(2008/05) May 2008

me just back from doc... she say preggie generate alot of acid wor. So ask me take smaller meals and rest. Guess i din rest enuf. The blood when i spit is due to bursting of my blood vessels in my throat when i vomitted too hard.
But there is nothing much to worry abt that loh

morning ladies.. wah coming back to work really sianz sia. somemore my students all ma-jiam still CNY mood, got to scold until dunno like what.. received lots of emails on work matters over CNY, damn depressing, so many things to do! why these people like no need to celebrate CNY one meh? i go visiting until so tired leh, sit also backache, walk also backache

nme these few days experienced quite frequent uterus tightening, wonder if it's cos i did too much housework or anything. sometimes so tight can't stand up straight leh..

hi jaspire,

oh.okok. at least u know the cause le. then u still at wk now or on mc? rest well ok?

hi lynn,

dun worry ah. i have the same exp then when i asked my gynae he says its normal. u dun be so fedup over ur students le, nt gd for u and baby, relax abit ah.

having serious monday blues today... like dragging myself to work. I think this month going to put on a lot of weight.. haha.. cos i have been eating non-stop when go visiting... So fast a few of you started packing your bag, seems like the time to see our babies are getting nearer.

hahaha, jer, nt so far away le. for me left 13 weeks. excited to see my baby =) that day i even dreamt hw my baby will look like.

anyway, its gd to pack early also. in case early delivery (touch wood!) or later stage too tired to go buy things and pack or etc.

me nw so so tired... wonder if i will get even more tired in the 3rd trimester....envy those mummies who havent "kai gong"...its so shiok to stay at hm! =P hehhee

Bloom maternity photography

Hi, I am from the Apr 08 MTBs thread. Anyone interested in the above? I called up Studio Loft photography earlier to enquire about their pricing for the above. Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For mummies that are interested, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy
2. Yo

yalor!! so envy... hai...

but this CNY so hectic..4 consecutive days of pai nian...

i wld rather shorten this CNY than have 4.. (for my case lar)...

think its good to start to pack early ba.. no harm

kelcqi,
If u have backache maybe u can try drinking BU YAO JING.. can be the HUI JI BU YAO JING or DU ZHONG CONG CONG BA JI BU YAO JING lor. i drink that the nite be4 oni nxt morning wakeup can run & hop liao.

muzicgal.piggymommy,
Aiyooo i did hear that pregnant woman cant spread bedsheet lar. but then my hb is an idiot. he dun help me on hsework. So i changed all the while. nw with my no1 gal sleeping with us, i changed every 2wks also. At first when i hv no1 i also scared. cos i hv a cousin who changed bedsheet then bb also "dropped". I wonder why ? sooooooo giam meh? change bedsheet then bb gone meh? I thot must be scientific / doc proven or what mah. saying one womb is weak or what lar. But the sewing thing i believe for the sake of it. cos ever heard pple bb come out got "pblm" due to the mother sewing thing on bed. Preg also cant hang things or paste poster on wall.

icebaby,
I think pregnant now cannot use salon pas leh. Please check with the vendor leh.

choc,
its best to use heavy flow pad during 1st week after delivery. the lochia can be alot. But it depends on individual also lar.

Gina,
I did not go cord blood banking.. Mainly is very expensive altho i knw this type of money cant be saved lar. but then i use the money to buy insurance instead lor.

Pooh,
U gg to deliver in NUH ar? wow NUH got so good benefits ar. got pump & steriliser leh. i stayed in KKH also dun hv all this leh. maybe last round i stayed in subsidised patient ward, now i gg to book gynae & stay in higher class ward liao.

To those delivering in KKH
Any one of you see ur gynae in TPS? Have u all book ur ward/bed liao? I rem last time in my wk 30 lidat they aldy ask payment from me liao. hv to pay $1180 & i almost fainted.. sooooo exp leh. thats why i downgrade lor. haiz.. all becos of hb meow lor.

felval,

for me think i will pack when i reach week 32 ba cos previously also pack my stuffs during that time. haha... maybe i am one of those bo chup mummy.

WCT,

I left less than 12 weeks, I still haven't pack. =P

Jen,

I dun stick it everyday. My belief is simple, as long use moderately, it's fine. =) E.g. alot of medication also same mah...like anti-botics, cough medication, blah blah. =)

I delivered in KKH. My experience, better to register early, if not they take forever in registration. Dun end up like me...go hospital in labour ward alone while hubby was away for more than 1 hr to do registration!

Jer,

Not bo chap in packing lah. For me, I waiting for baby items to come to my home, clean and then pack. Probably by late march should pack.=)

hi jen,

i am currently seeing gynae at TPS le. i havent booked mine la but will ask gynae this cuming thurs. i thot only need to pay when admitted? or when sign up must pay deposit le? also ho, wat will KKH provides ah?

hi icebaby,

better start soon. hehehe. hubby says start early then slowly slowly add in things...if nt will nt get started. hehehe. anyway for me slight diff coz hubby will be away in mar n apr so for me got to pack earlier.

then ho, ask u ah, u took the single bed room or 4 bedded one? is there a diff in the things tt KKH provides?

icebaby,

ya.. need to take my #1 baby stuffs for cleaning too, most probably will do that next week. Since i will be free from next week.

jen,
i dunno abt kkh cos never deliver there b4 but to pay $1180 before you even admit, that is a lot.

Oh yesterday i got a very bad dream. I actually dreamt that I got a miscarriage and tummy was flat. Really freak me out.

WCT,

This is my no. 3. So dun worry, when I pack, I can arga pack very fast. The most get hubby to go home get the things then come back lor. =P

My tummy now very hard. I think cos eat too full. =( Then the little one moving and moving and moving. Sigh...

hehehe, icebaby, gdgd u exp le can do it fast fast chop chop. =)

for me, i think i need to gather all the things first then pack...nt forgetting must ask my mummy to wash those old and new baby stuffs.

ur 1st 2 u choose to stay in KKH 4 bedded or single bed room ah?

jus went to the gynae's for an urgent CTG scan cos was having mild contractions every 5mins, lasting 2-3seconds since 6am. I tot it would go away but when it didn't by 11am, called clinic and was told to go scan.

Gynae said too early to have such regular contractions too, so put me on ventolin tablets. But side effect...hand shivering. :S But at least the contractions stop liao.

i was telling gynae this baby doesn't like to come to work! Always wan me to take MC.

jen
i'm delivering in NUH. actually i dun noe they got provide pump and sterilizer.. they came and ask me abt it.. heh

icebaby
this one also my no3.. just reuse my no2's clothes can liao.. but i haben buy receiving blanket for no3.. both my 1st 2 are baby pink stuff.. now it's baby blue stuff.. heh

hi tracy,

then did the gynae explain wat causes it?

wats ventolin pills for? to stop the contraction or its some kind of hormones pills?

hehehe. nvm la, we given 14days mc per yr so if there is a need just take and rest la =)

mayb ur baby thinks u deserve a gd rest for being a gd mummy le. hehehe

tracy
i was given adalat to stop contractions also but notti me din take.. my 2nd pregnancy i took, and i couldn't get up from bed.. the med make me feel very dizzy..
this time round, my doc say i must be over-strained from CNY visiting liao.. coz i still carry my 8mth old girl and wear wedges walking around.. haha.. so much for trying to be "hiao" during CNY.. keke

hi pooh,

oh. okok. paisay for being a mountain tortoise. hehehe

u still wear wedges ah? me cant le. abit of heels only my backache le. b4 pregnancy i already have back prob so aft preg it bcum worst during the 2nd trimester, stand for 10mins only i backache liao. anyway, my hubby and parents dun allow me to wear even with abit of heels so i bid heels gdbye le.heheh

tracy,
maybe you baby want you to have plenty of rest before he arrive.

Pooh,
wah.. peifu you still can wear wedges. Wanted to buy and wear wedges for cny too then while trying, hubby was like "you said this is not high? you call this not high?"

icebaby,
ya hor not everyday use is okay lar.
I think all patients who see their gynae in KKH will be asked to registerred leh i think so lar. cos previously i was in TPS they ask me book & make deposit i no money got a shock then i downgrade lor. haha. But those seeing gynae in AMK or SK clinic oni register when wife is gg for labour wor. hehe. I think i registered earlier for B2+ but then hb was also asked to go registration for abt 10-20mins lidat also lor.

felval,
I think the doc also will refer you to the nurse at the counter lor. I am quite sure hv to pay deposit when booking of room leh. I din pay 1st time when they told me, follow up visit they want to get from me leh. haha.

KKH provides what ar? i oni rem maternity pads 2 pkts ar. then 1 pkt of disposable panties lor. nothing else. haha. maybe i stay in subsidised ward lar. else i heard B1 patient can get those necessity things lor from the ward lor. then the goodie bag to collect also very good leh. my frd in TMC dun hv my goodie bag deal leh. hehe.

Jer,
Thats alot lor. that price $1180 includes oni gynae fees & use of labour ward for 4hrs hor. additional hours hv to add on hor. then the price EXCLUDES EPIDURAL leh.

hi jen,

oh. okok. thx. i am v sure i will go for the single bed room la...hehehe. unless really too too ex. thurs i gg for gynae apptment i go asked. then decide and see how...if they wan me to buy the deposit see if hubby wanna use credit card to pay first or ask them if can pay in apr when he gets his bonus.

i must rem to ask them wat they provide then at least i can prep the things that will be lacking =)

ur necessity things mean toothpaste all these or other things?

felval, choc,
ventolin is to relax the uterus. when nearer to the due date have to stop liao, otherwise baby will be overdue. *grinz*

the contractions is like hardening of the tummy. for me is very very low, way below belly button. like the tummy being squeezed tight.

Pooh,
ya, the side effects of ventolin also include dizziness and headache.

felval,
who is ur gynae ar? can swipe card then make pymt 2mths later one meh? if can i also want to try leh.

ya i think they will have a checklist bah.

I think the necessity stuffs are shampoo, bath gel, toothbrush & tooth paste. better be safe bring yours lar. haha.

hi jen,

my gynae is A/Prof John Tee.

hehehe. wat i meant was see if hubby wans to pay nw not. if he wans to pay nw ask him to use credit card (coz use credit card can earn points) if he dun wan to use hard cash yet or he too heart pain to part with the $$. hehehe

if he dun wan then ask can book nw then use hard cash to pay in apr when he rec bonus la.

if nw swipe card can pay 2 mths later (w.o interest being charge) i think everyone will opt for that le. hehehe.

yaya, i will bring my own ah, coz i v fussy one. even go hotels stay all these, i dun use their shampoo unless mine run out...do u think they will give receiving blanket for the baby? i have already buy my own la but just wan to kpo see what they give. heheh

felval/jen
dun noe why leh.. i can wear wedges but not heels.. heels give me backache

tracy
that's why i stopped my adalat.. i feel more worse when took these meds.. i just tahan the contractions

felval,
urs is Dr John Tee ar. very long Q one hor sometimes. but i knw he see patient chop chop one isit?

i dun rem they give receiving blanket lor. even i fetch my bb home i also let my baby wear the clothing that i bring there.

hi jen,

ok la. so far the longest i have waited was 1hr++ coz he was called away to deliver a baby urgently then all the patients he was suppose to see just pile up lo. if nt sometimes i arrive 10mins b4 my appointment time and he is ready to see me =)

ya! he see patients super fast lo! sometimes less than 10mins done =( i wish he can say more things or explain more things la but i think tt is his pattern. =) u also seeing him?

felval,
no i am not seeing him. I am seeing Dr Benjamin Tham. Also very fast one. No nid wait too long one. that day i was like late for appt for 30mins. then nurse cant get my records in their system. ding dong here & there until 45mins. then after doing routine test, i sit outside awhile oni the nurse called me liao. Same lar. abt 10mins or so lor. sometimes i vain lar. Makes me pay more right? then i ask this & that. ask rubbish qn lar. haha

jen,

use heavy flow pad enough bo? i hear pple say till not enough... hai...so many hearsay

LOL...how ah...any pointers other "experienced" mums can give?

Jer,
I also had a bad dream last night. Dreamt i was playing in the swimming pool, and toss myself too hard in the water, and bled ... was so scared ! so today when i was on the move, I was very careful, and I dun think i want to swim while pregnant.

choc
better use maternity pads than heavy flow ones.. coz maternity pads are thick enuf.. they served as a cushion for ur stitches.. so not much friction...

wah u gals very active leh..
so sianz.. gt to wk liao.. dun really haf the mood to wk anymore.. i feel tired easily already.. last nite i experience menes liked cramp @ my lower tummy.. haiz.. but morning wake up no more le.. dunno ok anot.. dis sat im goin to c my gynae will tel her den.. oso gt to show her my culture test result.. ;( my GP sux.. i tink he is a relief doc n when i ask him hws the result at 1st he sounded very serious.. den he still can ask mi m i having my menes when im doin the urine test i told him i was preg!! -_-" i tot my big tummy is super obvious enuf for him to noticed dat.. anyway i still feel unsafe.. in the end i took the result back n decided to gave my gynae c n let my gynae explain to mi better..

hmmm...true hor... i tink must go get a packet of maternity pads.... hai... cannot imagine losing blood for a month!! omgg!!

counting down... my guest room now in a mess...alot of baby stuffs...but i cant buy a cupboard yet (my mum forbid me to do so..no nailing no shifting till baby is born)...

tink i will be going to IKEA to get cupboard in late March... then deliver to house and collect dust... hahah

WCT,

For my 1st it was 1 bedder, 2nd was 4 bedder.
First, I stayed 2D1N, paid about $2k+ cash (sponsored by my in-laws, cos 1st grandchild...and cos my hubby was jobless). 2nd was 4 bedder cos SARS period and alot of restrictions and didn't want to feel lonely. Plus financial was that "rich" (as govt subsidy ONLY increased in AUG that yr..after I gave birth!) , paid around $800+ cash.

I just realise you using Dr John Tee. I had him for my 1st 2 boys. His stitching is good, he considered very experienced. He does his appointments very chop chop. But considering him and Dr Woody, I think both about same...chop chop. You can go ahead ask him whatever questions...everything is OKAY one. Hahaha. And his baby weight and size estimation...quite accurate leh!

POOH,

urs also no. 3. Like mine. But mine this time around girl...so might end up alot of pinky stuff. I can't reuse alot of things as most of my stuff was already old. So wait for my niece to pass me her set of stuff. If not enough then I go buy more.

choco,

Buy maternity pads (kotex is cheaper) for the first few days. After that then switch to heavy flow pads. That's what I do. Cos maternity pads are thicker and can absorb more. After birth, there is "alot" coming out.

morning gals!!

wah many of u started to look at wat to pack liao ar.. i haven plan leh.. i dunno wat to bring to hospital.. ;( mine is kkh.. so i dunno wat they will provide..

morning all =)

hi jen,

yaya! to make my $$ more worth, sometimes i ask stupid questions or even ask hubby to thik of wat to ask so that we can see him longer. hahaha

hi icebaby,

2D1N u paid $2000+ CASH!? so ex ah? did u claim medisave? thot can claim quite a bit wo, die liao l, if hubby knows so ex dun think he wans to let me stay at 1 bedded liao -_-'''

and u are correct! every qn i asked he sure says "okay", "dun worry".."so i see u another xxx weeks". ..tt time went detailed scan, he looked at hubby and my head and says our heads nt v big le but my baby head abit too big compared to normal babies then i scare liao lo, asked him if there cld be any prob? he says "nvm, its okay" -_-'''...scare me sia..

then u mention his baby weight estimation quite accurate? he told u the weight himself or u asked? me see him so many times liao nv once he told me my baby weight, thurs i must rem to ask him liao. =)

Good morning ladies...

Jen,
Wah $1180 and only for 4 hours of usage in the labour ward?! Your labour have to be fast in order not to pay any additional. haha..

peace,
scary right to have all the weird dreams especially at the current stage.

Yesterday, mil asked me where i want to do my confinement, told her most probs her place then she said since i got a new house not long ago better to do confinement at own home. She said she will sent her maid to my place to help out for one month while she and fil will drop by everyday to help. At least confinement now is off my mind liao.

WCT,

I gave birth to my 1st kid in 2002. That time, the claim from medisave was very little compared to now. Govt only made the change from Aug 2004 onwards. So for both my kids, I missed out on claiming more from medisave, so end up pay cash.

You can ask Dr John Tee about baby's size and weight. He feel ur tummy...he can arga size. Very interesting. He okay one and I do find him friendly. Just dun talk much.

Girls,

I very sleepy and tireed TODAY. Drove to work today somemore cos got a meeting at 5pm and scare it will end late...then no co. bus home. Must tear that stupid $20 coupon. I think I have been spending alot of $20 coupons...but then again, it's cheaper than taking a cab. Although my dad told me to take a cab. *faint.

Re:Maternity pads
Dunno if its becos mine was c-section, i used maternity pads only for 1st 3 days. Then subsequently I use normal pads for overnight heavyflow. My flow also stopped after 2wks only. Then came back after one month or so.

One thing i dun like abt maternity pads is no wings. so tend to stain the sides. I heard that the brand 'madame' is quite good, can buy from kiddy palace. but i've not tried and it sells in quite a huge pack.

Icebaby,
wow, that's quite ex. thankfully they made the change to allow more medisave claim. mine i stayed about 4D3N, used labour ward for 10hrs and then operating theatre, total bill was 6k but medisave covered 3k. So the balance 3k paid by instalment using credit card.

i hope this time round will be straightforward either natural or c-sect then will be cheaper...

Jer,
Good leh, your MIL allow you to do confinement at your own place and 'loan' you the maid. Its definitely more comfy to be at your own home.

Choc,
Eh...cannot buy cupboard ah? I planning to buy a set of those plastic toyogo drawer end of this month leh. Can buy then jus put at home dun open it up?

Already my MIL was making noise that my baby is giving me so much problems cos I bot a toddler bed for my #1 earlier.

hi icebaby,

oh. no wonder la. if not i feel 2+ cash for 2D1N v ex.

Dr John Tee altho a man of few words and he ans wat u wan to know only but like u say he is friendly la and have a kind look and ho, hubby and i think he is already quite handsome. wahhahaha =P

choc,
i alrdy bought n packed stuffs inside the big plastic container boxes to store the stuffs liao le... plannin to start shiftin the bb rm tis wkend liao... cos hubby often oversea.. so only when he ard, can shift the heavy stuffs... but when shiftin the furniture ard in the room, i will stay out lor. =(

moony, ya lor.. maternity pads no wings. i got two brand. one got a loop at both ends.. still thinkin how to use siah.... think normal pads wont b able to absorb all the flow ba.... the maternity pad seems to b quite bulky leh... or it is to "cushion" also???

poky.. den hw to use huh.. no wings one i dunno hw to use leh.. i oso dunno can stick on the disposable panty anot.. haiz.. so troublesome..
recently my mood very temperamental.. i always tell my hubby i dun wanna gif birth.. so xin ku..

hi moony,

if my hubby nt ard i tend to cry...mood swing aside, slpping also bcums a prob ya?

for me, i have prob slpping well at nite....slp on my side, feel xin ku...slp flat also xin ku...

then when i slp on my side, i duno if will press on the baby nt...haiz...