(2008/05) May 2008

Hi Pooh,

The gynae I'm seeing now only does not perform delivery. My first does but I din consult him cos sometimes he will miss a few appointments or late for appointments cos he has last minute delivery.

jaspire. on avg, after each meak will puke 3-4 times before stoppin. normally i take only 2 meals. if i took more, then the more frequency, if too full also even more. =(
this mornin tried to take the supplement pills that my doc prescribe to take in the mornin, but also puke out after some time. so think i wont b tryin those pills recently, at least until after the ms is over, then try again ba...
now in my 11th, this sat, wld start my 12th le.. so countin down is my only solace.....

Jaspire, me too MS went off for abt a week, now have slight MS but not as bad as before. I'm 13+ weeks now, I thought MS should be going away?

Just asked my sis to buy me a peg perego pliko stroller from US (she's coming back next month) and it's so much cheaper there than in Singapore. Feel a bit kiasu for doing that though lol.

Rachel, I'm pretty sure there's some advice against drinking cold water, though I really dun care :p

i'm now 14 weeks and my MS is gone already. sometimes i don't even feel very "pregnant" cos the bloated feeling is no longer there. So for all MTBs who are still suffering from MS - have hope! it'll get better.

Is Peg Perego stroller much cheaper in US? Lynn -you are lucky to have a sis in US who is willing to bring back a stroller for you! it's quite heavy to carry! I went stroller shopping yesterday too. Some of the strollers have really small wheels! wonder if they are sturdy enough. Saw this article on the net, but can't read the result! (unless I pay for it)
http://www.choice.com.au/viewArticle.aspx?id=105880&catId=100510&tid=100008&p=1&title=Test%3a+Four-wheel+strollers

kab, my sis will be shipping it back together with her furniture and stuff, so she doesn't have to carry it. As it is she is already brining back my baby niece, her dog and 2 cats *faint*

Really look forward to seeing my niece in person

I was initially thinking of getting a light stroller like Combi, but then I think that the seat is narrow and small and being so super light it doesn't feel so "solid" to me. Wonder how can a toddler up to 20kg can fit comfortably in a small stroller, so ended up asking my sis to buy the full-sized stroller from Peg Perego. The stroller is abt S$300+ after conversion, and I saw it selling in Tangs abt $500+ after discount?

Next is get my sis to help me buy a infant-toddler convertible car seat. The big solid ones in Mothercare is like $500+? When I saw the price I almost fainted.

kab, i did think abt donating to the public cord blood bank, but is it possible to have it both privately stored and donated?

lynn, dun think can privately store and donate. Me and hubby decided against storing the cord blood. We feel its still new and that there is no guarantee in fact. There was a case where the couple did store but due to mis-handling etc, the cord blood cannot be used and there is nothing they can do. So to me its really a waste of money and cord blood can oni be used for certain illnesses oni. Most likely science and medicine wld then get more advance liao. But these are our thots oni lah, I think its fair that everybody have differing views.

Haiz..So scare to read that you all are still experiencing MS after 13th wk..

Dunno wil it happen to me or not..Coz gg holiday when i am ard 14wk pregnant..If MS nt gone, i am gg to suffer..Nt enjoy the holiday..Sianz..

Lynn - you are very lucky to have your sis to help! yup all the better stroller/car seats in Singapore are retailing for more than $500. I also don't trust the lighter strollers - some looks really flimsy. but for the safety of the child... no choice lah.

Jaspire - I also agree that it's very expensive to store the cord blood privately, and there's really no guarantee that it will work in case a transplant is needed.

Lynn - I also don't know whether you can both donate and store privately. Will there be enough cord blood?

hm..I think I may end up donating the cord blood. maybe it can help some other people.

So happy ms is over....now I can eat better, work better and feel more beautiful. Anyone know the gender yet? Wonder who will break news first. Take care those who are still coping with ms. It will be soon over for you too!

i have a Avent manual pump and only used for 1week. I'd like to let go as my milk ss is very low and given up for BF due to some personal reason. The UP is $99 , pls kindly PM me for those who is interested, price is negotiable.
1064117.jpg

hi ant,

cos... i cannot stand injection, my gynae oso scare i runaway... she oso say must knock me off then take out the baby. That day go for triple test, havent reach my turn i started crying outside. so "throw face"...

I went to the Avent Joyful parenting session in the morning yesterday. It is a very informative and gd session! Mrs Wong is very experienced and humourous. She is able to make a baby stop crying immediately leh! Wow! The baby massage i learnt is oso gd. Am trying to post the video clip I took at my multiply if you gals are interested to learn.

have you gals thot of wat breastpumps to use and how to store your expressed breast milk? Can those mummies who got experience share wif us?

I was just telling my hubby yesterday that my breasts feel so sore now, it hurts even when they're lightly touched. I understand that after delivery they're swell even more due to the milk right? Won't that be even more painful? Is breastfeeding really a very painful experience? Trying to prepare myself mentally now...

hi jaspire,

i heard ameda dual pump is good,i m interested to look at the bb massage video clip,may i have ur multiply website?
thanks for sharing :>

i'm from May 07 mummy, just to share with u about pumps, i also got a medala pump when i deliver but it doesn't help, very bad engorement ended up with sore nippes. my SIL lent me her avent maual pump, n it was so comfortable n i manage to pump till now which my son is turning 6 months next wk!

icebubbles
dun take so much carrot as it will cos jundice to u n pass to bb.

mtb,

anyone here started to drink tonic soup (black chicken, reddate, wolberrry,longan, dangshen)? i am thinking taking it once a week..Me 14 weeks now, can drink? havent start drink birdnest..

hi piggy mummy
can start taking now but toward 3rd trim try not to take too much birnest, as bb will have lots of phlegm after delivery.

piggy mummy, me already taking the tonic soup and birdnest.

icebubbles, ya dun take too much carrot juice as will cause jaundice.

sgn, tks... my fren, sis and SIL oso say avent ISIS the manual pump is gd.

goodbabyb, I am trying to upload to multiply the baby massage video. But hor the speed is so so slow cos the video is quite huge. So dunno if i end up can post or not.
will post here again if I manage to upload to my multiply.

<font color="aa00aa">jaspire</font>
u r welcome. hope to share my experience here as i also went thru what u all had. now i missed the preg time as really a great different life after bb had came along!

sgn, your pregnancy is smooth sailing? I had a very difficult 1st tri... in fact, nearly wanted to give up due to the excessive puking. Am glad its all behind me. But hor, just when I thot things are getting better, my forehead is getting more breakout. I nearly thot its getting better too but ended up now with more outbreaks.
However, I am hopeful baby is growing well and really looking forward to seeing baby this coming wed. Kekeke...

How is your baby doing now? How did u cope during your confinement? Share more wif us!

jaspire
my 1st tri also bad everyday also feel like puking, wakes up take breakfast then fast go take a nap again if not will want to puke.
i ever blackout at the bus interchange during 1st tri so ever since then never go market to buy things until when bb is 3 months old.
i agreed preg is a wonderful feeling, esp when u see ur bb thru scan.

just put bb to sleep n expressing milk b4 sleeping....

oh my confinement was very unforgetable.... i thought i can manage so din get confinement lady(CL), went home 3rd day after delivery, din get to sleep for the next 4 days due to engorement and bb crying at night. mil saw me in destressed, n help me to get a CL, lucky she was a very nice lady she helped me alot. she teaches me BF until now i still sms her. the day CL leaves i cried!

piggy mummy, my hubby din buy the expensive one. We oso dunno how to cook it. He bought those bottle ones. I know some pple say there is not much birdnest in it but at least its better than none. Kekeke...

hi jaspire,

if cant upload to multiply,can email or via msn or via youtube?just a few options,i waiting for year end sale then buy the pump,dunno if year end will be better than 20% off

piggy mummy
can buy those ready make from Fu Hua each bottle about $18 just take once a wk if u dun mind. Oh btw my MIL makes pao sheng and birdnest for me during my 1st tri as her uncle (chinese Dr in china) says pao sheng is good for bb's brain development.

goodbabyb, ya... from morning till now stil got 3245min left. Gosh. Think i will terminate the loading of the video. Taking me ages. Give me your msn id, I can send it over to you tmr if i login after work. My ofc cannot access msn at all.

For the pump, not sure if there will be better sale. But think Robinson if have the 20% is quite gd liao cos on top of the 20% still got another 5% disc from the card itself mah. So can save more.

BTW, when are you due?

Hey all long time didn't chat here... The forum running a bit fast try to keep with the pace. Today topic interest me so come in and kpo abit 8)

I bf my boi for 18mths, no regret... Love the close feeling of bfing. Althought Bfing is stressful for me, not to mention it is painfulness but all I think of is output... I call myself a cow initially when I am trying to build up my supply. Cry a few time infront of my boy feeling guilty that I didn't give him enough BM, a bit silly when I think back.

I am using Ameda dual Pump, good if you use with the FLEXISHIELD AREOLA STIMULATOR at first I pump without it the job become very messy. As the accessory will grib it to our breast and the ss increases too.

I also heard that avent maunal pump is good for clearing breast. Another good brand is Madela(I think I spell correctly) more common in sgp.

BTW getting the ameda pump in US is cheaper too but need to change the power adaptor as US is using 115V.

hi goodbabyb

Actually I got my full set of pump in US + accessories and spare parts, so just pay the amt on the web with delivery charges. But my SIL get me a power adaptor in sgp she bought her set in SGP. See this http://www.ameda.com/products/accessories.aspx

Avent have something like it and it fix just nice on the ameda pump. My friend is using the ameda pump with the avent shield... So I think you can check both px and compare. I am not sure on mumsfairy's supershields. You have the website to let me take a look?

BTW don't too stress on BF at this moment, now I still got a bit of evening sickness hope it will gone soon and hope all of us can enjoy the 2nd tri soon 8)

twinky, goodbbb & peace, if i see you gals online tonite will try to send it to you gals.
However, I was told Mrs Wong does teach it in her Childbirth Education Course at TMC too. So hopefull Ant and myself will get to view it again. She is really very gd. I bought a book on Infant Massage as well from Borders and the methods taught is the same.

Atlas, my sis's CL has left and i'm going back home already....cannot lazed at mom's place liao.. Overall, the experience was very new. My sis and mum already 'missing' her! B'cos she's always quick to handle my niece whenever she cries, now my sis was very slow and sometimes even let her cry for good 20m!

Thank you all mummy for your information on all the different Diagnostic TEst. By the time i go and see my gyane, i will be 16 weeks plus preg, so definitely will do the triple test, but i think i will be very stressed during the detailed scan!!I will let you know the results!
Keeping my fingers crossed!

I am still having MS now, though i am already going 15 weeks, but slightly better than the 1st tri.. sigh...good luck everyone, i am sure it will pass soon!

For me i used Mendela Pumped in Style for my first child, and i feed her exclusively breast milk for 6 months, but all expressed out one, cos i feel very stressed when i bf directly cos don't know how much she is drinking! So i strongly recommend Mendela PIS, very strong and powerful! it can help maintain the amount even though i stop direct BF after 6 weeks. But must buy breast pad cos sometimes your milk will leaked! And also buy the storage bags to store away extra breastmilk, but don't buy this first, cos i have some friends who gave up after 3 weeks, so don't waste too much money.

I am getting my previous CL for 2 months! The other time when she left i also cried!! but i think i should be steadier for my second child.

smurferoos, tks for sharing! My sis will be passing me her manual Avent ISIS pump and my SIL her Avent ISIS Uno electric single pump. So i guess I will have to stick to using Avent. Will need to read up more on Avent and its products.

I was still thinking of buying the breast milk storage bags probably 1 pack of 25bags or 2 packs to standby as I will need to store esp when I start work. Read in the Jan 08 thread they recommend Lansinoh milk bag. I went to check it out and it looks gd. Anyone keen to do a bulk purchase to save on shipping charges? I can consolidate our orders...

http://www.amazon.com/Lansinoh-20435-Breastmilk-Storage-25-Count/dp/B000FKHMGU/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/105-2767835-3980406?ie=UTF8&s=hpc&qid=1192530308&sr=8-1

piggy mummy
just ordinary pao sheng, as different grade different price just ask the chinese hall man n get the ones u comfortable with.
just put the pao sheng n wolfberries in th glass boiler and put in a pot with water to 'tun'.
usu MIL will prepare both pao sheng and birdnest to take together.
i would take the birdnest 1st cos it's sweet n drink the pao sheng later at one short cos it's bitter! pao sheng is 'bu' n not heaty.

Jaspire
milk bags not easy to store ley n can't reuse, i use avent via cups which can stack in the fridge

jaspire
just to share, u can ask the nursery to keep glass milk bottes for u if u are delivering in public hospital when u deliver.

good afternoon ladies.

do u all happen to noe which US website can we go to look for bb stuffs? also, wat are the good brand bb stroller and car seat?

thks in advance.

me nw excited abt my gynae visit this sat. hopefully can see my bb gender. i tink it is normal tat we still feel abit nausea even after 3 mths ba. coz nw i 15 wks i also still feel nausea lor and at times, i still throw out if i eat anyting bb dun like....hmmmm....

o...but i being eating ricola lemonmint to help curb my nausea feel lor....but nt sure if it is good to eat too much bo....

I read in this mag that there is this maternity shop in Vivo that sells sweets to ease morning sickness and calm the nerves. Sorry i can't remember the name but i know it is on the first level. For me i use Mendela milk bags as i can express directly from the PIS Mendela Pump.

Other than Pao Sheng and bird nest, any other things to eat to 'bu' the baby?