(2008/05) May 2008

Hi Felval,

We have the same gynae too, i just saw him yesterday.

Golden Kiwi can help with pimples, i will try that cos till now 23 weeks, still some breakout...sigh...when pregnant with my daughter i don't have but now with son, quite bad. My son very active, always kick me. Sometimes he move his hands near my gastric and the pain is very bad!

BTW, i have very bad rashes, any cream safe for pregnant women to use?

Good Day Ladies,

Me also taking Golden Kiwis leh. Cos sweeter. But still have outbreaks.
Mainly on the face, chest and back. Sob sob...

Talking about kicks, I just feel so weird that there's something moving inside tummy. Esp at nite time, I told hubby baby move so much how to sleep? My hubby also tried to feel baby but like cannot feel leh. Haha...

Talking about MILs, Anyone's MIL can fight with mine? U know I told her my colleagues said my tummy seems big for 19 weeks, she straight away told me off say why I allow my colleagues to say that? Wah Piang, I cannot control my colleague's mouth rite?

She said I am not even supposed to say anything about baby now that I'm pregnant. Others wedding, full mth, wake all cannot attend. I hack care, I still go for my friend's baby full mth last Sat.

smurferoos, me also have bad rashes, like mini pimples kind, damn itchy!

GP or gynae can prescribe creams for rashes, but very mild ones lah, so not much help. also can take tablets, but drowsy and also not much use

my GP advised not to use tiger balm, i asked cos it did help to relieve the itch, but it contains camphor, which we should avoid during pregnancy..

Tracy, I can understand that. When I used to co-habit with my ex, his mother is very much the same as your MIL. Women in his family seems to live just for the guys in that house.

Kelcqi, my girl oso move a lot in the night when I'm lying down. My husband sometimes cannot feel the movements of my girl. He loves to listen for her heartbeat. However, not everytime he's able to hear the heartbeat.

Moony, some MIL take daughter-in-law as their maids, do this & that and must obey this & that. They expect their daughter-in-laws to be like Japan's 阿信 in these modern days.

Lynn, I'm using this cream which is manufactured in Japan. It's very effective for stopping the itch. My husband bought it from the Chinese medical hall for me. But I didn't check its contents.

hi smurferoos,

rashes due to the stretching of the skin? or due to other causes? did u ask the gynae abt it yest?

mine is due to skin stretching and it bcame really bad coz i didnt apply anything coz i wanted to wait for the gynae to advise which cream is safe too.

Dr John Tee told me any moisturer will do. so i am using watson's baby moisturer and it really helps! hehehe.

i have general itchness on tummy due to stretching of the skin, now need to apply the stretchmark cream/oil twice a day to relieve the itch..

but my rashes on other parts of the body are different, they're small pimple-like bumps. appears on my palms, fingers, toes, arms, pits and inner thighs. and they itch like mad, gynae and GP say until so easy "try not to scratch".. alamak, sometimes i'll wake up in the middle of the night to find myself scratching leh. and sometimes wills cratch until the skin is raw, very painful when bathing etc. and the creams and medication dun help at all leh, but gynae and GP say pregnant cannot give me strong creams, until maybe very late in pregnancy..

just found out one of the teachers in my school was hospitalised and ordered to be on full bed-rest. she's due in march and was very well, but all of a sudden had bleeding, suspected due to over-exertion.now a lot of people tell me to try to sit down if possible, and not to get agitated with students. but my sec sch kids i cannot sit and talk, definitely must stand..

later going to get 'granny shoes' like scholl etc for better support for my poor feet. only a few days into the school year and my soles hurt very badly. even after putting up my feet at night the next morning it's very painful to walk!

gina.. its like dat de lah.. bo bian.. who ask we haf to marry their son.. haha.. dunno if next time we bcos MIL, i tink our DILs will b tokin abt us in here oso.. haha..
sometimes, when my MIL says something i dun like i will juz walk away or go to the room.. to prevent world war 3.. cos my temper very bad.. only my own family n my hubby can tolerate me.. but i still need to respect my PILs as my elderly.. so bo bian.. i tolerate.. only way out is i ignore wat they say lor..

Gina, can listen to the heartbeat meh? You guys bot the machine use for listening to heartbeats?

Lynn, sometimes I also have small pimple-like bumps but they appear at the inner thighs. At first I thought is I never clean myself properly after I pee, but later when wash liao still the same. I'm using those cream for rashes prescribe by GP.

Sorry ladies, I got one very private question to ask here. Anyone of you experience itchiness near your viginal area?

Hi Kelcqi,
I used to have but now gone. B'cos I've yellowish discharge when I was on 14th week. Therefore, i put panty liner everyday till now... soon thereaft, I kena infection and got itchy.. but i use viginal wash (can b bought from pharmacy) and wash frequently and change panty linear more frequently abt 3 x per day and the itch was gone a week aft. Don't know if my experience will help...

Kelcqi, I oso have those once in a while, even after washing with the feminine wash.

For the heartbeat, I sometimes can feel my girl heartbeat. I guess that's when she's very near to the "wall". My husband said he can hear it but quite faint. I think shd be able to bah, only not clear.

Kelcqi,
I tink if vagina area itchy and heavy discharge could be infection. Should ask your gynae during your next visit.

Lynn,
oh dear, ya, you better try not to stand too long. my colic's fren during 3rd trimester had to wear track shoes to work cos her tummy was soo big and tiring for her. rather funny looking lah, working clothes with track shoes. but no choice. i read from a book say not good to have entirely flat shoes too for preggy, they recommend the most 2inch high but thick chunky heels type. I guess also have to depend on individuals, our posture, how big our tummy etc. Do take care!

Girls,

When I first had my 1st boy, I had outbreak on my back. ONLY on my back but the WHOLE back. It wasn't itchy though. But what happened after I gave birth was scary...my whole back the spots turned black. But after awhile (can't remember how long), all the spots disappear.

For my 2nd, it was my whole body EXCEPT face. The cream doc provide me also useless. It was itchy and bad. Got pus somemore (like those pimples). Had to wear long pants and sleeves everyday. After giving birth, it stop appearing but there were scars...took me 1.5yrs+ to clear 90% the scars. Still got some scars.

For my 3rd currently, so far the outbreak isn't that extreme. Neither similar to 1st one.

Maybe due to hormones. My 1st 2 kids were boys. My 3rd is a girl. Only 1 advise, try not to scratch. If scratch liao, remember to wash ur finger nails. If not, might transfer to other places. =(

Icebaby, thanks for that. I din know it will become so bad after giving birth. Oh my... I'll try my very best not to scratch anymore.

Kelcqi, i bought feminine wipes (Lactacyd) from Hong Kong to clean and so far so gd wor... it is very clean and gd.

jaspire, can update mine to bb girl. =) juz had my detail scan today. bb was stretchin arms above head. so animated. hahha
Thx!

Poky, your bb so cute. Makes me so excited for my detail scan next week. Hehe...

Gina, I sometimes put my hands on my tummy. I feel the heartbeat, but my hubby said I think too much liao, he said that one is my own heartbeat. *Pengz* Hahaha...

Thanks ladies for your advice. I try to put panty liner and change more often. Actually awhile ago I used panty liner, but I find it cause alot of itchiness, so I stopped using it.

Those Lactacyd rite, how we use huh? I know now we pregnant cannot do drouching rite?

I still have alot of outbreaks leh. My boss said not alot but I never have pimples in the past one. So now I consider it's quite abit of outbreak le... I'm using proactive repairing lotion to dry up the pimples, since my gynea said it's ok to use that.

ask a silly question arh, when u all wash the private part, do u squat down to wash, or in a standing position.. i don dare to squat since pregnant, but i worry that we din wash it thoroughly if we din squat..

Kelcqi, find the the scans during oscar n detail more fun. cos more closer n detail look at baby, so the movement will become even more lively. =) can c her rubbin eyes n tryin to poke finger into mouth. =p u definitely will hv as much fun durin ur detail scan. =p

piggy mummy, so far, i stil in standin posiition, but like in "horse stance".... juz bend slightly at the knees lor. take longer time to rinse to make sure it clean ba... i dun think squattin will b possible when we r in the last stages.. belly will too inconvenient to stand up on ur own after squattin. especially with the flr wet. y take chance? =p.

hahaha. i actually asked my gynae before whether can use those squat toilet. she said tat doing squat actually help in giving birth as it opens up the pelvic bone. duno true or not.

Yanling, my fren also says there a excercise encourage in the later stage. it squating at a slow pace n using somethin to support while goin up and down using duno which part of the muscle.. that i forgot liao.... but think it more safer to do tat where it dry flr n comfy ba... cant imagine if i squat in the squatin cubicle, if flr wet wet with "unidentified liquid"... mis my steppin,, that wld b very very bad..... hahha but that my thinkin la.

mornin all
today my gynae visit! keke... cant wait to c bb again. but so sad tat my hb cant make it today.
oh ya, i find i got prob cleanin my feet nw! cant bend too low. tink i goten get a chair to sit n bathe at the same time =P

morning all mummies =) its finally thurs...another day to go before the weekend..yuppie!

hi poky,

pls pardon my ignorance - when is the oscar scan be done? is it in the later part of pregnancy that the doc will recommend we do it or only upon our request then the doc will let us do it?

i wanted to do the 3D scan but hubby dun agree coz he says all baby looks the same -_-'''

hi yanling and poky,

did u gals attend any yoga classes or attempt to do so frm those hm video? my friend got me a yoga self-practise for pregnant woman that can be done at hm and one of the exerises is the squatting position. must have a table for support if u are nt confidence of dd it. like wat yanling's gynae says, it will help to open the pelvic bone but isnt tt too early for us? hehehe. i mean we still have a gd 4 months to go...open too early i scare le =P heehee

hi ant1712,
get ur hubby to clean for u? hahaha. i asked him to do that =P hehehe

if he is nt free i just pour the shower jel on both feet and scrub them with the other foot. nt v clean but better then nt cleaning at all..hehhee. and enjoyur gynae visit =) its one of the things that i always look forward to now =)

yaya, i am thinking of attending the pre-natal yoga classes. in fact, i took up yoga before pregnancy. but stopped after finding out i am pregnant. and cos of the recent bleeding scare, i think i better to get the clearance from gynae first.

wah, envy you mummies whose babies 'perform' cute antics during scans. mine like so boring, the only cute thing she did was to open and close her mouth, like eating like tat.. next time i must ask her to act cute for mummy to see

ant, i also have problems cleaning my feet, worried that i'll fall in the bathroom cos my balance like not very good. worse is the trimming of toenails, think the tummy is really getting in the way!

bought my first pair of 'granny shoes' yesterday from scholl, today my poor feet feels much better. but i can't get over how ugly the shoes look..

this morning was squatting and talking to my students, legs got numb very very fast, nearly couldn't get up!

bleeding? u ok now?

i had mine fair shares frm the 5th week till the 14th week. its a nitemares for all mums-to-be...i hope everything will be fine.

felval- ya, i do tat. hehe.. clean w the other feet. i tink i prefer to sit on chair n clean myself =P

lynn- i intend to go pedicure when i reali cant cut my nails anymore =D pamper myself abit. hehe
u teach in sec sch? my hb used to be teacher too but jus tendered in dec.

Yeah like Lynn, my rashes is on my hands only, very very itchy, definitely not due to stretching of the skin, at night i will wake up and sratch...sigh...put moisturizer also no use, sometimes will out calamine lotion, will ease the itch for a while. but ok lah 23 weeks plus already, 15 weeks to go before 38 weeks, then baby will be out already....that's how i motivate myself.

I had bleeding too, from 5-14 weeks, but now ok, but sometimes when i go toilet for 'big biz' will have some blood. So i need to eat alot of fibre and be more 'gentle'

hi lynn,

hehehe. think tts one of the prob preg women - we cant seems to find nice yet comfy shoes! i have been looking ard for shoes also but so far cant seem to find any tt i like... think CNY can wear old shoes liao lo....

i also scare buy those in future i have water retension then hw...=(

For washing of legs, last few wks, when i start findin bendin troublesome, i juz raise my legs to latch on the railings at the side (those to put showerfoam n etc..) now i put a plastic chair in the bathroom for me to put mine leg on. it much lower than i wat used to do... mayb in the later stages when i find rasin leg difficult, then try sittin down on the chair ba.... my colleague today suggested using those shower brush instead. then u juz hv to lean here n there... hvnt try out yet... for info lor... hahha

piggy mummy, i oso still squat to wash when I home wor...

lynn, felval and smurferoos, I oso cant find nice comfy shoes.

I bought my flats from Substance. there is one shop on 3rd level OUB centre for those working in Raffles Place. quite comfy lah. and not expensive.

gina,

I guess it's a simple logic to try not to scratch cos all women scare of scars. =P But depends on luck how bad the situation can be lor. Cos for some pple it might not be as bad as mine previously.

Kelcqi,

Your hubby funny. It's not really ur imagination. Sometimes I also can feel baby's heartbeat.=)

Girls,

As for exercise, a gf of mine last time as me to do those standing squats (half or mid-way) weekly (but not extensively..like few times when u bathing everyday or something lah). Cos it's good for giving birth. Technically, I think it's good cos u need to stretch ur thigh muscle abit. Cos remember, when in labour ward (this is for those doing natural birth), ur leg will be bend. I think it does help in preventing the feeling of tiredness and cramp (cos u might need to hold ur legs for a while). <-- dun know if u understand.

Cos I have been thru 2 rounds of natural birth. It can be tiring holding ur legs (imagine lying in bed and holding for a few secs...it is tiring. =P )

Hi mummies, I am thinking of buying the medela mini series - dual pump. But I heard that the suction is not as powerful as the medela pump-in-style. Can mummies who have used the medela mini series before share your experiences with me? I used medela pump-in-style and ameda for my first baby, both have worked well for me. But I borrowed these equipments from friends, and for this pregnancy, they can no longer lend these to me.

hi smurferoos &amp; yanling,

thanks for the info. i shall go n check out one of these days. =)

hi icebaby,

wah! natural birth! did u take any epidural? i wonder if i can tahan w/o epidural....

hi all mummies,

have u all started to buy any baby related stuffs?

wishcometrue, oscar did in my 13th wk. to do b4 detail scan.
as for bb staff, i jux bought a cot bumper set. i only get to know bb gender after yesterday. so now then start lookin at stuffs.. but most likely to buy most in neutral color, so that the nxt one can stil use. =p

jaspire,

WishComeTrue,

Both with epidural.
But was abit stupid for me esp with my 2nd birth. My good fren only told me that when u hit around 7 cm+ dialated, the pain will go down. My 2nd one, I had epidural when I hit 6cm!

So it really depends on you. Some people feel bad pain, some dun feel that much. So must see on the day for urself.

Piggymummy, I wash my private parts using squating position, cleaner leh I think.

Ladies, Last nite I have pink discharge leh. Am I normal?

Hi mummies-to-be, I'm aching all over today cos yesterday making pineapple filling for CNY pineapple tarts.

I had a dream last night of miscarrying. So sad.

Anyway, 6 weeks seem like a long time to wait to see my gynae (or rather my baby)

Kelcqi, quickly call gynae and check. if necessary, please go down and see gynae asap. I am the super kan cheong type.

cherimoya, same same.. can't wait for the next gynae appt. i want to see baby to make sure everything is alrite. super paranoid now.

Do you all still take coffee or tea?

Coffee can be drinks from starbucks as well
Tea can be like camomile tea, peppermint tea, etc

Cold drinks?? Like soft drinks?

If not, what do you all usually order when eating out?

Yanling, my gynea not open today leh. I have low placenta, could that be the cause?

Winnedy, I still take coffee and tea, although we are told to avoid cos that will disrupt the calcium intake. But I too tired sometimes, so I resort to caffine booast.

I also take cold drinks. Avoid them during the 1st trimester but after 4 mths, I dun care le. But of cos not excessive lah. I limit myself the most 1 can of soft drink a day.

But I do find that sometimes I take drinks with ices and when they are too cold, I feel abit weird in my tummy.

Hi Yanling, I not paranoid just that it seems like a long wait cos usually it's 4 weeks now suddenly 6 weeks. Hmm...

Winnedy, I took coffee once so far. Take more tea than coffee but both have caffeine la better to avoid. But think fruit/flower tea like jasmine tea, passion tea etc still can drink la. I also take cold drinks like Yeo's packet drinks chrysanthemum,lemon barley etc, sprite, root beer and mostly 100plus. But will keep it to min. When eating out, will sometimes order milo, hot chrysanthemum tea, horlicks.