(2008/05) May 2008

felval- i stay in bishan
ur hb reali diff frm most guys! mine is a car lover. he used to spend so much $$ modifyin the previous car! we jus change car last mth n i make him promise he cannot change anything to this car! hahah.. told him we need the $$ for bb stuff n more exps comin up. n since i gonna be SAHM, beta save up more nw. thn he gv me a sad face, sayin life no meanin nw, cannot mod his car =_=

hi piggy_mummy,

oh. okok. i nv thot of tt but my boss remind me to get those front tie string one dun get front buttons coz the wound on the belly button on the baby will be healing so it may cause some discomfort..but i already buy 6 sets of long n short sleeve, front button tops le.

hi jer,

i live v close to safra yishun. scally we may have past by each other at yishun mrt (that is if you take the train.hehehe)

hi ant1712,

oops sorry. i tot u stay at amk coz tt time i think we mentioned abt swopping the colors of the baby clothes then i think u mention AMK. now thinking back i think u meant to say can meet up in amk ya? hehehe

hi ant1712,

hehehe. my car we only do the body kits and nothing else! i wanted to cut a sunroof and install better stereo system but my hubby says waste $$$.....seldom heard of frm a guy rite? hehehe.

but on the hse reno we spent alot la. think he rather spent on hse than car lo.

hahaha. ur hubby so funi. tell him midset must change la. now is think of baby first, then u, then his car. hehehehe

my hubby says got baby cant go travel le. then extra expenses then say he wan retire early also cant liao. hehehe.

i also wan to be a SAHM~~~ but hubby abit object le....he says v taxing on him...are u planning on any part time job or home based job?

felval- yalor, i told him nw everything also got to tink of bb 1st. we luv travelin too! went aust, taiwan, korea thn turkey durin the 2 yrs of our marriage. wanted to go japan but goten wait liao.
i wil be helpin my hb on property stuff. thn ask him pay me a salary! haha

felval,

I stay khatib area there, 800+. So even if i take train mostly is from khatib but seldom take train. Weekdays mostly take bus then weekend mostly will drive my in-laws car. Used to stay near safra there when i am in primary school though back then, safra wasnt there yet.

Felval, yaloh, I think our hubby very gd cos they will take the initiative to do research, rather than everything we have to nag then they move. In some way when he does that, I do feel supported...

Felval, you blur blur lah, the one to swap clothes is me not ant lah.

Ant, your hubby so funi, say life no more meaning liao. But I think when he sees the baby, his mindset will change. My hubby also research on cars also. Then sometimes have funny ideas on what he wanna do to his car, then I'll remind him, we wait ok? When we are more settle down with expenses with baby, then we think of modifications for car. He ok with it.

And Good news ladies, tml hubby and I can go HDB and choose a flat liao. Small flat but make do with it first. Me so happy. Finally we are going to have a place of our own soon...

Jen, me think I'll limit myself take 3 times a week bah. But inside got Cong Cao, supposingly good for pregnant ppl rite?

morning all. =)

hi kelcqi and ant1712,

hehehe. sorry ah. mixed up who wanan swop the colour of the clothes. ya la. i blur blur have to admit. ehehhee. even when my hubby reply my sms i asked him on a num of occasions wat did i sms him. hehehe.

Hi Kelcqi, CONGRATULATIONS!!!

so happy for you to have a choice to choose a flat of your own... i have a few couple of frens who get married for 1-2 yrs still bo flat till now...

where u selecting?

mornin everyone

kelcqi- hope u get the flat u wan! nothin beats hvg a place of our own (minus the hsewrk =P, hehe)

felval- i was wonderin wat swappin of clothes at amk. hehe...

mornin to all also. =)

Kelcqi, congrats on hvin to choose flat tmr liao. can enjoy the freedom at ur own flat soon. =)

anyone know that reservist can come out if their wife deliver?? only last nite realise hubby reservist start in mid may. i due in 24th. he says most likely is a two wk. since not goin oversea, so can come out shld i deliver early. is it true?? anyone got experience????

poky- my hb got reservist in mid mar n he has asked for deferment cos by thn i wil be 35-36 wks n he wans to be by my side in case i deliver early. hope they approve. can ask ur hb to defer? i feel it wil be best tat our hbs be w us when we r at home nearin our edd jus in case anything happens n we need to go hosp asap.

poky, think better ask ur hb to apply deferrment bah. my hb also got reservist in May and is overseas somemore. he has since applied 3 times but still got rejected. we are still thinking of what to do next.

ant1712 & Yanling, i asked him to defer liao. but he says defer still need to do the nxt time after bb is born. when bb is born, if i doin confinement, then who goin to take care of us when he doin the makeup reservist then? but then, i really hope that he could be at "beck n call" when i near my due date... duno if it b hard to contact him at ns when my contraction start.... cos not all time they can on their hp rite?? sigh... he dosent seem to opt for defer reservist after my delivery....

hi ant1712,

hehehe. yaya. i blur blur. paisay ah. hehehe.

hi kelcqi,

congras! which area u choosing ah? got own hse more freedom. can do watever u like but cons is hsewk all u have to do or share btw ur hubby n u =)

Re: reservist

i think can defer one le. mayb ask ur gynae to write a letter stating the edd then when they apply for the deferment attach tt as evidence?? higher chance of approval?

poky- i tot of tat too. if he kana reservist after bb is born, thn hw am i gonna cope? he says can ask for stay out. ya, may be difficult to get ur hb n it's also dangerous tat u r alone when near edd leh.

ant1712, now at a loss, duno which to prefer... hv him finish reservist b4 or after delivery? mayb can consider ur hubby idea also... cos scarely his cmpy sent him on oversea trip when i doin confinement... tat b even worse rite? tonight go n ask him again.....

kelcqi, congrats!! haiz.. i dunno will we get gd Q numbers for this time balloting anot.. cos i really wanna haf my own hse.. so gt to c nxt thurs result..

so sianz.. i on mc today.. last nite i diarrhoea4 times within 4 hrs.. -_-" so sickening.. my tummy pain liao nobody's business.. haiz.. i told my hubby later is i wanna gif birth liao he greak out say cannot b so soon lah.. haha..

hi mummies, im back!
last two days, keep getting leg cramps...so painful!!

hey moony,
i had diarrhea during my first pregnancy too. i think its normal, dont worry.

to all mummies, just wondering how you bring your kids to the loo when you are out? coz public toilets here are quite yucky....

haiz...been feeling nausea the past 3 days...wonder if its coz i had too much cny goodies or wat...suddenly v sick of food....and feel like puking every nw and then...=(

alamak! I'm also not feeling too good myself... keeps hearing stomach keeps "grumbles"! Don't know if hungry or too much air... No mood..

Hi kelcqi! congrats!!

Poky, dun fret.... surely there are options and other methods in getting deferments. Guess, b'cos too many ppl always gets deferments unnecessarily that's Y govt. is so strict and stringent to approve deferment request. Things will go y way...
Cheer up!

WCT...same same..i too feel nauseas.....want to vomit want to vomit..but nothing came up...

its like my food stuck in the throat... till now i havent eat my breakfast..coz my milo still loitering in my throat...i knew once i down any food...will puke out...

sian.... last trimester dun sounds fun ah... =(

sparks, thx, but now hvnt even worry abt gov approval yet ah..=/ hb himself oppose to gettin defer.... tonight will discuss with him again on ant1712 option.. then c wat he says lor....

Hi Choc and felval,

Same here, i don't have much appetite too, and always want to puke but nothing come out! but i still try to eat as much as i can manage! Cos till now i only put on 5.5 kg and i am 28 weeks plus alreayd! luckily baby is 1.5 kg!! Was quite worried!

3rd tri also very sian, so big and bulky and my back is really killing me!! really want to give birth asap!!! guess i am just impatient!! :p

Hi birdy,

As mine is a boy so its easier for him to use the washroom even if its dirty as he just stand and pass urine but when it comes to passing motion, if its not those very dirty kind, I will clean the seat throughly. If its those very yucky kind, my son will refuse to use then he will bear.

Like to ask about the medisave deduction for maternity package. For the maximum amount deduction let said $1350, does it mean that i can deduct from my hubby medisave to maximum $1350 and mine to $1350 too? Went to their website (http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/Templates/SubPage_Template.aspx?NRMODE=Published&NRORIGINALURL=%2fMembers%2fGen-Info%2fFAQ%2fHealthCare%2fMED%2ehtm&NRNODEGUID=%7bBA3CEE2B-E291-487A-8B69-B31BF22C6CC8%7d&NRCACHEHINT=Guest#Q16) but cant seem to understand what they say.

Me back from HDB. Hehe, last nite hubby and I drove down to Chai Chee Street to view the unit. Quite windy but only thing is the mosque in front, hope it will not be too noisy next time. Thank God we managed to secure the corner unit, at least not so many ppl passing by the corridor.

Choc, you tell your couple friends to approach the MP of their area. Usually if genuine case like in my case is pregnancy, they'll give priority. Last mth Hubby and I went to the MP after trying to ballot for more than a year, we told them we staying with PILs n BIL, open market too expensive, and now pregnant, no place for baby. Then this mth we got to be those in front to choose a flat liao. Dunno it's luck or with the help of MP. So might worth a try.

Poky, U can call his unit no. Ask him to leave down his camp no, and tell him to inform his superior that his wife might be delivering anytime. It's an emergency situation, so most of the time they'll alert your hubby if he is uncontactable. Few yrs ago my friend also like that, her hubby oversea training, but when she was about to deliver, she call the camp and they managed to get the hubby back at the next available flight.

hi smurferoos,

u heng ah. so far only 5.5kg and baby is healthy. minus the weight of the water bag, placenta and etc think u have v less fats to lose aft delivery. hehhee

so far, at 21weeks i already put on 6kg le. tomorrow can finally see my gynae aft a 6 weeks long wait. hehehe. i shall see hw much i have gain and i must rem to ask him hw much my baby's weight is. =)

cant wait for tomorrow to arrive =P

Kelcqi, do the hb hv to go back n continue reservist after wife deliver that day?? or the rest of period "forgo" or book out daily??

Jaspire,

So qiao, your mum staying near there? Me getting the keys in 4-6 mths time leh. Like very long wait hor? But better than nothing lah. Now my worry is only the confinement period. Cos my mum dun like strangers staying at her place. And I dunno where the confinement lady gonna sleep next time.

Poky, your hubby is NSF regular rite? My friend's hubby who is a regular got the pathernity leave for 3 days. From the day she deliver.

yanling, she juz only start the symptoms? the pus breakout yet? else call ur gynea to ask for advice. i only know that when preggies juz started to hv chicken pox, there a pill to help to lessen the effect.. not sure if there any to prevent it for preggies who may kana....

according to other colleagues. she caught it in JB during cny and having it for a few days oredi liao. now avoiding the area around her cubicle at all cost. the best part is tat her seat is near the door to the ladies. so now i have to go up one floor to use the toilet.

Kelcqi, ya, hb the normal type, not signed on type. then the 3days paternity leave dosent apply liao.. =p

yanling... huh... hopefully her condition was not yet to the contagious period when she in office lor. but meantime, better ask ur gynea if there any safe measures that can b taken.. also to ensure ur own immune system is strong.. by takin vits?? then mayb wont get affected easily?

Poky, I think not applicable leh. Cos if not sign on means not entitled to benefits mah. But still can try to apply leave lah. And most importantly, ur hubby must let the camp know his wife is delivering, so u can call the no in case of emergency

Poky, my colleague told me got 3 years regular one. Ur hubby is 3 yrs, is consider regular according to him. U can ask your hubby to find out if he have those benefits.

Hi everyone, I’m in 26 weeks this week.
My due date is on Middle of May.
My tummy is getting bigger. When I went to my gynae last check up on 24th weeks.
My gynae said I gain a lot of weight 4kg.
now I already gain weight abt 10kg.
Is it normal ? or too heavy ? how about u all ? pls share with me. I already control my diet. Dun take sweet things. And eat only whenever I hungry. 3 meals.

Hi Yueling...tink its normal lar... to gain 10kg.. but hor... must take note that within a month try to stick with 2kg weight gain...anything beyond gynae sure say not good...

for me 28wks liao..gain 10kg lor...

hi jaspire,

can help me to update?
weight gain @ 25 weeks = 8kg
baby's weight @ 25 weeks = 829g

doctor commented i gained too much weight this mth... abt 3kg ...

Kelcqi, he didnt sign on, juz the normal ns. he also not in sg liao. so hv to wait til he back tis wkend to ask. but he alrdy agree to try askin for defer when he back. =)will wait n c if approve then... for him, reservist is a "gatherin" for the guys.. so initially, he dosent want to defer when possible.....

yanling,

i had a chicken pox scare too a few months back when my dad had shingles (a second form of chicken pox). Went to a vaccination specialist on the advice of my gynae and she recommended 3 course of action, depending on your comfort level:
1. there is an immunoglobin that you can get injected with that will provide you with temp antibodies (like as if you already had chicken pox before). However, it is very costly (1K plus). Generally thot to be safe for preggies.

2. you can take the anti-viral tablets called zovirax 7 days after "contact/contamination" with chicken poxee... it is to lessen impact of chicken pox, or reduce it to very low level. Supposed to be safe for preggies too, esp at our late stage.

3. Take zovirax after rashes appear... less effective in terms of lessening impact.

Because my dad was shingles which is less contagious, doc advice was to go for no.2 option. In the end, i didn't take either and thot i'd risk it to wait for rashes to appear, which thank goodness didn't.

Incubation is 7-21 days. But late stage pregnancy not so dangerous, cos it's in early stage pregnancy that there are fears of causing deformation. However, if very close to EDD, then more dangerous.

My "visit" to the specialist cost me $500 plus all in all so hopefully this helps save you some money... But you should still talk to your gynae.