(2008/05) May 2008

Good morning ladies...

Kelcqi, me oso got outbreak, but on the face... mostly forehead and 2 on left side of face. So horrible. Although its not the big kind but I hardly have any pimples b4 i preggie so this is quite irritating to me loh. I hv one or 2 very small one on the back and dats all.

Me oso constipation, today is the 4th day no poo poo liao. So worried. So think later will go buy prune juice to drink. Hopefully will help and tmr can release all.

Lynn,

Will take a look at Dorothy Perkins. Thank you

Jaspire,Kelcqi,Sunshine

I also got breakouts on my back for this pregnancy and is a lot! haha... hubby wanna squeeze for me but i stop him cos scared later got scar. For my face is like every week there will be one pimple popping out after the previous pimple disappeared unlike my previous pregnancy where my skin glow haha...

Jer,
Some people says when your skin glow, you are likely to be having a girl, and vice verse for boy. Was it true for your previous pregnancy ?

so farnie... just when I say I 4 days never poo... suddenly felt the urge to go poo and alot came out. I haven even go buy prune juice and drink. But then hor, think I still must buy and drink lah. LOL.

Jer, I cant help but wanna squeeze those pimple or "oil bubble" on my forehead leh. But then now i resort to buying the 3M acne sticker. It helps dry the pimple fast and normally the pimple disappear within 2 days. Keke...

really ah, breakout means boy meh?

my bb is only 5.6cm at 12 weeks. I have breakouts for the last 3-4 weeks. Only start to clear a bit these few days but then new ones come again! Sigh!

i also hv breakout. quite a few. like jaspire, i dun hv much b4 pregnancy. but mostly on the neck or shoulder or arms leh...

i also the 4th day no poo poo liao. hv the urge... but sit in toilet bowl so long. stil nothin comes out. =(

LOL, i guess in a month's time... some of us will prob know the gender of our baby if baby cooperate liao. Now like still early to speculate. Kekeke... so exciting! Wait till gender is out I will add it to our table list. Hee...

poky, go buy prune juice and drink. Hopefully u tmr can poo liao. Too many days never poo is worrying and scare poo hard hard.

missymouse, how ya? we still haven meet for lunch leh...

ya, goin to buy tmr ba. today super tired... vomit seriously last nite. also woke at 4am with stomach uncomfortable... took a long time to slp back, but kept tossin abt.... my office nearby dun hv... thinkin after work today to go back straight to slp. tmr lunch or after work then go n buy ba.....

morning
i got terrible breakout for my 2 pregnancy.. and i got girls.. now this pregnancy also got breakout but far less then the previous 2..
keepin my fingers crossed that it would be a boy

pooh, ya hope you have a boy. Then 2 jie jie can look after their lil' bro! Am sure they will adore their lil sibling! How do you cope with 3? Who is looking after your lil' ones?

I have quite a lot of blackheads on my back and neck. I got my hubby to check for me if it's pimples or blackheads. I'm using body scrub to get rid of it. Keke...

I'm quite curious when u ladies mention abt the triple test and Oscar test. I did a blood test when I was only 6-7 weeks. My gynae told me it's a test for the blood. That's all. Erm... And I oso din ask much.

When do we take the triple test?

Gina
Typically triple test is sometime around the 15th wk. It is to test for down syndrome and some other stuff e.g. hepatitis.

gina, i will be doing my triple test during my 16th week.

I oso did a blood test in Hong Kong ard 3-4 wks and later at my spore gynae during my 4weeks. But that was because the gynae in Hong Kong thot I was miscarrying. So spore gynae did another blood test to ensure my blood hcg level was increasing and not diminishing.

Wow seems like we're pretty much having the same problems, acne and constipation..

I'm into my 12th week now, and can eat better already, although the gastric still hyperactive, especially love rice now lol.. Now must watch my diet, cannot put on too much weight..

Does anyone take chicken essence? Is it ok to take in 1st trimester? I'm feeling so so so tired and lethargic with no appetite + vomiting. Any suggestions on what i can take to build up my body?

Hiya ladies,

Wow, this thread is really moving so fast. Feeling so restless everyday. Only want to sleep. By the way, how many types of test does one pregnancy have to go through? I heard of detail scan needs to be done as well rite? But on the 20th week or something. So far my gyne never tell me I need to take any test yet. Is it normal?

Piggy mummy, I think yogurt should be ok. But maybe don't eat straight from the fridge. Too cold. Leave it outside 5 mins then eat. Every old folks telling me no cold stuff. Sigh, feel so deprived.

I though my MS gone cos 3 days never feel like vomiting liao. Suddenly today came back. Anyone experience that? Like morning sickness stop few days den back again.

Also, Anyone heard if we can take honey? I was happily making myself one glass of honey and my mum was like scolding me. Telling me that Honey will cause baby to have alot of phelgm when they are out. Wondering true is that. But plain water I drink until I feel like vomiting.

I wonder if constipation contributes to pain in the tummy. Me oso 3 days never poo. Sit in the toilet very long, only a few pathetic hard pieces came out. Sometimes no. I read that Iron pills causes constipation, but I am not taking any at the moment...

Jaspire, My outbreak more on the back. Face I feel that I seem to have more blackheads ard the nose. Plus skin seems to be drier. I feel so ugly...

Good Morning ladies...

Kelcqi, here are some tests im down for:
1) Blood test (at my first visit) for hepatitis
2) Oscar Test (plus optional blood test) for down syndrome @ 13th week
3) Scan at 20th week for check for any abnormality.

I saw my BB yesterday during my oscar scan. I was really excited and it measures at 6.5 cm in week 12.

my gastric was really active yesterday. Spent the whole day vomiting everything that enters my mouth ... never felt some miserable -- hungry and tired. Told my husband if i can stop production after this child.. sigh.. guess it was one of those days we have to go thru.

I have been taking maruka honey every other day for my throat. Due to all the vomiting, my thorat tends to be very dry so honey helps. I will eat anything my body can takes and in moderation (dun take in excess amount). I continue to take oranges for Vit C and as fruit to relief my constipation.

Good Morning Ladies!!!

kelcqi, I think u will be doing triple test when u 16th weeks. Me doing it on the 14th Nov.

As for honey, i oso make manuka honey to drink. Even yogurt i eat, straight from fridge. I think its ok and it helps in digestion.

juin, very nice to see your BB yesterday hor! Must be excited! Oranges when 2nd tri onwards must cut down cos it is the one which causes phelgm in baby. Papaya causes jaundice. But 1st tri ok. Dats what my gynae told me.

Gd mrng, same here, i take manuka honey and yogurt as i've some constipation and all the vomitting... vomit till my gastric can turn from the inside out! Faint... cannot eat anything le...

Morningz MTB..

Haven logged in for sometimes. ADS is getting worse everyday. Vommiting non-stop. Sometimes i even vomit until feel like my whole face going to explode liao..

So tiring...

Hi Juin,

Me oso told my hubby juz one child wil do. Coz reali can't stand the sickness. So suffering.

Have been feeling rather depress these whole week. So tired~~..But can't take off from work..So many things to do..

tWiNkY,

My sis's CL taught me to put some dried tangerine peel into porridge to ease nausea and u can take the milk custard w ginger juice to strengthens yr Spleen and Stomach.

Milk Custard w Ginger juice
===========================
Recipe
======
Ingredients:
200ml milk, 10ml ginger juice 25g sugar

Method
======
Put all ingredients into a pot and bring to boil. leave for a while until set. Servce warm.

If u r feeling dizziness..

This receipe helps.

Lean Pork Soup w Tian Ma and Gou Teng
=====================================
Ingredients
===========
10g He Shou Wu, 15g Tian Ma, 15g ginger, 100g lean pork, 10g Gou Teng

Method
======
1. Rinse all ingredients except ginger

2. Put Shou Wu, Tian Ma, lean pork and ginger into a clay pot. Add water and bring to boil over high heat. Turn to low heat and simmer for 1 hour.

3. Add Gou Teng and cook for 20m. Season w salt and serve

wow.. sparks, u so lucky get to share your sis CL and can get proper nourishment. I think i am very undernourished.. so xtremely tired. Ytd went to get some maternity clothes and the auntie see me so horrible, ask me to drink essence. Do u know what can reduce phlegm? I have lots of phlegm and saliva.. haix. my gynae say just let it come out. But its never ending.. mths liao.

jaspire.. can pm me the do's and don's from Dr Lim? I asked him what can eat and what cannot eat but he just say eat whatever i want/can in 1st trim, since i have poor appetite.

kelcqi.. me too.. i have no fixed pattern in my ADS. Smetime ok sometime horrible. Unlike some MTBs, i'm unable to deal with it.

I thought shd be getting better but feel so so so tired these few days. Ytd i went shopping for a while & start spotting when i came back. For MTBs that follow my earlier thread, i kinda worried if i can start work.

Something to share, i went for my OSCAR test yesterday. when we started the scan, bb was sleeping. The position wasn't good as the neck was not fully visible, for measurement.
so i was told to fake a cough, bb still did not barge ... meantime i tried to "talked" to bb "bb, wake up wake up" ..... after much try, i finally lie on my side, so as to catch the right angle. since bb did not barge, i moved lor.

interesting thing is, after the pix were taken, soon bb decided to wake up ! it make a big toss, turn around and did a few nervous kicks, machem woke up from overslept ! haha... it then stretched itself like "shen1 lan3 yao1", very cute, and at some angle, seemed to be waving at us... nice experience, and i felt so contented after seeing bb ..... wondering if this is how my mummy feel whenever she sees me and my siblings did something right or nice.

jessl,

this recipe can curb vomitting...

Black Plum Drink w Ginger and Lu Gen
====================================
Ingredients
===========
30g lu Gen, 15g ginger, 10g dried black plums, 4 cups of water

Seasoning
=========
brown sugar to taste

Method
======
1. Rinse all ingredients and put them into a pot. Boil till water reduces to 2 cups. Strain and save the liquid only.
2. Add brown sugar and bring to boil. Serve

Try to 'pamper' yrself tmr at home ya...

This soup benefits the blood.

Pork liver Sp w Spinach
======================
Ingredients
===========
600g spinach, 150g pork liver, 20g sliced ginger, 4 cups of water

Method
======
1. Rinse the spinach. Rinse and slice the pork liver
2. Boil some water in a pot. Put in the ginger slices and pork liver. Cook briefly.
3. Add spinach and bring to the boil. Season w salt. Serve.

I take strawberry meiji yogurt! no more constipation... or eat an apple a day. I just had mango after lunch. hehe...

Recommend nice honey for you all.. go NTUC look for leabrook BLUE GUM honey. VERY NICE! and good for constipation or sore throat.
1051748.jpg

Buy blue gum flavour not original flavour. Drink honey better than ribena.

How to make a good honey drink?
1) pour or squeeze the honey into a cup
2) water room temperature water and stir well
3) after the honey dissolve then you pour hot water or ice water as you wish.

When making honey drink, remember don't dip your spoon into the honey. It will spoil the honey. Use pouring method or buy the squeeze-on type. Then never mix your honey directly with hot water.

enjoy! =)

Thanks Sparks..

I will try this weekend. But for the ginger juice, wat type u refering to? We have to blend the raw ginger and squeeze out the juice?? Or can buy those ready-made type?

Hopefully it will work for me coz i am feeling so terrible..sob~ sob~..

Then one more thing to check..Those u provide me suitable to take as i'm still in 1st tri only.??

i guess i am reali one of the lucky few. no MS at all. felt normal except bloateness n hungry v often!

peace- so cute! i also goten faked a cough n moved abit b4 bb finally was in rite position! reali v relieved to noe tat the little one is doin well inside us

hi MTB,

may i know when is the suitable time to buy BB stuff like stroller, sterilizer...? coz robinson having promotion now, don know whether it is too early to buy now?

me now 13 weeks, no more MS, appetite getting better..

Sparks,

u in first tri now? i think first tri cant eat herbal neh..but read ur recipe, the Chix Congee w Dang Sheng & Du Zhong looks like yummy leh

Gd day ladies,

Hee, so nice of sparks to share the recipes. Sparks, what is lu gen?

Jessl, I totally agree with what you said. Sometimes it's like false hope like that, you happily thought things are getting better, sigh, then MS kicks in again. I don't want to take too much medication cause I prefer to deal with health problems the natural way. But this time round, I seem to be dependent on the medications. Sigh.

Juin, so far the gyne mention nothing of any test. Not even blood test. I suppose I am about 9 weeks pregnant. But nothing leh.

jaspire- reali ah! i wil be 15 wks in 3 days =D cant wait for the nxt appt to see bb again! ytd nite told my hb to sayang my tummy n ask bb to open legs big big for us to see gender nxt visit! haha

Jaspire, I took alot of papaya leh. Oh no... Cos I thought that would help me in constipation. I totally never touch orange cos my boss warned me aganst it. So what other fruits are we advise to take. Sigh, so many fruit cannot take, Veges I used to love it but suddenly cannot stand the taste.

Piggy Mymmy, I think don't need to buy first. Since due date is in May, by later should have another baby fair, so no hurries. Plus sometimes all these will come from gifts around your friends. My friend last time very funny, she told us what she wants and need n told us to get it for her baby shower, cos she wants to avoid duplication.

Most of my friends buy baby bottles, clothings, etc in their late 2nd trimester or 3rd trimester. Cos they say buy too early take up space, plus later if shop shop ard, you see better deals, you regret. So buy only when baby is almost out.

Btw, we can't take herbal in first trimester? So can we take bird nest? Anyone started taking bird nest already?

piggy mummy- there wil be a taka bb fair sm time in feb nxt yr so maybe u can wait til thn thn start buyin all the stuff. i dun intend to buy so early also cos wil take up space!

kelcqi, 9 wks no test yet. So dun worry... still early. I started taking birdnest loh... hee...

piggymummy, i agree now too early to buy. Also problem of storage. So far our frens have been giving us hand me downs such as a new born baby car seat, playpen - which i nid to buy a add on clip to make it into a cot, a moses basket with wooden legs which can be a new born to 4mths old baby bed. And gosh, all these need space to store. So hopefully the rest of the things which I need to buy will oni buy during 3rd trimester loh... esp strollers. LOL! Me stay wif in-law so no space to store my stuff liao. :p

jaspire- yup
urs 2 days earlier rite. hehe..
i'll be goin my fren's plc nxt wk to see wat bb stuff she can pass to me =D she also got a playpen for me which i tot wil be gd since can be used as cot.

ant so exciting leh... i cant wait for my appt to come oni.

BTW, me going to dental checkup on 14 Nov morning oso. Is there anything i shld take note. Do you gals know?

how come the thread so quiet... no one to talk to... me tonite got wedding dinner to attend. It will be my baby first wedding dinner. Hee.