(2008/05) May 2008

hi peace,
lucky for u, ppl's calling me "Fat Lady" behind my back! Due to my size. Gosh....! Cannot imagine how i'll turn out aft delivery. Faint

peace, do u really see your tummy "coming" out? I don't have this luxury yet...

Yesterday, went to see my bb embroy again... it's like a shape of red bean, gynae suggest it's still not stable yet. but bb is hanging there strongly... So i decided to seek help from TCM at Jurong East Blk 204 (near IMM) she asked me to take some condeceps and american ginseng to norish my health...

Haiz, still not all good news yet...

but i'm already very sensitive to certain "smell" already. like garlic... Actually, signs of having MS is really like the most wonderful thing that happen but i keep telling myself not to pin so much hope yet.

Hi Sparks,

I was advised to eat cordeceps and american ginseng too during my pregnancy. It really helps in boosting my health as well as the embroy develpoment. BB will be strong for u... so u muz also do something for your bb. Have ample rest and take tonics required okie.

Take care..

Is it true that our behaviour/temper during pregnancy will affect the baby characteristic as in, for example the baby will be bad-temper if I am bad-temper or if I am busy at work, my baby attitude of work like me when he grow up? (Lao(2) Lu(4) Ming(4))

Or maybe if I hate that person, the baby behaviour or attitude will be the same as the person i dun like??

Any of you hear of this before?

wow, this thread is moving so fast. Have to read the archives. Hope i can catch up.

Sparks, i'm interested to have the info on gynae + recipe 2. Can you send to me as well.. Pls take good care of yourself.

Will be joining this big May family if all's well.

anyone been seeing a sinseh to "tiao" for the whole pregnancy?

also how do you all decide on a gynae since there are so many available?

Luvbella,

This is my second pregnancy and I agree with your statement how the mother's state of mind during preg will affect the baby. I observed mine and friends' babies and it is true those mothers who coped pregnancy in more relaxed manner have easier babies and those who were always moody and frustrated hhave whiny and easily irritable babies. I observed the influence is more state of the mind throughout preg rather than things such as bad ms or initial preg instability etc.

So do remind yourselves to be relaxed and cope with things as it comes even it means difficult work challenges, ms persistence etc. Husband/family support helps.

hey good morning, good morning !

I thot i will be the first one to post this sunday morning, wow there are earlier birds !

Sparks, my tummy is a little bulge now. I think most of it is my water bag. Last week went to see gynae, that was week 7, bb only 10mm, ie 1 cm, but my water bag is a lot bigger. So I think my bulge is mainly my water bag. Try not to worry if you don't see the bulge yet, or if you don't experience severe symtoms. Maybe different pp have different "patterns". 1 of my colleague said when she had her no. 1, she had nil symtoms, no MS, no sensitiveness to smells, no bigger appeitite, all until 2nd trimester. She wasn't worried, all becoz' she was ignorant how she should feel ! Her pregnancy turned out well, and bb is healthy and well.

I just had bird nest last night! yum yum!
altho, i must say, i keep asking mum, now safe to eat tonics hor...

Hey ladies, do you find that your urine is always yellow and cloudy no matter how much water you drink ? Mine is like that... and I had been observing for a while, and wonder if this is normal for preggy?

Hi Sparks
good luck to you and your baby.. hopefully everything will turn out well

peaceii, tot cannot eat bird nest in the 1st trimester?? anyway my pee also more yellow now... think its the heaty pregnant body

I've also heard abt the no tonic rule in the first trimester.. I heard can start from abt mid second trimester..

My tummy is a little larger now, getting worried cos most of my friends' remain relatively flat in the first trimester and I've not heard complains abt the tummy buldging terribly at the end of the day with all the food. It's a terrible feeling cos it feels so bloated and stretched

My sis warned that if my tummy shows very early or grows big very early then will be more difficult to lose the weight after giving birth.

hi Lynn...

realised we are in the same profession... heheh... Been very tired trying to finish my work every day.

My tummy is not showing yet... think im having more water retaintion now... Cant eat much every day, otherwise will vomit everything out . guess this is the same for some MTB here.

THink im really the unconventional MTB. Just pop down one bottle of birdnest this morning... hmmm... never know about the tonic rule.

I took bird nest too former and this preg. It is ok. Avoid dang gui as it activates blood circulation...and we do not need it now for obvious reason.

Hi jaspire,
How have you been? MS still bad? Mine worse off at 10+ week. Very sensitive to smell and food taste funny. Now when I look at all those food I used to love also no feeling.

Hi Courage, thanks for sharing....

Think I need to control my temper at work... cos my job scope sometime will cause my blood boils, plus the working enviornnent is very fast pace.

I also had been consuming a bottle of bird's nest everyday for the past few weeks... just now when I read that cannot take bird's nest in 1st trimster, I was kinda panic...

Hi juin, you also a teacher? Pri or Sec? Now only looking forward to the Dec hols, although I have a 3 week course (yikes!!!) lined up and with all the workplan seminars, it's not much of a holiday.. But at least it's a break from the students..

Coincidentally, I'm a J&M bride too, but from Jan 2005
Took me so long to decide to start a family...

Any MTBs with pets at home? I've got 2 doggies and a bunny

Hi courage, my MS is getting slightly better. Not as bad as initial already. Although I still puke now abt 2 - 3 times a day, it still beats having to puke 8 - 10 times a day. Hee... I oso take birdnest occasionally... and my mil started to make some tonic for me too... she say "bu xue". I read somewhere it is gd to take birdnest in the first tri leh... say it is gd when building baby's organs leh... So now dunno wat is the truth or which is correct. I oso remember reading that birdnest is gd to be taken oni during 1st tri and 3rd tri... 2nd tri not much "help".

hmmmm...i read somewhere that eating bird nest in early trimester may cause asthma for bb leh... i not sure where i read...

but tink just make sure the bird nest well processed ba... i also planning to stock up on bird nest in next few months so that the bb complexion wiill be good

Hi deremi...

ha ha... it is me lah.. we meet a few occassions... heheh... we have promoted to this mother hood forum liao...

lynn...

I remembered ur wedding photos with ur doggie and ur wedding cake.. kekek... u got married before me. We were on J&M forum for a while. Ya, im a sec school teacher and busy clearing my marking now... sigh...

choc,
if this is true, then i must stock up my birdnest cos my complexion not very good and hope that my bb will have a better complexion than me

aiyoh, i thot i did such a right thing to take bird's nest on sat, after reading some of these post, i also got panic. rang my gynae to ask, he said "no harm". phew!

i also read somewhere, saying that bird's nest is good in assisting developing organs... now a bit confuse but ah, if still worried, better stop a while, no point eat something and get worried abt it.

hi MTBs, i puked half my bf out this mornin! darn yucky. nw stomach feels funny... duno can eat lunch later anot

lynn- same here. my stomach bulging out liao n i'm nt even 3mths yet!

sparks- i didnt rec ur email. can send me again [email protected] thks!

Wah ladies, still got energy to BD..

I'm usually darn tired or feel like vomitting or bloated at night.. Totally no mood to BD :p

sparks,
you know, when you said:
"Hi peace, relax... "
I actually burst into laughter reading coz' the irony is, my nick is "PEACE" keke....

for me, absolutely no mood to BD .... now i slept by 10pm. wish i have more energy, but don't have leh...

sparks,
you know, when you said:
"Hi peace, relax... "
I actually burst into laughter reading coz' the irony is, my nick is "PEACE" keke....

for me, absolutely no mood to BD .... now i slept by 10pm. wish i have more energy, but don't have leh...

Im new here, current now alrd 7wks+.. My gynae: Dr Heng Tung Lan at East Shore..

Like to check any of u seeing chinese physician too to get some tonic.. Oh me nt much MS but become more tasteless towards alot of foods which make me feel like vomiting so often..

OOps ladies, actuali me dun dare to BD.. (",) Is it reali safe??

Just to share with you I went Yu Yan Sang last week and they say those in 1st trimsester are not suitable for taking any chinese herbs. Would be better only from the 4th month onwards. My mum wanted to get the "Pao sheng" from them. But they advise against it.

hi winnedy, i did not do any surgery. I was given a jab and then went for physiotheraphy.

My doc say slipped disc cannot have epidural. I want to seek more opinions, esp from moms who had slipped disc and have given birth. Am going to ask more pple first.

Hi Jaspire,
Oic. Cos I have surgery before. Thus, my gynae told me to revisit my doc again nearer to the delivery date. I did not ask him abt epidural back then. He only tell me can go through natural birth..

winnedy, such conflicting opinions leh. My doc say i may not be able to go thru natural birth and oni ceasaerean. Hmm..
I will really have to ask around. I have asked CGH to send me my report, so hopefully my doc can know more abt my slipped disc condition from there.

jaspire,
i was suppected to hv slipped disc when younger also. was given therapy only. So i think mine was not serious. I mentioned to my gynea. she say, epidural may not prove useful as even if injected, it may not b able to spread due to slipped disc. but shldnt b a prb for normal birth. for your info.

with rgds to morning sickness, u still hvin it serious? i currently also sufferening for it. But i find eatin ice popsicles or drinkin chicken soup, help to relieve the nausea some. =p