(2008/05) May 2008

birdy
ur diet sounds ok. u could get a dietician to guide u along so u know what to eat etc..
my dietician told me i could have fried bee hoon for breakfast. porridge for lunch. apple or guava for tea. dinner would be half portion rice with plenty of vegs and meat. she also told me to drink 3 glasses of low fat milk daily.

kelcqi
think ur uterus is preparing u for labour. these are called braxton hicks

dun worry, i've got these quite often also.. unless it's regular and painful then u need to consult ur gynae.. wat u doing at 3am?? cannot sleep ar?

haiz.. today sunday, but i'm back at work liao.. CNY day 1, i took a slice of bak kwa and i ended up with a sore throat.. haben even start on my pineapple tarts and spicy shrimp rolls....

Hi all mummies to be,

First of all, happy lunar new year to all. I am from the Jan 08 thread and I have just delivered my baby boy on 30 Jan 08. Doing confinement now. My confinement lady is good and she has everything under control which is so important to me as a first time mummy, everything also blur.

Anyone interested in looking for a confinement aunty? I can recommend you mine. Just wish to share this with you all coz I understand the concerns and anxiety we face during pregnancy and still gotta think about confinement.

Hi kelcqi,

the last few nights when i wake up to pee pee... my both sides tummy oso very pain leh... and always in the middle of the night...

last night lower back pain also... then morning wake up that time the whole right side very pain...

sob sob.... y so xin ku...

dearies,

For me, I haven't really felt much pain or backache except if I sit on my butt too long (esp in office) or walk too much. Other than that, I am fine.

If I suffer neck aches or back aches I will use the salone (can't spell) plaster. It relieves the aches...or more like it warms the area. So it feels good. =)

I haven't been eating much goodies cos scare of sore throat. But I think my legs are getting more and more bulky...i.e. water retention. =( Also scare heaty. But have been sleeping late so now look abit like PANDA bear.

It's back to work today.

hello!!

Happy new year!

For my case is more of the leg cramps at late nite and it really hurts..

Water retention wise – I cut down a lot on salty food and if I do eat, I will drink a lot of water to try to reduce the water retention…and I also take on advise not to drink so much water 1-2 hours before I sleep…so far so good…

gd morning mummies!

I already dun hv leg cramps liao... touch wood!

Water retention seems unavoidable as my MIL's food is mostly salty. So just eat and drink more water. My gynae say i got mild water retention. So just monitor loh.

Morning and Happy CNY to all mummies! hehehe. hows the long long weekend? me so unwilling to come back to work together =P

I have water retention on my legs and my hands start to swell a bit. My watch and ring feel tight on me now. My legs are aching from walking too much on CNY day 1 & 2.

I have been treating myself to CNY goodies and now, my weight hit 71kg le. Bet my gynae'll tell me to watch my diet on 16th Feb.

Last night, I told my husband that my baby can hear his voice. He put his hand on tummy and call my girl by her name. She kicked twice, each time responding to his call and then she stopped.

Wonder if it's coincidence. So amazing.

hi gina,

hehhee. i think mayb ur baby can recognise ur hubby voice so she respond ba. its so heartwarming ya? hehehe

that day we were watching tv program and it was playing "country road" then my baby kicks me also, then i asked baby if he likes the song, then he also cont to kick. from then on, hubby will always sing this song to baby. hehehhe. feel so happy. cant wait for thurs gynae apptment to arrive. =P

btw, do ur baby tighten himself/herself at times? mine do le. then at different places so sometimes my tummy is lopsided...i wonder if its normal....

WCT,

yes! sometimes i feel the tummy tighten itself..then i cant stand up straight...

ehhee...now i realli look forward to seeing the baby leh.... when i see others mother carrying their new born...

12 wks to go!

felval, my baby will tighten herself wor... or i feel my tummy tightened... i can see her movement very clearly on my tummy. Even the person sitting next to me could wor... and she moves alot. Stopping oni for a while before starting again. Hyperactive leh... *worried... dunno can manage her when she is born anot*

Ah yah...now I cannot go long lunch, just got a call that I have a last minute meeting at 10.30am....dunno what time will end. Thot can "nuah" here.

hi choc and jaspire,

hehhehe. okok. glad to know this is normal. mine nt so hyperactive le (sad). but 1st 2 days of CNY, baby was so active, kick and tighten so many times then weekend bcame v lazy (like me, slack whole day). tt day i dreamt of hw my baby looked like..hahaha, think i think too much =p

hi jaspire,

dun worry la, u now 3rd trimester liao rite? mayb as the space gets smaller and ur baby is active tts why she moves alot. hehehe.

felval, ya... me now 3rd tri liao. But my baby has been very active since 2nd tri wor... just dat now she seems to get even worse. LOL! All my frens, family have felt her move or can see her move. *faint*... she is now moving while I am typing oso. And at times it felt uncomfortable to the extend like my tummy got lots of wind lidat, but its just her moving in my tummy.

My galfren's sis oso preggie 2 wks later than me, her gal not so active wor... so different. Dunno wats wrong wif mine. My heartburn oso seem to get worse liao... do you gals have heartburn?

hi jaspire, me currently at 27th week and my baby also nt so active le. as in i dun feel his kicks and movements as much as urs. sometimes scare me sia coz he can dun move the whole morning or aftnn....=(

heartburn i exp quite a few weeks back but nw ok le. no more heartburn. do u have heavy meals? try to have small meals and see if it helps?

eeeiii!! then i also 3rd trimester lor! hahaaaaa

oh ya, i buy those disposable panties from kiddy palace...so that after give birth, can use..no need to wash the panties...

also pack some sanitary pads... those for heavy flow one.. but my SIL told me must get ready a few maternity pads...coz the first few days..sure kana stained if i use normal one.. hmmmm..

how about u gals?

jaspire, actually i think bb move alot is better. at least better to notice n count movement. =) now i often get worried when my bb dont move alot. =( hv u started the naseau? in my 1st tri, get heartburn alot which was caused by the naseau. heard from hubby colleague wife that during last tri, may get naseau easily also. cos bb too high. =)

felval, i also get worried when dun feel bb move alot. cos the couple previous wks, was movin quite active. then one wk not active at all.. very slight movement... so scare, then went for gynea apt. she says as long can feel at least once a day, big or small movement r ok. then she show me when bb is movin, ask me if can feel, but i cant feel the bb movin her legs. think these r the slight movement that we cant feel that obviously ba. =)

choc,
wah! you started packing liao. So early ah...

I'm longing to see my girl soon. Wonder if she look more like me or my husband. I have been telling my girl to come out earlier but have to be healthy. Keke... I'll always feel my baby's movement whenever I visit the ladies.

Will you MTBs go for cord blood banking?

felval, me started packing my bag liao loh. Hee... put some pyjamas in, maternity sanitary pads, a pair of bedroom slippers, disposable panties, shower kit... things i haven put in is nursing bra (cos i haven buy), socks, hp charger, camera, baby's clothings & receiving blanket (cos need to wash first).

hi poky,

oh. last trimester will also feel nausea ah? since cny day 2 i have been feeling nausea, not much appetite and i thot coz i was dwn with the flu.

yaya, baby dun move alot i also worry. tts why i started to count hw many times baby kick me per day. sometimes i even try to simulate him to kick me lo.

lately i have been slpping on my side la but duno if i have slpt / pressed on my tummy unknowningly when i slp, i feel so sore or aches on my left side of the tummy, next to the belly button, hope the sore go away soon if nt thurs see gynae must rem to ask him le...

hehee...i havent pack all stuff lar...coz i only buy the disposable panties nia...

so i onli pack in the pyjamas, pads, panties nia....

jaspire faster leh!

i pack all these becos my cousins lar... say its possible to give birth prematurely... as early as 30wks...but will be costly as baby will be in ICU..

so make me worried and start to plan what to pakc lor... heheheeee

wah jaspire, u very fast le~

i bought the bag le but the rest havent buy lo. hubby was asking me yest when 3rd timester, need to buy things n pack the bag le.

also havent start to wash the baby stuffs, must start to prep soon le.

u all book the hosp le mah? i havent le. i wonder will the gynae ask me or i need to tel him i wanna book myself.

Felval,according to hubby colleague wife lor. she says her 1st tri also naseau. better in 2nd. then come back again in last tri. i juz hope that not all will be affected lor. even if affected. not to be as serious as 1st tri. =p

hai..i rather throw up then feel naseau...

coz not here or there...throw up at least feel better after tt...

hope wun be so jialat ba

choc, ur cousins how come says premature? is there alot of cases in the family? else, y worry so early???? thought more often only ard a mth in advance???

but better to start packing early lor.. can take own sweet time. =)

felval, jialat wor... i oso start to feel nauseous again... and I just went toilet to puke. Alot of gases and gastric juices came out. And like got phelgm and when i spit out, its blood.

I booked hospital room liao. Do early better wor... so lesser things to remember.

choc, to me, throw up is equal to nasuea. =) but now another concern is urine leakin when vomittin.. also cant use panty liner cos always kana the infection after usage. =( 1st tri no such leakin issue. now so ma fan. =/

my 1st trimester no morning sickness at all. hehehe, lucky me rite? hehehe. so i hope 3rd trimester wldnt be so bad too...but i heard its better to feel nausea and have morning sickness so it means ur pregnancy hormones is stronger.

hi jaspire,

u notice blood in ur phelgm or u spit blood!? u been coughing alot ah?

oh okok. think i will ask the gynae to let me book this thurs. like u say, booked earlier lesser things to rem and do.

jaspire, is it that u vomit too often? the gastric is burning ur "throat pipe"?? that y got blood?? that time, mine become maroon color. But if ur too much red,,, better c doc to curb the vomit... else also harmful to ur throat neh...

jaspire
u booked with which hospital??
mine provided me with maternity pads, bedroom slippers and even hair dryer.. they also provide me with the medela breast pump and pigeon sterlizer when i asked for it.. u want to check with ur hospital 1st?
abt heartburn, u wan try drinkin milk?? or maybe u can ask GP to give u some antacids

i also start to kan-cheong liao.. haben pack my things.. yday at work, suddenly got brownish discharge.. my boss send me up to labour ward.. my cervix is still closed but dun noe where the bleeding come from.. my gynae say to admit but i refused.. prefers to bedrest at home.. i feel so "sian" lying there.. doing nth... prefers to be at home.. so i still can see my 2 kids and enjoy their company

poky
i leak urine whenever i sneeze... very ma fan hor.. now i find a way.. if got a sneeze coming my way, i'll quickly sit down 1st then i wont leak liao.. haha

poky.... my cousin 2 babies also delivered ard wk 30 to 32... but her sisters all ok..i tink is because she got those problem with her placenta or wat.... tts why...i just being KS to pack first lar... in case mah..i never know...

jaspire..u also got vomit out some blood ah.. i noticed if i vomit out violently...will have blood traces..then i so scared...

urine leak..maybe u can try to hold ur urine when u urinate...then try a few time..to train the duno wat muscle

i tink it help leh..or do some pelvic exercise ah..read from books..dunno if it help anot

Felval, juz one night of use, nxt mornin wake up, alrdy start itchy liao. =( but in the middle of nite when go toilet, i very lazy to change each time. =/ or mayb i shld try to use only in daytime, night time continue not to use?? hmmm... can try try.. hahha

pooh, which wk r u in liao?? ur doc wants to admit u in liao??
now, when possible, without many ppl or noticin.. will always cross legs to cough/sneeze/vomit when standin.... ya lor... so ma fan... juz went toilet only, then cough,, still can trickle... OMG.. duno the bladder can build up water so fast siah!!!

hi poky,

oh. okok. mayb u try to wear in the day only? i wear in the day only. at nite dun like to wear panty to slp so dun wear panty liner.hehehe. but con is when sneeze must hold the urine so no urine leak. =P

choc, huh... got examples.. then better take her advice.... better to b KS than later forgot this n that.... =p

Pelvic muscle i also got do.. but dosent help leh... =(

hi poky,

i think is coz as baby grows and presses on our bladder it bcums smaller and hence we feel it can build up water fast but in reality is coz the storage bcum smaller. coz when u feel the urge to pee, its actually v little lo.

Pooh, oic... agree that it more comfy to bedrest at home than to stay at hospital. =p
stil can cross la, i only in 25wk. sometimes still cross leg when sittin. cos too used to it le.. natural habit.... alot of ppl also comment that my tummy also smaller... but then i stil can add xtra weight that my gynea advise to b careful... bb tummy also a bit over rounded... heee..

jaspire,

Different people experience pregnancy differently. I also have heart burn for this round compared to my 1st two.

Wah, you all very good hor. Start packing. I still waiting for my niece to pass me the baby clothes, probably end of the month or early Mar then take from her. Then sort and pack the bag. =P

Girls,
I normally dun wear disposable underwear. I try to wear lose girdle then tight girdle after giving birth. So that it will flatten my tummy. This one is someone else tell me to do. It's tough, but u can buy a bigger pair first (e.g. L size)...then later upgrade to M size or something. Although it can be abit messy in washing but being vain...I wear!

You reminded me. Must set alarm to remind me to book bed next week cos going gynae next week.