(2008/05) May 2008

Ya lo, Sparks..

Coz i'm e youngest in the company. (Can u imagine all my colleagues are eligible to be my parents)..So everybody treat me like their daughter, including my boss. Sometimes, i tok nv use my brain. Then my colleague wil say 'wow! u dare to say this to boss ah'..Haha..

Anyway, i noe my boss wun angry w/ me one la..haha..Cozi'm the blur queen type..Sometimes he wil say 'buay tahan me'.

Hi Lynn,

Our maternity leave i tot is fixed 8 weeks from the day we take (Usually near our DD)..And the other 4 weeks is you can use it whenever u need to bring babies for vacine, etc..(But muz be utilised within 6 mths)

Pls correct me if i am wrong yah..Coz i haf nt been researching for tt..

Actually not reali 3 mths..Is 12 weeks..When u compare, mths is longer than weeks leh..

Haiz..Haf a reali bad day today. Keep puking non-stop. So tired.

tWiNkY,

Feeling of kena pampered is nice de...

peace,

intake of too much in any food doesn't benefit u nor the baby... so everything in moderate okie?

Carrots contains lots of vitamin A, excessive intake in not good for baby.. That's why when preggie we should not use skincare products containing vitamin A as well..

Morningz too..

Me oso can't wait for wkend..I am totally shag out today.

Looking forward to wkend for my 1st checkup with gynae and can rest as well..

Take Carez...

hi sparks, me feeling ok... except a little tired, which is the norm. LOL!

I wanted to go for a hair cut leh. Not sure to cut now or wait till 3rd tri then cut. My hair is now very long, but i realised i drop my hair alot.
So dunno if i shld cut it short.

ok, maybe endure till 3rd tri. Ya, its gonna be hot hot hot during may. So most prob will keep hair short during confinement period.

hey ! i am also thinking of what to do with my hair. My hair's dropping too, thot it will after giving birth. Sometimes, i felt very pek chek, hair drop even more.

I thot of keeping hair at slightly off shoulder .... during confinement, can bun up, cooler ma.

Some of my friends said they did not wash hair during confinement, how to tahan !

oh.. i definitely cannot tahan. I have to wash everyday one.

Thinking of cutting it all.. dun know daring enuff or not.. ha ha

peace, u need to take a certain type of herbs to prevent hair greying and hair loss... The CL taught me is DU ZHONG (BLACK IN COLOR) now my sis is taking! Taste nice (she mentioned).. The CL said if i'm not pregnant i can also take it.

In view of washing hair, we can now wash hair with Da Feng Cao (bathing herbs) so no need to worry also...

Guz wat, i had vinegar pig trotters yesterday night...! Yummy! Yummy! very nice. Today still have some vinegar left, so ask the CL to cook it again for tmr... Very nice indeed.

I encourages all MTB to eat confinement food during yr confinement lor... if u engaged a good CL then yr confinement period is an enjoyable one de...

Feel like i'm the one enjoying more.. kekekeke

sparks, send me the info on CL can? Cos end up i may need a CL instead of my MIL. Anyway, i can just keep for reference first. Thanks again.

My fren gave me a hair powder... its for "dry cleaning of our hair" she used it during her confinement and says its quite gd leh. So i will oso use it during mine. Keke...

sparks
these 2 days, i feel the worse.. my likes and dislikes of food all went to Mr Toilet..
i dropped alot of hair too but it's due to giving birth 4 mths ago.. can take Du Zhong now?

jaspire
i dun trust hair powder.. makes me feel so sticky after a couple of usage

i bath everyday after giving birth.. so smelly and sticky if dun bath.. worse if BF, bb will be smellin our stinko armpits.. hahah

anyone took shi san tai bao already?

but they say hor... if u bathe and wash hair, will get headaches and other aches later on..

i wonder how true.. hai... worried abt this ah.. becoz i always wash hair daily type.. one day dun wash... feel super duper uneasy... hai.. .cham

actualli i would love to bathe and wash hair leh...

but old sayings...hai...dunno... but i see my auntie, who got wash her hair i tink within 30 days...coz she cant stand the itchy and dirty hor..

she is always having headaches and eating panadol on a consistent basis...

i realli dunoe how related this headache thing is to her washing of hair... hmmm

peaceII, during confinement we can actually "fine tune" our health... u know why.. for those who choose not to wash hair - mayb they are experiencing headache or even serious migrain, so when u don't wash hair during confinement, it's better and u'll see result aft a complete 40 days confinement period. it's v true.

choc,

during confinement period.. our skin pores is practically 'open' and is very sensitive to wind and water. so we will do our very best to avoid BOTH!

if u washes yr hair using cold water and blow under a fan... the result is serious headaches and migrain... very serious de. that's y i will always advise my colleague or even frd to really do properly during confinement to avoid experiencing old age aliments as early as in yr forties.

I've a neighbor (tamil) undergone a miscarriage and refuses to do any confinement for herself.. she was moody and soaked herself in a bath tub and gradually she fell asleep! The next moment she saw was the swelling of her her joints! both hands, legs and ankles which included out fingers too! now she's in her early forties and is experiencing "feng shi" whenever rains and during cold weather... her joints will swell and the pain is unbearable... she cannot do anything now and regrets that she did not do her confinement period properly.. even when she had her daughter, the damage cannot be undone that much too..

I will always get worried abt her well-being whenever the weather turns cold like these few days... haiz.. Do we wanna get old and feel these type of pain? I will prevent if possible.. at all costs!
Wouldn't u???

Sparks,
Thanks for your advice... I agree... but, how to tahan ? ?

Choc,
i ah, 1 day shower twice, wash hair alternate dayss. So maybe, we should try to train now la. that means we gradually extend from wash alternate days, meaning 4 times a week to 3 times a week then to 2. Gradually trim hair shorter, so the scalp is less hot and warm, and perspire lesser, so by confinement period, we would have achieve washing hair once only that month ! ha !

I had been having bad bloatedness. Tummy looks big. When saw gynea, i told him "my tummy seems to have grown." He said "oh, it's likely all wind ! I think it's true, some time i felt nausea coz' of the wind stuck between the throat and the gastric, it's even worst if i accidentaly drink milk (I can't even take carbonara) as I have serious intolerence to lactose. So he asked me to take yoghurt to help digestion. And it helps ! By the way, yoghurt will also help avoid infestion if you are having discharge. Today I felt so comfortable !

Good morning all MTBs! It's finally Friday

My tummy seems to have grown also, I hope it's wind too and not fats kekeke.. I feel like I'm eating quite a lot in the morning and afternoon, although I still feel sick after dinner everyday.. Yesterday I ate a whole pack of cheezels in the afternoon lol.. Still hawker food generally turn me off except porridge.. Still seeking refuge in breads and biscuits

Glad to hear u r feel great.. peace Take care ya. U may use the bathing herbs to wipe yrself during confinement and thereaft change into warm clothings. but it's more troublesome if u wash hair during confinement lor... My sis refuses to wash her hair! Now it's already Day 13 and she's still not washing her hair! She said she has bad headaches before pregnant so she wanted to "test" if the myths are real... Haha... Faintz

Sparks,
Ha ! Let me know if the experiment works !

Lynn,
I used to take my breakfast all at 1 go. These days, I need the whole morning to finish the same breakfast.
Lunch, I am a big eater. When it comes to dinner, I generally can't eat much too. However, I think the yoghurt seems to be working on me. Food seems to get digest better and I get less bloated, and hence could eat better.

As for cheezels... now u have tempted my taste. I have cravings for crisps too like pringles... aiyoh, once I started on it, I cannot stop!

TGIF! can't wait for the weekend to come.

wah no washing of hair for ONE MONTH after giving birth??? no way! I can't even stand it if i don't wash my hair for one day. :p

I tahan for 1 week but after that can't take it anymore and finally my mom allow me to wash my hair after 12 days! Thereafter I secretly wash my hair and blow dry quickly before mom is home from marketing!

hihi ladies! TGIF!!!

I am officially in my 13th weeks according to my Scan EDD today! Hee... so happy! MS seems to be going away liao. Down to once a day oni! Whoopi!

BTW, i did a search and found out 2nd trimester will start oni on the 14th week, not on the 13th week. Kekeke... but its ok, I am happy to be feeling great now. Am oso putting on weight cos not puking liao. Haha! *wink*

halo lynn and peace...

my pregnancy seems to be helping me to save money... dinner is only 1/3 of normal portion and anything more than that, i will vomit out. I share dinner with my hubby now. If he is not around, i will pack my leftover from dinner for next day breakfast and lunch.

Peace, i know how it feels to take one morning. to eat one portion, it takes me more than 45 min

Congrats, jaspire... welcome to 13th weeks. I cant wait for mine to come so that i can declare to the whole wide world that im pregnant and want to be pamper.. ha ha ha!

Hi Juin,

I agree w/ you. Basically, my meal for the whole day is not even a one complete meal. I have been eating lesser and lesser these few days.

Nw reling on milk to gif me energy.

Hi Mdms,

I noticed that you all are eating potato chips and titbits. Can eat ah? My hubby dun let me eat leh. He say i cannot eat rubbish. I have been a potato chips lover.

Sob~~ Sob~~

went for oscar test this morning. can clearly see my bb's head, hands, legs n feet thru the scan! so cute! the doc was tryin to measure the neck thickness but my bb was nt in the rite position so she told me to move to the side to c bb wan to move anot.. but it remain stil! haha... thn asked me to fake a cough n it eventually moved to the correct position. too bad my hb wasnt there to see the scan! doc says the thickness is normal. wil wait for the blood test this afternn to cfm further. kana drew 3 tubes of blood. left arm bit aching nw.

Harlow ladies,
I've been observing the thread for a long time, kind of a bit of a hassle to register for an account, that's why the delay.

I'm in my 12th weeks.. had a very difficult first trimester, lost abt 5kg since my vomitting was a bit on the extreme side. No cold drinks, no smell of onions/garlic/anything fried, can't get near hawker centres, hated milk, can't even fanthom the thoughts of eating processed meat eg; hotdogs/bacon... and then I realised all food in Singapore is rarely on the healthy side! So i succumb to biscuits, milo, horlicks, bread.. sad hah.. and yeah even plain water irks me.
I was even hospitalised for dehydration, doc pumped ard 6 litres of IV drip into my body for the next 2 days..
So my advice to those suffering their 1st tri, eat lots of biscuits and drink warm ribena!
and yeah.. yoghurt helps in your heartburn prob too...

taman, welcome! Wow... looks like you suffered even worse then me! At least I do not need to be hospitalised and had gd appetite despite all the puking. Well, my appetite continues to be gd and is causing me to put on weight now. LOL! Do bear with it... the worst is going to be over soon!

Btw, wat kind of yoghurt do u all take?

Can we take yoghurt drinks instead of yoghurt??

And can anyone advise what r the fruits to avoid other than banana, pineapple, watermelon and orange??

Jaspire : Thanks, I hope so too it's going to be over.. it's a terrible and painful 1st tri
Now i'm slightly better though, gained 0.7kg hehe.

Twinky : They say plain yoghurt is good because it doesn't contain much sugar. But for me, I always take marigold peach and mango yoghurt.. i think plain yoghurt is too sour !!
Abt fruits.. i just stick to apples, kiwi and pear.. i read in the pregnancy book, if u have raisins and apricots, they are good too! I guess, there are more things to what you can't eat to what you can....

that's from an amateur point of view (my first pregnancy mah) .. let's hear it from the professional preggers!

taman, i understand how you feel about 1st tri. In fact, I am quite scared by it too. Telling hubby i dun dare to have no.2 next time. But then said again, when we look at how cute our baby turns out to be, we probably will forget abt the pain and might go on to have no.2. LOL! Dats really the wei da of being a mother!

I oso dun like plain yoghurt... i talk the marigold peach and mango too! Oso drank yoghurt drinks! I love it cold! Been craving for cold stuff. I have since put on ard 1kg to 1.5kg already. Hee... My hubby oso read that raisins and apricots are gd. He encourages me to eat that too!

I was told by my gynae not to take too much papaya too... coz it might cause jaundice? I guess its just gd to eat in moderation for anything.

Hi taman jrg,

Sama sama... MS is bad today.. making me puke since b'fast time. Think it's bb way of telling me that the food is not to its liking... hahahah

Nevertheless, tried to keep my mood up and my sis's CL also help me by cooking "Yong Tau Fu" for lunch later.. She's buzy doing the ingredients and already i'm quite amazed by her interested in cooking lor... Now, she's preparing the 'special' sauce in which, she said will perk up my appetite.. I hopes it helps!

hi twinky,

I eat everything my stomach can take. I even have a bottle of chip on my coffee table for me to snack on... heheh... Do remember to eat in moderation... never eat in excess (this will minimise any excess weight gain).

hi ant,
im going for my oscar test next week. Seem like the experience is pretty pleasant.

jaspire,
my hubby has been forcing me to eat more high fibre fruits such as pune... heheh... i frowned and ran away whenever he does that...