(2008/05) May 2008

Tracy,
ya, definitely better to do at home. Moreover my place is kind of center of in law and my parents place so easier for both side to come if they want to see the baby.

Tracy, Choc
I think we can buy cupboard ba, just that when fixing it up and arranging it at the place you want better to ask someone else to do it while you are not at home. I did that during my previous pregnancy. Mil asked me go back my parents place while they do all the furniture arrangement in my room. Even for this pregnancy, due to new home, stuffs like when my wardobe arrive and need to be assemble, i went downstairs and walk a few rounds till it is done then i went up. Same as Tracy, thinking of buying plastic toyogo drawer.

Moony,
I used kotex maternity pad and have no problem using it with disposable panty.

icebaby
i still can reuse my kids' clothes.. coz no2 only 8mth old.. haha

moony
no prob with kotex and disposable..
they are able to stick well together.. i bought 4 packs of maternity disposable panties.. if dirty, just throw lor.. heh

poky
maternity pads are to absorb and cushion also.. the nurse will teach u how to wear the loop type one.. no worries

felval, ya mi too.. when my hubby wk noon shift n i reach hm after wk n alone i will start to anyhow tink.. somemore dis is my 1st pregnancy.. i get very depressed easily.. i kept askin him is he willing to go in the delivery suite wif mi or he gt to go in bcos he bo bian.. n oso my MIL like dun really like the idea of my hubby go in wif me.. which i feel so sickening.. haiz.. cos last time when she gif birth my FIL oso nv go in.. -_-" i feel dat ever since im preg.. i become more petty.. hehe..
ya i oso have problem slpin.. slp flat sometimes i cannot breathe.. slp side for long my side will feel abit pain.. -_-"
did u expereience menes liked cramp at ur lower tummy?

Jer, is kotex maternity pad gd?? i scare to use pad cos i heard we will have stitches down there rite?? den i dunno pad will irritate the wounds anot..

oh ya those who delivering in kkh.. need to bring own Pyjamas?

poky,

maternity pads are THICK but they are damn bloody more absorbant than those heavy flow. Trust me, u really need maternity pads for at least the first few days and to change often...cos the flow can be ALOT. It's not like MENSES heavy flow hor.

moony,

Dun be afraid. Chances of staining is high (just to highlight)...if u want, u can buy those plastic (I think hospital have) and put under you when at home. If you afraid stain on bed. =) I have those the last time just to be safe.

**I highlight again. I did stain quite abit during my first few days. So it's NORMAL.

felval, moony, i also tend to get more dependent on hubby company. feel really lonely n sad whenever he goes oversea for work. suay that he juz change new job when i got preggy. so dun want to complain to make him stress. =( now juz hope that he b ard at home durin the delivery period. =p

icebaby, hahah.. nv tested the absorbency,, but also think that it shld b able to absorb much more than normal pads. So so thick.... but when the flow starts, it even more than heavy menstrual flow?? didnt know it so much..... or am i too suan ku????

moony,

Like what the rest said, the only down side of maternity pad is there is no wings. I think there is no choice for us on whether to use pad a not. Like what icebaby mentioned, maternity pads are thick and more absorbant and chances of staining is high, that why during your stay in hospital, nurse will put a blue, white paper/plastic thingy (dunno how to describe it) on your bed around your butt area to prevent staining on the bed. It will not irritate the wound for sure. Its like sitting on a pillow/cushion when you wear maternity pad and if i never remember wrongly, maternity pad are make of cotton instead of the usually pad we use which is like "plastic". You can buy maternity pad at kiddy palace and supermarket.

harlo all! me bk to wrk after such a long break. literally goten drag myself out of bed today!

when do we start to wash the bb clothings ah? i like alot of things hvnt do lidat. start to get kan cheong liao. 11 more wks to go! stil waitin for the taka bb fair to get the rest of the things.

ant1712, i plan to start washing the clothes in begining apr. then store in the wardrobe with dehumidifier liao. =)

poky,

heehee. My 1st one i used maternity pad and realise I buy so many so useless. 2nd one I decide not to buy...then REGRET. So that's why i say, but around 2 pkts (or depends on urself...cos u will only know after u give birth how much the flow is. Different people different no. of days) maternity and then buy those overnight ones. Maternity ones are very cotton like...so it doesn't irritate the skin. For those heavy flow one, suggest that you buy those cotton kind...dun buy those that plastic (like whisper <-- note: I am not a follower of whisper cos I cannot use their pads) plastic kind. Cos you need something "airy".

ant1712,

wah u took leave on monday huh. Tomolo I will be on leave but got soooo many errands to make. Today also...need to drag myself out of bed.

icebaby, oh okok.. hehe thanks huh.. i blur leh.. my hubby keep askin mi to write down wat to bring to hospital but i lazy.. hehe..

poky, ya i understand ur feeling.. i feel super duper sianz when my hubby wks late.. but i will tell to control myself.. cos he oso feels very sianz as he said dat he feels dat he gt no time for mi.. nvm lah.. luckily everyone here r friendly... hehe.. oh ya poky.. u gt msn?? mayb u can add mi in msn..

Jer, thanks ah.. hehe.. sorry im being too mountain turtle as dis is my 1st time.. feelin very lost.. actually ow many packs do we need to prepare?

ant1712, my MIL already started to help mi wash all the bb's things liao.. hehe..

Like to find out when you all will starting taking the maternity leave? Also, how many days b4 the EDD is recommended?

Dunno wor…my mum forbid me to assemble anything in the house…even if I not in the house also cannot…they super pan tan wan lar…

So I just follow their “instruction” lor… tinking of going to watson to get those organiser…errrm…duno how to describe but they can be used as a box to pack our clothings….

I also buying ard 8 pkts of disposable panties…coz I dun wan to wash my panties during confinement period.. (cant touch water..troublesome to ask other pple wash for me…)…

icebaby, mi too.. i dun use whisper unless i ran out of mine den i will 'borrow' frm my sis.. n i will always buy those made of cotton one.. very comfy.. actually sofy nt bad but i always use Modess pad.. very gd!! hehe.. cos its long n slim..

i oso drag myself to wk.. sianz.. but i will b on leave on thurs.. hehe.. surprise for hubby

moony,
u not mountain turtle. First time mummy is like that, previously i dun even know there is maternity pad =X I think your question on how many packs we need to prepare, icebaby had answer to poky.. haha. For me, I think 2 packs should be sufficient then after which can use overnight pads.

Jer, hehe.. nvm lah i tink i will buy more den if gt left over can gif my SIL if she is giving birth soon hehe..

i very scare leh.. its like im counting down n my days r here.. i will start to feel cold.. ;(

ant1712,

me also waiting for the taka fair to buy bb stuff..u in 3rd tri liao rite?me 12 weeks to go, kan chiong..hubby said no need to wash bb clothes so early, coz he said he will hand wash all the clothes..so he needs time to wash..

cupboard-- me also thinking buy those Toyogo drawer to put bb clothes..but don know can buy now or not, coz it involve shifting n fixing furniture leh..

poky- i tot to do it in early apr too but scared bb comes out earlier thn tat how?? cos gynae mentioned my bb abit big, may deliver earlier =X

icebaby- i was on 7 days mc til last wed thn took leave ytd. super long break for me!

piggymummy- ya, me 29 wks liao. so fast! nxt mon my gynae appt. goten do the sugar test. my hb also said no need to wash so fast! he nt gan cheong one, kept sayin stil got time wat!
i also tinkin to get toyogo cabinet to put bb clothes.

moony- i chk taka website but the mar events nt out leh... i wait until neck long long liao!

moony,

Maternity pads if u run out at the hospital, i think can ask them for more. *grin*

Winnedy,

For 2 of my boys, I didn't take any earlier maternity. For this 3rd, I not sure yet. Must see situation (office).

choc,

Disposable good...cos no need to wash. But advise is wear girdle. It helps flatten tummy, esp the first few days after birth (i.e. keep the air/wind out also...hahaha). But dun wear too tight that will cause lines, then u start itching. Cos when our that area is hot and humid, can be very irritating (i think you get what i mean). hahaha

moony,

I like sofy. Nice and soft.
Dun worry lah. As 1st time mummies, we have alot of questions. Even as a 3rd time mummy, doesn't mean i dun have questions. So feel free to ask. i those kind not shy one. Hahaha

Oh, everytime i travel, i buy the disposable from Watsons. Not bad.

piggy_mummy,

Since ur hubby say wait for taka fair. Why not search online for Taka vouchers. So u can save abit of money by buying vouchers cheaper. =)

ant1712,

wah. U better take good care. It's normally hard to recover when preggy. So now I also trying hard not to get sick. Drink water moderately okies?

**Anyone started drinking coconut. I wanna buy...but need to buy hubby to go buy (cos he needs to open it also). Maybe tonight. *kekeke

Hi icebaby,
Is it safe not to take maternity leave?? What happened during your first 2 kids? How u koe u are going to deliver?

Also, when can we start drinking the coconut?

wow so many postings already half a morning. haha

choc,
it depends on individual lor. for me my lochia is like heavy menses of 2nd - 3rd days for abt 1wk lor. anyway at home mah. nothing to do chg pad lor. haha.
fyi, i bout sofy pads 35cm one. KKH also gave me the kotex maternity pad lar. also NO WINGS one. no good to use. but can absorb well &amp; of cos when sit dwn got abit cushion wont cause my p part area immed hurting if seated lor.

Jer,
No choice 1st child usually take longer time to deliver out one lor. so i din take exp pkg 1st time. this time i took. pple always say 2nd pregnancy onwards more easier to pop out. like my frd 2hrs bb out liao.

moony,
ya disposable panties is V V V good. in my dec 06 mommies thread. they recommend 1 disposable panty from TMC one. but for TMC patients they will have dunno 2 panties free lor. can be rewashable one lor. hehe. mommies in tmc pls check it out.
If u want to buy disposable panties, any department stores / lingeries shop sells it. I also gg to stock up that liao.

piggy mummy, my hubby oso say wait n wait but i cannot wait so i pester him to buy clothes for bb 1st.. nw my bb gt alot of clothes.. hehe..
so cute.. i nv tot i will buy bb clothes.. hehe..

ant1712, oh nvm.. we will wait n c ba.. mayb will b out soon..

icebaby, huh?? i dunno kkh will provide anot if i ask frm dem.. hehe..
where to buy girdle?
ya i oso wanna buy disposable panty.. cos i tink i wont b able to wash my own panty n oso will always stain.. aiya juz wear n throw.. hehe..

Jen, haha i tink i will get those gd n cheap one use liao juz throw.. lazy to wash n dun tink i will have the energy to wash.. haha.. wanna take care of bb n oso busy making myself to slim down after giving birth..

anyway i will b taking my maternity leave from end of Apr onwards.. but i will check wif my gynae again dis sat c my EDD will change anot.. hehe

see lar..we woman so ming ku...so many things to buy and prepare...

for the guys..just enjoy the fruit of labour!!
hahaa

moony,
ya, i bot from watsons 5 packs of disposable panties but its cotton material. dun like those paper material type. its $3.95 for 5 pieces in a pack.

re: maternity pads
i brot my own maternity pad to TMC too cos when they run out with the first pack that they provide, the 2nd pack they charge higher than normal. so i brot my own.

re:hospital sheet
in fact, when i check-in, one of the nurse told me if you have your own disposable hospital sheet, use it. or when the sheet is not dirty, tell them dun change. cos they will auto change
and charge you accordingly which can add to your costs.

the one i buy at kiddy palace hor... XL leh...

i onli see waist line 28-42..so buy lar...open up...its XL size.. (sob sob).... i hate the thought of wearing a XL panty... hahaaa

call me vain ba... i tink i going to get the girdle!!! haha

RE: Maternity Pads

There are 2 types of maternity pads, loop and adhesive. First few days after giving birth, we'll be given the loop type of maternity pads. This kind, u need a belt to secure it. The nurse will help you out with it.

Mummies who go for C-sect will bleed for a shorter period than mummies who give birth naturally.

The above information is provided by my colleague and my husband's cousins.

Tracy, oh so cheap ar.. think im goin to get alot.. to tink dat confinement time cannot bath den the best i can do is always change panty to keep clean.. haha..

choc, where to buy the girdle?? hw does it look like?

Winnedy,

You may wanna apply for maternity leave 14-21 days before your EDD. However, for me, I'll be working till I give birth since my job is desk bound. My husband has agreed to stay in SIN 2-3weeks before my EDD.

winnedy,

Both are natural births.

For my 1st boy (due 11th but gave birth on the 6th), I delievered on a sunday. I woke up around 5am+ and went to pee. Then when clean, saw tissue got blood. Then worried. Sat on the bed...wait for a while..go toilet and check again. Got blood again but little bit. Then start sms my frens from a mother's forum. 1 replied say it's time for me to go hospital. So I bath, wash up and went hospital.

2nd one (due on 29th, but gave birth on the 13th), I was at work (monday) already had contractions but had been having it the whole week. Got my hubby to bring me home. After dinner while resting I watch the clock and realise contractions very close. So went to hospital around 8-9pm.

It's ur own option if you wish to take early and rest. For me, this time around must see if my boss manage to hire anyone anot. If not, I try to "tong" until then. If not, might take 1 week early.
Moony,

KKH hospital will provide maternity pads but 1 packet. If they never give, thick skin go ask. Cos that time I stay in 1 bedder, never give anything until i fed up ask them for it...then they realise they forgot.

I got those panty that is suppose to throw liao. So I waiting for after give birth use. HAHAHA. But I will still use a girdle to force my tummy down. *vain lah*

Girdle...any of those shops got sell mah. It's those normal ones that you wear to look nice nice. Cheap can buy 3 for $15 (sorella brand <-- is it? I need to go home check). To me, not necessary buy good brand...but good brand only after 2-3 weeks so that even if stain (esp badly stain)on the cheaper 1, u can throw away...ur heart not so pain. So far I had always been using sorella (I think it's the brand), okay for me.

icebaby, oh okok.. i understand le.. hehe.. i will get myself 1st den if incase nt enuf den ask frm KKH..
Girdle i nv wear b4 leh.. hehe.. mm.. tink i oso go sorella look c.. i oso very vain.. will try all sorts of way juz to slim down..

piggy_mummy,
I think buying toyogo drawer not as bad as moving furniture bah. I also bot the drawer when i was preg &amp; somemore all the way go to Toa Payoh ind park to buy cos cheaper lor. haha. then after washed all the clothings, packed them in drawer by top, bottom, sock, towels etc. haha

icebaby,
wow u aldy started drinking coconut ar? i think now we are in trim3 liao we can drink liao right? U can ask hb to go hawker to buy then ask them chop for u &amp; put inside the plastic bag of cos cap back the coconut to prevent spilling &amp; dust entering lor.
we also can eat green bean soup liao.

moony,

heehee
1st trimester - week 1 to week 13 (13 weeks, 4+5+4 weeks)
2nd trimester - week 14 to week 27 (14 weeks, 5+4+5 weeks)
3rd trimester - week 28 to week 40 (13 weeks, 4+5+4 weeks)

jen,

no leh. I think shld be able to drink. I can't remember when I started. My hubby like to buy fresh one COS he like to drink also. *faint. End up...it's my in-laws and hubby drink each time we buy. Haiz.

**I saw someone selling milk bags. Dunno if shld buy anot. I think quite reasonable price but dunno the brand. hahaha 125 8 oz bag for $13.

wah! so many postings since morning! u mummies are fast le =)

hi moony, poky,

i also hope hubby will be ard when i deliver...i keep telling baby must wait for his daddy to come back to sg then pop out. hope baby will be gd and wait. hehehe. during my 1st trimester, hubby was overseas, whenever he called i sure cry when hear his voice. i think we more emotional and physically dependent on our hubbies during pregnancy coz our hormones are also changing ba.

hi gina,

ur hubby gd ah. my hubby also promised me tat he will be ard for my delivery but who knows his boss (who knows i am delivering then) nominate him for an overseas biz trip and he will be away for 2 weeks and hopefully baby dun pop out 2 weeks earlier else he will nt be able to cum back in time...given the dist between SG and States...

hi choc,

can get the guys to go n buy and carry those heavy things and ask them to pay also. then we physically and emotionally drained, they pocket-drained. hehehe.

Re: maternity pad vs dispoable pad

eeks. actually i nv thot of this coz i thot hosp will provide thro out our stay la. then just need to bring disposable one in case we not used to it. hehehe. thx u mummies for highlighting the different and pros n cons of each =) *now another item to chk and buy le*

Re: Girdle

beside the girdle think there is a waist belt that is of the same function as the girdle. my mum used to use it. its stretchable but at the same time it can tighten the waistline.

Hi icebaby,
I really dunno if I have the luxury to go on leave earlier.. I wish I can... But my boss arrange for some regional meeting end of Apr... She prob have the impression that I will only call back to say I am at hospital and not take any leave...

Can I ask what brand of milk bottles will u all be using since there is so much hoo haa abt Avent milk bottles..

Also I heard that recently there are pple who write to ST Forum abt Avent milk bottles.. But Avent has not made any comments abt the milk bottles despite many queries...

for maternity leave, like icebaby i will try to tong till last min..coz i wan to spend the entire 3mths with my baby. in fact i wanted to take extended leave (unpaid leave) so i can spend more time with baby. hehehe *this is my first* duno can tear myself away frm baby nt when returning to wk.heheh

avent bottles can only use avent parts right? abit user-unfriendly le.

also hubby was saying buy GLASS bottles -_-''' so no nd to scare watever chemials plastic bottles will caused. think i will hold the glass bottles till my hand tired and got to be extra careful with it...if nt break liao buy new one v ex le.

Did u gals buy steriliser? I would highly recommend Pigeon brand of steriliser. Cos that can put more milk btl &amp; any size &amp; brand of milk btl rather than Avent, standard 4 btls &amp; oni their brand of btl.