(2008/05) May 2008

sgn, i got one avent via cups which is given FOC during the Avent Joyful Parenting session. Is it gd to use? Cos I am worrried if i nid to store in freezer for 2-3mths then does it mean i got to buy alot? Else not enough ah? The milk bags seems like a cheaper option of $8+ for 25 bags. Any other suggestions?

now i 14 weeks 4 days, i only have some nausea at night, may b 15 mins, but at nite, i don have much appetite..my appetite havent back to b4 pregnant. b4 preg, i can eat alot, more than my HB..

piggy mummy, me opposite... my appetite is way better than b4 preg. In fact putting on alot of weight. Cant imagine how much I have put on, will face reality check this wed when i go visit my gynae to do triple test. Glup! Even my wedding ring is so tight now. I shld hv bought a slightly looser ring. I chose the exact fit when i custom made it. Headache...

hey any of u already know the gender of the baby already? saw the chinese chart and realised that next yr going to have alot boys

harlo gals
me so sleepyyy! jus went toilet to catch a wink =P

jaspire- i dread to step on the weighin machine too! can feel i put on alot too. my appetite super good! my hb see liao also shake head. haha

Diana, you can try http://www.albeebaby.com/ or http://www.babyrus.com/.

My sis seems to have bought her baby stuff from Albee Baby more as they often run good promotions. Now I'm eyeing their infant-toddler convertible car seats as they're having discount now.

Jaspire,
I just went browsing baby stuff, found the breastmilk storage packs, but it's like 25 packs for $19+, where to find for $8+ so cheap?

jacq- i hope to see bb gender at this fri appt. my hb every nite sayang bb to be guai n reveal its gender. haha.. i got a feelin mine's a boy!

jaspire and ant, me too putting on weight! I just weighed myself (after not doing so for 2 weeks) and I gained 1kg *faint*

Think must cut down on junk food, especially sweet and sugary stuff. I also find myself eating more meat nowadays, perhaps that's why the weight gain, so scary!

piggy mummy, ya tum tum showing loh.

Jacq, me hope to know bb gender this wed when I go visit gynae for triple test. He say might be able to tell if bb cooperates. I am very very excited in fact! If know early can prepare so many things loh... including names! My chart shows I will have gal...heehee...

My mom had a dream the previous nite... she dreamt I was happily holding a very BIG orange in my hands. So dunno wat it signifies... keke.

Ant, me oso dread to step on weighin machine leh... so scary to see my weight increasing and increasing. Dunno if i will lose it all later after birth or not. But no choice leh, I love my baby... dun dare to starve myself cos i will starve bb too. Its not like I am on a diet before pregnancy preparing for wedding. *faint*

Lynn, its at the Amazon link i posted earlier... its for Lansinoh. Anyone want to do bulk purchase?

Lynn, i think i gained more than 1kg... i dun dare to weigh liao. I used to weigh myself everyday but not now anymore. I am super terrified of the weight increase. So now just hope its not too excessive.

Lynn & Jaspire,

So gd both of u will be able to know so soon, me still have to wait for at least 6 to 7 weeks, wait till neck long long liao. Now also cannot start to buy bb things yet, got sales also no use

lynn- it's easy to say but so hard to cut dwn
i tried eating fruits for tea break but no help at all cos doesnt fill my stomach. goten eat sth like bread thn i wil feel satisfied!

jaspire- my tummy gettin bigger too! n tat day i was lookin in the mirror n realise my nipples n the area ard it like bigger also! qte scary leh =D
ya i also dun wan to starve myself n also cos i got gastrics, once hungry start lookin for food liao. n if too hungry, wil hv the puky feelin. sighz. lidat hw to limit my food intake?!

My tummy have been showing since week 9 or 10. Even my mil keep asking why this time round my tummy so obvious. For my first pregnancy, my tummy only show when i am in my fifth month.

As for breast pump, i used two different brand during my first pregnancy and i regretted it. Think this time round i will buy Avent pump.

Hi Lynn,
after delivery, the milk will start to flow out. It will only be painful if you have engorge breast. So in order to prevent that is to breastfeed or pump milk at a standard interval time but if really got breast engorge then use a warm towel to cover your breast and massage it to circulate the flow again.

Me too have hyperactive gastric juices every 3 hours or so, so must eat something if not will feel puky too
So in the end I think I eat more than I should cos eat every 3 hours or so..

I asked around seems like my sis and friends dun have this problem, also dun have the nasty bloated feeling that I'm suffering from..

My tummy also getting bigger but I think it's just the fats I'm putting on, cos I'm only 14wk now. People all say 1st trimester shouldn't put on weight, but I did even with bad MS! I dun even know how I managed to put on the weight. But last week and this week only left with evening sickness so I really ate more.

Going for appt next week, at 15wk+, gynae say if baby cooperates and is the right position then can see the gender!

jaspire, $8+ is really cheap! I'm interested to buy too if anyone is doing bulk purchase..

Those re-usable bottles or cups for breastmilk is really expensive! Today I saw 3 botles for $15 or something like that. If we use these for storage then won't we be spending a lot on them? I'm assuming we need quite a lot of bottles?

ant, me never even try to cut down. LOL! Ya for me, boobs and areola and nipples all seem to have grown. I oso noticed some fine hair on my tummy. U gals notice that for yourself?

Jer, ya... its better to just stick to 1 brand. Easier to manage oso. All my mummy frens are saying Avent is gd. Anyway, I am passed Avent pumps so i wont be buying to save some money.

BTW, thot the milk wont flow immediately after birth? Only colostrum? Milk flow comes oni after 3rd or 5th day after birth right? Oh ya, I was oso told that if there is engorgement, can use cabbage to put over your breast... and massage it. And the cabbage will be cooked leh... and you will feel better loh. Got to be careful with engorgement as it will cause fever if untreated.

Lynn, that is precisely what I am thinking as well. Ok, i will organise a bulk purchase in our May thread. Let me know how many packs u need (Each packs has 25 bags). You are not in a hurry to buy yet rite? I will consolidate the orders if the rest of the gals respond. Also, if we have a gathering in Jan... can pass it to you gals oso. Hee... thinking very far away liao.

jaspire
hmmmm... i find via cup more useful as next time can use for storage of bb food. for me bought 30 or 40 cups which is $22-27 for 10 cups, even the via cup can only sterilizes 4 times but many mothers had been using till bb is 1yr old!
milk bag quite hard to thraw (imagine something like sgn bao) n need to pour into a bottle b4 feeding.

Re gain wt
i only gain 10kg when i was preg due to gestation diabetes lots of restriction to food so must control ur cravings if not hard to loose wt after delivery, eat with morderation.

jaspire- we shall see each other when we go for the antenatal class nxt thu. hee... yup i do notice i got fine hair too. n also my hair like smoother lidat! haha

sgn, if i want to buy the via cup, I still need to buy the extension to the milk bottle or pump. Regardless will still buy the milk bag as it is more space friendly. My MIL freezer doesnt have any space now already. Not to mention if i got to store my BM. So if can flatten is easier for storage loh.

Wah, u oni gained 10kg? So gd leh... Think now maybe i already gained 4 or 5kg liao? Hee, haven weigh but i am worried i might gain that much liao with my hearty appetite. My gf say she put on 22kg. I hope i wont... oh no, i hate to think of it.

ant, ya me look forward to seeing ya and your hubby. Hee... My hair not any smoother leh... I chopped off my long long hair liao. But now hoping by the time i give birth my hair will grow back to at least shoulder length loh.

lynn/ jaspire
oh if u mummies planning to give EBM, got use lots of bottles, i started off with 5 pigeon bottles 2 nuk and some glass bottles as u only express 20-30mls each time (3hrly to stimulate ur milk flow) for 1st 2 wks. then u only mix the milk to make into a feed b4 u feed bb.
now i'm using 9 avent 4oz bottles n 5 9oz bottles with via cups if not enough.
in the end u still need many bottles so can buy when got sales. unless u totally latch on which will be stressful for a new mummy like me.

Jaspire,

Ya first 2-3days is colostrum but we can feed baby straight after delivery. For my first boy, the nurse keep asking him to feed on me but he was such a sleepy head. He went to sleep straight after his first cries and refuse to wake up until late afternoon(he was born around 8am).

jaspire
the conector comes with the cups when u purchase them. i also stays with my mil, her frezeer also no space. i find stacking the cup more neat n tidy unless ur 'sng bao' can stack nicely cos they are wet n round when freezed (hard to stack). the cups also can clearly stated the dates easy for using first in first out when u giving the EBM for ur bb. how about mixt both bags n cups. u mean the free gift they give u dun come with the connector? u want i got many to spare can give u 1 it's brand new!

sgn, why need so many milk bottles? you store BM in the milk bottles? i thought must store in those specially made cups or plastic bags?

sgn, u can give me the connector? Many thanks! Ya loh, the free via cup dun have connector... I will be using the Avent ISIS manual and Avent ISIS Uno electric so if got the connector is easy to use for immediate feed. I oso intend to mix both bags and cups. Keep the bags as a backup in case really need to use them if milk flow alot. But until i give birth and try, I wont know yet.

Lynn, my SIL oso store the EBM in avent milk bottles. But her EBM oni last the next day. Its not like she can have alot to store. Unless we have alot to store for a longer period than we need those sterilized bags or cups etc. Er, that is if I din get my knowledge wrong lah. Hee...

Hi Jaspire,
How do we get to attend "Avent Joyful Parenting"?

How many times did you all scan for the Oscar test? The one to measure baby neck?

I scan 5 times in 2 days!!! Can you all believe it?

The baby was not in a good position. But allow the doctor to see the gender. Able to see the gender at week 12 was quite shiok!

Lynn
ya after each pump eg. 20-30mls not enought for 1 feed got to wait for 2 more pump then can add up to 1 feed when i was doing confinement bb already drinking 90mls per feed! at nite CL gave him FM easy for her no need to warm the milk which takes time. usu at night bb can't long for their milk!
now bb gets bigger n i got more supply then demand so each day 4 times and each time 200++ mls. so need many bottles. i only use via cups for freezing EBM.

jaspire
how u want me to pass u the connector? by mail? i stay ang mo kio.

jaspire
u r rite usu EBM can last up till 48hrs in the fridge, u got to estimate if more than 1 day supply of feeds then got to put in the freezer which can last for 3 months.

winnedy, the "Avent Joyful Parenting Seminar" ended last sat. I din manage to get the tickets with my sister. But I manage to buy one ticket from a lady who is selling in the forum. So i went alone.

sgn, i can pop over to ang mo kio to get it from you. I stay at Towner and work at Tanjong Pagar. Can you PM me your mobile? I tried to PM u but u dun accept PM. Its easier for us to communicate how I can collect the connector.
Many thanks once again.

winnedy, lucky you! so you're expecting a price or princess?

jaspire and sgn, thanks for the explanation..

jaspire, how did u sign up for the avent event?

jaspire, i interested to buy the bulk purchase too. I think i b using mixed.. bottles for home usage. disposable bags when outside... =)

poky, how to use disposable milk bags when outside? Thot its meant more for storage? Let me know how many packs you need.

Lansinoh Disposable Milk bags Order (each packs has 25 milk bags):
Jaspire - 2 packs
Lynn - ?
poky - ?

jaspire, each packs abt 8+ rite? if so, i takin 2 packs. i b goin back to work after two mths. plannin to continue BF for as long as possible. Not sure if need to express out in office, in case of fulled. Bringin bottles ard, will b quite heavy n troublesome.

poky
i think use bottle when outside better, bag hard to handle unless u freeze cos u can't lie it down as it's not air tight heal as i know.

poky, oic...dats wat u meant... sorrie me blur. Ya, i will go back to work too and i plan to use the bag at work oso. Pump out then tfr to the milk bag and put in my thermal bag or in ofc fridge. I dun want to carry too heavy bag as well as i got slipped disc, so any methods or ways to lighten my load is gd.

sgn,
re gestational diebeties, do you need to keep to a certain diet? how does it affect bb? and did you give birth earlier?
i went to the gynae's last week, and found high glucose in urine, i'm a bit scared. doc says urine test not all that accurate, must do a blood test. my blood pressure also a bit high.

jaspire, me 2 packs as well

i find the sharp pain at my tail bone is coming back, although i read that it's supposed to go off abt the end of the 1st trimester??? it went off for abt 2 weeks and now it's back and even worse

any MTB having the same problem?

lynn,
i got back pain when i go shopping and jalan jalan..if i staying at home, no back pain... but now more jia lat, diarrhea and some flu..don know have to call dr Ang or not..

piggy mummy, keep yourself well-hydrated! Drink enough water to replace the fluid loss..

I'll get backache too when I walk too much, but I get this sharp pain at the tail bone area when I get up after sitting or lying down..

peace
same lor found to have glucose in the urine and did a GTT test show my sugar torlence result high. got to rent a glucose machine home and prick myself 7 times day and once a wk! BUT every time i check always low b4 meal and after food still normal range so don't worry ur gynae will do futher test to determine u have GDM a not. just need to eat healthy frequent small meals.

piggymummy
i experience severe back n tail bone pain too during 1st few months of preg cos bb growing and the pelvic bone moving to give way to bb should be safe to take panadol but if unbearable can see gynae.

piggy mummy... i yesterday oso diahorrea oso watery oso 3 times. LOL! But today seems ok leh.

goodbabyb, now u reminded me... i shld have another free avent via cup from the TMC goodie bag from the FBI signup rite? Oh gosh, i better check wat i have.

godbabyb
should be no prob still can spare.
how u want to meet? i working shift work, u taking train to work? can meet at mrt? i stay blk 400+ ave 3

Good morning ladies,

this thread moving quite fast... today i will be going for my gynea appointment. Hopefully can see the gender of the baby.