my hubby coz he is filial to his parents so i think he will treat his own family well too...somemore, my hubby is eldest son..

u have resigned , so you intend to look after the baby yourself?? i am not working now too, will look after the baby myself, would like to spend the 1st 6 years with the child then when he is schooling at 7, then look for a job, be it part time or full time..

loomi, i drink yakult light just before i go to bed,maybe thats why it is more effective? the stools are hard but at least can poo-poo...

jen, mine is @ ADC.. haiz.. once is enuf haha..

icebaby, u r lucky.. nt like mi.. tryin to get flat for sooo many times still cannot.. ;(
i always tell hubby dat the current hse is nt my hse i dun haf a hse.. he so sad.. ;P

pooh, ur PILs soooo mean lor.. wah lau i cannot imagine if mine is like dat too...
btw i like ur eldest daughter... she soooooo cute leh.. my hubby oso says ur eldest daughter very pretty.. eyes very big.. hehe.. i told him 'u c.. gt boy gd meh??? gt gal sooo cute.. so pretty can doll up n will help mi.. ' hehe.. he talk back to mi says he wanted a gal so since 1st one is boy den try for another one lor.. -_-" i tell him if 2nd one can confirm 100% is gal den i will wan lor.. haha

Jer, so 3 of us will have photoshoot same day wor... nice nice... you come earlier oso lah. Me at 11am wor...
I shld have changed to slightly later timing. Haiz...

I sewn a bear for my hubby birthday and my hubby secretly sewn a bear to use it to propose to me. So we each have a bear sewn for each other. And we thot it will be nice to sew a bear for our children so they each will have their own bear with their names on the paws of the bear. (We have our names and year sewn on paw of our bears too!) It is meaningful to us loh and we intend to keep it as a family legacy. Hahaha... we hv to get someone to help teach us sew lah and give us the material and design. Its not cheap wor... each bear ard $200. But to us, its worth it loh.

Jen,
her intention to get the water heater is so that when makin formula powder not to boil water n wait.... can striaght away press for hot hot water liao..... then i keep sayin nvm, no need first, cos i bf mah,.. wait till older liao. stop bf le, then buy.. else now buy a white elephant home for wat! she hear liao.. think not very pleased with me.. =p

so i can switch off sterilizer after the first steam liao?? gd,, then i think i will stick with steriliser than a pot.... =)

icebaby,

all bad habits can kick one lo...this is hw i feel la...some ppl need encourage while some coz of medical prob will auto kick. can give u example of 2 of my dearest man ard me =P

1) my dad.

he used to be heavy smoker...when my bro n i were young he also smoke...i asked him dun smoke also no use till he disgnosed with heart prob need to stay in icu and undergo ops then doc nag at him he kuay kuay kick the habit. but still caught him once or twice smoking outside la..but at least he make the effort to stop initially.

2) my hubby...

when i know him, he has been smoking since he was in sec sch but best part is his parents nv scold him lo....but i managed to get him to quit coz i dun like my bf to smoke...and i told him non of my bf smokes. hahaha.

so i believe if they make an effort sure can kick the habit...

jer,

mine is at 1pm! urs is immediately aft me so we can bump into each other! hahaha.

me sld be doing makeup myself ba...at first thot of going salon to wash n style my hair ($40+) then do makup myself...but then i thot why nt i just tie up my hair into a pony tail lo then light makeup i can do mah so can save $$...$80 if let MUA do for me i dun mind la but i scare later cum out nt nice lo. coz the other time i had a couple shot with my hubby (then bf) the MUA also told me light makeup n will do hairdo for me...end up nt nice lo...

ant1712,
i think maids depend on luck. so far we had no luck with filipino maids..

poky,
ah..i think can off the power supply after sterilizing. I do that all the time.

i tink hor MILs issues nvr endin one leh!

jaspire- isit u buy the materials frm suntec there? got this shop which sells bear materials n DIY. ur hb so wu xin! usu guys wun bother to DIY things! the only thing i DIY for my hb was a 10000 pc jigsaw puzzle of a ferrari. took me like ages to do it! after tat, i surrender liao. no more DIY. hahaha

Jen,

to clarify. The current maid is paid by them. My MIL still working (she not dun work those kind factory or clerk..she quite high position).

Pooh,

Ya. I hope baby girl guai guai turn downwards.

RE: Skin tag (remember my case)

Recently I realise that my skin tag (at that wonderful sensitive area) has grown smaller. Hopefully will con't growing smaller! Then maybe can opt not to have epidural birth. =P

Re: Steriliser

What I do is, on in the morning to sterilize then off after it's done.

I just bought my 3-tier steamer, each layer can fit 2 large milk bottles. =) Convenient and cheap at $24.90. Spoil liao can buy new one. hahaha

Moony,

Dun worry. Alot of people having this problem now. The most wait for down season lor. Mine is force my hubby to chase for flat! If not, I think I would have face the same problem as u. I chase 1.5 yrs n not resale flat hor...it's HDB new flats.

Felval, jaspire, Jer,
u all on 5th apr ah... thinkin to join u all leh.. but that wk i only in 33wks... stil got long way to EDD leh.... then tummy wont b as big as u gals ba... =( or else,, amyb we can request to hv a shot of all may mommies to hv a photo also.. hahahaha

icebaby,
using steamer, can also leave inside the steamer till want to use?? cos there some holes on top of the tier steamer rite?? any difference??

icebaby- u mean u wash the bb clothes w normal detergent? my hb also said y need special detergent for bb?! last time dun hv this n we all grow up the same wat.

RE: Smoking
Both my hubby and fil smoke. During #1 time, really learn to give and take a lot. Last time used to stay with in law and my fil dote on his grandson a lot so he like to put #1 on a mattress in the living room and look at him while he sit on the sofa and smoke and admire my son. Then when saturday comes, fil brothers family will come, its like a family gathering every week and they are smokers too. So i give up on that issues.

RE: Baby Care
My in laws are more worry on this issue than me and hubby. Once they know that I am pregnant, asked us to pull my son out from full day child care and put him in PAP nursery cos right now my hubby is the sole breadwinner. They scared hubby cannot handle it. Then have been telling me hire a maid is cheaper but i dun dare to hire a maid i leave my baby and #1 with the maid at home as i will be finding a job after confinement, after reading and hearing a few maid with baby stories, i scared. Then after much discussion conclusion is we will hire a maid to stay at my in law place so that my in laws can keep an eye on the maid or they take care baby, the maid do housework and if they need to go out to settle their biz stuffs then the maid will be around to take care of baby when they are out. Initially my mil, wanna me to hire new maid but now that we decided the maid will stay with them so she said used her current maid which actually they wanna ask her to find another employer after my confinement but her current maid salary quite high as she been here the past 4 years. Her salary right now is $380. So mil suggested that hubby and I pay for the maid salary while they pay for the levy of $170 after the maid is transferred to our name. Now i am headache on seeing baby, though in laws stay near us in terms of distance but my place do not have direct bus to their place and even if we change bus to get to their place, need to walk a distance into their estate after alighting. Yesterday whole night thinking about it, so decided i will see baby everyday cos i want to make breastfeed successful this time round, I will stay at in laws place and bring baby home on alternate days.

ant1712,
i have the same thinking with your husband when I have #1. My mil bought the baby laundry detergent and liquid cleanser then and asked the maid to wash baby items with it then i was like, last time all babies all grow up like this no baby detergent or liquid cleanser then after some self reflection, realised mil also concern and care for baby so i just follow suit.

poky,

dun worry la. when i take mine i only 34th week lo..neither here nor there also. hehehe. mayb u wear tighter top then can see the bump more obvious. doesnt matter whether the bump will be as big as others nt coz diff ppl diff one. like for me me currently 31st week only 37" but moony 30th week already 40" (correct ho moony?). so dont worry if ur bump is as big as others nt. as long as u can handle the weight n size of ur bump i think tts most impt. hehehe.

hi ant1712 and icebaby,

ya. last time my mum also used same detergent for the whole family n the babies n little kids...but i hand itchy wan use kodomo coz it smells nicer ah. hahaha. then also i heard its less harsh as compared to normal detergent so i butt itchy even more go buy lo. hehhehe. i think its sld be ok one ba. my hubby also says normal one cant use meh.hehehe but i told him i like =P

jer/felval- yalor. my hb says nwadays wan to earn our money for bb stuff v easy. hahah.. everything also got special kind for them! anyway i got buy the detergent too. since it's milder n also nt tat ex thn ok lah. but i got pour in abit of normal clothes softerner. nw stil left nappies n towels yet to wash.

moony,

hahahhaa. u v funi lo, say urself LCD TV size. hahaha. i think we can fit in those super huge jeans. ahaha.

felval,
oh your photoshoot at 1pm. haha, maryann was telling me if i want to do make up and hair, i have to be there at 1pm but dun think i will take up their make up and hair. Nevertheless, think i will arrive earlier to peek peek your shoot. haha..

WCT,

My hubby is those that just won't no matter how much I try to get him to stop.

poky,

I intend to use only the last 2 tier for sterilizing. The top layer, haven't decide. So won't have holes. Heehee

Actually I got this tip of using a 3 tier steamer from another forum cos a sterilizer itself is very ex.

ant1712,

Ya. Never use any different detergent...except that baby clothes are washed seperately from adults lor.

Jer,

I think you can make that plan work but then again, wait till baby come and then make final decision as things might change (environmental/unforeseen circumstances). If the current maid is good and hasn't cause a problem...I would rather pay that $380 than have a new one that cause problem just to save the $80. Also I think ur in-laws quite good, get ur older one go PAP. Childcare itself is not cheap.

be@ns,

I bought the cornell 3 tier steamer (offer $24.90. Yesterday last day. Original price is $49.90). We tested it once we got home. On for around 10 mins, bottle seems steamed and ready to use. Rather than use a pot and the pot take up space on the stove. A normal sterilizer is abt same size as a 3 tier sterilizer and what's more can be use to steam fish/rice during confinement. =) My frens used it with sterilizing bottles, say no issues. Cos I also feel can always remove the tier when want to use the other tier to steam food.

moony,

you really funny compare urself with a LCD TV! Hahaha