(2008/05) May 2008

Good morning all MTBs!

On MC today, having flu (runny/block nose, bad cough, blocked ears) since last Friday, finally going to see a doc today, but am worried about taking medication...

I think I'm eating too much junk food, must try to cut down, already gaining weight, so scary...

Morning gals !!

I've got a new term to replace MS (morning sickness), it's ADS (all Day sickness) ... lol !!

Feeling queasy all thru the day, tired morning til night, no appetitie... just wish all the ADS will pass soon

hi ladies, long time nv come in here....me nw 11wks liao...and my gynae is offering me some test to take. one of it is OSCAR test and i am still tinking of which test to take. OSCAR or the other one which is only 65% accurracy but cheaper.

btw, on my gynae visit last sat, i saw my bb moving liao....so happy.

welcome taman n mei

juin- except for the blood test! haha.. the scan is reali interesting. can see bb movin n turnin. gynae says maybe nxt appt can see gender liao. real excited! hehe

hi ant,

i must be mentally prepared for the blood test. During my first visit, i was asked to draw 5ml of blood for dun know what test... the nurse cannot find my veins !!! she asked me not to move too much otherwise she will take longer to find my veins (at that moment, the needle was underneath the skin). my jaw dropped and didnt know how to respond to her... sigh...

peace,
i opt for the scan plus blood test and to know the result immediately (on the same day) think it costs about 300 plus.

lynn,

take care and rest well... take extra days to recover if necessary... our working place is often filled with dust and virus... heheh...

hi peace, mine is a package, scan plus blood tests n also the detailed scan at wk 20. costs $300+. reali ex! i spent like 1k+ on my last visit!! signed up for gynae's package n applied for the FBI card.

juin- i dare not see when the nurse was drawin my blood. only when it was done, thn i saw the 3 tubes there. heng this time round, she cld find my vein cos i ever had the same experience like u, cannot find my veins, poke so many times n even changed arm!! both arms blue black in the end
i got a phobia of drawin blood since thn

hi i gng for my oscar test nx tues morning. was told by my gynae nurse tat the test cost abt $300 but i still hv to pay another $100 over for a blood test which is to be taken wen i am 5 mths preggie. and in my nx visit, i hv to pay my gynae another $100 plus for some lab test also.....

Good morning all MTBs!

My MS reducing these 2 days, although it was very bad on Sunday
Hope my bb is alright, I always worry if no MS for days.. Counting down to my next appt on Friay, getting very worried..

On MC so tried cooking yesterday, until now no matter how many times I wash my hands or what lotion i put on can still smell the garlic on my fingers, making me sick.. Anyone has an idea how to cut/mince garlic without getting fingers to stink? Those minced garlic in supermarkets, can they keep well? Or anyone knows how to get rid of garlic smell on fingers??

My colleague told me I can National Library and get a baby journal and cd or something, anyone got theirs already?

My food craving has changed from salty to sweet food, bad news for my weight

Haha Jessl,

I agree!! Replaced MS to ADS..Mine oso ADS, esp. worse in the morning b4 work and evening 4++ up to nite time..Sometimes reali feel like crying becoz reali cannot tahan liao..No appetite, feeling nauseaous, breathing difficulties, pant easily, giddiness...

Me went to see gynae on sat. and was caught by surprise when he told be i am onli 6 weeks pregnant based on my embroy size (0.77cm). Which meant tt my bb nt a May'08 bb liao..But when i went to GP for confirmation on my pregnancy, she told me i am 10 weeks pregnant then based on the last menses date. And it was like 2 weeks ago thingy.

So, in fact, i have MS when i am only 4 wks pregnant!! So amazing!! I tot tt we will onli experience MS when at least 6 weeks old. Dunno whether izzit tt my bb nt growing well..

Anyone same like me whereby u haf MS when onli 4 wks pregnant??

Hi, I'm new here, but been reading this forum for quite some time. I'm going for my oscar test on 7 Nov at TMC. Estimated cost informed by gynae is $350. My gynae is Dr Sim LN, refer by frenz. Visit her twice, but not very familiar with her yet. Think next visit i will be offered the package. Will also cost me a bomb with the deposits and consultation fees etc...

HHmm.. i'm 26 this yr and this my 1st bb. My early weeks of preg. not so smooth too. Feels so terrible. Got 5 days MC. Now my 10th week, ADS subsided, at least able to control not to puke.

Just that i realize i start to have body odour, its a weird pungent smell from my body which i never have before. Wonder u ladies have similar experience?

Hi, I'm new here, but been reading this forum for quite some time. I'm going for my oscar test on 7 Nov at TMC. Estimated cost informed by gynae is $350. My gynae is Dr Sim LN, refer by frenz. Visit her twice, but not very familiar with her yet. Think next visit i will be offered the package. Will also cost me a bomb with the deposits and consultation fees etc...

HHmm.. i'm 26 this yr and this my 1st bb. My early weeks of preg. not so smooth too. Feels so terrible. Got 5 days MC. Now my 10th week, ADS subsided, at least able to control not to puke.

Just that i realize i start to have body odour, its a weird pungent smell from my body which i never have before. Wonder u ladies have similar experience?

twinky, can you see bb's heartbeat already? I think heartbeat can be seen around 7 weeks? So if you do see it already then it should be more than 6 weeks?

twinky.. high five man..ADS.. yeah.

Dun worry.. everyone experience different things. My ADS started since the time i missed my mens.. You are not alone..

twinky

maybe u ovulated late??? i have ms during 4 week+ too..

bb heartbeat can be seen as early as week 6... i saw mine at 6w3d

aiyoo... for a moment i thought my condition improving... this morning i alight the bus and suddenly feel the urge to vomit... hai...

got to search frantically thru my bag for a plastic bag... then stand by the roadside and vomit...

sian

Hi Lynn,

I went for the scan during my 1st gynae visit on sat. I saw a white blinking thing on the screen and the doc told me and hubby tt is bb heartbeat. Reali so amazing to c heartbeat in such a small embroy. Hehe..But gynae told me i am onli 5-6wks pregnant.

Actually quite sad to hear tt. Coz it wil meant tt i haf another 6 weeks of ADS to go..Haha..Sob~ Sob~

And one more thing, i noticed that you all haf ur blood test during ur 1st visit to gynae. But my gynae nv ask me for anything leh. He onli ask me signed up for package.

And he was like rushing thru when attending to me. I onli c him for less than 5min. And i haf to pay $145 (consult + scan + medicine) if nv signed up for package. As i haf no experience, i oso blur blur went thru and nv ask him anything.

Lynn = Rub ur fingers with salt.. and then leave for a min..hopefully all smell will go away..It works for me
amazingly, you can still cook with ADS?

Twinky = If your ADS too extreme like me, better inform your doc, say u been feeling terrible and it's not the normal kind.. Did doc give u any anti-vomit pill? It helps a bit for me.. Also can you try warm ribena.. it keeps you dehydrated so at least your tummy have a bit of fluid to take... Also try cornflakes? Or Banana Post cereal? I pray you get better

oh choc..tt's very bad..

For me, i oso gt motion giddiness. I cannot be on a moving vehicle for more than 30min. Otherwise, i will vomit.

So, eversince my pregnancy, i haf been taking cab to & fro from work. Reali a bomb. But gt no choice coz i scare wait i cannot tahan and puke on somebody.

Hi Taman,

He gave me some anti-vomit medicine. But i nv take. Coz it will cause me to be very drowsy and sleepy. Like tt, i wun b able to work.

Twinky = oh too bad got side effect.. i'm also taking the anti-vomit pill.. but no side effect. But if u feel drowsy then its another reason to get an mc.. ;) but jokes aside.. i really hope you endure ok.. just try take anything u can fanthom...

No cooking of meat, I tried a couple of weeks ago and it was so disgusting I couldn't eat after that. Cooking of vegetables is fine, but the garlic smell makes me sick..

I did not do any kind of blood test yet, I know there are a few to take later on, but the first one I'll take will be the OSCAR test..

My MS is diminishing, starting to get hungry. My cough medicine is making me drowsy and dizzy.. Oh ask you gals, I thought MTBs usually feel hot because body temperature is higher, but then I feel cold very easily.. Is that normal?

Hi Lynn,

I am oso the same as you. Feeling cold easily. But i guess it could be becoz we have gt no appetite and not eating much. So there is nuthin for our body to burn to create energy. So we tend to feel cold.

You oso gt cough ah? I am oso coughing non-stop. But i dun dare take any medicine myself. And i juz drinking warm water whenever i cough to try to stop it. My colleague told me it is not so gd to cough too much coz this is create alot of air into my body. Not so gd for bb.

Hopefully i wil recover fast.

ADS.. happen to me also.. in the end, went for hospital for drip.. so sian

lynn/twinky
see a GP and ask for Prospan cough syrup, safe for preggie.. works fast too

Hi POoh, will the Prospan cough syrup cause drownsiness? Got to work, so cannot get sleepy... I've been having dry and itchy cough for weeks. Also dun dare take any medication of of bb.

So no one experience B.O like me?

ok...for the 1st 3 mths, our body temperature will go down thus we feel cold. but after that, wen bb start to hv their temperature, we will feel hot. coz we hv 2 body temperature by then....

I am new here.
Currently I am close to 11 weeks pregnant.
Realise that most of the mom-2-b here took a blood test on their 1st visit, my gynae never asked me to take any.
Just ask me to take the Down's Syndrome blood test 3 weeks fm now.

Beginning I have very bad All Day Sickness. I eat and throw everytime. Go everywhere must bring lots of plastic bag.
Then a friend thot of to eat 2pcs of potato chips every morning. It really helps!

Lynn
forgot if it cause drowsiness anot but it works well for me

sparks
u how many weeks liao? me 10.6weeks, still pukin also

welcome baby_jo
when's ur edd? eat potato chips for breakfast?? think hb will hack me to death.. haha

twinky, think there another type of anti-vomit pill, but it insert up from the rear. my gynea mention this to me as i find hard to take big pills... mayb u can ask for that one n also ck if it also cause drowiness??

since the on slaught of ADS, yesterday was the first day i didnt vomit at all... feel like to... but try to tolerate till it over... =) Hope that today can continue to avoid vomittin. I eating sandwiches and porridge to avoid any strong taste that might aggravate the vomit urge.... but i gettin addicted to using axe oil or vicks inhaler to keep myself alert... is it harmful?

baby jo, i also hv not done any blood test. i been to the gynea twice alrdy. but i goin to do my oscar test on 14 nov. so by then will be doin the blood test that is in it lor.

sparks, ur ms worsen liao? tot tat time u feelin better?? sigh... take care siah,,, hope u still feelin positive as usual. =)

I also find eating sandwiches and porridge very helpful in reducing the nausea feeling. In fact I had Taiwan porridge for dinner yesterday and egg sandwich for breakfast this morning.

I'm going for my 12 week scan on thursday and my OSCAR test next friday. hope can see baby moving and turning. My friend just went for her OSCAR test - but she has to redo the scan another day cos her baby decided to turn her back to the ultrasound scan - so couldn't see the nose properly.
such naughty baby!

poky... sometimes even puke till have fainting feeling.... and kena headaches. Hubby asked me to take those normal panadol de... tat's why not so active these few days...

dolly23, peace, moony and all MTBs...

Here's some update of my sis's CL performance.

My sis is into her 16th confinement days already and she can now take tonics for her body and blood. The CL cook the "Hong Zao Jiu" dishes were simply light & delicious too. The dishes were slice ginger with liver and "Hong Zao" with spring onions... steam cod fish with wolfberries with mild wine and ginger, taste is rather refreshing next is soup: She brew "Ba Zhen" chix soup which is also good for me it's for balancing of our female homones... She's has tried to cook some light soup to curb my MS and i like her ABC soup w white onion! SIMPLY IRRESISTABLE TO ME... Hahahaha

Oh, My sis has also engaged herself a very good post-natal massage lady and she's in her 5th session today already. U shld have seen her shape! She got back to her shape (before pregnancy) and weight is now 55kg!

Winnedy, OSCAR is for testin the possibility of the baby gettin down syndrome. Done between the 11-14 wks.

sparks, i also hvin headaches n giddy often, that y using the oils n inhaler to lessen the pain. I try to avoid any medicine that need to be taken internally. but also not sure if it safe for using inhaler or such.... =p how wks r u liao?

sparks
me too, vomit le then giddy feelin.. u making me craze for confinement food leh.. haha
i told my MIL i feel giddy these few days, today she's cookin black chix with dang gui and red dates for me.. hope it works

Diana
i also din take any bld test yet, dun worry.. it's up to each individual gynae's preference

Hi Poky,
Then it sounds the same as NT Scan. Cos NT scan also done ard that period and it is also for the same purpose. Its to get the neck diameter and do some calculations right?

hi gals, is it ok to use medicated oil? i been usin tat whenever my stomach is bloated n only when applied thn i can sleep.

POoh,

I'm actually not staying with my sis de... But during her confinement I'm practically staying w her and learnt alot of things! hahaha
Tell yr MIL to cook for u la.. it's actually not heaty at all...one or two meals it's okay de

Ya, danggui will work.. drink it before u go to bed and tmr am u'll feel beter...

winnedy- i did the oscar test last fri. it's scan plus blood test. blood test to test for other things too like hep A n B, HIV, etc.

pooh, my mil also boil black chicken soup for me but only wif red dates and gou qi zhi coz she heard from her frenz tat before 3 mths better dun take danggui lor....but i really nt too sure abt the danggui part. but guess ur mil shld noe better de lah.

Hi Ant,
I did the blood test at week 6 ald. Think my gynae was too kiasu... haha.. or maybe she think i will not opt for the nt scan that why do blood test first.

I will be doing the scan next fri. Is it painful? do you know the results immediately?