(2008/05) May 2008

Hello Sparks,

So envy you..Gt nice food and pple to look after you..

Me haf been eating outside food..only home-cooked food once per week. My parents and PIL are all working. No time to cook for me..

Sob Sob~~..

Hi Diana,
I heard abt the dang gui part as well. There is also a paper from a particular gynae on the different types of food to avoid. Etc, watermelon and pineapple and DANG GUI....

My mum went yu ren sheng, the lady at the counter say strictly no herbs for the 1st trimester.... Guess diff people have diff opinion....

ant1712
my mum say cannot apply medicated oils on tummy wor.. coz it'll cause heat to the baby.. but sometimes, i cant take the bloatness.. i apply a lil Ru Yi Yu to my tummy.. :p

sparks/diana
hope it works for me.. i'm on HL for the past 2 weeks liao.. think my coy must be complaining.. haha
heard that cant take dang gui in the 1st 3mths, but guess 1 or 2 times shld be all right ba.. coz i really need to bu.. as i just give birth 4 mths ago and din had a good confinement as i'm BF-ing then.. so din dare to take any ginger and wine.. can feel my body real weak now

winnedy
i took birdnest from 5mths onwards.. 1 week birdnest 1 week "xue ge".. i'll go broke if every week birdnest..

sparks
u tried eating pizza? i find that i can stomach haiwaiian pizza well leh.. heh

tWiNkY, U can brew yrself de... put all ingredients into a slow cooker and u can consume it when u reach home. But now it's no use.. too early brew when u r in yr 2nd trimester and 3rd trimester... Now i drink very mildly on TCM.

Wah Poon,

Juz gif birth 4mths ago and you r pregnant again..So gd..But wil u feel tired?? Coz u r pregnant again and you gotta look after ur bb..

I saw from another thread tt one of the member actually recommend cordycep. She say tt is very gd to curb MS..

I am thinking of trying. But is currently finding out whether suitable or not since i am onli 6 wks pregnant.

Anyone haf any idea?? Since you all suggest that no herbs for the 1st trimester.

twinky
of coz feel tired la.. this pregnancy my no3 liao.. no1 is comin 4YO, no2 is 4mths plus..
somemore got to work, cannot be tai tai.. haha.. lucky my gynae understandin, give me HL to rest..

erm.. cordycep is it dong cong cao?.. maybe u can go to eu yan sang de chinese physician and ask? they got a good reputation, maybe can guide u on the tonics etc

Ya, i think we should avoid chinese herbs unless necessary...

I work like Diana, eat more meals... but i think at 9 weeks im putting too much weight ald!!!

Yesterday, i bump into an ex colleague and he could tell im pregnant!! OMG!!!

winnedy- the tummy scan is not painful de. n it's reali interesting cos u get to see ur bb in detail! i had to move abit n even faked a cough to get bb into the rite position so tat doc can measure the neck. saw bb feet stickin up in the air. so cute! hehe..
i did my test in the mornin n results out by the time i see my gynae in late afternn.

pooh- oh oh... i didnt noe! happily applyin almost every nite leh! i like hawaiian pizza too! keke

My cough mixture made me so sleepy and dizzy I feel even more sick. And I'm still coughing.. I'm not going to take it anymore

I also heard no tonics or herbs in first trimester, but I think once or twice should be no harm..

My cough mixture made me so sleepy and dizzy I feel even more sick. And I'm still coughing.. I'm not going to take it anymore

I also heard no tonics or herbs in first trimester, but I think once or twice should be no harm..

Hi Ant1712,
my scan will be ard lunch time.. i dunno if i can get the results on the same day...

Hope the results is ok.. as i will be going for my honeymoon the following week...

I also pineapples in achar, on pizza and also rojak lol..

I think I'm the worst MTB, eat whatever I feel like eating, including all sorts of junk food!

YEAH!!!! My fear has over!!!!

I went for my triple test yday liao.. hahhaa..

so throw face... havent reach my turn to draw blood... i started crying liao.. hahahaa... anybody here scare of needle pain also? try buying elma 5% at pharmacy. apply sparingly at the place they going to poke needle, then u wont feel any pain. hahahaa...

twinky,
me too, eat out almost all the time. will this affect bb's hair growth ?

pooh, the blog's so nice ....

sparks,
now i try to avoid medicine even panadol, unless prescribe by doc...

Im new to this thread..
Currently 9wks now. Going for my third scan today at TMC...
After reading your thread...think im quite abnormal..my sickness only starts at night...morning n afternoon...great appeatite...
i read from MY BABY magazine, dunno real or not...that the ADS occurs when theres drop on blood sugar..make sure we had some sweets in the bag..it do helps me sometimes..
Does Oscar test painful?im going for my Oscar test soon..and i belongs to the "cannot find vein" type..(real scary to draw blood everytime)...think its gonna hurt ba... Hope today's scan went well...tats wat i pray for every visit...

sparks
better eat freshly cut pineapples la.. canned ones too sweet

peace

cu2nite
welcome! dun worry, bld test will be done very fast. dun think abt it

cu2nite,
no no, u are not abnormal. MS don't just happen in the morning. it can happen any part of the day, and usually constantly... i had evening sickness too. my appetite for lunch is superb, but appetite for dinner is poor. after dinner, i get this smelly taste in my mouth that makes me sick. i'm in my 11th week, now this evening sickness seems to be getting a little better... my dinner appetite is getting better.

do you some times feel queasy in the uterous? I had this funny feeling, I won't call it cramp, but more of a kind of tension, especially on the upper part of the uterous ....

Hi POoH,

My edd is 01/May (Labour Day).
What abt u?

Explain to your husband and I am sure he will understand. My husband also control freak (no this, no that) but after I show him the articles + gynae printout, he quickly went to 7-11 and bought me some. Dun eat too many, 2-3pcs will do.

According to my mother and mother-in-law, can only take tonic up to the 5th mth.
Then after that cannot take liao. Only can take bird nest.
1st 5mths is taking tonic for the bb, after that is 4 urself.

I started taking dong-cong-cao + black chicken soup since I knew I was 5wks pregnant.

Anyone can recommend me any good stretch marks cream?
My sis bought me a set fm Palmer's. But heard that it is made fm mineral oil, not good for bb and many uses will get rashes.

Baby, I'm using nivea cream (white in color) very good. My sis's also using it too and she doesn't hv any stretch marks aft delivery! Hope tis infor will help...

Hi Ant1712,
Im going US for my honeymoon. It will be a road trip. Dunno if i can take it or not since i will feel nausea after a bad jam in singapore.

You mean can take pineapple??? I tot we shd avoid all watermelons, pineapples and banana??

I have been eating like sweet and sour pork without the pineapple.. so sad...

Can I also ask how much weight have you all put on or lost?

I am in week 10 and have put on about 3kg. My colleagues did not know that Im pregrenant.. They were commenting yesterday tat I look fat and I should cut down on my junk food and not eat round the clock!!

Hi ladies..

I'm down with sore throat and coughing, with lots of saliva+phlegm.. Everytime i cough, sure induce vomiting.. Anyone has similar experience can advise me what medication is safe to take OR any chinese herbal drinks can take or not as we not suppose to take any chinese herbs right?

tWiNkY & cheryl,

I've actually consul sinseh and he mentioned cordeceps is benificial when consume during 2nd trimester... b'cos our bb's organ is beginning to form.. that's why it's crucial to have it as it promotes good health esp. towards organs. And bird's nest is also good but take moderately around later part of 2nd trimester....

It's actually up to wat the mummy wants i'm jus stating wat i know and hope that all MTBs can benefit from it. One mummy(over the other thread) actually 'challenge' me to prove scientic proof! Simply b'cos she's consuming 'lots of it'... Faint le!

baby_jo
i tried palmers and avent but i still got stretch marks.. boo hoo

winnedy
can take all those but in moderation.. but bananas cannot take del monte types, can take those short length ones.. eh.. u understand wat i say? i haben put on any weight, in fact lost 2kg

jessl
i've mentioned yday, can ask GP to provide prospan.. if scared to see GP, can ask from ur gynae also

2nd tri start from week 14 actually. but gynae say week 13... haa.. but i started to drink those tonic n herbal soup after week 13...

bird nest oso eat at 2nd tri

baby- my fren also passed me the palmers stretch cream. my gynae says lots of ppl use le got rashes.

winnedy- i also put on 3kg liao! n tummy is qte obvious liao. me in my 13 wks. gynae says i am in 2nd tri alrdy so bb is stable n i can fang xin liao

I read in the pregnancy book..
first tri - week 1 to week 13
sec tri - week 14 onwards

for those in second tri , CONGRATS!!
im in my 13th week... can't wait for next week!

Hi All MTB,
been reading the thread moving so fast. I m due for my OSCAR test this fri.
Peace, I also have this discomfort on the upper abdomen at times. A bit like gastric pain but not exactly painful lor. Felt psychologically insecure esp now tat i have finished my duphaston.
To make things worse, a friend which i met up with 2 weeks ago has just been dianogsed with chicken pox! I'm thus worried taht my BB will be affected.
I've also been taking pineapples(when i eat Hawaiann pizza), water melon and the small bananas occasionally & moderately as i thot these are myths only. Surprisingly, i crave for such fruits when its forbidden.
Anyway, guess all i can do now is think positive and dun let my -ve thots affect the BB. Really must pray hard BB is normal & healthy lor!
All MTB, we must jia you ok, Most importantly, think positively!