(2008/05) May 2008

ant, ya mine is a national day baby. Kekeke...

i agree wif kab, bb can scream all they want but for safety purpose put them in car seat. As infant they wont know, so once you start the gd habits early. They wont mind to be placed in car seat. Those who have prob wif car seat is becos they make exceptions that at times they are carried on laps etc which is a big no no. Baby learn fast and if got exception they will not want to sit there liao. So do be insistent. It will pay off...

kab- tink cos she alwz bfeed in the car so her kid refused to sit alone. i agree tat it's def safer to put bb in car seat.

jaspire- sama sama! haha

yah beetle is a 2 dr car, the space behind is limited may not be able to put the stroller in, that's the prob i am not willing to let go my beetle, so have to really think of a way ro accomodate.

Btw, do u guys experience any cold or flu during the first trimster? me down with bad cough now and worrying that it might affect my baby as well.

so excited, my fren just msg me... going to give me alot of stuff as below. Cant wait to see the list ant has and start checking off wat I will be given and wat else i nid to buy.

1. Baby cot covers
2. Baby Changing Table
3. Receiving blankets
4. Portable Changing Mat
5. Baby Bath Tub
6. Dome for Confinement

jac, I have flu during my 5th week and my gynae doesnt want me to take any medication. But he say the flu/cough wont affect baby. So dun worry... but u nid lots of rest and water. So must rest ok?

yah i will be going to see my gynae later to check out is it everything ok, then fri go for detailed scan... now my immuse system super weak, anyone sick i sure kanna one... so sian....

i think when choosing stroller, u have to consider most of the time u or ur HB carry the stroller. If u r the one who will bring ur child out, the 3 wheel one abit troublesome for us to keep n carry, coz it is quite huge and bulky..i ever seen some mummy with the three wheel stroller, look like she cant handle the stroller. Somemore if u got car, i think can but the normal four wheel stroller will do..

jac, can try to take fruit juice oso. Helps in flu... else can take manuka honey wif lemon. How come you doing detailed scan so early? Thot detailed scan can oni be done in 20th weeks? Or yours is Oscar test? You are in your 13th weeks rite?

piggy mummy, ya... it is a big consideration esp for us with slipped disc. We must be able to handle the stroller with ease. Else pointless for us to use it. But i like stroller where baby is facing us instead of the road. So we nid to carefully select.

wow, indeed the list is long and shocking. I have tried to come up wif my own list and then realised I missed out so many things. WOW!

hahah.. reali alot of things rite! my fren is reali so detailed! i got a shock too when i opened up the 1st time!

piggymummy- my ILs noe alrdy n mil simply no reaction at all! every wk we go there for dinner, she din even asks hw am i, hw's my appetite, etc. i told hb n he said i'm too sensitive!

hey jaspire, my EDD change to 19-May le..

anyway dis few weeks too buzi wif wk.. n seems like my temper v v bad.. last week jus went for the oscar test.. and saw my bb sort of like jumpin inside... haha so cute.. hopefully 2 weeks later when i go c my bb again will c diff stunts..

anyone started to buy bb stuffs?? my hubby dun let me buy he said too early.. ;( i saw alot of bb's things wanted to buy but alot of ppl tel me no need to buy so much de.. ;(

moony, your date moved back so much? Okie, I will change it and reflect it later.

I have not started buying bb stuffs, its really a little too early. But have started collected stuff from pple. Also used the list from Ant and complied a list of my own of stuff i nid, so that its easier to manage it later.

hey gals, anyone know of any gd prenatal massage lady to recommend? And when is gd time to start?

What abt postnatal massage?

On course starting this week where we have to wear uniform, the cooindinator at first did not want to issue me with the maternity uniform, but yesterday and today I was so uncomfortable I cannot tahan and insisted that I be issued the maternity version. She still says "nobody will want to wear that cos very ugly" *faint*

Anyway dunno if it's the tightness of the skirt, I was so uncomfy these 2 days, last week no MS only evening sickness, but yesterday and today began having slight MS again

I'm worried for bb, will have to wait 2 weeks to see him/her. I swing for craving sweet to salty, from meaty to veg, hahaha so can't predict bb's gender at all.

I thought it is required by law to put the child in infant or toddler car seat? I agree that it is very important! Hubby and I are thinking of buying a car, am thinking of getting Honda Jazz but wonder if the boot will be big enough to fit the infant-to-toddler car seat and stroller. Any ideas anyone?

Just to share with you ladies, today I got an interesting piece of avice - eat more kiwis baby will be born with lots of hair.

I asked jokingly if it because the kiwi is covered with fine "hair" :p

wow... thats a lot of posts!!!

btw, anyone bought maternity clothings from spring? i just bought a pair of jeans and 3/4 there yesterday.
seems like my tummy is getting bigger... need to buy more clothes le...

when did you all start to wear maternity clothes??? till now my colleagues dunno abt it yet. haha maybe they will find out soon.

Jaspire,

I am now in my 11th week only, my gynae asked me to go for deatiled scan, i also not sure is it called Oscar test or not. Just went to see him just now and found out that my bb was fine and my blood test result was fine too. A bit relieve now but still have to see fri detail scan result first...btw my baby growing very fast less than 1 week grow more than 1cm, even my gyane said is big.

jac, I think its oscar test. U can confirm wif yr gynae on fri. Detailed scan is done on 20th week oni.
Wah, 1 wk grow more than 1cm, really is going to be big... but ok lah, healthy can liao and can see baby is a very nice feeling! Hoo ha!

Hi jacq,

hahaha.. really so qiao!! My beetle is for my own use, my hubby drive a sedan, so should be using his as family car, his car save more petrol, that bug drink petrol de. 11km/l leh... one tank $105. *faint* I call the VW workshop for my repair, they say must make appointment and wait for around 2 weeks...I everyday see the scratches i kek sim...haiz...

My edd also change, my gynae is is around 27 April.

jaspire, i personally wouldn't recommend u to try any prenatal massage. B'cos i've seen a real case where the pregnant mum was trying for a prenatal massage and the bb died with the umbilicol code tried round its neck and it was abt 5mths then. Nevertheless, i know some mums did try without any harm to the bb too.. but wat is the ultimate objective? if there's no benefit...why try?

As for postnatal massage, you should be doing if on yr 3rd day aft discharging from hospital and it's suppose to do 7 x. If u undergone C-Sect, then it should be done 4weeks later and the session should be 14 x instead of 7 x

muzicgal, looks like you, ant and I most likely might end up giving birth in April instead. Hee...

sparks, prenatal massage is to help ease the backache. I think there shld be professional help isnt it? Dat is why I am asking. I am also scared of pple who anyhow just massage. Its no joke and I oso dun wan complications to my baby. Do you have any suggestions for postnatal massage then?

Good morning ladies,

More explanation on the usage of medisave for pre-delivery medical expenses:
http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/ChildrenNParenthood/MarriageNParenthoodSchemes/HavingChildren/

For the list of what to buy for baby, can go takashimaya children department cashier counter(the one near the baby stuffs area and combi stuffs area), they have a leaflet that show the checklist of what to buy for newborn and even mummy. The list will be really helpful for your shopping on baby stuffs.

muzicgal- we shall see who's the 1st to gv birth b/t the 3 of us! hee..

jaspire- i'm nt sure abt prenatal massage but wil be engagin my fren's massage lady for postnatal. v gd reviews abt her! my fren stil engagin her svcs nw thou bb is alrdy 4mths old liao. i heard the longer u can tahan the wrap ard ur body, the more effective it wil be. tink for the sake of smaller tummy, shall try my best! keke

ant, can give me her contact and how much is her charges and how does she charge? Does she go to your house or wat?

jaspire- wil hv to check w my fren for the contact. tink it's $50 per session for 1.5 hrs if i rem correctly n yup she wil come to ur plc.

jaspire, ya, i can't stand it when i was caught being blur and forgetful and careless .... arrgghh, that makes me more pek chek .... hb was saying, in that case, spend some time checking your work.... but that does not solve blurness ... aiyoh !

peace, same here. And worse that my work is all abt numbers... so sensitive! Haiz, less one 0 makes a big difference. And every nite I am sleepy by 9pm, struggles to keep my eyes open till 10 or 11pm. U same?

me too... always forgot stuffs ppl juz told me. i also gets tired abt 9, slp abt 10 liao... but wake up before 7am leh... rather be able to slp later n wake up later.

jaspire, same same .... my work also all numbers, sometimes, add also add wrong !

night, now a bit better, week 5 to 10, i used to sleep by 930, 10, now can dong till 1030 or 11...

Hi hi.. im alawys ready for bed by 9.30 pm and will be zzz by 10 pm sharp...

But i do wake up early -- about 6.30 am to get ready for work...

I do realised recently that i tend to wake up at least once in the middle of the nite to go toilet.. any one has this experience?

juin and ant, i wake up twice to thrice every nite. Dats why always feel so tired. Also, i realised my MS seems to be coming back. These few days been feeling pukey... and last nite i puked my dinner. Now feeling pukey too...
I am so worried...

Tks Sparks & jaspire..

I will go thru the claim details..

Hi Juin,

You only wake up once ah at nite..My record is wake up every hr to pee starting from 10pm to 7am. Can u imgaine hw many times i woke up in the middle of the nite. Feel like enduring and continue to slp. But seems like bladder not working..Haha..

Moony,

Mine one opp. fr u..My hubby is the one keep buying bb things. I am onli 9 wks pregnant and my hubby oredi gt many things fr kiddy palace and mothercare. Almost 1 cupboard full (including those frenz and colleagues give)..Very kiasu rite..

He almost bought a stroller for the bb on sat. And i haf to drag him away. Sometimes cannot tahan him.

He oso keep asking me buy maternity clothes saying nw mux wear loose clothings. So sat. drag me to causeway pt, spring maternity. Ended bought 2 bottoms and 2 tops..

I also got a few maternity clothes. Honestly those from maternity shops looks quite aunty hor but no choice leh. Most of them are quite big.

I found 2 tops from Fond, it's their maternity range, not too big, and stretchable, and quite pretty.

Having bought a few pieces, I am still a bit shy to wear them