(2008/05) May 2008

loomi, felval,
ya lor. does japanese eat sashimi alot? got a fren who went to visit a japan family on exchange student plan. he says japanese dun eat sashimi much cos it very very ex over there... so when japanese visit spore,,, they visit sashimi store to eat till full... is this true??

Kelcqi,
ya, one packet one time use.

Lala,
Agreed with Jen, breastfeeding is the fastest way to lose weight!

jaspire,
nowadays i keep a loaf of bonjour chocolate or raisin bread in office. can last the whole week before it expires, so when hungry i just eat 2 slices. last time i used to go bread shop buy those red bean bun (6pc per pack) but can only keep one day so everyday keep having to go buy. So now buy bonjour more convenient.

WCT, yes.. they con't to take sashimi. I think the fish in jpn are fresher .. they dun have such thing on sashimi ban during preggy ! I have a colleague who is due 1 mths b4 me... she had been eating sushi like nobody biz !! So envy

But my hubby ban me from eating, despite my begging.. even once I asked another Spore colleague to go eat with me during lunch .. he also ban me ... sighz !! and send me this instead !

http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/sushimercury.htm

Mecury scare in fish is big issue recently in US I think... if you are scare, start to learn what fish you are eating.

felval,
does ur inlaw take great concern on ur pregnancy?? if so,, then mayb can ask them directly if mind postpone.. if they bo chap... then fil after all is senior.. still hv to give due respect.... my opinion la.. else.. u ask ur hubby to foot the bill to attend the last lesson again? hee

hi feval,

just my 2x opinion....milk powder and diapers add to a significant sum, so I would think its fair for us to provide all these. Don't forget that babysitter also require us to provide everything, though we are giving them more money. Moreover, who can care for our baby as much as our own mother and all ready to give more when needed? If finances allow, do provide more to our mum.

loomi,
so it true that japanese dun eat sashimi as often as sporean?? so funny... tot shld b their staple food instead... =p

my hubby also banned me.... worse still,,, that time suddenly got great cravin for it!! mayb juz learn how to appreciate.. then get addicted liao... but pregnancy soon follows.... sighh.... 2+mths.. then go n feast liao... no more restriction here n there.... =)

Hi all, the thread run so fast. Haha..Anyway, I think I will gain alot of weight in my last trimester looking at the amount of food I'm eating. Haha.. My gynae appt next Wed, hope he don't tell me to stop eating so much. Keke.. My last gynae appt, they didn't ask me to place deposit to book room or whatever leh. That time was 30 weeks, next week will be 33 weeks. So think maybe next week.

Btw, anyone buying baby carrier? Thinking of getting either the Lascal m1 or Baby Bjorn Synergy. Still undecided.

I just measured my tummy it's 38".

hi poky,

300 i think v little wo. but depends on hw much ur hubby giving his mum already? then she will also cook for u 2 mah?

coz my mum seldom cook as she is cooking but if she helps me to look aft baby she says will cook everyday lo. so i thot 300 v little if only cover looking aft baby...then somemore i dun give her alot per mth wo...only 100++ hehhehee....

ant1712,

my mum's also the same lo...u have ur mum bank acc num? mayb just transfer the $$ to her acc? hehehe

yalor...agree with poky... much as u dun wan to miss ur own lesson.. i tink to be a "good" DIL...we should attend...

unless they willing and nice enough to change date.....else... in future it may be an argument topic for u n ur hb

felval, you made me even more hungry wor... mango strudel... slurp slurp!

Ant, me munching on biscuits loh. Wat to do? Hmm, maybe tmr will go buy raisin bread too. Hee.

tink i wana go grab sth else to eat liao. biscuits like no shiok leh!

felval- yup i got. i tot of transferin one lump sum for her to buy confinemt food for the whole mth. hehe

felval,
we only go back "show face" to eat one meal per wk. he give $300 every mth. if his home need any xtra, he will give more to cover the reno or watever lor. sometimes will share with his sister also. then with bb care will be ard a total of $650. as for dinner,, we didnt discuss abt that lor.. but if takin dinner over there. will then add another amt lor... think me v bad dil liao... underpay my mil.. heee

I went for the scan today.. can check out at my blog..

http://precious-babes-of-cheng.blogspot.com/

hi choc,

haiz...she everything also call my hubby one le...wan take course no $$ also asked my hubby for $3000 so she can take her makeup course...then hubby also give in to her altho we already knew i was preg then...then she also nt auto...nv return the amt little by little also...

to me, i feel la, bday can celebrate earlier as long as nt later lo...

ya..i v much wanted to go for the last class coz its on labour practise lo...=(

loomi,

wah! that is great lo! in sg, the gynae will say no raw food...alth i cont to visit sakae sushi but i dun see any preg women lo! then everytime see hubby eat sashimi i eat chawamushi and those cooked stuffs...

poky,

they know i am preg la but frm the first day till now nt much frm them la and i nv expect la...only words frm them is "take care of urself"..nt that i mind but i am wondering also if my hubby did tell them this thurs is cfm out or he just keep quiet coz his sis n parents are expecting him to keep this thurs free...

i think i rather tell him he go on thurs alone i go class alone. hehehe. let him decides for himself baby impt or dinner impt. =P me v bad ho?

mrscheong (xygl),

yaya, i agree that it does add on to a significant amt...so i think wat i will do is buy them first then stock at my mum's place...at least i know she wldnt reject collecting the $$ frm me and its easier for me to go buy coz we have car can buy many at one go n stock....=)

anyone have any idea aft 30th week, how often sld we see our gynae ah? still every 4 weeks or more often?

hi felval,
yup, i always stock up the necessities to my mum's plc and if it happens that she need to bring my girl to doc, I would just reimburse all the expenses at 1 go when i trf $ to her at mth end. My mum is always very generous towards my gal, shower her with clothes n quality home cooked food.

Gynae visit
36th wks onwards (last month) -- every week
32-36th wks (last 2nd mth) -- alternate week

Hey felval, your doctor is John Tee, same as me. So if everything is alright, think 3 weeks lo. Cos I went to see him on my 30th week and returning to see him next week which is my 33rd week. So most likely 3 weeks. But think subsequently shld be 2 weeks ba. Haha..

Pooh, your girl so big liao. Younger one only 1 year older than your baby in your tummy?

felval,
some older ppl take more importance to their bithday lor... the older they gets. the more precious it is liao... =p but if pil r modern type, then of course different liao... =)

hi choc,

hehehe. if they wan label me as bad DIL, i dun care one. hahaha. actually why i fedup is coz his sis have been calling for the past few weeks to pester him and i already told him my opinion lo, up to him to decide la, so if they have a few weeks time to plan le, why still no conclusion? why die die must be on the day itself, earlier can not ah? nt say dun wan celebrate lo..every yr always drag drag till last min one le...nvm la...let him n his sis go plan i better keep my mouth shut n dun say to much if nt like wat u say lo, it may be an argument topic for us =(

hi jaspire,

yaya! hehehe. coz that day buy durian to eat so didnt wan to get durian strudel so opt for mango strudel. hehehe. aft eating, mood is so much better. whahaha. me thinking if i sld go thomson buy strawberry strudel for bfast 2ml. hahaa

poky,

hehehe. u discuss with ur hubby is the amt ok or wan to increase nt lo. hehhee. for me, i top up the difference la since my mum helping to look n cook dinner so i dun wan to take advantage of her even tho we always short change our parents! hehehe. somemore my mum buy me bird nest, asked me if i nd help to buy any pram or wat let her know so i dun wan to short change her. =P

mine also.. after 28wks onwards is 3wks... then think is 34wks is 2wks.. last mth is wkly.. if not wrong....

poky
i waited very long b4 i get this pic of grinning.. hee.. was in the scan room for 1 and a half hr

cheri
their age gap would be ard 11 mths ba.. my younger one's birthday is june.. this one's may

next week, i can see my bb in action again.. it's the growth scan.. finally can know his weight liao

POoH, ur mickey soooooo cute!!!!!
make mi oso wanna go for the 3D scan.. i ask u hor urs is KKH?? den 3D scan need to pay how much huh?

pooh,

yaya! ur baby like grinning. hahaha. ur scan pretty detailed le...my friend one wasnt so lucky. so hubby didnt allow me to take =(

Re: Gynae visits aft 30th week

thx gals for the info. hehehe. then i can start to plan how much leave i may need for the next 9weeks then jio my friends out for high tea before i have to be confined at hm. hehhee

poky,

mine is for sure traditional type =) i decided to let hubby go headache..haahhaa

feval, actually, for me, my view is appt can be change coz at times old folks beri pantang like they dun like early or late celebration de. also, y cant u take seafood? u allergy? else, i tink it is ok to take crabs wen u preggie de...coz those are old wife tales abt taking crabs lor.

however, since u got class, then mayb hv to make other arrangement liao. but to be fair, if ur hb nv make the decision and nv handle this issue properly, cant blame his sis for keep calling de.

as for $$ for ur mum, is the 500 inclusive of the 100 u gif her monthly? actually amt depend on the combined salary of u and ur hb. however, tink for own parent, tink can gif more lor if can afford lah....further, she be cooking so tat wen u all come over after work to see bb can hv dinner mah. i got a fren gif her mum 800 coz like u, she also ask her mum to quit to take care of her bb. then also, she say outside market rate for bb sitter is abt 600 liao...so own mum gif abit more lor. somemore, own mum nt like outside bb sitter count every cents they spend first wif u mah.

anyway above juz my thots lah.

hi pooh,

ya, urs done in KKH mah nd hw much? i wanna take le...mayb wait for hubby go overseas during the 35th-38th week then i go take.hahaha!

Moony
i did mine at NUH.. so far.. this is the cheapest, 2 3D scan pic and 2 4D video clips at $120. others i heard abt $250.. KKH's i'm not so sure.

my no2 i also did this scan.. only my eldest DD dun have.. that time when i asked abt this scan, my doc quote me a price of $400+.... i hear le, nearly peng san.. hahah

today i went kiddy palacce after the scan.. 1st time buy madame maternity pad.. really worthwhile leh.. $7.95 for 20 pieces.. watson sellin a pack of kotex 10 pieces at abt $6 lor..

felval
wont waste $$ la.. coz if the sonographers cant catch the face, they will ask u to keep turning and tossing to get the bb face up. my previous time, they use a loud vibrating machine to wake my no2.. can really see her jump up in my tummy and give us a "dun disturb me look" u can see in my 2007's april archive..
if u want to do, must do it now.. dun think they offer 3D after 33 weeks coz no space in ur tummy liao

diana,

i duno is homo changes or wat, a few mths b4 preg i also started to notice whenever i take seafood my lips will swell then for a whole week will peel lo. last time completely no issue with seafood one. mayb the seafood i took wasnt clean la but it stopped me frm seafood since then. dun wan to be an ugly duckling.hehee.

my hubby told his sis can be earlier or nt lo...but i duno if he did specifically mention why thurs he cant make it la.

the 500 dun include the allowance i give to my mum and dun include diapers n milk powder that baby need. i give my mum 1 sum then my dad 1 sum.

pooh,

oh, okok.then is there a time limit they will allocate u? like if within 1hr still cant take a detailed scan then how?

i v tempted to go for it liao lo. brb! going to call KKH now to ask. hahaha

Cheri,
KKH does not offer 3D scan or dun hv i also forget liao. If I am not wrong is DUN HAVE. cos last pregnancy i ask my gynae he say KKH din encourage patient to do mainly cos of cost saving then if want to do if oni unless suspect bb got pblm like cleft lip or what lor. Mygynae say if i am interested, then he can give me other gynae contact in RH lor. BUt i din do lar. no money & dun feel the need.

felval,
if my SIL is lidat i be jumping mad. dun organise or always call bro to do aldy half angry cos my SIL also lidat. mom stay with her dunno why cannot let her mom knw want to celebrate her bday must ask my hb call her mom. Dunno isit she is kind to give the credit to my hb for being filial. then money is most sensitive. borrow liao is never come back cos will feel is own bro mah. lucky my SIL wont borrow money from my hb cos my hb always sayhe is poor one lor. haha

Pooh,
i saw in KKH one shop PUREEN they are having promo like $11 for 2 pkts.

Actually Sashimi is luxury food here, not everyyday food... but still got those affortab you can buy in supermarket / like sakae sushi.

Actually, when I was wk 4 or 5 preggy, I ate so much sashimi, salmon, salmon roe, scallop, crab, tuna bla bla... all raw and some more buffet style in Hokkaido... I really didn't know I was preggy then .. hope bb is ok ... then i make myself think like jpnese ....

o...then did u check wif ur gynae abt the seafood issue? or mayb ur bb dun like seafood ;-p

actually we gals noe lah...for guys, at times their way or method of handling such tings sucks de. my hb also de. imagine last time wen my mil call one of the weekend asking if we wan to join them for dinner outside, he can pause then reply although his pausing is nt asking me and best is he oredi hv appt wif his frenz liao...which is y i tell him off. coz it will cause my mil to misunderstand tat his pause is to get signal from me mah.

o...so u be buying diapers, milk powder, bb shampoo etc lah...o...u gif both ur parent separate allowance....so nice....i gif combine one...but if i got bonus, then i will gif them separate....heehee...but they noe their daughter dun earn tat much and so is their son in law. and furthermore, they noe we hardly anyhow spend our $$ + nw wif bb on the way they even rejected to take the $$ i gif them during my last bonus lor....but i insisted.

in fact, i tink we are lucky to hv understanding parent. coz i do noe some frenz who parent will tell them how much to gif each mth which is nt a small amt lor...

felval
mine, they din tell me got time limit leh.. they will do their best to catch the bb face.. the sonographers told me once, a patient spend half the day there.. the bb refused to turn up.. so they asked her to take a walk etc then head back to the clinic again

jen
i din know Pureen got sell pads also.. now i got one Madame and two Kotex one.. now i feel machiam cheated after i know Pureen selling $11 for 2... hahah

loomi,
so far, ur gynea also didnt say anythin to concern rite? so dun worry! when i was 4wks pregnant... i also went disco pub n drink the liquor. then eat sashimi to celebrate my fren birthday... tat time didnt know mah.... thinkin back now... shld hv eat more... as wat they say.. bu zhi zhe wu zui... hahahah.. but most importantly, after i know i preggy le... i didnt touch the stuffs i not suppose to lor... all the tests done also didnt show any to concern. =)

Cheri, yes I am looking for baby carrier too .. I love Baby Bjorn Synergy too for it back support, but hubby is considering Combi or Aprica is better. How much does it cost in Spore ?

me too, also did eat sashimi and drink liquor and dance the whole nite wen i was abt 4 or 5 wks preggie. however i did suspect thus nv drink much liquor. then nx day test positive was so suprise. still remember i test positive on friday at my parent hse. and as i bought the test kit on sale, i was doubting if the test kit is correct bo. so nx day, sat, head straight to my gynae to check...wahahaha

hi jen,

u are right. I just called up KKH, Private Suite. they say KK dun provide 3D scan..if wan gynae can recommend us to RH la but the charges are ex...

$$ is sensitive ya but my hubby duno hw to says no one la...$3000 he also loan like tt...makeup course nt says what v impt course, if she wans can save herself like wat my hubby say, "if i wan to buy anything i buy myself unless for hse or baby" coz nt as if i nd..so nt as if his sis need to take this course to survive so i also duno why cant save herself...so lucky ur hubby is smart. hahaha.

loomi,

hehehe. i think if u duno u are preg then nvm la. for me if i know le then i try to avoid lo. =P

LOL! I dun have crab feasts which I lurrve so so much... and going to take after giving birth. Durian feast oso 2 times. LOL! Yummy!

haha.. seems like most hubby r the same..
i feel dat sometimes our hubby needs us to be ard dem to 'nag' at dem / remind dem so dat they will b alert.. if nt they will always b so 'chu xin'

felval, kkh dun offer 3D scan ar.. sianz.. aiya i tink my hubby wont let mi do oso if its very ex.. but mayb when i show him Pooh's blog den he will change his mind.. hehe.. ;P i juz wanna c how does my little boy look like.. ;P

Pooh,
Your gynae scan bb's face, mine said normally don't show coz' it's hard for us to understand, sometimes patients get a shock wor.

hi diana,

i see doc already, doc suggested to do a patch test at National Skin Center to determine the cause.

ya. i give my parents separate allowance but same amt coz i wan to be fair lo. why i give separate coz i feel that both my parents have done their fair shares in bringing me up. bonus time i will double the amt i give them lo. coz my parents nv ask me for any $$ at all since the day i started working and they even told me if i dun have enuff can dun give them so that makes me even the more i feel i nd to give them while i am still working =)

ya, actually we v lucky to have understanding parents. I also know of ppl ard me whose parents specify hw much they must give and is nt a few hundreds type...so that is why i feel my 100++ to each of my parents is nthing lo...

pooh,

hmm..kkh dun have 3D scan lo...v tempted to do..hehhee.

poky,

bad...kkh dun have 3d scan service =( must ask ur gynae to refer u to RH for it.

Oh.. too bad KKH doesn't have 3D scan. Think I'll forego that then since going NUH will be too far. RH will be too ex. Haha.. But it looks really interesting lo. But will NUH do it for you even if you don't see their gynae?

loomi, it cost about S$299 in Mothercare. But I got Mothercare card so 10% off. As for Lascal m1 is actually the same as Synergy just that there are more colours. Saw it at Taka Baby Fair but can't remember how much it cost. But may get from US since it might be cheaper.

Anyone going Taka Baby fair, help me see the price of the Lascal m1 baby carrier. Thanks.