(2008/05) May 2008

jovial, milk bag is useful to store your express breastmilk in the freezer for a longer period of time. It also doesnt take up space.

hi kelcqi,

36k ALOT lo! add another 10k i can reno my whole hse frm top to bottom lo. if my in laws dare ask my hubby for such exp presents i sure nag like siao. hahaha.

haiz...thot today aft wk can go taka n robinson see see look look but hubby called just nw say got happy hours with colleagues will end late...ask me to go myself then he fetch me or ask me dun go =( sian....

Ladies, I bo liao went to see the March thread to kpo abit. Got one Dec mummy post her pics wrongly and I got a shock from what she posted. She had a whole freezer of breast milk! I so shocked. Then all the mummies asking her how she did it.

Jen, I tell u something. U know what my FIL told me. He told me my hubby should not be giving me money cos I'm working. Ridiculous rite? My MIL told me since I married to hubby, I should help him in supporting his finances. I shouldn't be giving back so much money to my own parents. I heard liao super angry!

To how I interpret their msg to me is, since you married to my son, you should be supporting us also. But they can continue fathoping. I never complain abt how much hubby is contributing back is very good enough already... Still expect me to give, wait long long...

Jen,
agree, once stayed together with PILs for easier taking care of kids, in future it hard to separate out liao... later they say juz "used" them for takin care of kids, then "kick" them aside.. dun think they will think of the space constriants when the kids start growing up, so better dun invite such "trouble" in the first place....

Kelcqi,
ur PILs really too much leh... ur hubby also got his own family liao. also need to save up for rainy days.. but too bad is that ur hb is too fillial. if the giver himself is willing, wat can others do rite?? sighh... but at least he dun expect u to support his parents..

AH?! how come like that?! they are adopting what kinda of culture?

icebaby, okie.. thanks!

Kelly,

I more fortunate. Lucky my in-laws already know their son's "kuan". They already very happy that he can support himself..let alone support them. LOL.

Wah, so much milk supply meh... I think i'll buy the milk bags later not now... mayb during my 2nd confinement month. Meanwhile, just keep in the nursing bottle inside the fridge. Must know how much supply i can provide mah... later no milk how? Then I'll let my bb take FM.

Kelcqi, no matter wat dun contribute!! where got such logic? married liao, then daughters no need give own parents money n give PILs instead? they are not the one who raise us up n give us wat we need le!! it only fair to help PIL if they are really in need of help.. but for ur PIL, they juz plainly want to enjoy life to the fullest at other ppl expenses!!!

lukemommy
my 4D scan will be done in NUH.. i remember last yr i did, they charge me $120

kelcqi/sparks
can do it one. my MIL also complaint everytime i BF coz her freezer will become mine liao. very tempted to buy a small freezer but where to place

Kelcqi,
also went in to c the dec thread... wow,, the mommy really store alot!! look so many bags... not juz a compartment, but a whole freezer!! i dun even know if i able to bf... scared later not enuff or too stress out to produce enuf.. so dun dare to buy storage bags liao. =(

poky
must be very diligent lor.. my 1st week, i also got not much supply.. by day 6th, i'm able to pump 100 mls each time, 2nd week, i pumped 300mls each time.. i din managed to latch bb coz my nipples were so sore til they bleed.. so i pump 3-4hrly and feed by bottles

Hi Lukemommy,

I only did the nuchal scan + blood tests screening for Down's syndrome n other genetic prblms. Results were gd fortunately, so Dr didn't ask me to do the amnio test. I might nd a c-sect cos of another complication but Dr's still monitoring. I m hoping hard for a natural birth tho.

pooh,
duno leh... until now, not like as if like breast got alot bigger... so worried that wont hv milk lor. is there any way to gage or wil only know after giving birth liao??

Hi friesbandit,
Do u use the Nuk steriliser as well? Isetan has an offer now pckgd with bottles and some other stuff. Am considering this over the Avent one.

LavenderDreamz, Thank God you're ok... Can one lah, don't worry so much will have natural birth already. I also dun wanna think about labour, heard my boss wife had c-sec, she told me cut 7 layers of flesh, I get chill out of my spine liao. So don't think better.

Poky, she power rite? And her freezer is not our normal freezer with fridge wor, hers is really a BIG freezer. I showed hubby, he said wah, the lady is a human or a cow. Haha...

Felval, your PILs also said that? I so angry. I scolded hubby for his parents nonsense. I told I doubt his parents spent that much money on him compared to what my parents spend on me. Imagine the uni sch fees and allowances? His parents only supported him till 17 and he's out surviving on his business already. How can they stop me from giving my parents?

Poky, Sparks,
I confirm won't listen to their nonsense one lah. I already keep quiet abt how much they are taking from hubby liao, they still want more, why not go downstairs and ask from others better? Saw the news the other time, got one begger everyday got merc to pick her up and she stayed in banglow. And heard her monthly income come close to 4k wor...

Kelcqi,
ur hubby so funny. =) but it gd to be able to bf with no prb of not enuff bf. scarely she also hv problem with hvin too much.... wat to do with so much milk?

Felval,
ur PIL also one of a kind like Kelcqi one ah?? hvin such "PIL" really take alot of "ren shu" to stay sane....... better nxt time, when they played with ur kids, b ard.. duno what "ideas" they will "brainwash" into the kids siah...

hi kelcqi,

yaya. my MIL said that even b4 we got married...so i told my hubby she can dream on coz i will disregard wat she say lo.my hubby same case as ur hubby...except..my hubby was out working when he was in primary sch while his mum stayed hm and be a housewife...so i really feel v sad and angry for my hubby...and that is the reason why i sticked on with him despite everything n knowing hw bad the situation can be coz his parents rely on him too much to even realised the stress and negative impact it had on him if he ever have a family n kid(s)...i am determined to help make his life a better one =)

poky,

hehhee. same thots lo...i will nt let my kids be alone with them lo..i dun wan negative influence on my kid...reason i say this...i recall once i visited them on a weekday..the sis was suppose to have exam the next day and guest wat? the whole family + her bf was playing mj in the living room! omg! i thot exam period must study? still can play mj ah? no wonder the result come out v bad lo...i dare nt imagine wat will happen to my kid if i let him stay with my in laws too....scary

poky,

Same like you. I now worry abt whether have milk. Last time with my 1st 2, my bust went up very big (38C/D) and had alot of milk. Now, it's still abt the same size as normal. haiz.

Kelcqi,

I was looking for the pic. hahaha

LavenderDreamz,

urs still tender huh. Mine same leh. No difference. At least for my 2nd boy, around this time, bust was big and was leaking. This time around..soft soft one. *sigh* I really wonder.

Girls,

I feeling very sianz and tired today. Feel like just going off. Dunno if my boss will let me leh. He and my colleague got meeting at 4pm later. Maybe see at 4pm, I go ask him. Cos today I think he can see I very tired. =(

Felval, my MIL said that only after we got married. She asked me how much I earn, how much I give my mum. Then she said that sentence... My MIL all along been housewife. But she so free, very relax housewife life. My FIL and MIL totally depend on Hubby, FIl driving part time cab, but money he earned dunno go where liao. Maybe to 4D bah. They always say no money to hubby and ask for hundred more each time. Think hubby next time move out, less opportunity to talk to them, they less chance to ask for money liao. But then again, baby under their care, later they ask hubby for money and say for bb one how?

Icebaby, they were joking that can have EBM ice cream le. I'm thinking of milk bath. Haha... U stroll down all the way to bottom. She was saying her freezer all full liao, and fridge still have 21 bottles of milk. Keke...

Icebaby,
Ya, for me even w/ bra also hurts. Hmm..do u thk it's worth seeing a lactation consultant? I was thkg abt it cos I'm v pro-BF. Juz dunno if it'll make a real difference. Dunno many pple who visit LC also.

Kelcqi,
I thk dry nipples also can use cos the cream helps to protect agst cracking/soreness n moisturise the area. Usually dry area will get itchy. But if it's the breast that's itchy, then I thk regular body lotion shd be ok la.

kelcqi,

even if ur hubby move out they can call and ask him to transfer $$ over to them...when hubby and i went overseas, they can even call my hubby who was on auto roaming and ask him to transfer $$ to her...that time no internet transfer yet so hubby told her to wait for him to cum back then transfer to her...but nw got internet transfer liao diff, one call less than 1hr sure can get $$...

seriously if they wan $$ ah, even if move out they can still call n get $$ one.

our hubbies too nice liao...even if have to save on themselves they will still give...since the in laws know their son pattern who can stop them, right? we can only open n close 1 eye and hope things will improve with time and hopefully the arrival of our own babies will wake them up =)

my nipples sometime also v dry then will peel skin...but i nv apply anything wo coz i ren..i wonder if it will affect BF-ing in future?

my colleague commented that hw cum my breast like v swell during pregnancy lo...hear liao so sad...=( hopefully i will have enuff to supply my baby in future...

Felval,

Yah hor, I suddenly remember got one time my FIL was downstairs and called my hubby to transfer money to him. My hubby told him to go ATM 5 mins later. What you said suddenly brought me back to those phone calls. I totally forget liao. I only remember they come knocking at our bedroom door to ask for money.

Haiz, I don't even know they'll wake up or not. Scarly later they use baby as excuse say need to buy this and that but give my bb cheaper milk powder or diaper etc, but take the money put in their own pocket. Or maybe teach my gal next time grow up must remember to support them also how?

kelcqi,
wow ur PILs is abit crazy lar to say that to u.. no nid give parents then give them ar? if my MIL dare tell me lidat i sure "diao" her one. hahaha. i always tell my hb want to give he give his own self. it oni we got baby liao let her take care of my gal, then i yi shi yi shi give her $50 lor. haha. cos she cook dinner for us everyday mah (wkdays).

wow i also go search the pic on the mommy EBM leh. wow its alot alot alot leh. wow sey.. my frd also told me she gg back to work nxt wk. her fridge got 100pkts of EBM. wow sooo exaggeratting leh.. but i believe is true lar. normal fridge hw can store so much leh?? but then got more ss of cos good lar. can save milk powder money & bb drink liao also can be stronger lar.

hey.. ask u all a personal qn ar.. does anyone of u go do Brazilian wax? i am thinking to go for it since KKH dun shave for preggy mommy gg for delivery one leh. its kinda of messy & somemore hv 1 mth of flow leh.. very digusted lor. i found from forum got 1 lady can do it oni $40 for mommy to be(last trim) one. but then she ask me to bring someone with me to do lor. then i scare do nw very fast grow back no purpose liao lor nw oni 31wks nia.

Felval,
I thk u can also try nipple cream (walau...I sound like I am a nipple cream promoter! Hahaha). Or can ask yr gynae what to use. Better that the nipple is not dry cos during BF-ing, it might get more sore and cracked. Take care!

lavenderdreamz, yes i use the NUK sterilizer. is not too bad, but if u use avent bottles, then i advise use the avent sterilizer...coz the avent bottles are fatter.

kelcqi,

mayb u can stock the milk powder, diapers for them lo...if they say dun wan trouble u they buy themselves u say nvm la, u buy alot at 1 go cheaper, see wat they say? hehehe.

hehehehe. ur last sentence v cute...mayb when our kids old enuff liao can ask them hw was their day, wat did grandparents tell them or teach them then frm there see hw to handle ba. now i also duno hw to handle will be the best for all...

seriously, i hope i can learn to be a gd MIL in future when i have a DIL lo (i know v extreme coz my son havent even born yet.hahah)...imagine if everyone can live in harmony how nice it would be..to gain another daughter and care for her like ur own even if there are upbringing difference and diff views n opinions...

Hi all, got home earlier today so can post message. Hehe..

Re: Taka Baby Fair
It's good to have such fair to get most of the stuff that we need. Hubby and I spent $280 yesterday on the baby stuff. But still haven't buy the steriliser yet cos think Kaki Bukit one is cheaper. It's a little disappointing for most items as they are not really on sales and don't really like what Taka did on the "Prices are after Discount" when they are actually the same prices as John Little/Robinsons' normal price. I still prefer Robinsons/John Little sale. Anyway, we have $460 worth of Taka vouchers so just buy what we have to buy. But it's good to go cos saw many brands of stroller, baby carrier and high chair. But still find Orbit nice. Haha.. We carried 2 big bags home.

felval, if nipple dry must apply nipple cream la. If not next time breastfeed, very pain one. It will peel even more.

For me, one of my breast nipple is abit flat so I bought the Avent Nipplet, hope it will solve the problem. Haha..

Re: Dec 2007 Thread
The lady really has lots of BM.. Can't believe she can fill up the whole freezer with the milk. It will be sad if it's going to go to waste. I hope I can produce milk after my baby's birth

hi LavenderDreamz,

hahaha. u can be a nipple cream promoter liao. hehehe. anyway, i read that when BF-ing, if nipple is sore or dry can apply breast milk on the nipple and it will solve the prob? any exp mothers try this b4?

currently nt planning on using nipple cream coz i think far..in case aft delivery not enuff milk cant BF so will nt have sore nipple lo...dry nipple think i can tahan la...so if no BF so no sore nipple then buy liao waste $$ rite? hehehe.

like milk bags...i also nt planning to buy nw coz i scare i nt enuff supply wait buy liao also no use...so planning to buy when i cfm got enuff supply. hehehe..if nt everything also buy i will go broke! hehehe

felval,
yes.. If during BF-ing time & experience sore or bleeding nipple, use own breast milk to apply on it & air dry. it works better than any cream.

Cheri,
wow u bought until $280 ar..
did u see a booth that can trade in milk btl & get Pigeon milk btl @ 50% off?

Felval,

Can't rmbr which website I read that last time they do recommd to use BM to moisturise nipple. Now they say that nipple cream is better. (I can't rmbr y also...haha).

Actually it's not too expensive...thk Avent <$20 and Lansinoh <$10. Thk it's worth to use now to stop the peeling n prevent future cracking or soreness.

We do our best to think positive la...I m also worried abt not hvg enuf BM but hopefully thkg positive will help. Repeat after me: We got milk got milk got milk!

Hi Jen, I haven't bought anything for my baby yet mah. So yesterday 1-shot buy most of the items lo. I didn't see the booth for trading the bottles, anyway, I don't have bottle to trade leh. Haha.. And I planning to use Avent bottle. I saw a brand which sells milk bottles quite near the cashier there, brand starts with T one. Can't remember the name, it looks quite good. But 1 bottle like $10.

Kelcqi,

Maybe u can ask ur gynae the next time?

WCT,

Hmm..i always thot I was the only one that had skin peeling at that area. LOL. But this problem started after I had my 1st kid and con't after. Went to several docs and used several cream. End up, only 1 brand of steriod cream I can use now. But I use it very lightly, i.e. use only when serious peeling, if not, I do not use at all. Just wear breastpads (washable ones...cos those are cotton material).

Again, must stress, different people use different methods and creams. For me, using nipple cream made my breast skin peel and infected. Even using own breast milk didn't work. So if during that time, it doesn't work...pls keep urself clean is more impt okay. Dun end up get high fever and force to stop.

Jen,

I think it's okay that down there messy messy. Even when I give birth at KKH twice, dun have issue. Unless like Cecilia's one..then maybe got to trim. (sorry had to make that joke) =P Other than that, u might wish to just to trim (hubby help?) or wait until birth then at home trim so that washing and cleaning easier? Cos if brazilian, might be irritating cos dryness, blah blah (that's what I read lah).

Cheri,

I find the stupid thing not useful BUT the reason not useful is that, must use BEFORE you start having breast milk. Cos when breast engore (can't sp), it's difficult to use. Also advise is to start using it early and try to "shape" it. (That's what the lactation lady told me many yrs ago).

Hi icebaby, I understand what you mean by not useful. But for me, it still alright. It did help a little so far cos at least it's not flat anymore. But I think it will be ok to use it just before you breastfeed also.